Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take only sh1te with you on holidays

• 24-03-2025 12:30AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else do this?

If I go somewhere I take the worst clothes with holes in them, bad shoes, worn/cheap/old electronics I don't mind losing. This means I can offload all of it if the washing facilities are lacklustre or I see new stuff in the shops that I want to replace it with. Ireland is usually a rip off so better off buying abroad anyway.

I have heard of people doing the exact opposite like buying new laptops to use while they're on holidays or going out to buy clothes especially. This seems like a terrible idea especially the laptop, I would definitely lose it at a train station or it break it somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,746 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I've gone to a 4 day festival in the Netherlands twice in the last few years (actually think I've gone to it four times but it used to be 2 or 3 days the earlier years). Each time I've brought a comfortable but worn out pair of runners that went in the hotel bin rather than come home with me.

That's the extent of it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Wbo brings a laptop on holidays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,656 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Who buys a new laptop to go on holidays?

Absolutely fcuking nobody. Why am I even responding to this thread???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,365 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

With clothes on a long trip I would do that, well, bring a few t-shirts, socks, underwear that had seen better days.
    Wear them and bin them to make room in suitcase to bring back presents etc.

Over there buy a new shirt or polo, new socks maybe.

But most of the clothes being brought over I'd plan to bring back.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭PaybackPayroll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,766 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I just take what I want / need… if I’m booking a holiday today for June. I know now today that I need new casual T-shirts. I’ll just spend money on my favourite labels that look good, fit well etc and take them.

Always bring my tablet. Handy for researching trips and restaurants…I’ll leave it in the middle of the case between layers of clothing. Also leave an envelope with a couple of hundred euro cash stashed, in a shirt pocket, sorta emergency money…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭XT1200

Travelling by motorcycle with my wife yearly to Europe. As you can imagine space is very limited. We usually use what we call our sacrificial clothing. By this we mean ,anything we wear on holidays we leave behind . We carry enough with us for at least 2 weeks and replace it as we discard it . We usually come home with a complete new wardrobe for a lot less than it would cost in rip off Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I wear my best clothes when visiting the red light district.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Tom Sanders

yeah, i don't bring a laptop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Everlong1

I always pack my best clothes, conscious of the fact that I am, in my own small way, an ambassador for this great nation of ours. Can't be making a show of the country wearing manky clothes in front of the de furriners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

What if you are sitting beside someone on the plane who is attractive, ye start chatting and get on well, then she looks at the holes in your jumper, id say she would be very impressed. it would be like a scene from curb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,773 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I bring a laptop. But I would probably never buy one. Simply because the keyboard would be in a different language. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I usually wear my best cloths and pretend I'm some sort of sophisticated international man of mystery, of course that pretence soon evaporates as I board for Ryanair.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,959 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

generally bring exactly what i need as i tend to pack extremely heavy, regularly having to pay extra for the privilege, everything i need could be the difference between life or death, so i cant bring anything for the sake of it, rarely go anywhere near retail, so very little purchasing abroad, only for the essentials, food etc…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 AraLaveItOut

I bring two suitcases on holiday - one with older clothes, one with brand new stuff from Brown Thomas. That way, I always have options for my week in the sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I bring a combination of both. Unfortuately I bring my laptop on holidays due to work. But regarding clothes? If I am going for a longer holiday (This year I will be away for 3 weeks) I bring a couple of changes of good clothes if I do need to look a bit more respectable than usual. But the rest (And especially the socks and jocks) are typically fit for the incinerator ("I say take off, nuke them from orbit. The only way to be sure"). I do a morning (Or two this time) of laundry and typically buy Some clothes there. Maybe a pair of jeans. Certainly socks n jocks and souvenir T-shirts. I do wear relaxing but respectable clothes on flights (And I KNOW I'm odd there). I don't go to sun holidays so never bring shorts or flip flops or the likes. I usually go on city breaks and, I know it's just me, but I find it disrespectful when I see people wearing shorts and flip-flops in temples or shrines or other places of local importance (I once unfortunate enough to see a pair of shorts-wearing, flip-flop-wearing, baseball-cap wearers high five each other in the museum in Hiroshima… Which is probably why I don't wear shorts.)

So yeah, socks n' jocks? Only fit for the bin. Rest? Combination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

"Take TWO suitcases on holidays? I just pack and go…" (May be showing my age with that ref)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I wouldn’t buy or bring laptops. I did buy a great winter coat in The Canaries one summer . Good price and an amazing winter coat that would have cost a fortune in Ireland