General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,488 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Who I suspect spoke the least in the Dáil of any TD that took their seat. Was going to say elected, but we had plenty of abstentionist TDs.

Four times

One asking Ray Burke if he took a bribe from an MMDS operator, one general speech about MMDS, once about the Garda corruption in Donegal tribunal (where he mentioned MMDS) and one last time apologising for some of what he said in that previous contribution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I just checked out his Wikipedia page there. You know what they say about power being the ultimate aphrodisiac, well at age 61 he married a woman in her 30s and fathered a child!

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

Why did Simon Coveney decide not to run for the leadership of Fine Gael a second time? Why did he retire? I know he was in politics for years but he's certainly not elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Politics is a rotten job that's only getting harder with the way social media is going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,513 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Didn't have the backing/confidence of the parliamentary party in FG who went against the membership vote in the Coveney/Varadkar leadership contest. They over ruled 20,000+ members to anoint Varadkar. Can't say I blame him for saying sod that. tbh.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

Abandoning the Occupied Territories Bill due to US pressure would cause a backlash from the Opposition. But loss of jobs in Ireland due to US multinationals quitting Ireland if the OTB is passed is more likely to cost FF & FG a lot of votes than anything said by the Opposition. So what are FF & FG afraid of?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

They "overruled" nothing, as you full well know.

I well know the word is verboten. But it is essentially what happened. The membership voted for Coveney but tge system is designed so the parliamentary party can ignore them. Call it what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

If I remember correctly Coveney was in charge of designing and implementing FGs internal electoral system so he can blame himself for that.

The Parliamentary Party, which is in and of itself not a unified block, can not "ignore them". They simply have different weightings - a setup known well in advance. A majority of the PP could have voted for Varadkar and he could have still lost. Also, "overturning" implies they changed the result. Your use of language is either incorrect or wilfully misleading.

Coveney introduced an element of member voting. There was none before.

Frankly there shouldn't be any as far as I'm concerned. The only ones who should have a say are the members of the Parliamentary party that the leader is being chosen to lead. A simply, cursory glance at the havoc it has caused next door should be enough of a lesson in that regard.

Only if you want it to imply that.

Nothing in your post contradicts what I said - the system is set up in such a way that it allowed the PP to ignore/over rule what the members voted for.

Every party has their way of doing things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Your language is as usual needlessly inflammatory in an effort to score incredibly cheap and ultimately pointless points, they don't ignore or overrule anything and continuing to repeat that is just childish.

The voting is weighted in favour of the parliamentary party and while i disagree with it in principle I also understand the misplaced direction they designed it from, in essence they wanted to ensure the party wouldn't be led by someone that the parliamentary party didn't enthusiastically support.

I think that when a party picks their leader it really should be up to them to decide in whatever way they want, except if the leader is from the party that holds the office of Taoiseach. In that specific scenario they should be obliged to just have the vote from elected reps.

I agree. I made no comment on it other than it may be the reason Coveney feels he hasn’t the confidence/support of the PP.

I am not and never will be a member of a political party. They can come up with any systems they want and the membership are happy with.

Yes Vin, I’ve read your posts reprimanding those referencing the boys from Belfast dictating, haven’tI? ? ?

As I said, excuse it all you want, essentially it is a system to. allow the PP to stay in ultimate control.
    Not that unusual. Political parties control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,923 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

The FG voting seems to be OK given their record for the past 14 years (even if plain politicians like Varadkar and Harris are oddly triggering for some).

See Ed Milliband's attempt to make Labour more appealing to youth for a monumental f*ck up that lead to Corbyn as a bad example.

Or some parties that have never had a leader election or even vote of confidence in a leader after multiple failed elections.

As an attack point against FG it is entirely without merit yet has already illicited the usual back and forth and deflection.

Parties have their ways of doing things. Sugar coating what FG's way is your prerogative, It doesn't change what it is designed to do. As I said, it has nothing to do with me, it is for members to decide if they are happy that their vote ultimately doesn't count.

And for the elected members a way of seeing if the PP has confidence in them or supports them various jobs. If it was me, it would be quite clear the PP had no confidence/didn't support me.

it is for members to decide if they are happy that their vote ultimately doesn't count.

This goes past misleading and into the territory of pure lying.

Their vote has a 25% weight share. This is a simple statement of fact.

Members having any say in leadership elections is a relatively new phenomenon (and, I would argue, a destabilising and anti-democratic one but that's an argument for another day). If Simon Coveney was so upset about losing one election that he refused to run again then they are better off without him. Then again, I suspect once again you are assigning motives that cast parties you don't like in the worst possible light. More likely Coveney was simply done with politics - it is a demanding and thankless career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

The problem with members having the power to decide party leaders can be seen in the UK. Corbyn, Johnson, Truss etc. Party members are minority of the overall voting population so they are completely unrepresentative of the voting population. You get away with that in the UK where under FPTP you only have only 2 parties(normally anyway) with any hope of government. Under the Irish voting system you need a relatively broad appeal. If you only appeal to your very hard core voters/party members it's going to make life very difficult in any election.

TDs who gets elected have to work with any leader and also rely on 2nd,3rd, 4th etc preferences to get elected and are as a result far more representative and arguably in tune with the public.

Oh I agree and can think of several more problems. They are a minority, but also generally older and more ideological than the voters of their party. When it is a leadership election that will elect a new Taoiseach it is particularly perverse to suggest it should be the domain of a group of hardcore ideologues who pay a small fee for the privilege and are unknown to the population at large. Having the public Parliamentary party who can be contacted by all their constituents decide who leads them is clearly more democratic. And leads to far better results as opposed to having a leader the parliamentary party doesn't even support.

You like the system, that's fine. You decided you like it. If I was a member I wouldn't.
    Horses for courses.

And leads to far better results 

Unless you are the competing candidate or a supporter of the competing candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Any electoral process for a party leader is better than an anointment process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭corkie

image.png

^^ Saturdays IrishExaminer front page news source: - https://bsky.app/profile/garethoconnor.bsky.social/post/3li6d5ri27s2u & https://bsky.app/profile/irishexaminer.bsky.social/post/3li62q4zhbg2w for below link!

However, while numerous European politicians hit out at Mr Vance, when asked about the vice-president's comments, Taoiseach Micheál Martin urged caution.

"My view is we've got to see what pattern emerges, and to concentrate more on what actually happens as opposed to what gets said," Mr Martin said.

Strange stance and level headed approach from the Taoiseach, thought it was form for him to parrot other's opinions?

Mr Martin is to meet with US administration representatives while in Munich and said he will impress upon them the importance of Ireland's contribution to the US economy in light of ongoing threats of tariffs from the US.

"I will be making the point in terms of the Irish contribution to the US — we're the sixth largest investor in the US. The devil will be in the detail here, and we have to really assess what would happen over time," he told RTÉ.

Hope he is successful so Ireland/EU doesn't get hit with excessive tariffs!

Note: - Linking my sources ~ See disclaimer at end of this linked post.

Also permalinks break if use on boards, had to edit links again.

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

BAM looking for another €100,000,000 of extras. The taxpayer is being gouged. We are told the first patients will not be treated until 2026. 14 completion dates have come and have gone so I guess we have no idea when it will open.

Builders of new children’s hospital want extra €853m | Irish Independent

Builders of the new National Children’s Hospital are now demanding an extra €853m in construction costs, amid ­concerns the final bill of €2.24bn is again at risk of being breached.

The claims valued at €853m are €100m higher than the figure estimated last autumn at an Oireachtas committee hearing.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,719 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

We are being giuged. Who are BAM, directors, backers etc? Someone knows how to play us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭Good loser

BAM have got the contract for the new Children's Hospital in Belfast. I believe. About €700m over 5 years. Some people obviously are impressed by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭nearby_cheetah

They do appear very flexible to work with, dealing with thousands of changes in the building of the Dublin Hospital. Good to see their reputation is still standing.

I'd say if they were to do it again, any changes they'd tell NCH to lump it and stick rigidly to the original plan and budget. God only knows that we'd be left with, probably just an empty shell. Not much good to the sick children, but would satisfy the moaners and complainers who don't have a clue what they are moaning and complaining about. At least the budget was met.

The designs weren't even finalized before BAM started contruction.

Post edited by nearby_cheetah on

Any ideas who this might be?

More info here:

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2025/03/08/oireachtas-member-questioned-by-gardai-about-alleged-150000-business-fraud/

It being a Cork based member of oireachtas narrows it down. We can also eliminate anybody who was in elected position 10 years ago (which excludes Michael Moynihan in Cork North West and Micheal Martin & Jerry Buttimer in Cork South Central). I can think of 1 obvious candidate who's newly elected, but haven't seen anything online that gives anything away...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,539 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: Do not speculate on their identity (and if it does go to trial then there is to be no further discussion of it)!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭blackwhite