General gaming discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Speaking of subscription models, looked it up and Monster Boy is on PS plus Extra. Adds to backlog...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭RedXIV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭McFly85

Got Hi-Fi Rush for the deck recently. It looks great and is definitely fun, but it’s criminal that a rhythm game has no settings to correct for audio lag considering most input/output devices are wireless and will have some sort of delay.

So I’m enjoying it but there’s not a hope that I’ll hit the beat with any sort of consistency. Maybe I’ll look for some old wired earphones before I give it another go.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,123 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Monster Boy is a great Metroidvania, probably one of the more underrated ones of the last few years. Really substantial too. Been a little while since I’ve played it but highllly recommended, even if it’s been long enough that I can’t remember exactly why 😂

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,123 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I personally didn’t think the game was responsive enough on Deck (though I do vaguely recall the game having an audio / visual calibrator?). After playing 144hz on PC switching to Deck just completely threw off my timing. Outside of competitive games, it’s one of the best arguments in favour of high refresh rates.

it has a screen where you can check your lag but you can’t actually change anything - if it’s too much it will just tell you to change your setup outside of the game. A bizarre choice considering it’s on console and PC and will be played on hundreds of devices with varying lag.

Gonna try it with a wired set of earphones just to see if there’s any improvement because it’s still fun regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,731 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I tried it briefly on Deck but couldn't get any rhythm down at all for it. Just doesn't seem suited to that type of device unfortunately. Haven't actually gone back to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,721 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

Game Informer Digital Archive Now Live, 130+ Issues Available to Access for free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,190 ✭✭✭Cordell

Adding a delay to graphics to compensate for audio lag only can only work for pure rythm games like Guitar Hero, this game is also an action game where the character reacts to user input, and in this case the reaction will incur a double delay, one caused by the player being served delayed graphics, and the other caused by going through the said delay again. When the game just draws scores and eye candy that's no problem, when you're also fighting then that can't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,555 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Fair play to the Irish lads. Looking forward to putting them and every other song on mute as I put 'Ace of Spades' on endless repeat.

Tried Hi-Fi rush with plugged in headphones, and while it’s certainly better, it’s still a bit of a lottery as for accuracy on the deck for various reasons I was reading about. Ah well, might be one for whenever I get a chance to invest in an actual PC.

So I moved onto Doom 2016 which I picked up in the recent sale for €3. Looks and plays great, should have probably picked up eternal too!

Best part of the Nintendo Direct yesterday was a new Everybody's Golf on PS5 :)

Post edited by Zero-Cool on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,134 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Coming to PC as well. These games are legit amazing and arguably the best golf games out there.

Part of my core memory playing Everybody's Golf on PS1, incredible series that, like you said, hasn't been bested by the golfing sims since.

Kext of Kin just announced and out now on PS (not sure of other platforms) but man the trailer took a dark turn. Only 3.50 'short and sweet experience' with hints of silent hill 2 wife looking.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,134 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

It's only been bettered by the Camelot developed Mario Golf games and that's because they Camelot make Everybody's Golf. And it's so annoying they aren't in charge of Mario golf anymore when they did such great things with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭recyclops

ah I loved everybodys golf on the psp, still play it a fair whack on the steam deck. Absolutely brilliant game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Balatro is on the verge of getting chucked out the window. Still haven't completed a single run. Got a great set up, managed to fly through to the 8th boss today. Had ranked up pairs to level 13, and with my joker mults I was hitting well over 10k a hand. What special power does the boss have? You can only use a hand once 😭 and I needed over 70,000 to beat him.

Between this and returnal I'm beginning to question my sanity. Thankfully Atomfall is giving me some mild relief 😅

Manys a Balatro run that has been foiled by a Boss ability completely tanking your gameplan. I remember one where I felt I had a perfect combination of different Jokers that individually weren't great, but together just combined in the right way and gave me options for a lot of different types of hands to play. 8th Boss ante comes… All Jokers disabled until you sell one Joker. Even though I got rid of the weakest one, it was damn near cutting my scores by about a quarter of what I'd been getting and I just missed the target. Or of course there can be runs where the last Boss is "Very Large Blind" and the score is just too out of reach for what your current setup is capable of.

That said, 10k a hand is pretty low by the time you get to 8th Ante. You should probably be hitting at least 20k per hand by that stage. A few quick tips that it took me too long to figure out; remember to have Jokers/cards which add chips as well as adding multiplier. No point having a high multiplier if it's multiplying very little. And it's difficult to notice in the early stages, but while most Jokers give a +multiplier (eg. +20X therefore adding 20 to your multiplier), some might give a x multiplier (eg. x3X which multiplies your multiplier by 3 - usually shown in a red square in the description). So if you have say 15X multiplier, a +20X makes it 35X, but a x3X would make it 45X. The order of your Jokers can also matter, especially where you'd want those xMultipliers at the end.

So a good setup to try and aim for in terms of Jokers are a Joker or two which increases chips, a Joker or two which increases mult, and then a Joker which multiplies your mult (these ones are rarer and may require you to do something to increase its value, like it increases by 1 every time you've discarded 26 cards). But it's also the luck of the draw in terms of what cards/Jokers you get.

It only gets wilder and more complex once you do start completing runs, as you unlock newer cards, decks and requirements. That's why it's so addictive.

Post edited by Penn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I was thinking golf is like a turn based rpg.

Which now reminds me of Golf Story which I bought years ago and is forgotten about in a digital backlog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Cheers, I was going to ask for some advice. As everything I was trying was falling flat. Will give that a go once I calm down 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,266 ✭✭✭Unearthly

A few hours into The First Berseker and I’m very happy with it. Closest game to Sekiro combat I’ve played. Those saying it’s hard were not lying. Some of the bosses have humbled me, but they are very fair. You just need to learn their move sets.

What I really like though is that you can play multiple attempts of the bosses and still earn points to upgrade your vitality etc and also earn skills (same skill tree as Sekiro)

Sometimes you'll just be at the mercy of RNG. Try to make sure not to go into it with too much of a plan, and just try to adapt to what you're getting. I used to always hope for the Joker that gives you a huge multiplier if you play 3 cards or fewer, so I could rely on just a pair or even just a high card would still score big. But then a boss ability could be something like "Must play 5 cards", or I could start getting a lot of cards/jokers that would better suit a flush and I'd have boxed myself out of that strategy. Once you do start getting through more runs, you'll also start unlocking more Jokers and different strategies.

But yeah, don't neglect boosting your number of chips as well as your multipliers, and try get an x multiplier as well as your + multipliers.

Anyone gonna play Texas Chainsaw game on PS Plus next week? I know it was in gamepass at launch, not sure if still there but the game does have crossplay. I loved Friday 13th but was definitely the most fun with friendlies on. I might post next week some night if anyone fancies giving it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Cotts72

Curious question regarding buying games o line, has anyone ever opted to buy via "accounts", there's obvs a significant cheaper price but surely risks involved. I have often utilised a US account on PS5 but the exchange isn't much different nowadays

Incredibly dodgy. The biggest scam is you give them the money, they give the account login and password but they have the 2fa and just reset the password locking you out of the account. Account sharing is against terms of service of PlayStation, not sure if the other platforms, so you have no recource.

yeah thats what I was assuming. reputable sights ive used previously seem to be selling them, thats what had me querying! 80euro for a game these days gawls me 😀

i actually have cyperpunk but played feck all of it!😅 I usually dont buy new games bar an exception for Assassins Creed!

TBH any site selling accounts is not ‘reputable’ - they may not actively steal money from you, but they’re at very least grey market sites up to some kind of shady ****.

Goes without saying that buying an account is a really bad idea - at the very least you run the risk of losing access to the game you’ve bought, and at worst you could seriously compromise your own security giving others access to your machine.