Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Price of a pint !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

There are plenty of things people can buy that are good value. For instance I'm writing this on a PC that I bought in 2014 and apart from some changes over the years like extra RAM, a new GPU and bigger HDD it's the same machine I paid €1200 for 11 years ago.

That I would consider to be good, if not great, value.

Being asked to hand over the guts of a tenner for a pretty average pint of liquid that I can down in 30 minutes or so is not and it doesn't matter how much some people will try to justify that price under the guise of looking for "value".

If you, or anyone else, thinks it's ok to pay 7 and above for a pint of Guinness, then go with it. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Davexirl

Kenny's on James Street was €5 for all pints when I was there last week. The price of a pint of lager probably went up after yesterday's price increase from Heineken. I'll check next time I am in. Nice pint of Guinness in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Diageo/Heineken would do everything possible to ensure they didn't get supply there.

Wetherspoons use UK stock. Results in higher % Heineken and lower % Carlsberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,703 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I see they also mention John Player King Size

“The price of a pack of 20 John Player Kings cigarettes was 39p, while Dunhill's cost 44p.”

in 1980 I remember they were 64p - that’s an increase of 40% over 5 years. High inflation no matter what your salary

Back to the price of a Guiness pint, there’s probably a 20%-25% increase in prices since 2020 overall, with some city centre and popular pubs charging up to 50% more but they’re just taking the pizz.

Insurance and minimum wage increases and general costs of raw materials have all contributed to that - for the higher priced pints it then becomes greed.

I don’t see an end to price increases of raw materials any time soon- given what people are now paying for houses and mortgage repayments we might yet be back to the weekly supermarket bill becoming a much more significant % of overall weekly earnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Yeah I think the problem is you're under the impression you get to decide what good value represents to all people and all products.

Removing emotion, value is the cost of one product versus cost of another same/similar product.

So the OP stating a 7e pint is better value than an 8e pint is correct.

You claiming there's no value in either does not change the economics.

It's hard to know where the tipping point is going to be or if there is one. What I do know is it's savage expensive if you want to go for a few pints every week with your partner. I remember a time when it was the norm to go out on a Friday or Saturday night and have a few beers a socialise. I think that's a thing of the past now. The mates and myself have discussed putting a cabin in a back garden as our own little shebeen club if you like. Getting a proper keg setup and buying some pub memorabilia off the internet to decorate it. I think that could be difficult enough though to set rules etc up about access. Seems to be the way plenty of people are going though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭antimatterx

I could, but I get bored and like to get out for a pint and food. It's expensive, I'll complain, I can afford it, so I'll still do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,135 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I know a few people with a setup like that. Bit of craic at the start , more a novelty. Whoever has the makeshift bar on the property gets pissed off very quick as does the wife.

Then the lads that contributed to the equipment and setup costs get pissed off they can't come and go as they please.

Would love to do it myself. But unless I had a little piece of garden that was segregated from the house with it's own passageway where lads could get a key I don't think I'd bother.

Grand for family and events I'd say though.

That's the truth of it. Might be an option just to finance it yourself and then you can dictate the times of access etc. Potentially lads will throw you a fiver every time they are over to cover some of the costs.

One reason I haven't done it is because I'd imagine after the novelty has worn off you will more than likely be sitting in it on a Friday night or Saturday on your own and that's not much fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭antimatterx

It's not a thing of the past. People's wages will continue to rise, people will want a pint and to venture outside. Relax.

I'm saying I think going out once a week is a thing of the past now and it could become once a month. Just read the post properly next time and relax.

Fair play if your wages are rising in line with the price of the increases we are seeing across the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Plenty disagree, otherwise pubs wouldnt charge it and people wouldnt pay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭DataDude

The price of an average pint in Ireland Pre-Pandemic (2019) was €4.67 per the CSO. It was €5.82 at the end of 2024. An increase of 24.6%.

Over the same period the average weekly salary in Ireland has gone from €786.36 to €979.71 an increase of…..24.6%.

For the average Irish person, drinking is exactly as affordable, and the same “value for money” now as it was in 2019. Prior to 2019 wages were going up far faster than pints. So it’s probably the case that 2025 is the period in time where drinking is the cheapest it has ever been for people alive today.

But hey ho, facts be damned. F*kin Diageo robbers….

As an aside. Diageo’s share price is down 50% in 3 years. Not a great showing for a company supposedly involved in successful widespread price gouging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Don't bring data in here, "I don't want to pay €7 for a pint so it's crap" that's more of what we want.

Opinions > Facts.

As I previously said, I still see value in it or else I wouldn't leave my house to specifically go to the pub knowing how much it costs. I could have a can at home for a 1/4 of the price but choose to pay €7.20 for multiple pints of lager. I'm certainly not on my own given how packed the pubs are with different age demographics at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,905 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Diageo and Heineken are price gouging though, they have the lion's share of the draught beer/cider market sewn up between them and they price match each other every time there's an increase.

On a pre-tax, per-litre basis they both supply supermarkets / off-licences substantially more cheaply than they do pubs.

It should be the other way around - supplying beer in bulk in reuseable kegs is cheaper than bottling / canning beer - but they face an awful lot more competition in the off-trade so they have to keep their prices there down to a more reasonable level.

The price gouging in the Irish market was also proven by Wetherspoons being able to source draught Heineken via the UK much more cheaply than they could via Heineken Ireland.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Yes, quality of pint in Cat not up to scratch. I've eaten some nice food there but not mad about dog friendly puts and food. They don't go together well.

I see Ivy has been taken over by the publican who runs Kennedys. It will take him a while to get that place back in order. Interesting times around that neck of the woods.

What you’re describing there is just a textbook economies of scale pricing deal which is almost universal across products where bulk purchasers get lower prices.

The price of pints has increased exactly in line with wages and only very slightly more than general inflation. There is nothing extraordinary about what has gone on in recent years, only that people have forgotten what inflation looks like as it had been absent for so long.

Price gouging by its literal definition is a short term practice driven by some external factors suppressing availability of alternatives leading to massive increases in profits for a short period. None of that is true for Diageo. It’s in dire straits as a company with its share price collapsing over 3 years (when most other companies have sky rocketed). Their profit margins were lower in 2024 than 2019.

There is a huge level of choice for lager in particular in Ireland. If someone wants to produce quality beer and sell it into pubs for less than Heineken, go for it. The barriers to entry are very low. Wicklow wolf is my go to but it’s almost always noticeably more expensive than Heineken. Peroni be another id go to…more expensive too..All gouging?

Your username checks out. Picking out averages is absolutely lazy when it comes to the likes of this. The dogs on the street know that drinking is becoming more unaffordable based on the fact that everything has continued to rise to people have less disposable income. Sure look up CSO average and the likes and come back with another passive aggressive post.

Unfortunately another myth. Wage inflation has now exceeded price inflation since the pandemic. So people have more disposable income than pre-pandemic (on average)

The usual average vs median argument also falls down here as wage increases have been particularly strong for lower incomes, as have the tax reductions. The minimum wage is up 30% since 2019 for example, so drinking is definitely cheaper for them now.

Of course some people will have done better. Some people have done worse. Thats the nature of an average. But broadly, drinking is cheaper than ever.

These are very easy things to measure and the facts are the facts. People often struggle to process as it’s so at odds with their perceptions. Perceptions on this type of thing are useless because the people who are doing worse than the average are more vocal. They hear loudly from other people doing worse than average and assume it must be so.

Thankfully we have an easy way to look through ‘the dogs on the street rhetoric’…by using the facts…

Yeah I think the problem is you're under the impression you get to decide what good value represents to all people and all products.

No. I'm not.

I've, LITERALLY, just said to you "If you, or anyone else, thinks it's ok to pay 7 and above for a pint of Guinness, then go with it."

Hadn't been in the Cat and Cage since the 90's so it was a bit of an eye opener. But, my god, the staff were absolutely the worst I'd experienced in years and I'm not one for criticising staff too much in boozers. Often they can be run off their feet, so I'll be very patient waiting for a pint but there are limits. When you're waiting over ten minutes for a Guinness to be topped up and then go looking for it only to find that behind the bar is empty it can be a bit much. And that's not just the once mind. There was a point where I thought of saying to the lad behind the bar to not bother with the two point pour and just horse it all in in one go.

Used to love Carthy's back in the day too. But it became one of those dreaded "gastro" monstrosities. I'd heard that Kennedys had taken it over. Hopefully they can change it back to more sensible surroundings.

Yeah. It's kinda the obvious flaw in a nice sounding plan. But of course once reality bites, things can turn sour.

There's a reason why public houses exist in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,666 ✭✭✭✭josip

I was paying £7.15 for a pint in a regular pub in London a couple of weeks ago. Dunno if that's increased recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,905 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

What you’re describing there is just a textbook economies of scale pricing deal which is almost universal across products where bulk purchasers get lower prices.

So you are just hopping on the last paragraph and ignoring the rest.

We're not talking about inflation, we're talking about excessive pricing in the Irish draught beer market due to the huge market power of Diageo and Heineken Ireland.

OK how about this. Aviva stadium found that it could source Guinness kegs more cheaply from the UK and told Diageo Ireland this. They cut their prices.

That's exactly the same beer, brewed in Dublin. The economy of scale argument doesn't apply because it's coming from the same brewery. It's a clear example of gouging the Irish market because they can. In the UK there are a lot more mass market brands to compete with and nothing like the same brand loyalty to Diageo products.

Diageo's share price is irrelevant, their share price is falling due to the post-covid spirit boom reversing, and beer makes up only a small part of the group's activity overall.

The barriers to entry are not low, not to get your stuff actually on tap in a decent number of pubs, and you're competing against absolutely massive marketing budgets, and incentives to pubs from the big two which are of dubious legality e.g. free stuff if you take away that non-Diageo, non-Heineken tap…

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Hey data dude, just wondering can you apply this logic to the price of food- for example chicken fillets, potatoes and vegetables.
    Has this gotten cheaper relative to people’s earning potential in this timeframe?

I’m pretty sure you’ll find Dublin pints are at least in line with London equivalent if not cheaper.

UK distributers would be purchasing on far larger scale and hence can strong arm Diageo for lower pricing which is assume what drove this and Aviva stadium must have exploited it.
    If it were such a massive difference other entities would be free to do the same negotiation and the ‘price gouging’ would have to end. Negotiating power has nothing to do with where the beer is made. That is the same for all products. If a local Italian tries to buy bottles of wine off his local vineyard, he will not get the same price as O’Briens ordering a few thousand bottles a year.

The ability to beat out smaller brands over a prolonged period is the sign of a quality product, it’s not price gouging. That term has a very specific meaning

I’m sure you can yes, I believe the CSO track prices down to extremely granular level. They then basket these individual items up into a basket of stuff an average consumer buys to create a single index.

Wages have gone up more than that average basket of goods.

Pints have gone up more than the price index, but the same as wages. Some things will have gone up more, most will have gone up less. The big thing I’m aware of that has gone up far more than wages is gas and electricity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I wonder are witherspoons increasing sales much here, from those that preferred our traditional pub. But have had enough, of the robbery...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Weathespoons is only big in the UK because the English are miserably tight and they'll drink dish water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,436 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Well, their three pubs outside Dublin closed in 2024.

It seems people like to complain about high prices, but not enough people actively switched pubs in Carlow, Cork and Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,436 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I pften have Aspall cider if in a Spoons in the UK, and I can reassure you it's not "dish water".