Minister for Justice, Home Affairs and Migration - Jim O'Callaghan *Read OP for Mod Note*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Jim Herring

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

What evidence?

The only issues around ipas centers are the protestors. The people living there haven't caused any huge issues, have they?

AGS have stated they have not.

No link between asylum seekers and increased crime, authorities state

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/social-affairs/2023/03/15/no-link-between-asylum-seekers-and-increased-crime-authorities-state/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-41306890.html

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I don't agree that anyone can be on the receiving end, that's just a generalisation.

Of course they can.

If Gardai are allowed to throw out digs at anyone they feel like, how is anyone immune?

There are laws, that Gardai need to abide by, unless you think members are above the law?

Come back to us so when a guard gives you a dig in the head some night, or your son, or your friend 🙄

Gardai have to abide by the laws of the land. And they have a huge amount of oversight bodies to make sure that they do.

That approach is clearly not working. Guards should be allowed to mete out a bit of street justice to scrotes, no questions asked.

I have seen the Guards giving lads a good clatter, and they well deserved it. I locked/blocked them in my grandparents house when I caught them robbing it. They were not charged with the robbery, as in those days the Guards knew them it was a waste of time. In today's world I would probably have been accused of false imprisonment.

BTW there have been issues with attacks related to IPAS centers:

https://www.thejournal.ie/woman-attacked-south-dublin-6389478-May2024/

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I still think you generalise it, of at least theorising.

I come from a country where the police force is much more hands on and not everyone can be on the receiving end of digs.

I guess we will agree to disagree.

No. We won't. In this country Police are bound by the law.

If everyone wants to allow police to do whatever they want, then by all means, let that happen. I have no issue with that.

Until such a time. Gardaí are bound by the law and cannot go around giving out regular beatings to whoever they feel like.

Like I said everyone is happy with that scenario, until it happens to them or their family/friends.

There is a reason the justice system exists. If people want to get rid of it, Great, I don't care if Gardai beat the sh1t out of whoever they want,,😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,632 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Ah jaysus, Yates as an 'expert speaker' on ethics and conflict of interest? The ex-FG Minister who boasts about using all his political contacts for his gossip columns?

The words pot and kettle spring to mind.

They won’t do it to me as I am not a scumbag.

I don’t engage in the sort of activities that draws the attention of Gardai such as drug dealing, drug taking, assaulting others, mugging others, menacing others, general thuggery, feuding, slash-hooking, dog fighting, illegal or unsafe dog ownership, snatching phones, shoplifting, burglary, drink driving, drug driving, public nuisance, joyriding, riding scramblers recklessly, fleeing the Gardai, driving the wrong way on the road / motorway or any other anti-social behaviour or behaviour that puts others at risk or harms others etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Can't wait for the body cams. Then NPR for bus lane incursions and red light breaking. Small things to start with maybe, but it's the broken window thing. Fix the small things and the bigger things will follow. Said in hope rather than certainty WRT this country anyway.

The biggest and most effective thing that will increase public confidence (if not reduce crime immediately) is Gardai on the streets. Even a patrol car parked at strategic spots to keep the Gardai weatherproofed (!) would be a huge start. I know it's got nothing to do with Justice but the decision by DCC to have the soup kitchens removed off the main streets like at the GPO is a very good move. The facilities will be available elsewhere. That was some blot on the landscape and attracted all sorts of dodgy characters, not only those who absolutely needed it. It's a start of the clean up of O'Connell Street with more to follow I sincerely hope.

Look, I know crime is nationwide. I'm commenting on Dublin as that's where I live, and it's probably where most crime is concentrated anyway given the size of the population relative to the country's population as a whole.

However, O'Callaghan is FF. But hey not being smart - I don't think FF is that bothered by Jackeen land much, but I wish him well, and there's no doubt about it, he really can't be any worse than the previous incumbent can he?.

Hilarious!

If Gardai are immune to the law, then they can do whatever they want. Which includes thumping you a few times if they feel like it. Why do you think you are immune to an immune police Force?

Gardaí are bound by the law, the same as every one else in this country. Actually they are bound by even higher standards and oversight then civilians.

Just a quick anecdote, if you allow me, in the early 90s, my flatmate was bound for the Gardai, always wanted to be a guard, she was heading to work in O Connell St, when there was some kind of riot situation, I think it might have been overspill from a soccer match, don't remember exactly. Anyway, being the culchy she was, she knew one way to walk to work. Which was down O Connell St. And she got absolutely hammered by gardai that told her not to go down there. She was not a scrote, not a criminal, never put a step wrong in her life.

But she got hammered. Had bruises up and down her body for weeks from batons. Now me and her were not the kind of people to make complaints, and it was the 90s, she went on and joined the guards. But she still got a hammering from Gardai.

Of course it can happen to anyone, come back to us when it happens to you,😘

Post edited by suvigirl on

Yep, the big issue is lack of gardai on the streets. We need them in view, in big numbers, and a court/prison service to back them up.

Unfortunately the Gardai are not there. They are not on the streets. We need to sort that issue out, immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭mikethecop

i ve told you its my first hand experience, you can not assert with a straight face that some of the people housed in IPAS centres aren't committing crime and causing concern in those communities.

now back on topic please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,775 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Not disputing what happened, neither of us were there so neither of us can say with 100% certainty. But usually in a riot type situation, roads are blocked, to everyone. No one can decide, "I'm not a scrote, I can go through the blockade". You can't. Sounds like she tried and ended up being treated the same as the scum who would likely try the same craic to get through. Having being in a good few riot squad type situations, you're not allowed to let anyone through. No one. That's the direction. When you try and force through a line of riot police, you'll get battered back because that's what riot members do, batter back, don't let anyone through, and if necessary pull through the troublemaker to the waiting Gardai in the line behind for arrest.

Again, not saying that's what happened, but it don't matter who you are, you're not getting through a riot line. Doesn't matter if you are the nicest person in the world, road is closed, find an alternative route. Sounds like your friend didn't want to. But again, neither of us were there so neither of us truly know what happened. Do people get battered by riot police? Yes. That's actually the expected outcome if you go against riot police. The fact she still joined AGS afterwards means she probably knew she was in the wrong…

Maybe I'm different, but if a road is closed by a line of riot police, I'll find an alternative route.

I expect nothing from another MoJ who in with Bertie and Co tbh. Nothing short of building another prison and increasing the sentencing for assaults against emergency services personnel will change my mind. I'm sure he'll just continue bringing in though crime legislation.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

don't matter who you are, you're not getting through a riot line. Doesn't matter if you are the nicest person in the world, road is closed, find an alternative route.

There are exceptions…

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭mikethecop

childish nonsense,

you dont get to walk through a line of public order police just coz you say your not involved in what ever is going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,032 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

This reminds me of the Hutch family on TV outside the courts the other day talking about getting justice for their Gareth.

Nobody deserves to have their relative shot, even if he is a scumbag, but the fcuking irony still takes the biscuit. How many people are dead because of that family?

Their idea of justice is very selective…

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭chicorytip

0021c4a3-642.jpg

He stands head and shoulders above his peers. A colossus.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

--delete--

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Of course she was 100% in the wrong! The point is, that like most people in society, she thought because she wasn't doing anything wrong (in her mind) and was just going to work, that she wouldn't get on the wrong side of the members. Of course she did!

How many drunk idiots think they are being totally reasonable when interacting with members who are telling them to move on under section 8 for exam

Everyone thinks gardai should throw out the slaps, till theyre on the receiving end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,868 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'm sure she learned a valuble lesson that day then.

You were making it sound like Gardai would be hunting down innocent folk minding their own business ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,632 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I see that Big Jim was too busy ramping up his tough guy image on This Week to bother passing on condolences to the family and friends of the victim.

Or maybe the victim was the wrong colour or the wrong status for that to be worth his while.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: Again folks, no discussion of cases before the courts. We are going to have to start applying forum sanctions if this isn't adhered to. I will be adding this note to the OP so there is no excuse going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I was listening to this clip from Gavan Reilly's podcast TheGroupChat and they were discussing the number of Gardai on duty in the night of the incident on South Anne's street and the he said that the minister said there were 39 Gardai on duty in Pearse Street on Friday/Saturday night covering the southside and that includes those that are at the desk and a similar number for the northside. Another shocking thing is that up to 6,000 Gardai that were recruited in the 90's, Some here will remember the big recruitment drive then, are now coming up the 30 year mark where they can retire from the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭corkie

Was browsing CA forum tonight and came across this thread. Was wondering if the 'Gript' Issue was mentioned here, or had Jim O'Callaghan made any more statements on the matter. Came across the below on searching his name.

And the speech below: -

• Speech - Minister Jim O'Callaghan at the Launch of CCJ Protocol to expedite rape and murder cases for those under 18 years of age ~~ https://www.gov.ie/

Have yet to read through the whole speech, but an expedite procedure for these cases is surely a positive thing, if implemented properly.

Also like that as he is new to the role, he gave credit to the people involved to bring this in to action!

• I want to start by commending Ms Justice Caroline Biggs who took on the task of putting this protocol together, and Mr Justice Paul McDermott who convenes the Criminal Justice Users’ Group which is where this initiative originated.

Lets see how or hope Jim is more competent in the role than his predecessor!

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,032 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

What Gript issue? so far all we have is a claim on a highly discredited website.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all