Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Price of a pint !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,194 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Surely the size of a pint is the same everywhere…………….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,481 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Not necessarily. I asked for a pint in Canada and she sez "do you want a 14oz, a 16oz or a 20oz pint?" 🤔. I said "gimme the biggest one you have" 😁🤷‍♂️.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Really. In the US you really get shafted at airports. $18 for a pint at JFK last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

For all that complain about it, Dublin airport is usually close to par with the majority of city centre pubs, will be more expensive that rural ones but nothing to the extreme of US airports.

Now the food prices are gouging, need a mortgage for a mini full Irish.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Last week I booked into The Liffey lounge in Dublin Airport. €25 and you get food and drink. I'd 4 bottles of Sol and she had 4 wines, plenty of food (sambo and salads etc.) and you can bring wraps and sambo with you for the journey. All in its quite good value and very relaxing.

€2 to €4 pints (500ml) draught beers here in Lanzarote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Did you just serve the drinks yourself. I was going to book it a few weeks ago but it said maximum 2 Alcoholic drinks.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Yeah, help yourself. Bottles of shorts, wine and mixers on a counter and bottles and cans of beer in the fridge.

My regular all pints a fiver, lot of riff raff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,429 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Well you will meet all sorts in pubs 🙂

You'll get on with some and not with others.

The point of CAMRA and other campaigns is that they successfully managed to improve the diversity of beers in pubs.

Unlike here where the multinational brewers and the VFI/LVA combined to sell us generic beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,806 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Firstly I wasn't talking about meeting people in pubs I was talking about working in the industry in the UK and CAMRA and many of their affiliated breweries were insufferable snobs and dinosaurs. As a small anecdote I can remember bringing many a girlfriend or staff member to GBBF and being greeted with Al Murray style "pints for the lads, half for the ladies style bollix"

Secondly I would totally disagree that the system here is more stacked towards the multinationals. Yes many publicans are just lazy bstards and customers afraid to try anything new (that's an Irish thing not a beer thing). Every single pub in Ireland can choose to stock anything it wants which is not the case for the vast majority in the UK with it's "managed houses". If the VFI are all that explain all the pubs in Ireland that sells good beer.

The UK also always had regional beer because the country is massive compared to Ireland. The influence of CAMRA is massively overestimated.

Sorry to hear that you were traumatised by your encounters with some nasty beer enthusiasts.

At least if it was in the course of your employment you were getting paid to listen to them.

Nobody said they were all perfect but they played a role in improving the range and quality of beers in UK pubs.

As for Ireland ,though things are improving, in most pubs we are still stuck with what the big international brewers want to sell.

Fair enough. You clearly don't want to have an honest conversation.

But just incase you actually do try explain what laws, rules or barriers there are to an Irish pub stocking good beer. Especially compared to the average English pub which is tied.

Funnily enough I don't really enjoy having a conversation with someone accusing me of dishonesty.

As you well know there are no such laws, rules or barriers so you can park that strawman.

Well there are rules and barriers in the UK so it's no strawman.

In Ireland every publican can choose his range freely. In the UK the vast majority are tied so to go back to the original point you failed to make Ireland is not more under the thumb of the multinational breweries.

Also a lot of those "regional" cask beers you probably think are CAMRA are owned by multinationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,555 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Not that familiar with kilkenny and found this place, the price of the sullivans ones they brew themselves are very reasonable for crafty type brews.

IMG-20250308-WA0008.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭RayCon

Was meeting friends in the Gingerman (near Trinity College) on Saturday. Got into town a little earlier than expected so decided to brave Weatherspoons on Abbet St. As one person described it, "it's like having a pint on a ferry". Soulless kip but they were having a beer festival with many guest beers for €2.60 a pint. Had a Boudicca Porter from the UK. It wasn't bad, kinda chocolatey, but not very long lasting on the palette. For €2.60 I wasn't complaining. Just had one, then headed over to the Gingerman. Had a Galway Hooker Citrus IPA - €7 a pint. Standard price nowadays I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Sullivans is lovely stuff, and the tour/bar is nice as well.

I see the Temple Bar has raised ther prices again, 10.50 a pint, all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,110 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Met the lads after work for a few in Disndat.

5 Euro pints. Monday to Wednesday.

It's a strange crowd though. Not unpleasant, but an odd mixture of students and hard up auld lads. 😄

My only issue is the feckin live music in the corner that came on. Why the hell do pubs do that? I know few people that like it and it can kill a conversation.

Looks like the pub is aimed at young people or more of a "party vibe" rather than auld fellas having a chat.

Would you even go to a place looks like that if it wasn't for the price ?

It was perfectly grand, except for the music. We sat at the bar yapping and pinting just like any other boozer.

Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,843 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Up for Limpbizit, pints in Fitzgeralds and the pilar bar or something. €24 for 3 pints

Crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,843 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Worse is prices aren't coming down only going up within the next year

gonna try this place this evening and enjoy some €5 pints!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Not been in my alternative local in a few weeks… €5.70 Guinness.

Since covid that's €1.90 of an increase.

We used be a proper country, huddling around the radio to hear whether the scumbags in the daíl would raise the price by 5p and prepare to storm the place... But now, roll over, lube up, take it straight up the hole.

Savage spot.
    €5 a Guinness and live music with a decent atmosphere in Dublin City centre location is well worth it

Yep, it does the trick for me. Grand place for an occasional few after work.

If they can do fiver pints, plenty of other places are able to as well.

lads everyone pissing and moaning about prices get your ass to Disndat on Monday to Wednesday and get your weeks worth in then.
    We’ll fukc up their price increases yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

€4.70 for a pint of Beamish in my local in Co. Cork. Was pleasantly surprised as expected it to be over the 5 euro mark since I hadn't frequented the place in over 6 months.

FTR the fella I was with paid €5.30 for Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams