Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The future of James Bond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

O'Dowd might be stretching it a little bit. What about that Poldark guy who was tipped for the job a few years ago when Daniel Craig was supposed to be stepping down. Also after seeing Colin Farrell in Sugar I think he could maybe give it a whirl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,795 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,294 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I have to admit, Chris O'Dowd as James Bond gave me the biggest laugh I've had all week.

"The name's Bond. James Bond like.

Have you tried turning it on and off again?"

cropped_MI_Chris_ODowd_Getty.jpg

Need a bit of cleaning up but he could and use that line at some point too!

I just don't think his accent is completely concealable. That west midland's tone comes out far too much, even if his over all accent has been somewhat mangled over the years.

And, frankly, he's just not that good at putting on different ones.

But, TBH, I wouldn't have the first clue who to put forth as the next Bond. I laughed at Craig getting the gig and he turned out to be the best, after Connery.

Connery couldn't change his either. Chris Connery/Sean O'Dowd?

Casino Boyale? From Roscommon with Love? He might be deep undercover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Big Gerry

In the early Bond films Connery's accent isn't as strong compared to later ones.

Deep, DEEP, undercover.

"Sure no one would expect me like"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Double Oh Sure, sure, yeah, yep, bye now.

Yeah, that Poldark guy was hot tipped at one stage. Would be the right age to give him a few years/films.

Only thing is though, it really tends to derail your career. Sure, there are worse ways of derailing your career than being typecast as super-suave and handsome, while travelling around the world to exotic locations, driving fast cars with beautiful women while wearing expensive tailored clothing and watches that cost more than a house….. What was I saying again?

Oh yeah, derail. I think Daniel Craig did well by getting those Benois Blanc movies. However I do think that Amazon will treat it like a product and drive it into the ground with spinoffs, TV series and lackluster movies that, despite huge budgets and massive casts, will be bland, characterless CGI-fests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,941 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

The plot of From Russia With Love (a film no-one has a problem with and many regard as the best) was an uber-complicated SPECTRE revenge mission on Bond for the death of Julius No in the first film. So the link from film to film was set at an early stage and continued through the 60s/70s with Blofeld/SPECTRE, with I guess Goldfinger as an exception.

The whole idea of standalone non-linked films with a single-shot megalomaniac villain only really came in with Roger Moore's film. And this was largely because they had lost the rights to Blofeld.

So I don't think the Daniel Craig films can be blamed for having an overarching link. Though they definitely went much too far with the backstory nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Henry Cavil is still young enough for the role and showed he can do it in the (fairly underapreciated imho) Man from UNCLE.

Paul Mescal isn't a bad shout but I don't think he'd take the role.

Ben Radcliffe could fit the bill, young, not a huge name yet.

SAS Rogue Heroes has a few decent candidates in it's ranks: Connor Swindells, Jack O' Connell and Gwilym Lee could all be interesting picks for (very different) Bonds.

When you opt to do a series of movies and are locked into long shoots, etc, it can force actors to put off other roles which they'd like to take up. But even when they can go for other roles, the danger is always there that you'll be forever associated with a certain character. Connery had a bit of a time trying to shed that albatross around his neck and he was growing tired of Bond after 'Goldfinger'. He'd certainly had had enough by 'Thunderball' even though he would make two more. But I think his choices had a lot to do with being unable to move away from Bond for a long time. To me movies like 'The Hill', 'The Molly Maguires' or 'The Offence' are great films. Much, much, better than any Bond movie that's been made. But they're niche films that draw a much lesser audience than the average James Bond film, so they won't eliminate an image that cinema audiences will have of an actor. Jesus, even 'Zardoz' was a better picture than any Bond effort, but all anyone remembers that film for is Connery's costume, assuming they've even seen it.

Poor old Roger could never disassociate himself from Bond. But, TBH, I don't think he ever really cared to either.

As for Amazon…well…I think it's really the end for Bond. Certainly the Bond we all grew up with. That in and of itself may be a good thing. But looking at who owns it now, I can't say that their handling will result in anything but disappointment, and I'm not even a Bond fan to begin with.

The link in 'From Russia with Love' to 'Dr.No' is tertiary at best though and that's perfectly ok. The links in Craig's tenure went a long way to ruining the movies, which was a real shame and an unnecessary one at that.

I've actually seen a fan edit version of 'Spectre' with the "brother" thing removed and it improved the film greatly. The last thing Bond ever needed with to be bros with his arch nemesis. That idea should have been jettisoned at the first script meeting.

I've only seen Mescal in 'Gladiator II' and I wasn't impressed at all.

Jack O' Connell is a decent shout though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,220 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I like the idea of Chris Nolan to take on Bond but with Cillian as the villain, I think he'd be a great Bond villain not sure who to play James Bond maybe Theo James or Sam Heughan

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭SheepsClothing

I think Aaron Pierre from Rebel Ridge would make a great James Bond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

When you say its the end of the Bond we all grew up with, I have to point out that Bond has veered all over the road from Octopussy to Spectre, so there isn't really an ultimate source of truth, unless you want to talk about the books.

There are always locations, gadgets, girls and the Bond theme - after that the tone varies wildly depending on the era.

As a lifelong Bond fan I'm just looking forward to the next iteration.

Tone aside, I don't think there was that much variance going on with the Bond movies, up until Craig's tenure and even then it was pretty much the same gig. You knew what you were going to be getting when you sat down to one, no matter what the era. There was a definite formula that you could bank on.

However, I just cannot see Amazon continuing that throughput, as it were, and they'll probably try to make it their own for better or worse. I reckon it'll be the latter. I can see Amazon trying to make a "universe" out of this and it'll most likely be awful. For instance, I'm putting money on a something like a…er…'Moneypenny' spin off TV series that'll be instantly forgettable and they'll try to drag as much "content" out of this as they can, until it all becomes a bland mess.

As a lifelong fan, your take may be different. I kinda don't really care all that much other than from an (unhealthy) interest in movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,188 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

However, I just cannot see Amazon continuing that throughput, as it were, and they'll probably try to make it their own for better or worse. I reckon it'll be the latter. I can see Amazon trying to make a "universe" out of this and it'll most likely be awful. For instance, I'm putting money on a something like a…er…'Moneypenny' spin off TV series that'll be instantly forgettable and they'll try to drag as much "content" out of this as they can, until it all becomes a bland mess.

Thats exactly what I predict. A spin off with a background story of Moneypenny or some other minor character. I am also calling it now, there will be a Mythbusters style programme that will show how some of the gadgets were/are possible. Also, if you watch any of the Bond spin offs, or movies via Amazon Prime, you will get prompted to buy his dinner jacket, or watch via their dedicated Bond store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Did any of ye see that Brian Cox narrated, pile of horsh!te, 007:Road to a Million…

I think thats the amazon product we can expect.

I refuse to share a link to that load of drivel….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,087 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I watched the 007 Amazon thing, it was bloody hard in the end, extreme Kryton Factor and unfair on the finalists … if they can't win the grand prize I don't know who could. Asking rock hard questions while someone is freezing on top of a mountain in a blizzard!

It was a bit naff, but some of the puzzles \ questions were interesting, amiable enough contestants in nice locations and some wry narration from Brian Cox - his pension fund must be sorted now.

I'd rather the spin offs were like that than something which diminishes the Bond universe that 007 inhabits.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Yeah I quite enjoyed the Road to a Million thing. Relived my backpacking time in South America!
    Bond connection totally contrived, but the family happy to sit and watch it.

Understand its not everyone's cup of tea, but such shows have exactly zero impact on my perception of an actual Bond movie.

I watched Live and Let Die on ITV4 last night and didn't think of it once. 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,087 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Brian Cox would have made a very good M in the actual movies but best not to cross the streams…

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,220 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I would like to see Jim Broadbent play Q.