Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hamas strike on Israel - mod warning in OP updated 19/10/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Someone asked what age is considered to be a "child soldier".

According to the IDF, it seems that the age of a child terrorist starts at conception:

RTE:

The Palestinian health ministry has said that Israeli forces in the occupied West Bank shot dead three people, including a woman who was eight months pregnant, while the military said it had "targeted terrorists" in a raid.

"Medical teams were unable to save the baby's life due to the (Israeli) occupation preventing the transfer of the injured to the hospital," it added.

Murad Alyan, a member of the popular committee in the Nur Shams camp, told AFP that the couple was "trying to leave the camp before the occupation forces advanced into it. They were shot while they were inside their car."

The Palestinian foreign ministry condemned what it described as "a crime of execution committed by the occupation forces", accusing Israeli forces of "deliberately targeting defenceless civilians".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

The sickening thing is that Irish “journalists” like David Quinn, advocates of protecting the life of the unborn, right to life etc, will support this.

Inline Influencers must legally disclose if they have received payments. Yet journalists, who receive funding directly from states or state aligned institutions, can promote an agenda without any revelations about who is funding their “opinion”. It’s the same with that other “pro life for everyone but Palestinians” John Mc Guirk of Gript. Paid for directly by the state of Israel.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭taratee

Many thanks for your response. Hope you had a nice weekend. Your response misrepresents both the legal definitions at play and the complexities of the situation.

The Definition of Genocide – You assert that my understanding is "narrower" than the actual definition, yet you do not specify in what way. The UN definition includes intent to destroy, in whole or in part, a national, ethnical, racial, or religious group. You imply that Israel's actions meet this threshold, but intent is key, as per my original post. Engaging in military operations, even with civilian casualties, which destroy infrastructure such as hospitals does not automatically equate to genocide. If it did, many nations—including those fighting in Iraq, Syria, and Afghanistan—would also meet this threshold. Do you agree with me on that? For me, the burden of proof lies in demonstrating that Israel’s primary objective is extermination, not military engagement with an enemy embedded in civilian areas, which is what Israel has done during this war, I would argue.

Warnings and Compliance with International Law – You dismiss evacuation warnings as meaningless, but they are a crucial element of compliance with international law. No military operation is flawless, and tragic losses occur, but issuing warnings and facilitating evacuations—despite Hamas actively preventing civilians from leaving as proven by the UN—undermines the claim of deliberate extermination. You mention "bombing safe zones," but this is a battlefield where Hamas operates precisely from those locations, using civilians as shields, as proven by the UN. The moral and legal responsibility does not rest solely on Israel when its adversary deliberately violates the laws of war. Do you agree that Hamas violates the laws of war?

Aid Access and Claims of Famine – While the humanitarian situation is undeniably severe, assertions that Israel has denied entry for anything other than a fraction of what is required against established international criteria are not valid. The Integrated Food Security Phase Classification (IPC), developed in 2004 for assessing famine in Somalia, sets clear thresholds for a crisis to be classified as famine. To meet this classification, an area must experience extreme critical levels of acute malnutrition and mortality, with a Crude Death Rate (CDR) exceeding 2 per 10,000 people per day from non-traumatic causes (excluding deaths from weapons or violence).

• For all of Gaza (2.3 million people) to meet famine conditions, at least 460 non-traumatic deaths per day would be required.
    • For northern Gaza (300,000 people) to meet famine conditions in March-April 2024, at least 60 non-traumatic deaths per day would be required.
    • As of March 15, 2024, the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) reported a total of 31 deaths due to malnutrition and dehydration since October 7, 2023—a tragic number, I'll give you that but far from the famine threshold.
    • If we look the first quarter of 2024, as a data sample, the number of calories of food delivered between January and April 2024 constituted a mean of 3,268 calories per person per day. This is over 50% more calories than required by the Sphere guidelines for humanitarian food to conflict-affected populations, which set out a daily requirement of 2,100 calories per person. Fyi, I'm getting the calorie count from the following resource (https://biochem-food-nutrition.agri.huji.ac.il/arontroen/publications/nutritional-assessment-of-food-aid-delivered-to-gaza). It's the best data I can find on this.

The figures above do not support the claim that Gaza is experiencing a famine by any standards or that Israel has only provided a fraction of the aid that was required. While food shortages and malnutrition are serious concerns, they result from multiple factors, including Hamas' documented seizure of aid, logistical challenges in distribution, and the reality of war conditions. Blaming Israel alone ignores the role of Hamas in exacerbating the crisis by hoarding supplies and obstructing aid distribution. Furthermore, Israel has facilitated aid deliveries despite security risks, including opening new routes for humanitarian convoys and increasing aid flow under international pressure.

The ICJ and Legal Proceedings – The ICJ’s preliminary ruling does not confirm guilt as you say; it merely recognizes that a case has enough merit to be heard. The provisional measures were broad and subject to interpretation, and Israel has provided evidence of compliance, such as increased aid efforts and investigations into military conduct. To claim Israel has “ignored” the measures presumes a definitive ruling where none exists. I'll have a lot more to add about the validity of this case and the manner in which it has been presented in my replies going forward.

Ultimately, I put it to you that labeling this as genocide is not a factual conclusion but a political stance. There is an ongoing war with civilian casualties, but that does not automatically meet the legal threshold for genocide. Assertions should be based on evidence, not predetermined narratives.

Am Yisrael Chai - Bring them home.

Had a great weekend actually, thanks. Hope you did too.

So, that was a long post but clearly well researched and you make your points well.

Firstly, I've never said that the ICJ case is a slam dunk and Israel is guilty. Israel is innocent until proven otherwise. That I totally agree on. My "stance" is not political - like many others, it's simply that I believe the murder of innocent civilians is inhumane. And I do not differentiate between innocent Israelis or Palestinians. Even in the case of combatants, there are rules of treatment.

I did not state that dropping warning leaflets as meaningless - I stated that that fact alone does not prove innocence of war crimes or genocide. But in addition, the point you make about Gaza being a battlefield does not wash. Israel identified safe areas for civilians to move to and notified them via leaflets and text messages. Israel then bombed those safe zones. Sounds to me like herding civilians up into a nice small space to get the maximum murder rate.

As you are aware, the definition of genocide is not based on a threshold of murdered civilians. So your "famine" stats are moot.

As for intent, many published quotes (written and verbal) from senior Israelis have been gathered and show there was/is intent to commit genocide. Whether that results in Israel being found guilty is a matter for the ICJ.

However, everyone should recognise the independent authoritative bodies etc. including Israelis, who have claimed that Israel has committed genocide.

Once again, that is not a guilty verdict. But the weight of evidence against Israel is undoubtedly high. If they surmount it, then fair enough - they will be found not guilty.

Whilst it won't be used in evidence in the current case, events over the last week or so where the "ethnic cleansing" of Gaza has been mooted, show that Genocide is not a taboo subject for Israel or other invested actors.

For the record, I have constantly condemned Hamas and if war crimes have been committed (I.e. Deif) that case must be prosecuted to the fullest extent. If found guilty, punishment must be meted out. Same goes for Netanyahu and Gallant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,327 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Fair bit of genocidal rhetoric has come from the mouths of important Israeli figures (elected reps., upper echelons of their military) since October 2023.

OTOH ones I recall are Netanyahu referencing the Torah and biblical destruction, talk of dropping "atom bombs" from more minor politcians, closing up the Gaza strip so nothing at all comes in or out etc. (with obvious consequences)

It is not on the scale or volume of what you might hear from Russian leaders and state media etc. concerning Ukraine, but fairly bad.

I think getting the Palestinians out (i.e. ethnic cleansing - and if they decide they don't want to go, we've plenty of bullets and bombs and we can make life a living hell) must be a "primary" goal here.

I observe the way Netanyahu was grinning ear to ear, almost dancing, when Trump went and publically blessed that goal. Awful, as it doesn't matter if Trump himself does nothing towards it, the Israeli leadership and military now know they have a green light, effectively a free hand to apply whatever pressure they see fit to clean out the Palestinians for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Your post contains incoherent contradictions.

First, you state:

"Israel is innocent until proven otherwise. That I totally agree on."

Later on, you make the claim:

"I did not state that dropping warning leaflets as meaningless - I stated that that fact alone does not prove innocence of war crimes or genocide. "

If Israel is innocent until proven otherwise, there is no requirement at any point to prove innocence as we deem Israel to be innocent. The onus is on those who think Israel is guilty to prove that the dropping of the warning leaflets was in actual reality insufficient to prevent a guilty verdict. That is a different legalistic hill to climb, and one that has not been climbed on this thread, or elsewhere.

Later on, you again say:

"But the weight of evidence against Israel is undoubtedly high. If they surmount it, then fair enough - they will be found not guilty."

Once again, this completely contradicts your opening acceptance of Israel being innocent, until proven otherwise.

I suppose it would look like that when taken out of context.

The leaflet statement was in reply to a post suggesting dropping leaflets exonerated Israel of being guilty of genocide.

Israel is innocent until proven guilty as regards a court of law. In the court of public opinion (I've been clear I hold an opinion), they are on very very shaky ground. I gave reasons for my opinion of Israel being guilty. I've asked those who think Israel is innocent of genocide to list out why they think they are innocent.

Tumbleweed.

But here's your opportunity to have the debate rather than attempting to pick holes in posts and quote them out of context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,924 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

You are only too happy to ignore all the evidence and assert Israel is innocent

The holes demonstrate why it is a false debate.

I can sit here and point out that the crime of genocide requires a high threshold to prove and that threshold hasn't been reached.

That doesn't mean I approve of Israel's actions, or that I find them morally justified, but it does mean that I don't go around throwing out serious accusations that haven't been proved.

For example, we know that the dropping of leaflets was carried out by Israel which demonstrates a level of intent to avoid civilian casualties. Do you claim the legal expertise to determine whether or not that was sufficient?

That the court of public uniformed legal opinion thinks Israel is guilty of genocide is no great surprise, you are indicative of that, but that is a long long way from being a court determined outcome.

Given the seriousness of the accusation, and the lack of clear unequivocal evidence, I am happy to abide by the principle of innocence until proven guilty.

We know Hamas are guilty of war crimes - there is clear unequivocal and uncontroverted evidence of this - and we can assert that some of Israel's actions bear the hallmark of war crimes - the evidence isn't as clear-cut - but the threshold to ascertain genocide is of a higher level, requiring a determination in relation to intent, that we don't have any real hard evidence of guilt. People can have opinions, of course they can, but the evidence in relation to intent, a key part of the requirement is absent. Statements from those on the fringes are not directly relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,924 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Is carrying out the Hannibal Directive a war crime?

And yet, whilst you seem to have a great deal of difficulty with me opining that Israel are guilty of genocide, you offer not one shred of evidence of their innocence. In fact, you appear to be well up on whatever the threshold of genocide is to the extent you know, for a fact, that Israel hasn't met that threshold.

The fact leaflets were dropped directing Palestinians to safe zones, which Israel then bombed, smacks of War Crimes at least - deliberate targeting of civilians.

As has been asked many times, do feel free to list out your other reasons why you believes Israel has not committed Genocide.

The hypocrisy is astounding.

"We know Hamas is guilty"….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,108 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hamas has just issued a statement that no more hostages will be released until further notice as Israel is not keeping their end of the agreement.

https://www.rte.ie/news/middle-east/2025/0210/1495709-middle-east/

Evidence of Genocidal intent and therefore probable guilt of Genocide - just the first few paras. Read the full article to see all the evidence - there's a lot of it.

As part of the case Defense for Children International-Palestine et al v. Biden et al, Holocaust historian Barry TrachtenbergBarry Trachtenberg testified that there is a consensus among genocide historians that the situation in Gaza is a genocide, mainly because Israeli officials' statements make this clear. He said: "We are watching the genocide unfold as we speak. We are in this incredibly unique position where we can intervene to stop it, using the mechanisms of international law that are available to us."

In an open letter published on 15 October on Opinio Juris and the website of the Third World Approaches to International Law Review, scholars wrote that Israeli officials' statements since 7 October indicate intent to commit genocide.[233] The NGO Law for Palestine compiled more than 500 statements by Israeli political and military officials that reportedly call for genocide.

On 11 June 2024, the official Israeli X (formerly Twitter) account tweeted that "Gazan civilians participated in the horrific events of October 7", later citing a statement in a clip that "there are no innocent civilians there".

On 7 October, Netanyahu said that Israel would "exact a huge price from the enemy" and turn Hamas hideouts "into rubble". Omer Bartov, a Holocaust and genocide professor, interprets these statements as genocidal intent.

Surprise - Haaretz hits the nail on the head.

Alleged War Criminal #1 (on the run) derails the hostage release deal to save his political skin.

Perhaps he fancies another week or two in his lavish luxury US penthouse with his expensive entourage.

The Pate de fois gras and truffles quaffed down with a nice Krug must be irresistible. Perhaps he was saving doggy bags for the Israeli hostages.

Gosh - Lebanon has also accused Israeli of not abiding that ceasefire either.

Could it possibly be that Israel are not to be trusted to hold up their end of any bargain?

I'd imagine Pro-Israelis are all ready typing their spleen venting diatribes at how Israel is a paragon of virtue and wouldn't dream of throwing any spanner in the works to banjax the return of their beloved brothers and sisters. No way would Israel do that. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Are you saying that Hamas are not guilty of war crimes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

More one sided nonsense.

Murdering and raping young people at a music festival.

Driving around with Shani Louks body in a pick up truck as your noble Palestinians cheered and spit on her.

Anything to say about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Ha, If only the same logic of innocent until proven guilty was applied with dropping bombs on refugee camps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,030 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I wouldn't say they're feeling stupid. I'd say they feel heartbroken that leadership within both sides of the political spectrum in the most powerful country in the world see them as at the very best, 2nd class citizens and at the worst, complicit supporters of terrorism if not outright terrorists themselves and views their homeland as something that is unclaimed and can be talked about like it's a property development opportunity.

And beyond that, the uber wealthy Arabian states do the minimal (or less) to support them.

I'll never blame them for having voted against Harris because of her association with Biden given how he enabled their genocide. It must be heart breaking for them to have seen the Democrat President, who they voted for, allow their brethren to be targeted as they were and for them to have no recourse to affect change other than to not vote for his VP to get his job. And when she didn't, and the failed property mogul won and now wants to take over their land, all their getting from people way more responsible for Trump and what he has done to political discourse is another finger pointing at them in disgust.

I advocated for them to not vote for Trump, or someone who would enable Trump to win, but don't for a second fault them for the situation they find themselves in. My heart goes out to them. How could it not.

No.

I'm saying that someone who claims everyone charged with a crime is innocent until proven guilty, then immediately claims someone is guilty of a crime before trial, is a hypocrite.

Of course, that's because they support Israel who therefore must of course be innocent. But Hamas are as guilty as sin.

I said it in a previous post - let Deif answer to the ICC warrant for arrest and let The Hague try him and administer justice. Same goes for Gallant and Netanyahu. They are all innocent until proven guilty.

But certainly, as I already posted, even Holocaust Professors are stating publicly that Israel has committed Genocide. With the evidence mountain against Israel, proving them guilty is not going to be difficult.

Murdering and raping young people at a music festival

You're well aware that some of those young people. as they were trying to flee in their cars, were murdered by Israeli attack helicopter? Over 70 cars were recovered - that's likely to mean hundreds of Israelis were murdered by the IDF who were given orders to implement the Hannibal Directive.

How about the anal rape (with an iron bar) of a prisoner of war by the IDF?

Anything to say about that?

Or what about Zaka who spread lies about the aftermath so they could make a few quid on the side?

There are two sides to this story as you are aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Miniegg

So is this the way it works - if someone raises a fair point that goes against the narrative you subscribe to, you don't address what they say and just bring up some shocking incident or position they clearly don't support and ask them to denounce it?

It's kinda smart, because you can dodge the point in an attempt to make it look like the person who you dont agree with supports warcrimes, baseless as it is. But it's also kind of dumb because it comes across as absolutely and completely ridiculous to anyone who isn't drinking the same koolaid as yourself.

Have I got this tactic right? I see loads of examples the last few pages from loads of different posters (don't mean to single you out).

Do ye all have a little playbook or something? Can you share it if so because it is uncanny.

Perhaps the ICC will identify another senior Hamas leader who they charge.

Until then, seems it's only Gallant and Netanyahu charged with War Crimes.

Fair play to our Government. 20 million to UNRWA.

https://www.rte.ie/news/middle-east/2025/0207/1495219-ireland-unrwa-funding/

Israelis are rising up against a government that has never cared for the hostages.

Haaretz:

Hundreds of Israelis have begun blocking roads in Tel Aviv, calling for the return of all hostages. The Hostages and Missing Families Forum said that they had asked cease-fire mediators for an immediate and effective intervention to "restore the deal's implementation" and called on the government to "refrain from actions that jeopardize" the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,499 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

nope just reality.
    i already condemned october the 7th plenty of times, however lets be real, it was a terrorist attack.
    disgraceful, absolutely but a terrorist attack was what it was.

and as we know, hamas weren't the only individuals who engaged in murder that day, israel murdered some of it's own citizens and others.

and also as we know, israel then engaged in a 14 month genocide of palestine.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.