Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

As for the rugby... I think Pete Wilkins illness and the upcoming coaching departures has badly disrupted team preparation. I know he gets a lot of flak online for our performance level but he's also got almost as many years pro coaching experience as the rest of the coaches combined and we really miss it.

Edit: Just to be 100% clear. I'm not saying that Wilkins has been a good head coach appointment. Just that we're far worse off without him there right now mid-season.

Munster knew how to target us at the breakdown and defended our attack off slow ball easily. Casey and Crowley were excellent and basically reset us into pressurised possession whenever Munster wanted to.

The period where we had a two man advantage highlighted just how poor we were. Munster were able to easily fold across the pitch and made us look a man down at times and they were very unlucky not to scored two tries.

Losing Cian Prendergast really won't have helped. We're a far better team with his leadership and we really needed the extra forward sub in the second half. I can see him being stood down for a few weeks after that for safety even if he's feeling okay.

It's sad to see Cordero become so poor a player after the injury but realistically those should be his last minutes for Connacht. He's never justified a place in a matchday squad.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Classic21

I thought facilities inside were poor. First time there but I didn’t expect space to be so tight.

I was in the stand and a few people with me left their seats at half time to go to the toilet. Queue was so bad they missed 5 minutes of the second half.

After the game we couldn’t leave our seats for a while. There seems to be very few exits down to the back of the stand. When we got moving and got down behind the stand everyone was leaving by the same exit. Room was tight and at the end of the stand a food truck was parked which tightened the space even more.
    Great to have a big crowd but it felt everyone was packed in with little concern about how fans could move around once inside

That's pretty much what you expect at most GAA stadia a unless they've had a major renovation. Not a criticism of the GAA - I think they do a great job of getting as many people as possible in at a reasonable ticket price - it's just not the normal pro sport model. Their GAA matchday is also planned around families, no alcohol service, and a home crowd who know their way around the ground well.

It was grand as a one off and could be slightly better with some refinement, but I don't see it being a regular occurrence.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 2025Connacht

Im not really sure how we missed Wilkins. I wish him well if there is any illness and wish him well in any future career but the sooner he is out the door the better as far as I'm concerned.

The garbage we have witnessed in the last two games is the same as we've seen throughout his tenure.

The template for any reasonable team to beat Connacht has been well established before he went on leave. Really teams just let Connacht make a rod for their own back.

Munster kept it simple, pinned us back, let us make the mistakes and they knew with their forwards and our complete lack of any defensive structure that we'd cave in without much resistance.

Wilkins is ultimately responsible for the mess we saw yesterday and throughout the season. He has built a team on the pitch that is ridiculously one dimensional and what money he's had to strengthen the squad he's wasted it in bringing in unnecessary players when we had glaring weaknesses elsewhere and his coaching appointments have been uninspiring to put it mildly.

Its not going to be a quick fix to sort this team out but we need to stop going down this insane route before the route back becomes twice as long.

We have won 5/14 this season. Max we get 7 wins out of 18 and I wouldn't hold my breath on that. We've got a tonne of bonus points this year but 9/18 is the bare minimum you have to expect in terms of wins.

We started last season with 3 wins in a row post WC but since then it's 11 wins from 29 in the league. That'll probably be 11 from 31 in a few weeks. A very favourable set of games in the challenge cup is papering over the cracks to some extent but I'd expect our interest to end their soon with the way we are playing.

Between the new stand, the interest in rugby and the number of players in Irish contention we should be excited but if we leave Wilkins and co. in charge for next season we might as well just ring the contractors and tell them theres no need to finish the stand because supporters eventually run out of patience when they see a team with potential being let down by what's going on behind the scenes.

Don't get me wrong. l'm not pleading Wilkins case here. I just think we've been even worse over the last two games without him. I'd like to see someone else as Head Coach / DoR but losing the most experienced coach of a group that are struggling has been very negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,636 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Alcohol consumption equals huge queues at toilets.

27,800 people leaving at the same time equates to having a bit of patience.

I've absolutely no idea what you expected (I'm not saying that in a mean way either).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Treaty fella

Joe Naughton on Twitter seems to be indicating that Billy Millard is being looked at as DOR in Connacht next season. Any truth in that ?

You’d imagine Rod Seib signed on with a plan in place for next year

The impression I've gotten from quiet pub chats is that we were looking for a high-level DoR for our entire rugby programme. Much more hands off from a coaching point of view. It sounds like a long-term version of the final role Andy Friend had. Everything I've heard could all come from whispers about one Tweet tho.

If it's true Millard would be perfect. He's got experience in a similar roles, and he left Connacht for personal reasons outside rugby last time. He might feel like he has unfinished business here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Classic21

I was just commenting on what a few people present said about the facility.

I fully accept there will be queues but toilets with one doorway for everyone to enter and exit is a badly designed facility no matter how you look at it.

there was more concern with keeping people off the pitch after the game than having stewards managing people leaving. This was not a G.A.A. match where people are used to the surroundings, most people were there for the first time and stewarding needed to reflect this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭HBC08

For a first time effort and introducing thingslike bars/food which wouldn't be there normally it was a massive success.

The ground was nearly full,that means queues for toilets,bars etc.A 28k crowd is a different prospect to 5 or 6k at Sportsground.

I thought MacHale Park looked amazing and the occasion couldn't have gone any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

Looked great on TV, apart from the shaky pictures, anyone know why that was? Probably the wind but surely wind in mayo is not unusual.

Rarely do I disagree with the craggy crew but on the most recent one they kept saying that this is a good team that makes mistakes. I was banging that same drum for a long time but I've finally accepted that this isn't a good team, either playing or management. It's a team that can do a few things well but it's a team with huge mental and technical deficiencies. Also 2 of our 3 best players are 33 and 35 so whilst we have some exciting young players there's no guarantee they will get to anywhere near that level and budgets being cut. You always hope for the best but life at Connacht rugby is looking bleaker than it has for a long time when we should be buzzing about the new stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

We are not a good team, which is made apparent by our URC win/loss record (the same as Zebre's), and by watching our games, which is a particularly cruel breed of torture.

I think we have a good squad which could peak to have a run at URC and European knockout stages in a couple of years. The below will all be in or approaching their prime in 2028:

Tierney-Martin, de Buitléar, Aungier, Illo, Barrett, Murray, Murray, Prendergast, Hurley-Langton, Jansen, O'Brien, Flynn, Murphy, Devine, Naughton, Forde, Hawkshaw, Gavin, Hansen, Bolton, Mullins, Jennings, Treacy, Ralston.

That could be a very strong core of a squad, if supplemented by some quality NIQs and older squad members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭crusd

On of things with the crowd dispersal is at a Connacht final for example you will end up with a few thousand kids on the pitch. and exiting via the pitch to whatever direction they wish to go, easing the pressure on the exit at the back of the stand and dispersing the crowd more slowly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Seems to be rumours of Millard returning as a kinda DOR but for non-matchday ops in both mens and womens sides. That would be a great move imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭KBurke85

https://www.the42.ie/billy-millard-connacht-3265212-Mar2025/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

I don't think you can blame Hansen defence…

There were some horrendous missed tackles before he was involved… It is the full curse as being the last man, a lot of time with bad defences you look weak when there just isn't much you can do…

The Connacht Defence is just very poor, it's attack is looking alright… We shipped 70 points in two games and got two bonus points from both…

The Ospreys defence was would make a grown man cry at one point…

Connacht let two tries in on first phase ball in Castlebar…

I don't think Connacht get who's drinking crowd…

New venue and everybody coming early, there is going to laods drinking (a lot came by bus)…

Leinster come on mass and they drink through the game, Munster don't drink as much and the rest can be reasonable…

You can't kick the ball in the west of Ireland against the wind… You have to drive the ball into the wind…. Really disappointed that was not coached into him… Just simply give him an O'Neils on the 22 against the wind in the sportsground and tell him to put it over the bar…

What kind of coaching do we have that can't show him that…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

That 42 article says Millard to dor what the no match day or coaching input, new lad in to replace sexton and Pete back to defense coach. I'm no mathematician but, unless Wilkins has done no coaching this year, that we'll be a coach down next year. Not sure we look like a team that needs less coaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,715 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well this is exactly the issue. People are blaming players for poor defense but it's the coaching. Defense is a team effort and everybody looks lost like they don't know what their job is.

Our out-halfs have been terrible for a fair while now so clearly the coaching is poor there as well.

Great move… He is very well respected and while I would like him having a more direct involvement, himself and Rod could improve things… I don't think this is the silver bullet but it is a step in the right direction hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

If Wilkins current role is reduced by Millard arriving then this makes it easier for Wilkins to pick up the defence part. Could probably still do with a skills coach still though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 2025Connacht

People filling roles in the coaching setup is one thing but ultimately the buck has to stop somewhere and the chain of command is (at best) difficult to understand at the moment.

Millard coming in is good news but right now the sort of role they are looking at him to do seems to me to be a luxury at a time when we are devoid of leadership and structure below him.

To me our problem really isn't in producing or identifying players. We are punching at or above our weight in that regard but there's no point throwing more young players into a setup that isn't performing and that isn't capable of advancing these players careers.

In the short term we need a competent coaching staff who are clear about what their roles are.

It might be that Wilkins is leaving and this is all smoke and mirrors until they can negotiate his exit. If not and it was my workplace id be utterly confused about what's going on.

The current head man is a dead man walking and its going to be very hard for anyone to take him seriously next year if he is still head coach. It looks like they're planning to shoe horn him back into a bit part role just to avoid having to pay him up and what's left is a vacuum of leadership in a coaching team and squad that desperately needs it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,715 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You'd have to think that Millard will be given permission to bring in his own man to lead the coaching staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

You would hope. What's Carolans contract situation like ?

Prendergast was released from hospital Sunday and is on the return to play protocols. Resumes training next week. Ben Murphy and Bolton back in training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bobo the clown

Looks like Sean Walsh confirmed as an academy player next year. Connacht officially announced some academy signings in May last year. Interested to see who and how many come into the academy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Where have you seen that? Will need to see him at 20s before getting overexcited but he's a potential generational talent from what I've seen. O'Connell will surely get in also.

We only brought in 4 last year so will be running a very small academy if that trend continues. I imagine we'll bring in the two above, Bobby Power, and maybe some fringe 20s like Watchorn, Ronan, Paidi Farrell etc., or lads straight from Leinster schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭CuriousCucumber

Season Ticket sales for next season seem to be very late this year. Dont remember ever not renewing in March.

I wonder are they just tight on the deadlines with the new stand, and need to be sure it's available before selling tickets.

Or are they trying to think how to charge fans for a full season ticket before moving games away from Dexcom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

They moved one game not games. The URC game v Ulster was also moved to the Aviva in 2021, so not unprecedented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭testtech05

I had suspected they were hoping for a win at the weekend to announce the renewals off the back of it but that didnt really work out :)