Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Read OP for mod warnings before posting*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Thanks for the clarification, it’s much clearer now. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to make a cogent argument.

I’ll find proof and post it later.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭rgossip30

The real refugees are the ones too poor to even travel out of their country let alone come here . I have always said help at source the money goes further .Taking in a token numbers of real refugees when 80 percent are likely chancers is not logical.

Why can’t you accept they the ones who pay to get out and the ones who don’t have money can both be “real” refugees. By your logic, the 20% who are accepted aren’t “real” refugees.

As the the “80% are chancers” trope. BS. Some are definitely chancers, some definitely aren’t.

This over simplified version of the world serves no one, except to harden your own bias.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

I never said the 20 percent who get accepted are not real refugees . The chancers make it more difficult for the genuine ones and take up state resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭briangriffin

You are assuming that the consequences of "progressive" immigration policy's have played out already and that is just not true at all.

The assertion that because these countries you have referenced have high immigration and poll high on the OECD better life index then mass immigration and irregular immigration is of benefit to these countries, you've acknowledged it yourself the fact of high immigration doesn't mean that its causing the higher index. If you look at immigration policy then surely that would be an indicator of the experience of these countries and their reaction to what is essentially an experiment in multiculturalism.

Sweden for example has moved what would be described by many on this site to the far right on immigration,

https://government.se/government-policy/the-governments-priorities/migration-and-integration/

"Extensive immigration in recent years has caused major strains on our society. Integration problems now impact most policy areas. For this reason, the Government is overhauling migration and integration policy to create better conditions for successful integration. Sweden offers fantastic opportunities and conditions for everyone to succeed. What is important is not where you come from, but rather the will to be part of Swedish communities and what you are working towards. Swedish communities are held together by the Swedish language, self-sufficiency, the rights and duties associated with citizenship, and respect for Swedish rules, norms and values. Those who come to Sweden must respect our democratic values and live honourably. The expectations and requirements for becoming part of Swedish society must be made clearer and stricter to preserve our open and free society. Those who do not wish to become part of this community should not come to Sweden."

Could you ever imagine an Irish politician saying the above, the backlash from media and academia the accusations of racism and xenophobia - Sweden has experienced mass immigration and huge numbers of asylum seekers and because of the experience has the above policy now. It had its lowest numbers in decades of asylum seekers last year.

https://archive.ph/RYA2r

Johan Forssell, 45, who took over the government’s migration department in September, said: “We are implementing what we describe as a paradigm shift in Swedish migration policy, and we are doing this with a very outspoken agenda that we want to limit the number of people seeking asylum here in Sweden.“This is not because we don’t like these people, or because we don’t understand that many of them might face a very difficult situation — you might want something better for yourself and your family — but because of the fact that we will never be able to manage the enormous task of integration in the right way if you continue to have such a high influx of immigrants every year. It’s impossible.”

“What happened during the refugee crisis was that all these very nice words, all this open-heart policy, met a very tough reality,” Forssell said. “The biggest challenge here is not receiving very many people — I mean, we can find housing for people coming here. The difficult thing is the integration part of it: finding schools, finding apartments, giving people the possibilities to find work.“This turned out to be much more difficult than many people had anticipated. I believe many Swedes knew this already from the beginning but in the political discussion in Sweden there was a very strong underlying force that this is the way it should be. Many of the questions regarding this were portrayed as being very small-minded.”

Australia has much tougher immigration policy than Europe.

In Germany The AFD a party linked with strict immigration policys has seen its popularity rise from 10% in 2021 to 20% in 2025 by the next election on that trajectory it will be the largest party in Germany.

France just banned La Pen from running for president - because she was top of polling in France.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Tbf @briangriffin they banned Le Pen because she was found guilty of embezzlement of 3 million euros. Not just for the craic or anything. Judge ruled that she can't hold public office for 5 years. Her own fault, nobody else's.

True.

Do you beleive there was no political motivation for banning her from running for 2 years?

Can you explain the precedent for banning her from running?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Well the fact that she was paying people in her own party with embezzled funds would kind of imply she isn't fit for office…

Granted, if the details are correct she did not personally profit from any of the money - so its 100% not politically motivated we are saying that.

Crazy to think we have a former politician who gave blank cheques to his boss which were cashed for large sums that were unaccounted for, failed to have a bank account and received several "dig outs". He might be our next president though..

Different jurisdictions but yeah, it's crazy the bould Bertie never faced some sort of prosecution. Anyways that's all a bit off topic, the only reason I mentioned it is because it's Le Pen's own actions that got her banned, nothing to do with her popularity in the polls imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I think in truth, we all unfortunately know this makes her very qualified for public office 😂

Granted, without her wrongdoing she would be eligible. The other party leader was a little more fortunate with his prosecution .

https://www.politico.eu/article/emmanuel-macron-francois-bayrou-former-justice-minister-eu-funds-embezzlement/

No provisional execution in those cases either strange that…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Well I'm not assuming that the consequences have played out — I'm simply stating that when people talk about the likes of France and Sweden and the mistakes made in those countries, it's often accompanied with a level of alarmism that appears to ignore that every quality of life metric places those countries very high. So whether due to immigration or in spite of it, the evidential basis doesn't quite appear to demonstrate that these countries have undergone or are undergoing some form of national suicide.

Beyond that, the Swedish experience of "shifting to the right" also demonstrates that there remains plenty of scope for adjustments on policy when people feel it is necessary to adjust.

And again, it's all part of the wider problem with how immigration is discussed. Sweden can't be said to be a very successful country where its migration levels do not appear to have had any enormous impact on its status as a high quality of life country but with notable issues of migrant crime and ghettoisation — it has to instead be that Sweden has fallen, it's a disaster, a mess, has descended into hell and only now is clawing its way back. It just doesn't stack up to reality and it doesn't stack up with an argument that they have committed some form of national suicide.

so you think there are more than 80% chancers? How many real refugees do you think we take in every year?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

A real refugee? One leaving there home because it's about to burnt out or bombed?

None. They ceased to be refugees the minute they left the first safe country they landed in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,648 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Ireland is on the edge of Europe, meaning anyone arriving here has already passed through multiple safe countries. Most of these individuals travel through France, into the UK, and then cross into NI before reaching Ireland.

How can someone be a genuine asylum seeker if they’ve fled multiple safe countries? Its beggars belief.

What we’re seeing now is people coming from France by boat, paying thousands (it's a myth that they are poor) to reach the UK. When they get rejected there, they try Ireland as the next option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭For Petes Sake

Do you believe someone found guilty of embezzeling money should be allowed to run for public office?

If this was some pro-immigration politician and not someone whose views closely align with yours, I reckon we'd be having a very different conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭sekiro

Any decent journalist would be looking into this.

When you see the prices quoted for how much it costs to get here and then compare to the average incomes in the countries of origin doesn't anyone think it's a bit odd that a 23 year old guy from Syria where the average annual pay is about 1,000 GBP can afford to pay 7,000 GBP to get all the way to the UK and then suddenly he's here in Ireland and flat broke and engaging in serious anti-social behaviour.

Someone with that kind of relative earning power and savings at only 23 years old in their homeland finds themselves here and within five days of arrival is assaulting women in the street and biting their face off etc. Really?

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2025/03/03/man-23-jailed-for-sexual-attack-on-woman-in-south-dublin/

Something is absolutely not right with this situation.

If the cost of getting across Europe is true then these are the relatively well off and ambitious we should be getting and yet somehow when they get here they are penniless and unable to function in society? Strange.

Are they brought here by traffickers who they now owe massive debts to? Basically being exploited. Probably giving their government handouts to whoever trafficked them here?

Is some third party group paying the trafficking gangs on behalf of these gentlemen? That seems to go into conspiracy theory territory.

People always say "follow the money" but there's an awful lot of silence there. No journalists at all want to look into it?

Can you imagine one of our very own Dublin wrecks showing up in somewhere like Seoul on Monday and by Friday he's arrested for assaulting a woman and jailed for 3 years. Nobody would think to ask "how did this guy even afford to get all the way across the world before needlessly committing such a mindlessly evil crime"?

Imagine being resourceful enough to get together 7 full years of salary only to spend every single penny travelling halfway across the world only upon arrival to have not a penny to your name, unable to earn and suddenly extremely dangerous to the locals.

It's like one of us having the means to scrape together €350,000 then spending it all to get all the way to say Japan and upon arrival it's off to the Japanese government to beg for handouts and then down to the local canal to sleep in a tent for a few weeks before getting dumped into a hotel room for god knows how long.

Something is absolutely wrong here.

I'm nearly in tears reading that woman's victim-impact statement. Our government should be ashamed of themselves and I have no doubt this will get worse

"Al Hindawi initially pretended to gardaí that he had fled Syria, that he had been in the country since March awaiting a work visa, and was staying in a tent. He said that he and his brother had arrived at a port here, having paid money to come from Syria.

However, it transpired that he was from Jordan, had arrived via Belfast and had been here only five days."

There we go Belfast again, It's frightening the damage this is doing to our country.

Monsters such as Al Hindawi & Randi Gladstone keep coming to our country and our Government are doing absolutely nothing.

They might as well roll out the red carpet, some would argue they already have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Mod Edit: Warning issued for trolling

Post edited by Necro on

No, ideally every politician would be honest and law abiding - the reality of the world we live in would tend to suggest otherwise - my views - you mean that we have a common sense approach to immigration that doesn't enrich a small subsector of people to the detriment of others.

If it was a pro immigration candidate and they were leading in the presidential polls and were convicted of a crime and barred from running for president then it would seem logical to examine the decision closely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭sekiro

Sorry, from Jordan.

Average annual wage of about 10,000 Euro.

So conceivable that he had saved up 6 to 7k just to blow it all on his jaunt to Ireland where all he contributed was to ruin a woman's life and get himself a very lenient prison sentence.

I'm sure he'll get right on with contributing and making Ireland a better place just as soon as he gets out of prison.

It's insane that we are willing to throw innocent women and children under the bus to facilitate this utter madness.

The worse thing, I wouldn't be confident he would get deported after his sentence, that's how bad this government is.

Does the rise of "far right parties" as the only plausible and direct countenance to immigration policy not directly correlate with your evidential basis. If a party runs on its "anti - immigration" policy and then its popularity doubles would that not be direct and quantifiable evidence of unhappiness with a very specific policy presumably because people are beginning to see issues and not because they have all of a sudden become xenophobic.

Would a government policy document that I have linked above in a country as liberal as you will find in the world "Sweden" which directly references the detrimental impact that mass immigration and integration has had on many aspects of society to the point that it says we are implementing a "paradigm shift" in its policy to limit asylum.

How does Sweden fix the problem it has? It does so by limiting immigration and incentivizing those who arrive to return home. That doesn't solve the existing problems within the country caused by policies implemented years previously, how will that play out? Its literally a live experiment on multiculturism. Someone referenced earlier in the thread a link in a BBC article on the education of migrants via classes as to how you treat women. A big red flag would surely be the need for such classes.

Do you think Irish politicians have examined whats going on in the rest of Europe and planned accordingly - do you think they have a plan to integrate 33k asylum seekers currently in direct provision into a country of 5 million?

I am quoting Michael Martin that said 80 percent at present were economic migrants . Taking in Real refugees where the infrastructure is available , can integrate and be employed .

80% might be economic immigrants, but it doesn’t make them “chancers”.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Anyone arriving into the country illegally for purely economical reasons is both a chancer and a criminal.

Same for any Irish doing similar in the US (before anyone tries to level that at me).

In your opinion. I politely disagree, but I think it’s a waste of time arguing that with someone who doesn’t even believe in genuine refugees.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭jackboy

It depends. Any economic immigrant from outside the EU who claims to be a refugee and/or takes supports from the state is indeed a chancer.