Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 24/25 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Im not saying we won't wobble, but there's a huge difference injury wise with where the squad was this time last year. We have very few injuries to key players of any major concerns at the moment (touch wood).

This time last year, Szobo, Trent, Konate, Allison, Salah, Jota, Roberton and Diaz were either injuried, or just back from injuries and struggling massively for form on the back of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,695 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

the gap after 15 games was still 7 points… or do you just mean with a temporary game in hand having not played Everton, like the way it was also only 4 points before yesterdays kickoff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,854 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I actually don't know what I meant now looking at it, I was taking stats from here (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/premier-league/formtabelle/wettbewerb/GB1?saison_id=2024&min=1&max=38) but I must have read something wrong lol, I've issued a correction on the post don't worry. The rest of my point remains however!! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭riddles

we could still say Trent Robbo Jota (Diaz except yesterday) are struggling for form but yes it’s a lot different than last year in that the game plan was dependent on bringing the energy as the key. After the robbery on Wednesday a bit of fatigue was understandable would like to have seen Elliot yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

Villa have a negative goal difference, they aren’t some unbelievable team. City have been awful and will be playing them on the back of being dumped out of Europe. zero points is not on the card from two games. We have lost 1 in 25 ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I don't see how Wednesday was robbery to be honest

Referee made some bad calls but nothing outrageous bar maybe the Salah foul, and none of that caused us to defend their 2 goals as poorly as we did. I'm not even sure which I think was defended worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Apologise i didn't mean players won't struggle for form regardless. I meant that last season, pretty much every player that came back from injury was absolutely woeful for a period. There's was calls on here from people that didn't want to see Salah on the pitch for the remainder of the year, and that Elliot should be first choice.

I do think last season, now looking back in hindsight, that players were rushed back. With everything that was on the line and Klopps last few months. Decisions were badly made.

I think the 2 goals we conceded can be attributed to bad defending for sure, but they also came from a free kick called on a dive, and an uncalled foul on Konate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭McFly85

We are looking a little bit tired alright. We were fine in the first half but looked a bit nervous in the second, thankfully Slot made the right call and brought Endo on who made a huge difference.

Would love to give Grav a bit of a rest but I doubt we’ll see it over the next couple of weeks, the only league game I would imagine we’ll see any significant changes is probably Southampton on the 8th March.

But Arsenal have some big games coming up and are very light up top - they just about managed to win a game they were heavy favourites for at the weekend, I’d be very surprised to see them go on a run.

It’s a big couple of weeks but even with the worst outcome nothing will be close to decided by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

A massive difference this season is it's not City chasing us. It's Arsenal who have some injury worries. They are capable of course of putting a fantastic run together.

They have a tough run of games coming up in the league soon too. Between that and the injuries I think we'll keep our noses in front.

Yeah I still wouldn't consider either of those as robbery. The free kick wasn't a free kick, but it's not like it was on the edge of the box either, you win some and lose some with those decisions

And kind of same with the Konaté foul, that one I think is one of those that VAR doesn't overturn either way. If ref said it was a foul VAR wouldn't be saying no, and he said it wasn't a foul and I don't think there was enough for VAR to say that it was an egregious mistake

In addition, we benefitted from a similar challenge yesterday on Díaz that VAR didn't overturn.

Again I'm not trying to excuse the ref, I'm agreeing that he made a lot of bad calls. But I don't think it meets the threshold of being robbed as we still had it in our control to defend both of those situations better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,698 ✭✭✭✭rob316

No chance of 0 points. We have found a way to win all season, Villa are no great shakes. Im expecting 4 points from those 2 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,453 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Some massive calls for Wednesday.

Id give serious thought to resting at least one of the midfield 3, bring Kostas in and maybe even Bradley.

Up top I don't know what we can do unless Gakpo is fit. It would have to be the same 3 again unless you start Nunez but even not playing well Diaz got a goal and won a peno.

You could always put Nunez or Jota on the left and keep the other up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭jones

Great to get the 3 points yesterday because that second half was the worse i've seen us play this season. The next three games are going to define our season. I know some people were saying we just need 7 points from 9 and if we get that i've no doubt we're winning the league but its a massive ask given our form. I honestly think we're more likely to get 4 points than 7 but hopefully we can lift it when needed - i'd snap your hand off for 6 points right now.

The problem i see is the team is definitely "tired" it seems the general trend on boards is to be blindly optimistic and state we're 7 points clear STFU everything is great - which to be fair has worked out well this season…so far. But you'd be mad to not acknowledge the issues we've had since the new year and particularly in the last few weeks. The team is definitely in a slight slump be it tiredness or teams working out how to bypass our midfield combined with the fact we're relying massively on Salah for goals and Robertson looks a shadow of his former self for a while now. We all expected a statement win yesterday after the cup exit and Everton draw but we limped over the line against a not very good Wolves side.

People are saying Arsenal arent a huge threat but i just dont buy it. They clearly have issues with injuries up front but i feel they'll finish the season strongly regardless. There's plenty of twists and turns left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Alonso77

Lets not forget that Arsenal are on a 15 game unbeaten run in the lg at moment so they could be due a blip too. It all depends who blips the worst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Just on the Robertson looking a shadow of himself for a while,unfortunately it has been more than a while,it was flagged here last summer that ideally he needed to be replaced last summer. Some posters disagreed and said he was still good enough to do a job for us. Unfortunately it has been shown up throughout the season that he is more of a liability than a benefit to us

I don't want to say he doesn't need replacing, but surely the fact that we're top of the league with him starting most games shows that despite his decline and his limitations he can still do a job for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭ViperMAN

I'm a nervous reck watching Liverpool - I don't know how I can manage the next few months of the run in!

Just thinking about the comments on fatigue. I am not sure I can agree with it. I understand there are lots of games these days, but I don't think that is the problem.

The first team have had 2 gamedays completely off recently (FA cup and last game of CL). Also factor in how our new style under Slot is to get ahead and control the game at a lower tempo. This hasn't been the case recently, but the first half of the season there were lots of games like this. This should lead to fresher legs.

The poster above sarcastically talking about a fatigue pandemic in the camp is completely right.

I hate to say it, but I feel its mental fatigue where the team is in trouble, not physical. I do think the expectation to win the league is starting to weigh them down a little.

Yup, he's not going anywhere. We just need someone in who will play more games than him at LB next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭bdmc16

Excellently put. We had the privilege of being 25 points clear the last time we won the league . We never won it in the situation we are in now so it’s completely normal for this to be very tense and nervy time for supporters. Seeing a small minority mocking or dismissing reasonable posts around form, fixture pileup etc is unfortunate .

We just come out the other side of 2 tense games where the last 25mins were awful to watch. I’m hating the fact getting to Carbaro final meant this Villa game was brought forward a month as now it’s 5 games in 2 weeks is an insane pile up where 1 single week of bad form that wipe out the lead we’ve spent months protecting . City seeing spent 200m and those players made a real difference last weekend so makes them as hard an away game to come there as we will have all season especially having played again mid week. Going 10 points clear vs Villa just feels like it could be the watershed moment if we can do it and hopefully we can.

Arsenal attack is depleted, if they had to play 5 in 14 days like us they struggle but they had a sun holiday in Dubai before Leicester and a week off again before a home game to another team way off form so the fixtures are there yet to really expose the injuries . 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

Slot mentioned this in his press conference, how we have maintained a 7pt lead even though they are unbeaten in 15, that is so impressive.

Yesterday was an odd match as Salah was inches offside to make it 3 whilst Jota should have stayed on his feet to make it 3, if that happened we could have gone on to win by 4 or 5 & it would be called a statement win:)

At this stage, it is all about pts & only Arsenal can catch up, we just need to match them as much as possible.

Yes Villa & City away are going to be tough but neither are playing well, don't think one good win for City means that they have turned a corner.

After those 2 games; we have 5 of the next 7 games at home [Newcastle, Southampton, Everton, West Ham & Spurs] with Leicester & Fulham away.

The Fulham away match is the hardest one and we should get a good few wins from those games.

4pts from the next 2, beat Newcastle & Southampton at home & then enjoy a 25 day break in the league.

We also play our next 4 games & in the same time Arsenal only have 2 games; if we are a little more optimistic we could be 13pts clear on March 8th having played 2 more games.

If we're very optimistic we'll be 19 points clear on March 8th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Robert2014

I imagine we freshen things up for Wednesday night. I expect Kostas, Jones and Nunez to come in. Can't see Jota playing 2 games in a row, Robbo definitely can't play 3 games in a week, Jones probably would have played yesterday if not suspended. I expect him to replace MacAllister and then he will come on at some point for Grav or Dominik.

We got very nervy yesterday at 2-1 probably afraid after what happened in mid-week. The fact that we held out hopefully will give us confidence that we can hold out in tricky close games from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Would like to see Endo and Nunez start on Wednesday. Our midfield looks very tired right now.

When you decline from such a high level its always more stark. Hes probably still one of the best in the league, and calls for Tsimi starting ahead of him are ridiculous, even a declining Robbo is better than him on his best day. A new fresh starting LB will be needed in the summer but I hope Robbo stays, can still more than do a job.

We're in terrible form lads according to some posters. 13 points from the last 15 lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Was at the match yesterday , second half was absolute torture, After Diaz went off for Endo we offered nothing going forward and just invited them on, was convinced Wolves were going to equalise and most of the ground felt that way as well which fed onto the players. He hasn't had a great season, but to be fair to Quansah he made a vital tackle to prevent a certain tap in, He done very well when he came on which should do his confidence the world of good.

One thing was stark for me yesterday from being at the game, Seems Nunez has lost a lot of the match going supporters which was very surprising because last home match I was at they were singing his name non-stop, I was in the Kop and everyone around me was giving out when he came on and groaning whenever he gave the ball away etc. Had a few conversations about him in the pub afterwards , general consensus from majority i spoke to, is he's not good enough despite the late goals against Brentford and should have been shipped out in January.

image.png

Him not being good enough has been apparent for years tbf.

Fans singing his name is par for the course. We have a decent fan base, they generally don't go to boo.

It shouldn't be taken that the matcheay supporters thought he was good enough until now.kust because they were being decent fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Id respectfully disagree, Im of the long term opinion that he hasnt been good enough for some time and i think this opinion is widely shared amongst the majority of non match day going fans, whereas ive had discussions with plenty of scousers over the last few years that he's a "chaos merchant" and just because he wasnt racking up salah like numbers didnt mean he's not influencing gamer or isnt good enough for Liverpool. Ive been at matches where he's been offside 5 or 6 times in a row yet his name was still loudly sang and he was rarely criticised, yesterday that wasnt the case the fans were on his back big time whenever he gave the ball away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭mormank

The game on wednesday lasted for 92 minutes of play until Everton equalized when every other game in the league lasts 90 minutes of play. It's the clearest case of a robbery by the refs since Diaz' goal against Spurs last season.