Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enoch Burke turns up to school again despite sacking - read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

She has never been mentioned in the newspaper accounts in relation to Enoch, but she has written "Letters to the Editor" on morality, where she gives her address as Castlebar.

The school she is employed at was also the same school where where the Burke family ambushed Norma Foley and Daddy laid down behind her car then claimed they tried to drive over him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,333 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Fine-as have many people written letters to the editor-I perfectly normal way to express your views - but I don’t see her ambushing people in the street or supermarkets, shoving a phone in their faces and screaming at them.

Well, given she has given her address as Castlebar, and teaches 30 minutes away, I think its a fair assumption that she is still living at home as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I've seen the Teacher lady online recently only relating to genuine school activities and she appears excellent at her job and to be fair, she does seem to steer clear of most or all of the nonsense.

One of the other lads teaches secondary school too and by all accounts he was grand.

Not a fair assumption at all - most teachers in town schools will live reasonably close by- but that doesn’t at all imply that she still lives at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Isacc taught my eldest Maths in Maynooth College. She said he was a bit odd but a very good teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Westernview

Chances are that she does. Wouldn't put anyone from that family in the category of 'most teachers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Enoch had a great reputation as a teacher as well. all just a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I think their big problem is legal and constitutional freedom to believe as they want, and be able to speak and act as freely against what they believe is wrong. Insofar as they believe that being forced to accept what's against their beliefs is their right. They believe they should be allowed speak and protest against it with legal freedom to do so, and as legal as the stance being taken against Enochs stance.

They had the opportunity to do that just before Enoch shouted down the principal at an official school gathering - I’m all for lawful protest but the family don’t know the rules -given the legal knowledge within their family they could have spent any amount of petrol and fines money clogging up the courts with legitimate legal challenges that would have kept the high court and Supreme Court busy for a few years - instead they’re just acting the mick

No their big problem is that the want all the legal and constitutional freedom to do what THEY want but they want to deny the same freedoms to others who they object to. The law doesn't work that way and never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Her family staged a protest outside her school last year when the minister visited. A complete lack of respect for her in her workplace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I see your point and I agree with you.

But maybe they view that as a one-sided freedom. Like he was being compelled to revoke his right to his views and being told what he couldn't do?

I'm just trying to make sense out of a seemingly very educated family being totally stupid.

Theres little to make sense of at this stage unless you are new to the story. They are simply evangelical extremists and they are fully aware of what's legal and what isn't. They don't recognise the law when it doesn't suit them. They harasse and intimate anyone in their way and revert to victim status at the slightest pushback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,654 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Cos they are religious.

Makes a lot of supposedly smart people act daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Does he still goto the school the past week or 2? Probably skips that breakfast roll in Longford now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Bitcoin

He still has multiple gofundme's going to try and milk the whack-job Americans for their money.

The Burke family are a nasty vicious piece of work, they should all be stripped of citizenship and sent way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,660 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It's amazing all these students who report that they are "great teachers". When I was in school you would never hear kids talk so glowingly about a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Looks like Enoch is taking it easy now, Josiah and Mum, and their video-filmer, are doing the hard stuff now, visiting Christian Institute members in industrial estate parking lots in N/I after "finding" it to be involved in unchristian activities like support of LGBT people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,653 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Bunch of Bigots Is all they are, I’d say the lack of coverage they are getting is killing the aul wan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,149 ✭✭✭Mech1

Haha, costs charged to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,149 ✭✭✭Mech1

RTE news : Judge says Enoch Burke behaving like 'unruly schoolboy'

http://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2025/0408/1506475-enoch-burke-court/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,653 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

that judge is playing a blinder. Not putting up with nonsense just cutting the crap.
    sounds like WH will be looking for him to return to his 6x8 in September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,061 ✭✭✭Suckler

How many times will Ammi, Mammy and Simeon etc. etc. be allowed in to courts they have shown complete contempt for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,673 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Genuine question - why does the dad get a free pass from so many in here???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭Penn

In fairness, the mother tends to be a lot more front and centre when it comes to all their videos, shouting at judges etc. Not saying the father doesn't (as evident by him being jailed for assaulting a garda while being dragged out of court), but she tends to be more the voice of the operation, whether the father is the one filming or otherwise elsewhere making money for the family.

She's the main voice on a lot of their videos, she called the Law Society to give out to them because Simeon couldn't find a Master, in reports of their court appearances (not just Enoch, but back to Ammi's case's against former employers) the reports are always that the mother was shouting at the judge during cases.

I know a lot of people used to theorise that the father was just more timid and was probably just going along with whatever the mother wanted, but after so long it's plainly clear they are all literally singing from the same hymn sheet. So I wouldn't say the father gets a free pass, but the squeaky wheel gets the grease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I was surprised to read this part “Gardaí had to remove Enoch Burke's mother Martina and sister Ammi Burke from the courtroom during today's proceedings.”

Oh wait, hang on….

He doesn't really get a free pass, per se, but it's usually Mammy, Isaac and Ammi who shout at Judges. Daddy tends to stay quiet in courtrooms. (Unless its outside and he is assaulting a Garda).

Daddy has been vocal elsewhere though, like outside the school in Ballinrobe where he threw himself down behind Minister Foley's car and then claimed they tried to run over him! Or when he made a video claiming An Post was being offensive by delivering post to his house in a van with pride decals.

I wonder who is footing the diesel bills now that Enoch's bank account has been drained?