Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6N '25 Ireland v France Match Thread: Sat8th Mar 2:15 Farewell & Adieu to you POMs, Murrays & Healys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I think Ireland have advantage, every French back has to finish the game and they've put in some serious work in that half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Super kick.

We look very limited with ball in hand, French are coping comfortably enough with us.

Henshaw having a fine game. French fans making all the noise here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Osborne has shown some lovely touches in attack and his long kicking has troubled the France backfield. He's probably been the pick of the backs so far.

Keenan has looked good too, bar the decision to pass to Prendergast when the latter was on the touchline with three France players in close proximity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭watchclocker

Very few groups of friends at these home games, more groups of colleagues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,857 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Osborne has been rock solid on the wing today, shown some really lovely footwork to make meters when he had no right to.

Our territorial kicking hasn't been as precise as we need it to be, not generating the pressure on their back 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Papagei

Can't stand Porter, his speciality is giving away penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,400 ✭✭✭tanko

His general play has been shocking, so predictable with his passing and such a liability in defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭ironingbored

The rugby match rudely interrupting Penaud’s cigarette break earlier…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,841 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Prendergast doing great, he's 21 , dont get the hate, sure he will make the odd mistake, but if we want to build for next WC , need to give potential a proper go, and get behind brave calls,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I’m quite confident for the second half. Only issue is we look a bit blunt without Lowe, Hansen and Ringrose. Keenan has been superb.

France look lost without their main man. Thought they were tiring as well after 30. Obviously 7 forwards on the bench but one more backline injury and they’re in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

Sam is Lisan al Gaib, the chosen one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,869 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Poor half from prendergast, he needed that savage kick at the end.

Penaud is some donkey, and he's probably soaking in the silk cuts at half time.

Joe McCarthy needs to be dropped from the 23 for italy.

Doris having a savage game.

Disaster for the rugby world, if Dupont is out for 12 months.

Makes the champions cup very interesting now. Toulouse v different without him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Don't think Dupont injury was could play. Just got his leg caught and Beirne counter rucked from the gate.

Officially I see France conceded like 6/7 penalties but at the start of the game they actually conceded about 8 alone because they compounded them while Ireland had advantage, people will say French defense was fantastic but they were caught offside repeatedly and it's not really fair because there was no jeopardy, ref was never gonna yellow them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Fair play Sam...keeping us in touch here with a couple of great penalties

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭fitz

We've been the better side, imo. France should have had a yellow for cynical penalties in the red zone, much like Joe deserved his card. They only scored when we were down a man, and off a very dubiosly granted penalty. Gardner is so poor, he gets so pedantic about niggly things, then ignores obvious stuff. That should have been a penalty and probably a card for Penaud not releasing along with the side entry clear out on Doris.

Combined with the loss of Dupont and the 7-1 split, I don't think France win this without us getting another card.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,868 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭uptherebels

After the last day, he needed a better performance. Poor in that half.

If only it was an odd mistake.

You want to develop a player by starting them at international level, then you need to take the criticism and "hate".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,593 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

So many of our attacks broke down with pointless kicking from himself and Prendergast.

Doing fine for a young lad being played out of position but nothing to right home about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Is it bad that I can't tell if this is legitimate worship or satire?

(Love the Dune reference though! ;P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

McCarthy and Nash have been very poor. Doris and Osborne doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I'm been watching this game in the background of this thread. It is a very tough game out there for Ireland so far.

France's momentum in this game is quite surreal so far. They do have the flair to put down tries and to put out a statement when they want it. Ireland OTOH are trying to keep possession & territory but they are not getting rewarded for it. The penalty from McCarthy for France's 1st try had swung the momentum to France to just keep them ahead in the match.

Ireland are making some good attempts to fight back with Prendergast's penalties through the posts to keep us 2 points behind them while we are now at half time. But Ireland need to do something more than that to get a bigger lead against the French. And that is to score more tries. Nothing more needs to be said than that.

Dupont being off injured has now changed momentum back into Ireland's favour. Ireland now need to capitalise on Dupont's injury and put down a few statement scores in the 2nd half. Ireland have no injuries in this match to date which is great news. They need to have a plan in place to get some tries down against France quickly because France still look fired up to win it.

I can't wait for the 2nd half of this game. Here's hoping that it will be good for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Can see Crowley coming on for last 15 and changing the attacking picture. Think Murray will be the break glass sub. Not sure what else France can do, no plan B for them aside from go harder with the 7 forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭swiwi_

don’t think so syd. There was a little but deliberate step into the path of penaud.

I mean it doesn't matter either way, it's just banter, people take this kind of thing waaaay too seriously. Our opinions are irrelevant at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,429 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Anyone putting up posts calling for lads to be subbed and or dropped, obviously know the square root of f*** all about Rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Would love to know what the tackle stats are at half time. Feels like we made France make 80+tackles in the opening 20 minutes before they started gaining possession and territory.

I think we might be fitter so if we've made them work harder there could be gaps in defence later in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,841 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

it is the odd mistake , he is one for the future, and we need to build a team for WC . He's 21 and not fully developed size wise, but doing great right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭hawley

We're more favoured by the bookies to win now than we were pre-match. Probably because of Dupont's injury.

Communication was the greatest fatality