Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Price of a pint !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

It's a Heineken product so presumably it will go up next week as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,690 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

I remember going to Sweden 40 years ago and it was £8 a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Because of all the loose change that ends up on the bedroom floor and extra coins in tills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,057 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ask them. If it gets bums on seats he'll be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,058 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Where in rural donegal was this? Was 5/5.20 round xmas when i was last up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,539 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

IMG-20250213-WA0021.jpeg

It's nice, but still 6 poxy 90 in the long hall though I believe guinness is 7.20 here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭BK5

But pint number 24 will be free so get stuck in! 😄

As others have said it's a pity it's not noticeably cheaper, but if it affects sales enough you'd never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

When a pint reaches a tenner I think there will be a mass exodus from the pubs. It probably already has in Temple Bar but I mean when a tenner is the standard price across the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,539 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

No, I remember a headline in the Evening Herald that said "5 euro pint has finally arrived" and it was somewhere in temple bar. Its part of the irish national psyche to complain about the price of a pint but then keep buying them anyway.

Post edited by Thelonious Monk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭BK5

I don't know about that, the price hitting 6.50 to 7 euro seems to have a lot of people questioning is it worth it imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭dalyboy

my local put has the Guinness now approaching €8 a pint. (€7.65 I’ve heard) ….. hearing this 2nd hand because I don’t purchase alcohol in bars anymore since it’s past €7 everywhere I used to drink. It’s not even the money but the principal of refusing to be ripped off.

That's a 5hit glass for a nitro stout. They're perfectly suited for porter or ale. I use them for Chieftain.

It's interesting that when they started up the brewery they made a point of saying that they weren't going to undercut the macro companies as their products would be perceived as being as inferior. It looks like it didn't take them long to cop on.

Still a crazy price though as they are saving 30/40% by cutting out the middleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,170 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Glenamaddy, Co Galway. Queue starts over there —>

image.png
    Post edited by zell12 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Sheehans in Dublin €7.30 for a pint of Guinness last night

They must have a limit per customer? Otherwise people would take the mick and be lowering pints like crazy for the hour, then order 4 more just before the cut off point 🥴

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Gooser14

Happy hours are illegal in Ireland so I wonder how they are getting around that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,289 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Continually raising prices is still allowed; so they just have to open at 8 for it to be legal.

I would be fairly certain they will be open before 8…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Who's ripping you off though, the publican or the huge multinational brewing company?

It's mainly the latter, publicans hate seeing the price going up from the brewery, they know they will be on the sharp end of it.

But you're probably still buying the products from the multinational brewing company products in off sales, so they are still ripping you off.

The publicans charge more for products they buy for less from independent brewers; so the publicans are very much part of the problem.

Not all. I'm paying a fiver for this at the moment, €4 on Wednesdays. I'm the only local who drinks it. Brewery told him he'd get €6.50 for it 🙄.

IMG_20250214_213958.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Ja remember when you were a kid, had no conception of money and the price of things and just accepted whatever the price was, and you told your dad what you spent on a record, or a haircut or a pair of 501 jeans and he nearly had a heart attack.

Well I’ve just turned into my dad looking at that price - but then again I probably turned into my dad once Guiness first went over a fiver a pint it must be said.

I mean jayzuz - 40 years ago it was around £1.20 a pint -so 1.50 yo-yo’s.
    So 5 times the price of my teenage drinking years -a pair of Levi’s 501’s was probably 5 times cheaper back then too. Fags though were more like 7 times cheaper.

Desert boots were all the rage in the 80s- £15 got you cheapy but ok - -£20 got you posh versions - I’ve seen desert boots asking about eur115 recently for the equivalent posher versions so again 5-6 times the price .

Wine is actually something that has got better value - £9 25 years ago got you a decent bottle of plonk - very good actually - Eur 20-25 would get you the equivalent today so wine is better value definitely than beer

@oldies- feel free to challenge back on my post above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Gooser14

But would that get around the following requirement regarding happy hours:

"Short term price promotions where the price of an alcoholic drink is reduced for a period of less than 3 days"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

True - it has been edging that ways for years now. I think @Thelonious Monk mentioned earlier it started with the Millennium, pubs taking the urine by charging an entry fee. A few years later the smoking ban (which should have been done differently) reduced footfall further.

The biggest hammer-blow though IMO was the upping of checkpoints the morning after. (I think anyone drink-driving is an out-and-out clown) Driving the fear of God into anyone driving at 8am having sank a few pints the night before killed it. I think this came in around 2012 or 2013?

The rural pubs had actually got a bounce from the upping of night-time checkpoints in the 1990s as lads chancing leaving their rural village to go clubbing in the nearest large town was stopped. This meant no exodus from the pubs come 9.30pm. A few busses took up the slack and that sorted out the lads from those who really wanted to go from the lads who just went along for the craic.

Going for a pint in rural Ireland is now a lottery. There was a time where you'd WhatsApp a mate or two to head out for a few, but the disappointment of being the one to message the lads for a pint only to go down to the pub and nobody fecking in it. The organiser usually has to big it up - come out for a few for the craic! Therefore lads don't bother messaging.

At least in my area I can walk down for a pint, nobody out, feck it - tip over to the offie (owned by the pub anyways) gather up a few cans and feck off home again. A few out and about, grand - join in and have a few pints.

Christmas gone was an interesting pattern in the pubs locally. The big nights - Stephens Night, NYE, etc… not a huge crowd out. The other nights you'd expect it to be quiet over Christmas and there was almost as much in having pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

The pubs are at their end in rural Ireland. With the way property prices are, they're going to be re-purposed buildings in the end. It's a pity independent pubs couldn't get together and form a purchasing co-op, it could have saved them. The same was suggested for small grocers back in the day and they didn't heed the advice. Pubs destined to be the same which is stupidity because they can see exactly how staying it alone worked out for the small grocers.

You just don't call it a happy hour.

As far as I know a boozer can sell their wares for whatever they like.

Jesus, I remember when you could buy a pair of Docs for 15 quid. Nowadays you're looking at 199 euros and for a much, MUCH, lesser quality boot too.

Everything's gone absolutely nuts.

No, there's quite strict regulation on short term price changes, brought in in the late 00s.

A bar I used to go to would have one beer on discount every Wednesday, I think that was around 2017. Can pubs not do that anymore?

Couldn't really do it then either.

Enforcement for this is basically non existent because nobody cares; it was done to try appease the baying neoprohibitionist hounds but they always want more restrictions.

If you do something really blatant you might get in trouble for it.