Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F1 2025 - Round 1 - Australia - Melbourne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Even with DRS the McLaren is too quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,568 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

5 second penalty for him for an unsafe release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,568 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

1st Norris

2nd Verstappen

3rd Russell

Piastri also passed Hamilton on the last lap to take 9th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,090 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

fair play to Stroll, don't think he got much of a mention during the race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

That was a fun race.

Have just seen that Piastri overtake, sublime in these conditions.

Left Hamilton to it.

Decent drive from Norris, kept his cool throughout.

Should've been a clear 1 - 2 for McLaren but for that one corner.

McLaren look a good bit clear of the other cars. Hopefully we'll see the others close the gap over the next few races

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

What a race lads! Considering the pace advantage of the McLarens, I’ll take a 2nd place for Max. But in normal dry conditions the orange cars are miles ahead - some car they’ve built. Great overtake there at the end from Piastri over Lewis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

There's going to be no love lost between Leclerc and Hamilton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,090 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Russell watching the highlights in the cool down room, might not see himself much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

best opening race in years!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Sauber had to wait until Qatar last year before getting any points on the board. They're off the mark on day one this year.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Very impressed with Antonelli. Especially given the fate of the other rookies. Russell did well also, I think he'll have a good season.

Williams also impressed, they might be part of a new top 5 teams.

I think McLaren are significantly ahead of the rest. In dry conditions, I think they'll be impossible to beat in this first part of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Forza_Monza

Its will be interesting to compare the race results from today with next week.

Mclaren clearly are very fast but also Lando seems a different driver.

Post edited by Forza_Monza on

Crazy that this is the first time since May 2022 that Verstappen hasn't lead the championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭Harika

Good to know the constant of Ferrari messing up strategy calls.

Feels like a traditional season opener when a third of the field would not finish.

Antonelli penalty has been overturned, he's back to P4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Hamilton really got the full Ferrari experience there. Bonus points with Mekies still bringing that touch to Yuki’s race.

edit: Lol. Just saw Vowles giving credit to Sainz for predicting the Ferrari “strategy”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Dave0301

The lack of timing gaps in the coverage today was very confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Delighted to see it. That was a phenomenal drive.

Toto must be thrilled with himself today.

Brundle caught him on the way to the anthem, he seemed likeable but absolutely at ease considering the situation. He also said the conditions would make it exciting, or words to that effect.

I'd quite like him to have a good season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,552 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I tried to stay up but I fell asleep but very enjoyable race. Those rookies were caught on the hop with the power of the cars.

Hamilton is going to get sick of the stupid Ferrari radio word salad soon, and they fucked up staying out on slicks when it chucked it down.

So from going from red flagging a race any time there was car off, it seems we will just have vehicles and Marshall’s all over the track. It’s from one extreme to the other.

Good win for Norris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Decent race, only caught up now. Lando seemed so assured in the car, and his starts seem sorted too. Looks like it'll be McLaren and Max competing for the championship.

Ferrari look like they've taken a backwards step, and their usual strategy is back (last year it had seemed to have improved).

Antonelli looks like he'll be a top driver. Bortoleto too.

Haas look like they're nowhere, which is a shame.

And the Alpine (from the side especially) and the racing bulls cars both look lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Decent race and an entertaining start to the season. McLarens are miles ahead of anyone and although hard to judge real pace in the wet I’d give the 2nd best car at the min to Mercedes. Max could drive the legs off an Opel Kadet and still finish on the podium, red bull have some catching up to do and Ferrari…..??? well Ferrari gonna Ferrari.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Could easily argue Hamilton is also getting the Ferrari pitwall experience. Left them out far too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I only watched the race, didn't watch the post race coverage or anything. Was there much made about the giant slow moving tow truck being on track at the same time as the cars were passing? Seems like a massive mistake to be making...

Saw a clip of Norris and Max being asked about it. Both said they were ok with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,552 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That truck being there was ridiculous. I mean to be fair to F1 they have made big strides in safety since the jules Bianci crash, but then you see stupid stuff like that. Martin Brundle said out loud during the race “why is the Marshall there?” which was a great question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Made this point before, it's absolutely okay to have rescue vehicles on track alongside racing vehicles as long as

1. The racing has been neutralised by safety car, red flag, VSC or full course yellow.

2. The vehicles are lit up like Christmas trees so they can be spotted in poor visibility

3. They only travel in the direction of racing and not towards racing cars.

Remember these vehicles may have to be called upon to free a driver from a life threatening situation and might not have time to wait for everyone else to return to pitlane.

This too shall pass.

No.1 was satisfied, but how many times have we seen cars lose it in these situations? - happened today. Your first priority as a responder is to at least not make the situation worse by putting yourself or others at risk.

No.2 I don't believe happened. Visibility wasn't poor - safety car saw at first and went down an escape road at that corner - I don't believe the drivers followed him for obvious reasons.

No. 3 Thankfully that was the case, it was a fairly sizeable vehicle and the driver of that is going to be safe - a lad in an f1 car is at a pretty bad height to be hitting it - from memory it didn't have any safety features installed for that potential situation.

It is a difficult one. I'd be first to say I don't want them being trigger happy with the red flags, we have been down that road. The problem with a track like today is that there are not many areas where they can place rescue cranes etc and again I'd hate to see them binning off classic tracks for safety features like that.