Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would rejuvenate Galway City?

• 13-03-2025 02:22PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭

Galway city, like most big cities is dying. Perhaps slowly, but it seems to me, its following a well worn path towards a future of empty, derelict buildings.

What would you propose as potential solutions? You never know, people from the council might read boards, and try to implement some ideas

For me, I'd designate areas of the city by ever expanding zones. Say everything within a 500m radius of Eyre Square be considered Zone 1. The next 500m zone 2, etc.

Then ban things like off licences, bookies, vape shops in Zone 1

Introduce massive charges for buildings not in use

Reduce council rates for certain commercial types, say restaurants with waiting staff

More bins

More murals around the city

Come up with a plan for Spanish Arch. It's a disgrace at the moment. A giant orange tube and a big fence. It's horrific

A partial cover over Shop Street. Something that lets light in, but keeps a lot of the rain out

More community guards walking the streets.

Make more use of Eyre Square. There should almost a permanent band stand in there that can easily be booked by local musicians

A dedicated space for a regular food market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Glenomra

As a Clare visitor, previously regularly now occasionally, the problem isquite simply access. Build the ring road before the moment has passed Galway by. More and more shoppers are visiting Limerick's shopping centres the tunnel is exceptionally useful, rather than torturing themselves trying to access Galway city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Also, there's more Tech shops in Limerick. And I've ordered tech gear from a Limerick based online business.

Many years ago, I bought a Pocket Camcorder in Galway in that well known Camera Shop.

Still have the receipt. Was in Galway for Christmas and the same shop looks bit tired.

Regarding the Bus Eireann Derry - Galway Coach service, while it's a nice big coach, it's always very busy in either direction.

There's an okayish train connection between Galway and Limerick as well but again, often turns into a clusterf*k I wonder when seat reservations can be made.

Finally, when is the food trolley being re introduced on the Dublin Galway train? ( yes, I did travel First Class on this a long time ago)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,281 ✭✭✭Wompa1

The very first thing that needs to be done is fix Shop Street. The claims that the cobblestones can't go back due to them being dangerous for people with disabilities is fine and well but why does that mean keeping the ugly disaster that is currently in place? At least put down flat stone or something that looks decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,610 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Dying? Or just changing, as technologies and lifestyles change?

On-line has fundamentally changed retail, and Covid sped things up and vastly increased WFH, which most people see as A Good Thing: the city centre has less business because working people are able to spend their money in the suburbs or small towns.

Property is slow to catch on, though, so cities have a surplus of retail spaces over need for them.

Banning "things like off licences, bookies, vape shops" would just be banning the *perfectly legal* shops that people go to for things that they want right now. It would push even more business on-line (gambiling) or into the hands of delivery agents.

Cities need to become "experience locations" if they want to have previous levels of business.

Post edited by Mrs OBumble on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,055 ✭✭✭gifted

Sort out the parking prices for the car parks.....bad enough the choice and size of shops are considerably smaller than other cities but the parking is really expensive...see attached photo....had to pop into town this morning and it cost me €3 to park for 28 minutes..in Limerick or Athlone the parking is free in shopping centres

20250318_090744.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,930 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Then ban things like off licences, bookies, vape shops in Zone 1

So ban the only viable businesses? The places that people go and spend money in? And you want to rejuvenate the place?

Out of the box thinking here but I would roof Shop Street. Not enclose it like the Eyre Square shopping centre, just put a roof on it. Make a wander down Shop Street on a wet and windy day a more pleasant experience. Definitely more bins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭CuriousCucumber

Yip, ban those shops at the very center of the city, or at least introduce a limit

Zone 1 in my example was a small area, 1km in diameter around Eyre Square. None of those shops provide anything attractive to a city center. They exist in every suburb around the country.

Who visits the city center to go to one of those shops? You have plenty of options everywhere, and none of them are family friendly stores

How about the people who live in the city centre? Or tourists staying there? Why can't they have access to shops like that?

They can. Those shops would be less than 500m away unless they live on Eyre Square

Maybe 500m is too far, maybe it gets reduced to 250m. It's an idea

What would you replace these viable businesses with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,348 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

So no more Cavavin or Wine Buff. What have those shops done that's so horrible ?

I find all the Limerick talk here quite funny because all anyone does on the Limerick threads is use the greatness of Galway to bash Limerick.

Shops, restaurants, art galleries, food halls, book shops. Lots of choice.

I'm not sure if I've gotten the point of this thread across properly.
    In my opinion, there is very little appealing about Galway city at the moment. What can we do to make it more appealing?

Can anyone really say say bookies/vape shops/off licenses are attractions that bring people into the city centers?

Also, I'm just proposing ideas. I'm not saying it's perfect. 500m was an initial randomly selected distance.

Maybe there are stricter licenses for these stores, or limits on how many can exist within a certain area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Paddico

Ban plastic shop fronts on businesses on Shop street.

That would make betting shops and vape shops actually look ok

How many off licences are there in Galway city centre. Can't be more than a couple ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭crusd

Woodberry's really lowered the tone around middle street. Good riddance to independent specialised businesses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

There should be an architectural heritage committee to consult on shopfront colour schemes/finishes, and only allow hand painted signage, not that ghastly vinyl or printed stuff.

Owners of empty shops and buildings should be compelled into keeping their premises in good order. Not left to rot and covered in green algae, moss and mould.

Same should apply to every town really.

This site lists off licenses in Galway: https://www.openingalway.com/p/off-licenses.html

Including an O'Briens in the Galway Shopping Centre, and one in West Side, there is a grand total of 7. *Not including pubs or convenience shops that have off sales.

So I dont think Off Licenses are quite the blight on the city centre the OP thinks it is.

I vape myself, and the thing about vaping unlike regular smoking, is you have additional paraphanlia you need. Sometimes batteries, coils, specialist juice. So, when the OP asks "Would this entice you into the city centre", the answer for many is yes.

Shops, restaurants, art galleries, food halls, book shops. Lots of choice.

There's plenty of them already, arguably lacking choice and value though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

More pedestrianisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Paint and clean every building with particular attention paid to above ground floor level. Some of the buildings on Shop Street are a joke if you look up e.g. Carroll's Irish Gifts.

More bins and more council staff to empty them, especially at weekends.

Move on beggars and ban the sale of roses and wool on the street.

Ban the person who throws bags of porridge oats on every corner from the city centre.

Come up with a proper solution for Spanish Arch flooding. The big inflatable orange yoke is a farce. Maybe if the council hadn't blown the budget on the big move to Mervue, some cash could have been set aside to tackle that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

I'd noticed the porridge oats on the footpaths in places, and figured it must've been put there by some nuthouse intent on feeding the pigeons, while inadvertently feeding the rats too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭berrecka

Some really good ideas here, especially around tidying the place up, getting rid of the gaudy signage and the eyesore that is the Spanish Arch. The Council are considering their retail strategy at the moment, so might be an idea to email them with some of your ideas. Its our town, tell them what matters to you and give them ideas. The worst they can do is ignore you, but at least you can rant about the state of the place knowing you tried to help fix it 🤣

Galway City Council -  Planning@GalwayCity.ie

Galway County Council -  Planning@GalwayCoCo.ie 

Galway City and Galway County Councils to Commence Shopper and Household Surveys as part of Joint Retail Strategy | Galway City Council

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Paddico

Yeah lets make Shop Street look like every predictable UK high street

Just hearing about the oats thing now for the first time.

If that was Dublin she would be a "character" and have a statue put up in commemoration. The tourists will love it 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭what_traffic

Increase dereliction tax and the criteria that qualifies for it. Get more turnover and transactions of commercial property

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,674 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭xckjoo

Pretty sure there's already a by-law about shop fronts but it's not enforced or there's a workaround.

Encourage local business. It's short sighted to focus on these big box retailers. They might be the only ones with deep enough pockets for the rates, etc. being charged, but they're generic and everything they sell is online. Going to kill tourism too because people want a unique experience, not to see the same old tat they see at home. Same goes for us locals. Make the city a nice place to spend time. We aren't shopping like we did in the 90s but they seem to be still trying to approach retail like we are. Take a chance on unique things like galleries, curiosity shops, etc. and there'll be more of a reason to go into the city and spend time around the place. That'll inevitably lead to spending money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

It's inconsistently enforced. Many will remember the controversy over the the mural on Claddagh Jewellers and I heard a manager of one high profile Eyre Square business complaining that even a temporary Christmas window painting can have the Council Planners in demanding its removal within the day. Yet some awful tat is allowed to stay indefinitely.

The thread is about rejuvenation (making young again: young people tend to like gaudy and cheap tat, ).

Not regeneration (fitting the city for current lifestyles, including vastly changed retail patterns).

Or preservation of historical patterns of living (muted colour schemes, traditional businesses etc).

Many of the replies above (including mine!) are suggesting tactics to do different things than what the thread is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭sasal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,901 ✭✭✭✭zell12