Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 24/25 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭colly10

ye, can't afford to drop points against teams like that, won't stay on top if we do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,023 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Depends. Ideally you wanted 6 points from this game and Wolves on Sunday. Just to give us a bit of cushion to drop points with Villa away and City away next week. That cushion isn’t quite so thick now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Akabusi

There was 90 seconds left of the extra time when the two lads went down. Oliver had played an extra 30 seconds when they scored. What upsets me most is that Oliver didn't make the players leave the pitch after them both receiving treatment. T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,446 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Oliver was shocking tonight and it hasn't been his first horror show this season. Fans are 100% right to call it out and the manages should all come together and issue a joint statement highlighting their concerns about the level of officiating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

in fairness we have zero clue what he said , he didn’t push anyone. He went and shook the Oliver’s hand but obviously set something , but Oliver’s brain himself was probably going 90 after the two reds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

TNT turning into Everton TV is a bit annoying. I'd like at least some Liverpool reaction or analysis.

They sounded depressed when Salah scored too and clearly had the Liverpool fan mics turned off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

We have conceded so many sloppy goals this season. 2 absolutely punishing ones, tonight and the Newcastle game. Regardless of everything else, not seeing out that game is shocking. That was a noting ball into the box.

• Administrators Posts: 55,068 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What upsets me most is that Oliver didn't make the players leave the pitch after them both receiving treatment.

They didn't have to.

If 2 players from the same team get injured due to colliding with each other they do not have to leave the field of play after treatment.

It's the same if a keeper and an outfield player are both treated, neither have to leave.

He clearly did something. He wasn't sent off for walking over to shake hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,101 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

It'll be interesting to see what Slot did get it for.....…I think there may be an outside chance he went mental at the 4th official.

Ref got told, and Oliver, never missing the chance to be the centre of attention took the opportunity to bounce him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭mosstin

FFS. The fact is that Everton dragged us down to their style of play tonight and it looked as if Mo had bailed us out once again. Look at the two starting XIs and there's a chasm between them, not that you'd have noticed it tonight. How many chances did we create? We were dreadful and whinging about the ref or calls to issue statements - are we Forest? - throw a smokescreen around a really poor performance.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

TNT saying Slot can't do post match interviews because he was sent off. Surely that is not true??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,878 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Most likely said something as he was shaking his hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,418 ✭✭✭dogbert27

We'll probably find out in a few months time the VAR guys had left the room early thinking the game was over and that's why there was no call on the push on Konate

• Administrators Posts: 55,068 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yea, focusing on the referee is a total waste of time. You cannot control the referee, refs are going to make mistakes.

Yes, the free kick they scored from was not a foul. But it's not like the ref allowed an offside goal or allowed them to score in some illegal manner, he did not directly gift them a goal. We still had a free kick to defend, they only scored because our defending of the free kick was woeful.

Similarly, the extra time at the end, we allowed a crap cross to reach a man who was free to take a shot at the back post. Where was Tsimikas? Why were we just aimlessly hoofing the ball away at the end to gift them back possession?

The focus absolutely has to be on sorting out our stupid mistakes.

I will also say Slot is very foolish for getting himself sent off at the end. Jones was silly but that's heat of the moment stuff, but Slot should know better.

With all due respect that makes absolutely no difference to what I have said. We can play poorly (any team can) but that does not excuse a truly awful refereeing performance, in this game, the next or over the course of the season. No one is throwing smokescreens

Thats the way about 80% of the teams in the league defend those types of crosses, it's not just a Liverpool issue. Block up the areas where the ball is most likely to land and win your header/clearance. If there's a flick on/bounce then you can be in trouble.

I can actually forgive Jones. That was reckless and stupid what Docoure did, you just can't do things like that in a local derby, he could have caused a genuine riot.

But Slot needs to cop on, is that his 2nd red now? I understand the frustration, but he has Virgil on the park who's well able to get his message across, and he needs to trust him.

On another note. With Slot and his assistant both getting red, who manages us on Sunday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Well done guys yes Liverpool were technically only robbed of two points.

My bad and apologies for my mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

who manages us on Sunday??

images (4).jpeg

Extend the invitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭klose

LOL slot can’t do post match interviews as he’s been sent off and as such not allowed, the assistant normally does them in that instance but he was also sent off and as such no post matches interviews/words from management, that must be a first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭decies

knock off a few wins now and everything will calm down what we don’t want to see any more of players or manager losing their heads . Media would love to see that and would be playing into their hands . We really have to get all players up to speed now in title run in . There’s a few of them last couple of weeks are just not doing it . Let’s be honest where would we be without Salah !! A couple of transfer announcements would be very timely as well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭505_

Sense. Gas reading on here. You’d think we were 7 points behind. Arsenal are the ones chasing. They don’t have it in them. Don’t have a Salah. Saka, a couple of levels below but still their main attacker out injured. They won’t make up this gap. It’s as good as a one horse race. This confident for weeks. People will get annoyed, I know it’s far from over technically. But can’t see a chance as good as this again in the near future. If they don’t see it out it’d be the biggest disappointment sporting wise for me. But it will be comfortable imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,807 ✭✭✭brevity

4d chess by slot. Has time now to get his answers sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,697 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

image.png image.png

Kavanagh putting armpit on VVD's elbow, no surprise, took him several attempts and 2 minutes to make it off, but he got there in the end.

What happened there tonight was an absolute con job

You put the line on VVD shoulder where it is suppose to be, and Everton player is off, simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭mosstin

You're focussing on the wrong thing. We can't control how good/bad the ref is, never can. We can control how our defenders defend and the defending for both of their goals tonight was abysmal. That should be the focus, not Michael Oliver and judging by tonight's posts, that's very much not the case. Our defending is going to bite us in the arse in the next two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

Prediction. Leicester 1 - 1 Arsenal. And the madness of this derby will be irrelevant.

I'm not focusing on anything though. Not once have I said that the referee is the reason we didn't win. What I have said is that the referee had a poor performance and not for the first time this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

stop telling people what to focus on a message board it makes no literal difference to the team, Slot will be focusing on the defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,582 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Just seen it put that if we win our home games (including Arsenal) and draw our away games (57 + 3*8 + 6 = 87) then Arsenal need 37pts from 13 plus a GD swing. So they would basically have to win every other match. That's comforting me.