Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spring is here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,855 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I'm only talking about the northern hemisphere, not the world, which of course has different seasonal changes.

And March is when spring starts up this way as far as I'm concerned.

And Met Eireann too.

It's focking winter.

Meteorological calendar ftw.

Milder yesterday and today, but the cold before that was crazy. But it's still damp, cold and dark.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Tull  Considine

On the money Frost....crakkin post !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,895 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Question for the March springers; do you, also, consider Sunday to be the first day of the week?

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Papagei

I wouldn't say it's dark, it's quite bright now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,855 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Monday for this March springer. Always has been. Start of the week when I was in school. Start of the week now too.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Tull  Considine

Yes..yes...Monday is week start for this poster.

And August is summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Two seasons in Ireland:

Shite: 1st October - 30th April

Slightly Milder Shite: 1st May - 30th September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,334 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

There has been 10 consecutive days of zero sunshine at Dublin airport:

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22489399/

https://x.com/SnowbieWx/status/1891795818165797315

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,591 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No, Monday is.

"Then God blessed the seventh day, and sanctified it, because in it he rested from all his work." Genesis 2:2

The "seventh" day, you'll notice, not the first.

But make no mistake, March 1st IS the first day of Spring.

The seasons are a scientific, meteorological matter, not a folklore one. The peaks of heat and cold are what define the seasons, not the equinoxes, as there is a lag in the Sun's energy from the longest, or shortest day, due to the energy retention characteristics of the atmosphere and the land.

In terms of rainfall, temperature, soil productivity, floral and faunal activity, and any other metric you want to assign, February is a Winter month, just as August is not an Autumnal month, nor November a Winter month.

Spring. March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,926 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Keeping things local, us being surrounded by the ocean and being in the Gulf Stream makes us different to foreign places in the same latitude. Currently 30 below zero Celsius in Saskatoon, 52 North.

It does, but that doesn't impact the scientific principle. The extent of heat and cold varies for each region in the hemisphere, of course, but the seasonal max and min still hold up, whether that minimum is -5 degrees or -45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

It's fecking not! It's spring month. Bet you're a June baby.

Lies! Whoring lies!

Canada?

Sure those eejits don't know what way they are. A King in England, a bunch of frog speakers down by the Great Lakes, everyone in Newfoundland with a Waterford accent, American sports, the metric system....Oh Canada!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,941 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

They are right meteorological speaking . Spring begins on the Vernal equinox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Both Met Eireann and the UK Met Office have March 1st as the 1st day of meteorological spring. Thats good enough for me, and the temperature stats back it up....and yes August to me was always Summer.

The good news is that everyone is right and nobody is wrong. According to Met Éireann.

What’s the difference between meteorological and astronomical seasons, and which is the correct term to use?

Meteorological seasons are based on the annual cycle of temperatures, while astronomical seasons are defined by the position of the Earth compared to the Sun. The traditional Irish seasons of Embolc, Bealtaine, Lughnasa and Samhain are different again. They are all correct and used in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭babyducklings1

Read all the comments and I was taught in school in the eighties, Winter - Nov- Jan, Spring Feb- April, Summer May- July, Autumn Aug - Oct.

Is this traditional division of seasons due to clocks going back ie winter. When all is said and done I think the farmers are the best people to understand the weather patterns as they are out in it all the time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,813 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the frogs got active in the pond a couple of days ago. they're the real oracles of spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

1hr 41min daylight gained in the evening. An hour roughly in the morning. 2hrs and 40min! And we're not even in Spring yet😛

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Re. When seasons commence.

August has a mean temperature 3c higher than May. Much more of a summer month.

February is 3/4c colder than November. Much more of a winter's month etc.

On the continent people laugh at Irish people who think February is spring.

We were taught a lot of falsehoods in primary school!

I'm a farmer too😊

Post edited by Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire on

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Imo Spring begins around week 14-21 Feburary ,this week feels milder and generally from now the weather is never as severe you would hope but there is often outliers to this as well.

Lovely spring morning out there today. Sun is shining, temperature still low, daffodils, and other spring flowers, in bloom. Bonkers to think it’s not spring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭boardsdotie44