Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,032 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The US isn't really concerned about Greenland from a security perspective, I feel Trump is only using that as an excuse when what he wants is

A - Whatever resources are there.

B - Be known as they guy who expanded the US borders.

C - Because people are telling him he can't have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Iecrawfc

Basically ensuring the Ukraine will reject the shakedown deal and he can take the Russian side as 'Ukraine aren't interested in ending the war they started"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

”expanded the IS borders”

My spellcheck keeps doing the same thing 🤓

That Apple autocomplete AI thinks US is in same league as Islamic State these days speaks for itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,281 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I hope you're right, nothing would surprise me with these eejits all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I think they have to be more than quiet on those issues to undo the damage they've done to the publics perception of them. They will need to come out and actively turn and disown those policies.

Being quiet just won't cut it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Budgets.

If the price of computers or cars goes up 25% then companies will simply order 25% less to stay within budget. It's not a magic money tree. And the "extra" income from Tariffs has already been spaffed up the wall because DOGE has already managed a 10% reduction in US tax take.

UK exports followed a similar patter following the devaluation of the £ after Brexit. Claims of increased exports in £'s evaporated when measured in € or $. On the other hand imports got more expensive which included most cars and most food.

Price gouging.

If imports cost 25% more then domestic suppliers can increase their prices by only 20% and still be competitive. Because of volatility and greed there's a snowball's chance in hell that the extra profit will be used to build more factories or provide more long term jobs.

Tax burden shift.

Tariffs are minimal part of outlays for the rich and ares easily avoided by them. Land and property aren't affected. You can travel in a private jet that wasn't bought in the US. Overall it's part of the shift of the burden of taxation towards the lower classes. And stock market volatility benefits few, at the expense of pension funds and middle class holdings.

Globally it will restrict trade. Because who wants to order stuff when the price could go up or down by 25% between order and delivery. Like customs and duty, the tariff is at entry. Buy somewhere else or wait till things settle down.

It takes time to build factories. It takes a lot less time to workaround the law. Manufacturing bananas. Pushing a BIOS chip into an otherwise complete laptop. Compare Guaranteed Irish which means at least one employee and that half the value has to be added here, with transfer pricing such that you import something for X, paying Y for royalties or licenses or software and selling for Z.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,946 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

They arent reciprocal from him though, he is the one initiating the 1st level of tariffs or at least threatening them, the reaction to his original tariffs or threats are the reciprocal ones. So he put tariffs on Canada, Canada reacted to those but putting their own on the US, Canadas reaction is reciprocal, any further Tarriffs from Trump are simply him trying to punish Canada further by not letting him away with the original tariffs without any consequences.

Also the simple threat of tariffs is an issue as it means people cannot make any long term plans for their businesses as they dont know what their industry's supply chains, costs or available customer base will look like in 1-2 months let alone 6 months to 2 years down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,590 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"YOU HAVEN'T EVEN SAID THANKS TO PRESIDENT TRUMP FOR SAYING HE WANTS TO TAKE OVER YOUR COUNTRY!!!"

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2025-03-27/trump-s-tariffs-threaten-to-endanger-the-cheap-american-car?srnd=homepage-europe

So he threatened car makers to not put up prices

Putting aside for a minute that in a normal administration a Republican threatening businesses and capitalism would itself be a scandal

That is as much of an admission as we at we are going to get that Trump does realise that his tarrifs are highly inflationary and a form for tax on Americans, especially the poorer ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

If you mess with the rules and ways of working with international business, these are the challenges you’ll face. We know that the MAGA machine isn’t intelligent enough to predict unintended consequences of its actions - fine if you wish to face off to the rest of the world but that won’t prevent the green shoots of displeasure growing on your home turf.
    They did a very good job prepositioning “some pain” for Americans throughout the election as they strived towards MAGA- lets see just how much pain ordinary Americans are willing to take - they probably don’t know it but ordinary Americans have the power to bring down Trump - but do they have the motivation ? Let’s see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,637 ✭✭✭Rawr

If they had that meeting, it might have been fun if they had conducted the entire thing in Greenlandic Inuit. Then you'd have that cretin Vance having to choose between trying to get an interpretor or just stuggle along with a language that was totally alien to him. It would be a nice little thematic reminder of how rediculous the idea of Greenland becoming part of the US really is.

They could also do the same in Danish for similar effect, but I feel that using the local language would have had more of a poetic stab to it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,637 ✭✭✭Rawr

Tariffs are all he's got in terms of that might look like a "Political" "Policy". He doesn't know what they really are, or even how to use them properly, it's just something he knows he can say that he can do in the attempt to look like he's actually a President.

At very best (and this is maybe giving him too much credit) the car tariff might just be an attempt to distract from the recent stupid actions of his hand-picked "best people". Expect non-sensical tariffs every-single-time Donnie is feeling a bit inadequate, and given that he's a pathetic little shard of a man…that's going to be often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭tarvis

The time has come for Ireland Inc to take its eyes off the US and prioritise it’s sales efforts to the rest of the world - - - the places our lower Ministers visit on March 17.
    The US is a lost cause - its greatness is behind it. It is just a part of a continent and there are five continents - 4•5 markets ready to trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭yagan

Plus even with the Biden chips act the US military got exemptions to continue buying Chinese manufactured chips just to keep its weapons updated.

All any tariff announcement does is satiate hard core Trumpers.

It's odd to see a populist in Argentina who styles himself in the Trump manner do the exact opposite by removing trade barriers that have been there since the Peron era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

I have no indepth knowledge about specific companies in this line of work ,however in my opinion its places like this which will be hit hardest if tariffs go-ahead. We could see massive closures of distillers/ brewing companies. If a bottle of whisky was to cost say 50 dollars and a 200% tariff goes on it, noway will consumers buy it. Hopefully this is all bluster by Trump. If not what's coming is a genuinely scary thought for the whole country.

Never mind whiskey

These tarrifs will add 3000 to 6000 dollars to an average car even if it’s a US company

That’s a few years worth of eggs right there

We are about to learn how hollow the crocodile tears about what did turn out to be transitory inflation under Biden are

https://www.reuters.com/business/autos-transportation/us-car-buyers-face-higher-prices-less-choice-under-trumps-tariffs-2025-03-28/

….prioritise it’s sales efforts to the rest of the world - - - the places our lower Ministers visit on March 17.”

Excellent point! Just what have our politicians achieved from these “rest of the world” visits? Now is certainly the time to start asking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,379 ✭✭✭jj880

Russell Crowe, Jimmy Carr, Tubs and Ronan Keating are all investors in it. Maybe Crowe has a fan base in Canada to organise a few big orders.

Not that I care much about investors like Tubs with his RTE slush fund cash he refused to return but it's the workers there that will get hammered. Not many jobs about the upper end of Donegal in the booze business. Pubs and nightclubs closing everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭randd1

Am I the only one that thinks if a foreign country is decent enough to acknowledge St Patricks day that it's no big deal if we send a politician over to help foster a good relationship with them as a thank you for their recognition of our national day?

And almost all of these trips involve meetings with business leaders or politicians to promote trade or investment as well.

Of all the things to complain about, building international relationships and possible trade/investment, or simply acknowledging a gesture of recognizing our national day, are well down the list of problems in regards of the governance of this country for me.

As for politicians complaining about it, they'd be the first ones on the plane if they had the chance, so let's ignore their cries of foul.

I’m clearly not complaining about our politicians visiting these countries - I’m simply asking the question, aside from a hangover and a few nights in a five star hotel, what have they achieved in terms of business growth and new markets? It’s a very simple question - so sorry to disappoint you, but you’ve got the complete wrong end of the stick here

I'm just speaking in general. I don't get the furore over these trips in general.

They’ve been viewed in the past as junkets - a ministerial perk - they need to move from that to become part of an actual business development strategy for Ireland - politicians who go need to be spearheading clear objectives and achieving those objectives - and in fairness that will do their image no harm so it’s in their interest to take these trips seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭tarvis

my point was in no way intended as a complaint. It was to suggest we double even triple our efforts to sell our goods across the world and not just to the next door continent- and not just on one day of 365. It will be harder going due to language differences and distances. The US is not our only option.
    Our Taoiseach and Tanaiste might grace other countries with their presence some March 17ths

There are other types of tariffs, like naming rights meaning a cheese sold in the EU can only be called feta if it's made in Greece, so Irish and other producers adapted by simply calling their version "Greek style cheese".

The consumer isn't really affected, however Trump's tariff doctrine really is a daily inflicted punch in the balls for US consumers.

Even before he got reelected cocoa and coffee prices have seen a massive rise in response to Chinese consumer demand.

Irish producers might lose US customers to Trump tariffs but there's pockets of rising consumer demand all over the world.

There's half a billion Spanish speaking potential consumers in the rest of the Americas that can be targeted by Irish food exporters.

English language intransigence can be overcome.

"English language intransigence can be overcome."

The way AI and language translation apps are going, dealing in other languages isn't going to be much of a problem in the near future. The only problem will be coping with regional dialects or local slang.

As it is, you could nearly converse over the internet with a random stranger just by using google translate.

Or if you're hoping to deal with Latin America, hire a Spanish person.

Face to face dealing still better than sending a local language prospectus, although that's exactly how German train makers overtook the British in South America in the 19th century.

The Brits had invested in rail tracks for phosphate mining and had assumed they had those markets tied up.

Post edited by yagan on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

I don't understand why Denmark has not yet used the UN, NATO or the ICJ about Trump's continuous threats.

They could have by now requested an emergency meeting at the UN Security Council in reference to under Chapter VII of the UN Charter and seek to invoke articles 41 immediately, and be prepared to invoke article 42 if it comes to it

Article 41
    The Security Council may decide what measures not involving the use of armed force are to be employed to give effect to its decisions, and it may call upon the Members of the United Nations to apply such measures. These may include complete or partial interruption of economic relations and of rail, sea, air, postal, telegraphic, radio, and other means of communication, and the severance of diplomatic relations.

Article 42
    Should the Security Council consider that measures provided for in Article 41 would be inadequate or have proved to be inadequate, it may take such action by air, sea, or land forces as may be necessary to maintain or restore international peace and security. Such action may include demonstrations, blockade, and other operations by air, sea, or land forces of Members of the United Nations.

The could have by now invoked Article 4 of the NATO Treaty.

"Under Article 4 of NATO’s founding treaty, members can bring any issue of concern, especially related to the security of a member country, to the table for discussion within the North Atlantic Council".

They could have by now brought a case to the International Court of Justice.

Trump was at it again yesterday with his threats - It's getting close to the time now where they have to invoke at least one of these - if not all 3.

I guess as NATO members all Trump's threats are bluster until they aren't.

Actually in the early years of NATO the US funded factions to fight the Portuguese in Angola even though Portugal was a NATO member.

honestly I see an outright us civil war happening before an invasion of Canada and Greenland.

Just in US core inflation higher than expected

Kiss goodbye to rate cuts

More carnage once markets there open

Post edited by thatsdaft on