Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,045 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Dolores: "I don't really work."

She should have a strong kinship with Joe so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭johnbarrett35

Today's show is more bizarre than usual, and that's saying a lot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭zell12

back in the day

image.png

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

A “musician” rang in saying he was robbed in Dublin City Center on his way to buy a rare flute from a dealer and now wouldn’t be able to purchase but he reported the “theft” to the gardai and set up a GoFundMe to raise the €5000 as otherwgsevtge flute would fall into the hands of a collector. This was in June. The GFM stayed up till many badge Christmas and the amount required went up to €5500. I reckon it was a guy wanting to get others to buy a new flute for him. Classic scam Tactics as well like the flute was needed quickly to prevent it falling into the wrong hands etc.

I thought Joe said "Smash T1t$".

I'm disappointed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,300 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I'm sure some penpals were less than kosher people you were replying to.

John: "He came out staggering with a huge sac(k)...of letters."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭archfi

It was at it's height in the 80s. I collected the full lot and dumped them when I moved out of home! :( :(

The big HITS typeface is the clue :)

il_1080xN.6113108512_f1qb.jpg

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭golondrinas

yeah I noticed that with dismay. Then I realised they wasted up to 7 millions on a **** IT system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Ah shure, Kevin reads this thread and laughs away 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,196 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I bet he's got a cameo in the TV programme. That's why he's so excited about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Dóchas is a hotel, criminals put on weight in prison thanks to the generous portions.

Funny how he is happy to harangue this woman who probably is genuinely unhinged, yet idiots on about their

“mental ‘elf” are trusted without question, while violent scum are misunderstood youngsters in Joe’s professional opinion (of living in a mansion away from crime).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mountain

so Duffy is discussing Ozempic, and RTE tv are doing a documentary called The Skinny jab,

Caller driven show me arse

GDY151

Made by Aquarius Productions which is owned by Kathryn Thomas, she has the same agent as Joe 🔎.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭kitsy13

Have we got a funny friday next week pls he has mentioned sil a few times recently, and june is coming back...I hope the whole crew are doing it next Friday, Clint velour, uncle bob, I love June's laugh 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Today with the Duffster:

Wonderful woman (Margaret) from yesterday.

And then Joe gets cut off.

Ray operating the desk today?

From yesterday The wonderful Margaret renting a house in a field, sending a letter to herself. That is it!! And now plays 'bette davis eyes'

and Joe is now back 4 minutes later saying Danish Post no longer delivering letters - BINGO for me!

and Smash Hits magazine

and did you apply for a free piano?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Today with Joe (Take 2):

Kim Carnes sounds better than Joe.

Danish Post office no longer delivering post to all parts of the country. Looking for callers in Irish pubs/post offices in Denmark.

Smash Hits. What are your memories?

Anyone tried to sell you a piano lately? Grand stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mountain

memories of smash hits??!
    really?
    ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭Kalimah

I hope he covers the piano scam. I work in a charity and we got an email last December re the donation of a piano. We'd have no use for one at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I really hope they do get to the piano scam, and someone who fell for it to be on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,799 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I can't remember if it's been discussed before but I really wish they would do away with having a piano in public places like train stations and airports. Sure it can be nice if someone can actually play but anytime I'm in earshot its some kid plinking plonking random keys.

Trump-bashing?

GDY151

Will he mention Irish-American Heritage Month in US?

This was NOT on the promo

Walk off? You mean Dance off the stage