Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,384 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Nope…conspiracy theory stuff.

When they successfully change the constitution, come back to me.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Similar talk January 6th and we know how that worked out. I'm not sure any of us will want to live in a world where the US becomes a dictatorship.

I'm not saying it couldn't happen but it's gotta be in the less than 1% probability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Its not conspiracy. Republicans have wanted total control since Nixon was ousted. Every Dem challenger since then has been destroyed publicly to a point the public view each as the "worst ever".

They now have total control and purged government of any dissidents (or they will once Musk is finished "cutting costs"). Who exactly is going to stop Trump when they control the House, Senate, Supreme Court and Trump has been given King Henry 8th like status. Main stream media and big tech have all fallen in line and kissed the ring.

If you think the Constitution will save you, you haven't learned much from history. I mean birthright citizenship is enshrined in US Constitution and how is that working out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

January 6th succeeds if Vance is VP not Pence. Pence saved democracy that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Given the amount of things that have happened since the start of Trump's first presidency that would have sounded like conspiracy theories, I'm absolutely not ruling out the fall of a democracy at this stage.

In other news, not exactly surprising. The Trump administration are now looking at banning Jackie Robinson's biography from the Naval Academy library. Obviously not huge on its own but it's very much so the kind of steps from a totalitarian state.

https://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/article/trump-administration-reportedly-moves-to-ban-jackie-robinson-biography-from-naval-academy-library-235013259.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,202 ✭✭✭amandstu

Bought it breathing space ,which was spurned.

We have to wait for the Trump voters to smell the sewage in their coffee and then the tide may turn .

Don't they say that the Americans hate a loser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,871 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

As in orders will be complied with as legal and complained about through channels afterwards. However, the family of serving personnel do, as civilians, have rights and routes [courts and congress] of complaint beyond those of their serving kin to raise hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,363 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

While I won’t go so far as to say “it will happen”- there hasn’t been a more significant time where a lot of factors are in play to make it happen -it may not be as you describe, but when it comes to elections, the republicans can place a lot of stumbling blocks on voters, that traditionally impact minorities who traditionally vote Democrat.
    While we’ll wait and see, MAGA could take over America in a number of ways - constitution challenges, implementing emergency powers under the guise of some 3rd world war threat - in other words, bullsh1t - but it won’t stop them trying and if they have the Supreme Court on their side, you never know what might happen

Yes it seems very much in the balance now. A lot to play for .I don't think he can prevail if the SC holds its ground - or if there a mass demonstrations/uprisings that don't degenerate into an excuse for martial law. (even then ,I don't think they can win-I don't think America ,for all its faults can go the way of China, Russia or N Korea.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,651 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

He'll preemptively pardon himself, and also ensure whoever he endorses will pardon him, too. He's leaving.

Nixon resigned. The Senate had enough votes to impeach, and the House too. He wasn't exactly ousted, and his successor pardoned him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

all he has to do is come up with a heap of shite term like ‘special military operation’ like the other ‘mad degenerate/abomination of a human’ whose putrid whole trump is crawling up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,417 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Those supporters thought liz was a visionary (or "breath of fresh air" in lackey speak) even as the economy and banks tanked themselves.

Imagine truss with a guaranteed 4 year term and 2 years of no accountability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,363 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

MAGA will certainly make hay whilst the sun is shining - Democrats are in complete disarray -half appear to be “angry” and the other half have their heads buried in the sand - there’s certainly every chance of America becoming an authoritarian state - only a fool an idiot or a lying MAGA supporter would dare dispute that

“Recent polling reflects the grim state of affairs. Just 40% of Democrats approved of the way their leaders in Congress were handling the job, compared with 49% who disapproved, according to a Quinnipiac University poll last month.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/ng-interactive/2025/mar/30/democrats-trump-politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,717 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The argument, however, is not about the "threat from Greenland". It's about the threat to the US from outside Greenland.

A load of bollocks to be sure. But it's not about any kind of aggression to the US from Greenland itself.

With regards to the military having the option to resist an illegal order to invade another nation, the reality is that they don't. The invasion of Iraq in 2003 had very clear and dubious reasons for even existing in the first place, and the military still complied. In general a nation's military tends to comply with what the commander'n'chief orders.

In any case, I don't see any real efforts on behalf of Trump and his band of gobshites to genuinely invade Greenland. It's all just rhetoric that can be forgotten about in a month's time.

It is, though, very dangerous and stupid rhetoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,651 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Birthright citizenship? Still in place. Performative ranting from the GQP? Also still in place.

One thing I occasionally bring up here is, don't blame the Democrats for nominating Trump. Republicans had choices - fulll disclosure, in my seriously blue coastal state, we voted for Hailey in the Primary. Any GOP'ers whining about Trump, remind them, they could've voted for Hailey. Really. Truly. I doubt we have the chaos we have now if she'd won, and damn that would've been some election.

Same thing true in 2016. Yeah, HRC was a dreadful candidate. But, the GQP nominated Trump, having lots of candidates to choose from then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

The only threat from beyond Greenland is Russia

And the people saying US should grab Greenland (ignoring that they can already build and operate there anything they need for defence) are “strangely” in this and parallel thread always pushing Russian talking points and propaganda

Trump is having to invent and create threats, Canada ffs! Because otherwise all his daft shite sounds even dafter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,717 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

And the people saying US should grab Greenland

Nobody serious is saying that the US should grab Greenland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,384 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

It's exactly because of what Trump has done in first couple of months that I know he won't get a 3rd term.. Constitutional change requires 2/3 vote in both Congress and amongst States. Zero chance. Anyway I am not posting about what won't happen, ye can tell me I am wrong in 4 years. I think the Republicans will get beaten up in the mid terms even.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Was he a "serious" poster ? (disgraceful comment though).

Trump and Vance (and who knows else) are not ruling it out, though which is also disgraceful in the context of "we'll get it one way or another" but very much par for the course.

Economist pod on how Trump is crippling US economy

“Investment announcements are performative and often rehashing what started under Biden”

“Companies are paralysed”

“Uncertainty is off the charts”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,032 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think it's probably at about the 20% level right now.

Look at what they've already done.

Beaten the naysayers within their party (Romney/Cheney/Kinzinger)

Their seeking to control the media messaging and Trump selection as to what outlets get access to oval office is sign of that.

Challenging the judiciary. This has already started.

Ignoring the constitution. Trumps stated aim as said by Steve Bannon.

Undermine the Public Sector infrastructure. Very evidently being carried out.

Pushing an America first (America Only) narrative internationally. Already started.

For the record, I don't think Trump will succeed, but his actions will disrupt global politics for the next 30 years as others seek to emulate his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Here's an interesting fact that I haven't seen in the news but have witnessed with my own eyes....i witnessed an entire multi national facility "de-rainbow" over a weekend, including freshly laid tarmac over a rainbow crossing because they were unable to power wash, in advance of a US visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,239 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

These clowns think the UN is a DEI initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,687 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Thats precisely it. The US economy was doing well under Biden, to make things better, Trump had to do precisely nothing. In the Liz Truss situation everyone around her realised the economic decisions she had made were madness and she got her P45. There is no such mechanism for anything like that in the US, so everyone just has to live with those decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,032 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Apparently Pete Hegseth's brother has been appointed to a pretty significant liaison role in the Pentagon.

His previous experience…. setting up a podcast production company and getting paid 100K to do media relations for a veterans association Pete ran which ended up running in to financial difficulties.

But sure, every black person who got a significant job in the last ten years only did so as a consequence of DEI. It's criminal how much conservatives have been allowed to control the narrative on this. I mean before Hegseth's brother, there was Jared and Ivanka in the last administration and yet a good portion of America has just blithely bought the narrative that DEI was a real world issue that needed to be reigned in.

When they talk about making America Great Again, I think they have like 1958 in mind. That whole civil rights movement in the 60's is something they'd gladly rescind if they were able to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Seattle

On what basis?

He didn't have any legal authority, and Congress would've overridden him. The Dems had a majority in the house.

That's not to say Trump won't succeed in the future, I think the conditions are far more favourable for him now and will be even more so in a couple of years. But I don't think Pence was the deal breaker on Jan 6th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,496 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

In a contested election it is state by state vote in Congress not raw seats so Republicans had a majority of state delegations.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Trump will be 82 years of age by the time of the next election.

The odds are not insignificant that he won't complete his second term after the mid terms because he will be a total lame duck at that point which doesn't strike me as a situation given his character in which he'd be happy to spend a long two years.

I think he is just trolling the media on a third term. The amount of effort he'd need to endure to change the constitution (which is extremely unlikely anyway) I just can't see him trying it.

Age does matter. Age and stress matters more.

In the end I think he'll go out in a whimper and resign before the end of his term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Seattle

The election wasn’t legally contested in a way that would trigger a contingent election - state results were certified, electors had cast their votes, and Biden had a clear Electoral College majority (306-232). Pence rejecting electors wouldn’t have shifted the process to a House vote; it would have been an unconstitutional overreach, either struck down by courts or overridden by Congress.