Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia-Ukraine War (continuing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I wonder if this will get our government to wake up.

Read somewhere that some minister stated we should immediately double defence spending. Which would still be shite but a start I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭REDBULL68

I think there's too much pressure on Ukraine, he will have to sign a deal ,don't see an alternative, if anyone here has one ,I'd like to hear it ,Europe and USA supplied weapons, but are basically afraid of trump and tariffs,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,710 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

France to invade Ukraine, annex it , 3 day operation

Ukraine surrender , rest of Europe recognises the annexation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,063 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

40% of ordnance they are using is domestically made.

On that note:

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy said Ukraine's air defense forces are in a missile shortage for U.S.-made Patriot systems, during a press conference amid ongoing negotiations between the U.S. and Russia. He recounted a discussion with one of his commanders, who signaled a critical situation.

"At 3, 4 and 5 in the morning, the commander calls me and tells me: We are near this city and we don't have missiles for the Patriot systems - we have exhausted them... Eight [Russian] missiles are approaching, but we have nothing left to intercept them," Zelenskyy said.

Asked about the security guarantees offered to Ukraine, Zelenskyy said that if full guarantees are not possible, Ukraine should at least be allowed to produce its own Patriot missiles under license.

In the context of security policy, he asked if the US could provide enough Patriot systems for Ukraine's defense, given its opposition to sending troops or allowing his country to join NATO.

Zelenskyy proposed that Ukraine settle for 20 Patriot systems and a U.S. license to produce missiles in exchange for the absence of U.S. military personnel in Ukraine.

At the press conference, Zelenskyy reiterated Ukraine's insistence on security guarantees and its goal of ending the war this year. However, he noted that the US does not consider NATO membership a viable security guarantee for Ukraine.

He also detailed Ukraine's military spending in the war against Russia, which he estimated at a total cost of $320 billion - $120 billion covered by Ukraine and $200 billion from the US and EU. "The U.S. has provided $67 billion in weapons and another $31.5 billion in financial assistance."

Zelenskyy also criticized the US proposal for a deal to gain access to Ukraine's rare earth metals, saying it has no security guarantees for Ukraine and remains unfinished.

Rheinmetall CEO Armin Papperger told the Financial Times earlier this week that European and Ukrainian arms depots have become almost empty due to the limited stocks that exist on the continent.

"Europeans and Ukrainians have nothing in their warehouses," he said, adding that demand for weapons would remain high even if Ukraine and Russia reached a ceasefire.

Papperger also wondered if Russia will "really stop shooting" as a result of Trump's proposed peace talks with the Kremlin and whether Europe will continue to strengthen its defenses to counter continued Russian threats.

I think that last paragraph is prescient. Putrid doesn't do ceasefires , keep his worthless word, or tell the truth.

That's, right, no European country has crossed a single one of Putrid's many red lines… oh wait, they did - almost all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭interlocked

This is the National Security Advisor to Trump who won't answer a straightforward question as to whether Putin or Zelenskyy is responsible for the invasion of Ukraine

At this stage, if you were an ally to the US, you'd have to consider whether your intelligence is going to be potentially compromised to the Russians. It's that serious.

These people are a direct threat to the security of Europe.

Post edited by interlocked on

There's a video. Trump sides with these psychopaths…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭exiledawaynothere

Will Ireland send peacekeepers? I heard a rumour we offered Louis Copeland already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭riddles

he’s acting like comrade Trump now as Putins MVP. There must be horror in CIA circles. Putin must have some pretty nasty videos of him from Moscow and Epstein's island.

With real support from NATO if Ukraine can resist for 6-8 months and the EU implement rigid sanctions surely thats Russia done.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Or the conspiracy nuts and their "Deep State" with the "Military Industrial Complex"(& Soros obvs) running things in the background has been proven to be a monumental nonsense(big shock). If such a cabal existed Trump wouldn't have gotten in and if he did wouldn't be able to pull any of this. Gabbard with her interesting views wouldn't have gotten within an asses roar of her current post and a Fox news anchor wouldn't be heading the US military. Never mind Trump saying he's going to significantly reduce defence spending.

The CIA, NSA and any other bunch of letters out there are not the Hollywood fantasy/US propaganda, or the boogeyman external entities like Putin etc ramp up for their own ends(and they know it). It's mostly civil servants, bureaucrats and researchers filing reports.

Put it another way; look at the same MIC in the US and their annual profits and influence reach and compare that to entities like Apple, FaceBook, Amazon, even Twitter after Elon reducing profits. Whose CEO's are going to have more access to the ears of the powerful? Or look at the motley crew lined up behind Trump at his swearing in.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Infini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭aidanodr

So this should scare the bejesus out of many brits waking up this morn.

"Britain needs to call up the reserves for duty and mobilize its economy for war."

Personally I think IT IS this serious, at least to prepare in this manner. I look at completely defenseless Ireland now with many inc the gov thinking ah shur we are neutral AND ignoring that as a neutral country you still have a responsibility to have a defense system and be able to defend yourself. We are so bad now it is at the point of being pointless, I think its too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭aidanodr

The train is gathering speed on the tracks, has lost its brakes and is really hurtling toward the one serious eventuality and we, europe, are right in it and cant stop it now

Matter of weeks, days even. USA along with Russia has already sown up whats going to happen. Trump and co and all they are doing are working on a fast timeline knowing they really only have a short time to do so domestically and abroad before the masses realise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭poop emoji

The thing about Trump and Putin is that they both got to where they are by not playing by the rules and following agreements and laws

They also both want to tear apart the rules based world order setup post WW2

While their opponents fight with hands tied behind their back

My proposal is that deal with them in same manner they deal with others, flood the zone with nonsense, cheat and lie, say “yeh sure Donnie we sign this agreement and you can have these once the war is over”

What can Trump do when then war is over (which might be past his term), threaten to send troops to Ukraine over minerals? Yeh that go down like a lead ballon with US population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,487 ✭✭✭circadian

Trans Medical Industrial Complex?

This is up there with the guy who used to post about Islamocryptofascists.

European stocks are up 15% year to date while Trump is creating more and more uncertainty in US and setting up the conditions there for a major economic crash now that his post election rises are rapidly disappearing and investors are getting nervous seeing that he is actually insane enough to create uncertainty especially with allies

Trump has always been very sensitive to the stock markets and imho a lot of the more insane of his carry on was enabled by Biden leaving him with the best economy and market which he is doing his best to destroy

And the stock markets are finally waking up and voting with their feet and betting on Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

As I said. Without US military support Ukraine could be toast in weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

And how do we reconcile that with the hawks and media claims that Putin coming for Europe is all but imminent? We cant be much more powerful and yet totally at Russia's mercy at the same time. One of those narratives has to be bull.

I know which one my money is on. After the banking/Euro crisis and covid to me it seems the next big time public money scam must be on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,446 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

That's a crazy level of conspiracy theorising when reality is staring you right in the face. You need to actively go out of your way at the moment to believe contrarian viewpoints.

I disagree

In 2022 yes undoubtedly US support was crucial

But last year we seen that Ukraine didn’t collapse despite protracted period with no support

They since have build up their domestic industry, notice how no one talks about shells anymore because they are now irrelevant on battlefield with Ukraine domestically producing millions of them. Also European countries and companies have helped setup and still building factories there, the Danish and Norwegians have been particularly far sighted imho

Finally Europe is waking up finally to the threat Putin is, France alone this morning is talking about 5% GDP spend which given the size of their economy compared to Russia is huge, UK and so on

Finland, Poland and Baltics are freaking out altogether as their whole defence policy was turned upside down overnight

What Zelensky has to do is stay quiet (or say yes Donnie you want em minerals come and get em they over there in Donbass) for few weeks and watch what happens in Germany where the front runner is very pro Europe and Ukraine and German defence industry and Trumps and Putin’s meddling with AFD is uniting Germans instead of dividing them

In a week or so, mark my words, Trump will get bored and move onto next thing that keeps him top of news, probably a controversy about examining peoples genitals before they go toilet or 💩 ing on disabled people or US military vets or picking a fight with a neighbour

Meanwhile on the ground not much is happening, Russia still hasn’t recaptured Kursk, Pokrovsk stands, and Russian infrastructure is self imploding daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,467 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Totally - this so called deal is literally a gun to their head - if they don’t accept then Russia gets it all . But it won’t end there - you then have completely unrealistic demands around who patrols the border zones - Russia doesn’t want NATO peacekeepers- so just who the fck does Ukraine get?
    Russia obviously doesn’t want nato peacekeepers- because in a few years, whoever is guarding the new border are going to get their heads blown off by Russia as they come back for the rest of Ukraine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,794 ✭✭✭yagan

All the Putin populists like Farage, Orban, AfD and Fico will be exposed. The Russian threat is even bringing the UK back into the continental tent after years of searching for a Global Britain fantasy.

There’s an idea for a counteroffer

tell Trump “send support and we will go and capture Kursk or Bryansk Oblast” and hand over all the resources in those to Trump and US as a biggly US overseas territory where you are free of course to extract 100% of material resources and we get a buffer 😂 use Trumps greed to drive a wedge between him and Putin, call it 

RedBlueAndWhite.land

^TM plant US flags everywhere and have US news agencies play clips every night of Russian meat assaults trample on the mighty 51st state and the flag

Trump is a clown, change the conversation and beat him at his own bullshit, run circles around his stupidity and greed

Hell even say “we gift” Kursk to USA, we will defend it for you until US marines arrive, that alone overnight changes the conversation and takes the narrative away from Trump throwing him into a shitshow, it’s a load of bullshit but that’s the world we live in now, sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Infini

In the past that was true but now its not a given at all. If anything the Republicult BS over the last year has given ample warning for Europe and NATO to build up alternative supply chains in the event of a Trump shìtfest to reduce reliability on a single source and in addition Ukraine has vastly expanded its drone capabilities as well.

Trump if anything is not only shooting himself in the foot but possibly could risk the US being reduced below the EU in importance in the longer run and this would vastly weaken him and his Repubicult as well. The biggest challenge to US dominance is the EU expecially if funds, wealth and IP were to bleed away from the US due to the Orange Felon and his South African Snowflake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭Rawr

Pretty much this. Beyond my previous calls to get people to put more faith in Europe's current abilites, I would like to underline the need to divorce ourselves from this Cold War mindset where the US was the only defender of European security against the monolithic Soviet Union.

That hasn't been reality for decades. Arguably even during the 80's the Soviet Union had collapsed to the point where it wouldn't have managed a fight with European NATO without their Warsaw Pact buddies. Fast forward to now, and those same Warsaw Pact buddies are fully feldged NATO members armed to the hilt for a fight against the Russians. Despite it's geographic size, the Russian Federation posses the production capacity and economic mustle of one larger EU member, and about 1/4 of the population of the EU. It's fighting ability is entirely reliant on legacy Soviet stocks from 50+ years ago which appear to be practically exhausted.

The Russians also faced a demographic time-bomb before the war that they'll now never hope to recover from. Won't matter how many Ukrainian children they steal, it won't be enough, and within our lifetimes we might see the Russian Federation literally die of old age due to a total lack of young people to replace them.

Russia's "strenght" is a old outdated fiction that has not been updated for the sake of the Russians themselves and potentially the weapons market. Ukraine uncovered this fiction by resisting them, and Europe should operate on the basis of what we now know about the Russians.

They are dangerous and need to be delt with, but we can deal with them…and without the Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Whatever you want to "put your money on", think I'll bet the other way thanks lol. A surefire win.

If you read threeballs post, he is talking mostly about theoretical future power, once Europeans are united and political/societal will is there for it to happen (pay for the weapons, build them, expand militaries to fill US gaps). Also it doesn't cover a crazy situation where the US not only abandons its allies, but is working against them and helping Russia or something.

I thought latter was impossible, as it is crazy and a massive act of self harm. It does not benefit the US at all. They would be abasing themselves before Putin/Russia, just serving his interests and handing him a huge win for nothing, not to mention the signals it will send out to their non European allies as well (if they supposely are focussed now on Asia/China?). Apart from the morality, it is utterly pathetic and shameful. However after last week or so of events, likelyhood of it must be going up now.

In a way that has started I suppose. With Trump/Musk the same information war in Europe that Russia has been at to crack apart societies, topple governments and bring far right pro Russia populists to power could become US govt. policy now. That was the message I was hearing from Vance's culture war speech at Munich, combined with Musk's backing for likes of AfD and Reform UK parties.

Russia is unlikely to decide to start a war with others while still dealing with Ukraine invasion. If Ukraine gets carved up between the US/Russia in some kind of dirty deal (I think Europeans can stop that, but it is an open question if they will), and the US is also defacto pulling back from NATO and making clear they won't intervene if Russia attacks anyone else in Europe, who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,794 ✭✭✭yagan

Nah, Trump would give Kursk back to Putin immediately.

The simple fact is neither Trump or Putin can be trusted with anything. They are both believers in "might is right". They both have a militaristic culture and when your only tool is a hammer every problem looks like a nail.

Post edited by yagan on

Can you see the headlines on Fox News?

“president trumps give up US territory to Putin”

These Trump people are not serious people (that much been show this week), they don’t care for facts on ground it’s all about narratives and made up realities in their head

Screw them over in their own bullshit

Change the narrative, tie Trump up in so much bullshit that it creates wedges between various arms of the MAGA crazies

And he does watch and care about what Fox News says 😉

he is also a populist and siding with Putin is going down like a lead balloon with anyone who is not in the ultra MAGA wing of his party, it’s also starting to create failures in stock market (see US defence firms vs EU ones this week) which he also watches

Finally he cares about his legacy

He very clearly wants to be the president who “grew America”

Instead Zelensky can make him the “president who was handed land and lost it for America” 😂

like I said. Screw these clowns over with their own bullshit narratives, turn the tables, switch the narrative, feck reality on ground (it’s not moving anywhere anyways)