If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Age gaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,467 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I mean yes, it is nobody's business really, but for something to sustain and grow I think you need to be somewhat close in age. There is 5 years between my wife and me, and that feels like no gap at all at the age we met and the age we are now.

I am, therefore, a believer in the equation of 0.5(age)+7 years, but perhaps it is a little generous.

40 yo with 27 yo, 50 yo with 32yo, 60 yo with 37 yo etc. Maybe it does stretch credibility the older one party is.

But for people in a physical consensual relationship, in whatever shape that takes, so long as both are consenting adults over 18, its nothing to do with anyone else.

I say 18 rather than 17, because even though 17 is the age of sexual consent, its younger than the age of legal maturity and ability to participate in a contract, which is 18. And that is true adulthood for me, even if there is much maturing to be done.

18 being adult is a pile of bollox and harks back to when people's life expectancy was like 45, and it was legal for children to work in dangerous jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,467 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

So what would you do to change that?

You can drive, marry, borrow, smoke, contract when or by the time you turn 18. Would you delay the age of maturity to 21? 25? 30?

If its a pile of bollix, describe an alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

A sentence I was once given was "If you are into someone because of their age you have a problem - if you are with someone despite their age you might be ok" :)

Age is a huge factor - it would be stupid to pretend otherwise. But it's not a total cut off either. I'm in a relationship now with a 2 year and 10 year gap and age has never been one of our problems.

But there are people who can not over come a 2 year gap all the same.

Relationships are all kinds of variables and age is only one of them. A bigger one usually. But still it's just one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Most auld people could hardly pull a Christmas cracker never mind a 20 year old

It's just jealousy in the most part

There's lots to interest in people younger and older so if adults want to engage, it's none of my business

It's like people giving out about Leonardo di caprio, as if the poor young wans are being used by him, feck it they are using him

Maybe everyone needs to grow up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Ekerot

As a man I've been on both sides of the age gap, with a girl who was 15-17 when I was 22-24, and then a much older women of 35 when I was 20. They both ended amicably, and I would do both again in a heartbeat.

I can't really say I understand the fuss on the internet about something like this - it's just white noise to me. I'm not certain, but I think age gaps were quite common throughout history, so I can't understand why someone kicks up a fuss over it.

In my sector (The Arts) unusual relationships are more common than I'd say the wider populace as a whole though. I don't want children either, so that usually screens most people out.

Honestly, I find it much easier to connect with women who are at both extremes rather than my own age. I'm not sure why, but it is so. When I was a teenager I couldn't think of my peers in a sexual way, just the few older women who were around me instead. Now that I'm in my mid twenties the trend has continued, and I only really find women much younger or older than me attractive.

Post edited by Ekerot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Frontal lobes? Holy jasus. Not exactly the first thing that comes to mind when checking to see what's "fully developed." 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

How did the girl go from 15-17 while you stayed at 22?

A 22 year old chasing a 15 year old is dodgy tbf. That's someone who has possibly gone through college and working trying to get up on a young girl who hasn't even sat her Junior Cert FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,721 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Thank you for your quality contribution to the discussion.

If you have a better suggestion, then please share it.

I only heard about the guideline I poste from a friend who was trained as youth-worker about 20 years ago. I scoffed at first, but when I did the maths for a few examples, it works well enough to be sensible for most people.

Everyone? Nah just middle aged men and women having arm candy under 25 should grow up.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I dunno but legal isn't always moral. 18 is not true adulthood and we all know it isn't.

My friend was preyed upon when she was 18 by a man who was 15 years older (he managed the bar she worked in for her part-time college job). She looks back now in shock at the situation. She says the whole "I know I was 18 but" thing. She doesn't have to do that - she was miles too young and naive for him, and to think that people don't have agency aged 17 and 50 weeks but they do on their 18th birthday... is just preposterous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭notAMember

You're right, half your age plus 7 is well known… it's the "ick" formula the OP is looking for, and most of us know instinctively.

Generally seem appropriate, not predatory (individuals vary of course). When it goes outside that, people raise an eyebrow or objection.

Maximum age gaps by that rule look like this.

22 - 18 (4 yrs)

26 - 20 (6 yrs)

30 - 22 (8 yrs)

40 - 27 (13 yrs)

50 - 32 (18 yrs)

60 - 37 (23 yrs)

70 - 42 (28 years)

etc

Half your age plus seven is silly imo. How can there possibly be a formula? On what is it based? Why would a relationship between, say, a 37-year-old/60-year-old be more ideal than one between a 30-year-old and 60-year-old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

married a woman 22 years younger

Have a beautiful 22 year old boy ,

UCC graduate

Well adjusted

( mothers side obviously 😊)

Non Irish 🇮🇪

Divorced since he was 2 and a half,

Lucky enough to have had him 5 days a week for most of his life,

Lads it simply doesent work - ppl with huge age gaps,

TBF his half siblings consider him their full brother and actually used come down from Derry and take him away up on holidays ,

Now he’s old enough to travel himself ,

He loves them and vice versa,

I’d advise against anyone getting involved with anyone that is over 10!years older or younger tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,134 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I wouldn't give a fcuk. None of my business. No skin off my nose either.

I'm not going around social policing people, if you want to be a net curtain twitcher/tut tutter knock yourself out.

Tell us what is immoral about not being the same age as your adult bf/gf.

I don’t know if you were ever young but if you were you’d know that many young women are attracted to older men and vice versa. It’s not an aberration.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Musicrules

The OP coming on here talking about young wans and their frontal lobes. Dirty fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

Its more a guideline than a rule. I mean if you think about the whole "alcohol when you are 18 or 21" thing - thats just a guide. There are some people who can handle alcohol when they are 16. There are some people who are 30 who should still not touch the stuff. But in GENERAL the 18 and 21 is a good guide.

It's the same with the "formula" for age. It's a good guide to think if you are in a generally good place or not. It's not a rule or an answer.

I am in a truple relationship that started when I was 27 with two gals who were 25 and 17. We are now 46/44/36 with 4 kids and we couldn't be happier. The age formula was wrong for us. But we appreciated it and it affected a lot of our thinking and decisions. We did not enter into a relationship lightly.

Age differences should be a factor in everyones decisions and thinking. Generally though it should not be some totally uncrossable line in the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭purifol0

I've always followed the rule:

Half your age minus seven

I'm in an age gap situationship at the mo, sure the sex is great but I'm not loving the school run traffic. Now if you'll excuse me I have to go make her a packed lunch

Who the heck said it's immoral not to be the same age as your boyfriend or girlfriend? This discussion always brings out such dishonesty.

"I don't know if you were ever young" - no, I came out the womb aged 35.

Yes of course women under 25 can occasionally be attracted to much older men - that doesn't mean he should go out with her though. She's too young and naive.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,507 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

If you can't play ball don't hate the players and don't hate the game and especially don't watch with envy,that's the only rules of life.

What's it based on though? How was it worked out? It's a specific formula - not just an arbitrary number. I think it's kinda stupid to pay heed to it. I used to think it was a jokey thing but I'm seeing people actually put stock in it?! Why?

It doesn't work how? These people are having fun, that's how it works

This isn't some puritan society

He's talking about himself. And it was a relationship resulting in a child, not just a bit of fun. God you folk always become so dishonest.

Hard to follow what they said as disjointed

Most engaging in this are doing it for fun, something you seem to sorely lack