Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIDL plus app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Moving2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭ECookie13

Lild must really be struggling if they're removing croissant coupons that were given out originally. I barely go to Lidl anymore, and guess the trend is continuing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭Nollog

They cant afford the lawsuit brought by earwig and zell12 nods

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 5,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

Seems like it was meant only for Lidl staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,193 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,425 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

International Womens Day is tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭go4it

got the croissant in the morning and noticed the yum-yum had 20% off also ; the person at the till was a bit surprised, but all good after i said 'Happy women's day!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭geographica

I’d say Wexford town will too when the new shop opens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

No voucher here for free croissant..may have gone to the store and spend few quids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,826 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Anyone pick up the chainsaw that was on offer,looks like it would be handy for trimming unwanted ash plants, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

it appeared in my app on Friday but had disappeared yesterday!?

Was going to redeem it yesterday (Saturday) 😢

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Went to my local Lidl and they were all gone by 11am. Went further a field and bought 2. I already have an older one as well (that got broken, my fault). They are full size chainsaws. 53cc. Not the type you would see lumberjacks use maybe but fine for cutting down even fully grown trees in Ireland.

They possibly aren't as rugged as some branded stuff (but of course they are only about 1/4 the price), grand for everyday work. Like all of the Parkside stuff really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭Buffman

There doesn't seem to be much if any logic to their 'per transaction' limits these days, you really have to pay attention to each item.

For example this week you can buy 15 packs of sirloin steak but only 1 round roast per transaction. Or 15 bags of carrots but only 1 bag of rocket leaves.

And the '3 for €9' has gone from 9 items to 3 items per transaction.

All seems very pointless when all you have to do is split up your shopping appropriately if you want more and it's not a single use 'treat', but looks to be trying to catch unwary people out.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Moving2017

thanks for the comment on the 3 for €9. If doing a big shop I’d have had multiples and been annoyed when it didn’t work the way I expected it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Jorge Jorgesson

Anyone know what base suits the livorno parasol that lidl are selling? Its 25mm pole diameter, so very thin for most that i can find online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭Patsy167

There needs to be regulation on products that that can be labelled "Protein". Today's Irish surprise offer is for Protein Biscuits where you get a measly 12g of protein if you eat the entire pack. Ridiculous. People will be fooled into thinking these are healthy and handing over a premium for glorified junk food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭murphm45

Just on this they seem to be a small pack (50g) so the equivalent of a bar of chocolate meaning proportionately it's quite high. Wouldn't be buying them either way (just not for me) but it's not as dreadful as you might be suggesting

No one keeping eye on the 'surprises'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭Buffman

Nothing worth mentioning really, after those 'protein' biscuits it was 20% off jam yesterday and today is 20% off split cakes. Limited to 6 items per 'treat'.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,475 ✭✭✭Invincible

They're a bit of with "Your Christmas Crackers" under the offer 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭scrotist

Feck. This was the best offer, I used it a lot. I always thought it was a mistake. Super cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭scrotist

Report them to the consumer authority or whatever they're called. I reported Aldi for their "100% wholemeal" bread which had normal white flour in it. Don't think it made a difference but hopefully it was at least a small pain in the arse for Aldi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭crayon80

Cott ch.jpg

LiLidl are very much preying on the high protein trend.

Regular cottage cheese with 34g protein €3.63/kg

High protein with 31g protein €5.96/kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,207 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Yeah that was me. They upped them first to 1000 which was still a bargain but now 1999.

1999 is still good for those, it's the equivalent of €2 but I think if you pay cash they're around €3.50 + ?

I'd say I've gotten around 20+ bags of 2KG spuds for free anyway using the 790-points-knack so happy days 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭Nollog

High protein seems to be 10g or 10% and they all think they can say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Mr321

Is it just me or anyone else thing the Lidl app has become really poor the last few months? Even in store the reduced pricing if you've the Lidl app on certain products etc isn't really there anynore. The treats part to not as good as it used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭uli84

the app became useless pretty much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭autumnalcore

It has to account for at least 20% of the calories. E.g

An egg is 12% protein but 35% of calories are protein. I'd argue most of the people buying 'high protein' are preying on themselves though. I see the first year college students loading up on sugar n' shite ™ ultra processed high protein rubbish every year in the local. Just have an egg FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,142 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

25% off a bakery danish pastry. Thats just taking the absolute proverbial today.