Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost Sound Bar

• 11-02-2025 03:32AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭

Had to unplug everything. Put it all back together (VGA, Green Sound Jack ~ to Sound Bar, USB Keyboard, USB Wireless Mouse) All good. Just no sound from my sound bar. Checked everything on that. All normal. No sound.

I'm deaf. But, I finally realised there was muffled sound coming from the Computer. I honestly never knew the thing had a speaker in there. Or, is this the onset of The Voices? If so, they sound a lot like Joe Rogen.

Done everything I could with the Jacks. I've managed to cause static noise In the sound bar, pushing the jack partly in. So, it's getting power off the jack, from the computer. Just not translating it.

I really suspect it's a simple 'control' issue. I've tried trouble shooting it. No good.

Anyone?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭smuggler.ie

see if you can change playback device from system tray at the bottom right. Further controls should be available from right click menu on same or from control panel»sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭Stigura

Thanks, Smugs. Unfortunately, I (Now) Lack that button / icon. God knows what I did there.

Last night, I dug into the Search thing. Bottom Left? Wake up, today? That's gone too?! I mean, WTH?! I was literally using that, Last thing, last night, to get into the inner settings.

I seem to think that's where I made the Machine talk. I have something like; " Dual Speaker System " (Something very much like that) listed Twice. I get to click between the two. Couldn't discern anything. Maybe one's the Bar, the other the Machine?

As above; I'm convinced it's something, In There. The leads are the same. I even tried swapping their order. Changed them round. No difference.

Nope. Mid afternoon. Fantastic new desk. Sat here, fretting away, in Silence 😒 I'd say to hell with it, and buy a new machine. God knows I'm due for one. Fence to pay for first though! I'd like to know what good That wind blew anyone! Weeks, sat in the dark. Now this!

Here we go. Found where I was, last night. See what I mean, about the speakers listing? I tried about Everything, in and around there. Might I have missed anything, please?

Please restart your computer, not shutdown, but RESTART and see if you devices relist itself. This in case you still have "fast startup" ON

listed twice as that same device is for audio playback and "communications"
    your system tray missing several icons (network, sound) - you can turn them on : Settings»Personalization»Taskbar»Turn System icons on or off
    Question is : did you turn them off or something is going on with your Win/profile. I've seen this happen when profile corruption occurred

post screenshot of your device manager with Audio expanded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,018 ✭✭✭greasepalm

Curious if you went into the sound icon and do a test , does your soundbar need mains also?

Right. Been away. Now, I'll try to butcher in my replies, to the several points I'm now working on.

#1 Is that I've sorted the Volume icon, bottom right. Thanks.

Now, I tried to show ye an image, earlier? Ye appear to be asking, later, for that very thing. Sorry. Back to that in a sec'. First, here's what I get, when I Right Click the newly returned Loudspeaker icon:

tn_Choice.jpg

Hope that's clear? Shrunk it, cos I don't like blowing the walls out. But, yeah; There's my choice of two identical's. Has it always been that way? Err … From memory, I'd say 'more or less'. Certainly since I got the Bar.

I can only reiterate that I didn't touch Anything, inside the machine. Why would I? It's all been working fine :(

Now, " post screenshot of your device manager with Audio expanded "? I can save us all the trouble. Just looked (I'm learning something!) Just lists the Identicals. Both 'working properly'. Both with the best updates to their Drivers. Nothing different in either.

Oh! Just noticed: Have I got the wrong jack hole in use here, for That version of what ever? I'm plugged in at the Back. Always have been. I'll have knocked it onto that choice, of the two, last night. Fiddling.

Now though, I'll Restart. Couldn't find " Fast Startup ", listed, or on the search function, in there. Certainly nothing Fast about this things start ups! Christ! It's painful to watch! New machine's on the near horizon. 11, I guess? But, maybe I should first ask, here, what else to look for. Processer? RAM? What ever's making this thing scream, grind and drag.

Does take mains. Yep. And that's all taken care of, as normal, thanks. Everything's 'as normal'. Except, you chube only mumbles in my Machine, now. It's always belted out of this bar.

You ever heard of Any form of speaker system, inside a bog standard Desk Top? I'm sure I haven't ~ till last night!

Now: Restart …..

@smuggler.ie

Did the Restart. Couldn't find any differences.

Just been Settings / Manage Sound Devices and found a Test. Sure enough, it's the Lower listing that's responding. First / top listing doesn't make a sound on Test. (Should I Disable it? Make it go away)

Also noteworthy that the working listing is working 'In my machine'.

So; I have Two listed. Only appear to need one. That one's all good, according to everything the machines system can tell us. The only bugbear now is that A/ The machine's developed a speaker, of sorts. And B/ It - or Something - is hijacking any Sounds I'm trying to put put, via my bar.

Any good to man or beast, please? 😕

Thanks, lads. (God, I'm missing my chube! Especially after the Three Saturdays! 😬)

"fast startup" is power options setting - "feature" comes from Win7 era when HDD's (Hard Disk Drive (mechanical disk)) was at play - intention to speed-up boot of OS(more than useless with nowadays SSD's), what it does in fact - puts computer into hibernation instead SHUTDOWN. This is not relates to your audio problem, not directly.

image.png

Disconnect soundbar » play audio » does sound still come from PC? If is then your PC has build in speaker(usually only used for POST codes/system sounds to alert user)
    If not - verify sound(even low volume) is not from soundbar once re-connected.
    With soundbar disconnected, do those same audio playback options remain/disappear ?
    If disappear/re-appear - soundbar is recognized by Win - issue likely in soundbar.

Make/model of your soundbar ? What connections does it use for audio(USB, 3.5 jack, other?) , is there separate power supply or does it get power from USB?(hint to potential power supply failure/build-in amplifier failure)

Image you posted does not zoom-in (gets blurred ), but i guesstimate from top on the list:

1.HDMI connected device (monitor potentially(likely does not have build-in speakers), unless your soundbar has HDMI connection)
    2.connected on front of PC (3.5 jack, likely soundbar) select this option if soundbar is connected via 3.5 jack
    3.ATAPI connection (this could be internal speaker, currently "default")

@smuggler.ie That's starting to sound a bit exciting, actually! The latter part?

"

1.HDMI connected device (monitor potentially(likely does not have build-in speakers), unless your soundbar has HDMI connection)
    2.connected on front of PC (3.5 jack, likely soundbar) select this option if soundbar is connected via 3.5 jack
    3.ATAPI connection (this could be internal speaker, currently "default") "

1. NO HDMI anywhere. Period. I happen to know this very well, and recently. Monitor shopping and it comes up.
    2. I've seen the wording. My bars 3.5 jack goes in the Back of the machine though. Green hole.
    3. Seen this name too! Bothered me. Couldn't work it out. Think I presumed That must be the rear, green portal.

Now, just because it's getting late, and I'd want to be in top shape, before pulling plugs and listening. Was wondering if we might make anything from the above? Any pointers?

Thanks.

Now, I can barely type now. So, Tomorrow, I'll run through ye above instructions. I'll report anything of note. I'll probably look in here, anyway, before I keel over.

Thanks for the help 👍️

Is green a digital port ?

When setting up sound are you suppose to send it to one source only ?

Look up your make and model of pc / monitor and check its ports to make sure your using correct one via Google.

One would think port on front of pc might be for headphones?

@smuggler.ie

Majority 'Snowdon II' Sound Bar. Never a problem. Probably never unplugged it either.

It has the 3.5 and two, female plugs. Red and White. I've only ever used my 3.5 jack. Long since daisy'd through another set, to the back of the machine.

I googled your model and it shows a SPDIF optical cable with the trapdoor on it ?

Side of speaker says source to choose from.

Do you have that port on Monitor / pc to plug that cable into.

@greasepalm

Is green a digital port? In this context? I genuinely don't know. It's one of three plug holes, in the back of the machine. 3.5mm Female Jacks.

One source only? Sorry. Again, ignorant :( I do gather we have been dealing with Two existences of High, what ever. 'Speakers', for lack of a more literate word. I've just been asking Smuggler.ie if we might look more closely at that.

Look up your make and model of pc / monitor and check its ports to make sure your using correct one via Google. ? Old machine. Newer screen. All been working seamlessly, all over a year. I unplugged the hardware, to change desks. Everything fine, till I switched on video's, with talking.

One would think port on front of pc might be for headphones? And ye'd be absolutely correct! Saw that myself, yesterday. Still a 3.5 jack. But, yeah …

Ah! And now, we're posting over each other. My plugging arrangements? Just as I was going to say, of Google? None of that's ever had anything to do with my sound bar, or speakers before it. The more I talk about it? The more I'm seemingly showing how it's a Hardware issue(?) Maybe even one my meddling has made into a Software one?! 😬

Oh! The other thing ~ Anyone ~ was that, while playing with the Bars remote? I noticed that hitting 'Mute' caused the bar itself to make a distinctive sound. Surely, muting wouldn't cause a speaker 'blip', so consistent and audible? What ever: Bar's alive and responding. I don't think the machine's Sending 🤔 It must be in there, somewhere.

Back track?

Can you upload a photo of sockets on pc or picture on Google showing rear ports.

If you had a SPDIF port i might be using that to check and change source on Speaker bar.

When on sound source would have thought only 1 should show.

I run a SPDIF to Onkyo amp from tv so any source can be used on the amp.

Green port on PC (3.5 jack, front or back) = audio output, correct port for audio device. Ensure this cable plugged properly/fully both ends
    red/white = audio cable for RHS/LHS, usually used on TV's or projectors, no need in your case, per manual should be disconnected once 3.5 in use
    Your soundbar has independent power supply - can you confirm power present to soundbar?(LED indicators)

Refer to manual
    https://www.majority.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2024/10/Snowdon-Manual-Collection.pdf
    pay attention to input mode - page 13
    see troubleshooting - page 15 table

'Morning'. lads! God almighty! First the 'Three Saturdays'. Then this. Now, … Never mind!!! 😬 Back to it!

Going with @smuggler.ie first. Simply because it doesn't need pictures:

Step One: I pulled the jack from the back of the machine and dropped it to the floor. Boy! Did it Roar! Loads of power in there. The Buzzing came from the bar. No two ways.

Step Two: Following page 13. I unplugged the Bar. Audio jack and plug in the wall. Plugged it all back in. Now have a 20 min, random YT playing. Silently.

Have cycled through Modes and brought it back to the correct one. Solid Green light, on the bar, showing this. As it ever was. No Sound.

Okay. Have just pulled Both jacks. Swapped them round. Put Machine's jack into Bar and vica versa. No Sound. (It is, Definitely, the Bar which is sending the end jack the power to make terrible buzzing with though.

The BAR Has Power / Can Buzz.

Page 15: I notice a Lot of " Check your device's audio settings- ensure these are set to PCM. " Smugs?

Bar is Not Muted. I have no more cables (These worked fine, till yesterdays unplugging) There are no cables too cross.

There. I think that about concludes the Manuals instructions. I've always suspected the Machine. Now, nothing else has effected the Bar. We have this 'PCM' question.

Hit It! 😎

Pic's of the port holes on the back of the machine? Forgive me, but; It's the standard, three holes. Pink. Green. Blue. They have the tiny little symbols, beneath them. This jack's lived in That hole For Ever. Never needed to move, or photograph, it. It's simply Worked. Till yesterdays Unplugging.

What is an " SPDIF " port, please? Like Smugs' " PCM ", this sounds new, to me ;)

Ah. Amps and TV's? Yep. Sorry. Just to point out, I live in a cave. No TV's, Amps, spare leads, nothing of that sort. Sorry. I can only work with what I have here. And That worked absolutely brilliantly: Till I Went And Unplugged It, Yesterday.

Petshop Boys Moment: " What have I ~ What have I ~ What have I done, to deserve this? " 😟

Top Listed Speakers = Nothing.

Bottom Listed = Ping, when Tested. Also playing YT video sound From Machine.

Edited to add:

Have just Refreshed Firefox. That took ages and seemed pretty thorough.

It then set Windows into a paroxysm of Updating. That too taking ages.

And, I have that same video narration, mumbling away in my machine.

SPDIF and PCM?

Post edited by Stigura on

It's The Machine! (Cracked It!!!)

Got a little radio. Plugged That into the Bar, jacks. Belting out of the Bar! (Replaced radio with machine / you tube? Usual, murmuring in the machine.

Sound is simply not going from the pc to the bar, lads. Lower listed speaker murmurs in the machine. How do I direct the Top one back to the bar, please?

ETA: I don't know what all that Updating did? But, when I went to the Sounds section, I (Re)Named one speaker as " Top Speaker ".

It said A… That one. I noted that. Opened the other speaker? It now Showed me two green holes (Never did that before)

It said '3.5 Jack. Back / front'. That corresponded with what I'm looking at.

Then, I see the little Loudpseaker? Crossed over?!

:o

Thanks, lads! :D

Post edited by Stigura on

Spdif is a digital optical cable. It would be another way of checking it another way.

Look at the speaker it has spdif written on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,168 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Did you use the same cable to connect the radio to the soundbar? If you didn't, the original cable may be faulty.

Does the PC have a sound card?

If so, replace it.

If not, fit one.

Please do not write an epistle when replying.

Not your ornery onager

go to device manager and uninstall audio driver, allow windows to re-install it (it should do automatically) or download and install manually from PC manufacturer website , by the model of your device.

Take a look here and try to select correct playback device, if it takes disable all other

Alternatively, USB-to-BT(Bluetooth) adapter (€10-15, if there is no build-in one) should allow you to set other means of connection to the bar if 3.5 port(s) prove to be culprit.

@Esel :" Please do not write an epistle when replying. "
    let me introduce Stigura - "yep , he is always like that", must be a poet in non-virtual life…

🤣