Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87

Cork got Punished twice for throws last year and during the semi final match v limerick live on TV i was 100% convinced they were throws and one of them led to a disallowed goal. At ht analysis they replayed the incidents in slow motion and there were both legitimate handpasses but impossible to call. A rule needs to be brought in where there is clear separation of 2 inches, so that it is an obvious handpass, if not obvious blow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭hurlaway

Throwing overcharging and diving to win frees and get opposition players cards is good place,I would hate to see what you would consider a bad place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

The fact that the referees are not picking up on it is the problem though…. and I believe they are afraid to because they know they’ll get lashed out of it by the pundits on the Sunday Game and actually it’s those very same pundits that have to …..“reach for the remote “ ….as you put it, to prove there was a millimetre of separation not the other way around.

Post edited by Charlie69 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭hurlaway

Sorry,meant overcarrying

Again you’re missing the point, you shouldn’t have to use slow motion to see if a handpass is legal…. that’s exactly what makes it illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

"were both legitimate handpasses but impossible to call"

If it's impossible to call then they are not legitimate handpasses. The onus is on the passer to provide clear separation between hand and ball. Failure to do that is a foul. If the referee cannot see it, it's a foul. Unfortunately most referees are now afraid to call it as such because there are panelists on tv using slow motion to hammer them for not spotting it.

As a coach, we always remind players the responsibility is with them - make sure the referee can see separation or else he may well blow for a foul. It's hard to keep banging this drum when you see pundits on tv saying the opposite.

You are missing my point, the current rules are not sufficient and most of the hand passes are legal. My action was to implement a rule of clear separation of 2 inches, so it will be blatantly obvious if it is a hand pass or not, anything not obvious blow it. Players wont be long stopping when they get the hand taken off them with much slower hand pass when implementing clear separation. Should not be to hard to monitor either

You’re actually agreeing with me now and you don’t even know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

Correct, the rules say the referee must see "a definite striking action with the hand".

4 slow motion replays that finally identify a tip of the finger touch doesn't overrule this.

For what it's worth, I agree,as a spectacle the game has never looked better, but part of the reason it's aesthetically good is the rule breaking.

Example

Corner back takes 3 steps,dummies the oncoming player with a sidestep (2 more steps), motors on for a further 4 or 5 steps, offloads a throw to wingback coming onto his shoulder at pace. He throws a looped pass over a defender's head to the wing forward who slots over an arrowed shot from the sideline unmarked, Cue the whoops.

Corner back takes 3 steps, dummies the oncoming player with a sidestep (2 more steps), attempts to motor on but is immediately (and correctly) blown for steps, and the opposition get a tap over free. "Booo, you're spoiling the game as a spectacle, let it flow".

The former is visually far more appealing but it's bogus, and if left unchecked will get far worse (clever modern coaches spend a lot of time looking to exploit the rules) and we will have a farce of a game that bears no resemblence to hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Krazy gang

Anyone know when the draws for the senior / intermediate / junior championships are on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

My theory on things is Kilkenny are going to find out real soon that TJ Reid has been masking over a lot of problems in the county team this last 10 years by carrying lads on his back through unerring freetaking, ball winning, bringing lesser players into play and general leadership.

Ballyhale are slipping already after doing the same for them albeit with some unbelievable players with him like the Fennellys etc.

Kyle Hayes makes Limerick tick aswel, they won’t win anything without him on the pitch.

What others lads are going to step up now and carry Kilkenny for the next 10 years in attack during championship like TJ did?

It was grand during the good times, spoilt with Shefflin, Brennan, Larkin, Powers, Taggy, Mick Fennelly, Hogan

Whos the next leader??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Yes, the game is in a good place from the competitiveness perspective but its possible to separate that from what is happening on the field and to have concerns with how the game is being played and refereed. I think its more than "minor infringements" we're talking about here, we're talking about core rules of the game being consistently ignored in almost every sequence of play and teams awareness of this shapes how the play the game as a team.

There is a constant fear in the hurling world about slowing the game down or not letting it flow which I understand but taking throwing for an example, what effect would eliminating that from the game have? Why do teams throw instead of handpass, because it requires less skill, it is less risky to execute in a crowd of players, it is easier to successfully string 3 or 4 throws together than handpasses. it is used to keep possession, it is used to avoid the man on man contests that are one of the most entertaining aspects of hurling I think most people would agree.

Of course the game has evolved and possession is now king, but throwing and steps have helped facilitate that evolution and any change, such as actually applying the rules, that makes it harder to keep possession in hurling is a good thing in my opinion.

None of this means that we don't have a great sport, that is more accessible than ever, or that the sport needs a football style re-think but I do think the trifecta of steps, tackling and throwing needs to addressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

I think we all accept tj won't leave a hole it will be a quarry that will be left.We will struggle for a consistent free taker that's high up in the percentage. But like every team the show will go on when he goes but he will be some loss. Adrian Mullen made the breakthrough in 2019, he has missed a lot of matches with injuries, he failed to deliver on a lot of big days. Kenny is becoming a leader in the team. He has being the bright spark of this mixed league. He gives the opposition 6 something to think about and he is well able take a score. Big match for kk this weekend. Potentially kk could go down to 1b if they lose the next 2 and results go against them. That would be a big disaster but not impossible. Matches are coming thick and fast the same homework wouldn't go into it but ronan maher can't be left run the show and kk defence driving ballons in front of the spare man in defence. Tipp are releasing the ball much quicker into their attack and its something kk could do. The second last game of the league so management will have one eye on the championship but a loss this weekend and clare win would throw a cat among the pigeons,they will be bringing donnelly back,it's a pity Stephen is out. We could do with someone new standing out in attack with a good performance but unfortunately that hasn't happened for a long time. They have went with a settled defence all league but have yet to find a partner for Jordan molloy.Hopefully mackessy gets a run Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭mooz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Marrooned

I was ate here for bringing up this subject before. If teams are throwing the ball then it’s illegal, if they are winning games this way then it’s is cheating. All these coaches that brought in these tactics were lauded by everybody when in fact it was a cynical ploy to win at all costs.

A leader always emerges after the present leader goes. If they are going to be good or bad remains to be seen.

Kenny is turning into a real leader and Donnelly had his best ever year last year for club and county.

Mullen, talented as he is, has failed to deliver consistently in big games over the last few years.

Yeah it is a big year for Mullen, himself and Eoin Cody are not the same players without TJ around them. John Donnelly and Cian Kenny are up there with Huw Lawlor now as irreplaceable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭biglad40isback

Kiely more or less full throttle with team v galway for Saturday. O donoghue hayes finn back. Casey and hegarty on bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Kenny and Donnelly should be the ones to drag us forward the next few years

If Mullen can get injuries cleared up he can do the same over the next few years

Unfortunately I don’t think eoin Cody will be the leader we need him to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

Screenshot_20250307-213041_Chrome.jpg

Good to see John Donnelly back on the panel and McDonald getting another run, no Eoin Cody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 kilkenny123456

hopefully having tj back will help drennan and dunne beside him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

Might have Mullen back next weekend. Stephen donnelly in a race to be fit for championship. Drennan and dunne could be auditioning to stay on the panel. Pity Owen Wall isn't there he would of added a bit of pace and direct. I thought they might give moylan a run after doing well against cork. The backs are more or less settled,maybe Shane Murphy will get in. Midfield pairing changes every week,molloy is well able to hurl and should start the championship. The same fowards that have struggled to get enough scores to win big matches,it's hard to believe kk can't bring through any kind of a decent foward. Players stock rises when they are out but it will be back to donnelly and Mullen to replace dunne and drennan for the championship. Kk really needed more players to step up. This is a big match for kilkenny and they certainly wouldn't want to be flirting with relegation and getting bet by 3 munster teams or losing 3 matches at home. It wouldn't be a good start heading into the championship but a loss Sunday and a clare win wouldn't be great.It will be intresting to see what way herity will set them up on puckouts and tactically.They will go after the two corner backs. They release the ball quick into the fowards something that kilkenny are slow at.Tipp are back a long time and have a huge amount of work done. They are ahead of a few teams but liam had his team peaking too early the last few years. Galway,cork and tipp could all do with winning a bit of silverware. Kk need a good performance, we would all like to see more than a 55 minute performance. Fading badly out of games. Like to see better ball to the attackers. Not the likes deegan and blanchfield winding up and driving missels or worse again making a hero out of ronan maher. Tactically kk have being easily outsmarted and predictable to play against. Both teams will be up for this match. It's more important to kk to get a win.

U19’s bet Laois U20’s tonight.

sorry KK 3-16 Ls 0-11p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭therealdonster

He says that about every player(bad for his club last year, lacks pace yada yada ad nauseum) a constant & slow drip of negativity is all he brings to this forum…Good to see him called out like that as usually nobody would remember if a player was good or bad for their club last year

Not every player, i have absolutely highlighted and praised some the players i rate highly. We have not won an all Ireland for 10 years and some players are clearly not good enough but have little fan clubs on this forum. So we think the Kilkenny intercounty team would be better off with 2 Conahy Shamrocks payers who won one match all year and were fairly average for the club and got relegated, i watched the relegation final, Michael Rice at 41 schooled them. If either or both were good enough they would have grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and won the game, but no both are inconsistent and average for there club.

But i do like your idea of we are wonderful, blame the refs, blame the opposition, give out about members giving an honest opinion on players, how dare any one say anything negative about a Kilkenny hurler, that fantasy world does appeal to me, i can see where some on our mentality has crept into the youth, we put them on a pedestal and when it goes wrong everyone else is to blame.

I watched a few conahy matches and thought bergin was better than Tom phelan. In fairness they ran a few teams close, danesfort, the rower and St martins.

Bergin did look good a few years ago when he got a run of games. But I'm sure Derek Lyng and the management watched nearly every club in the county last year. Maybe bergin refused the call either. We dont know.

I do agree with you though that some posters here seem to get very offended by others giving an opinion that they don't hold themselves. So they lash out instead of offering an alternative.