Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I would have no transfer fee, would take any contract and definitely low wages.

And most importantly, I'd work hard in training, wouldn't get banned for PED's, wouldn't fall out with the manager and wouldn't destroy the culture of the playing squad for the next decade.

There are only a few un-important metrics and abilities in which Pogba would be a better signing than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

FB_IMG_1738836065531.jpg

May we never forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

Can always count on pogba to get a thread moving 😁😁😁

I'd have absolutely no desire to go back there.

I think the club needs to have standards. We all want to win but we need to have standards before winning.. We need to win in the right way with the right players. we won two cups the last two years it means absolutely nothing because the manager and alot of the team are now gone.

We need players that first of all want to be be team winners, not individual winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Seattle

It's hardly fair to lay the deterioration of culture at Pogba's door. He was a key cog in a World Cup winning culture. The upper echelon of the club was run by accountants with no understanding of football, constantly repeating the same mistakes. They're responsible for what happened to the culture, not Pogba.

People talk about him as if he was some massive flop for us which I completely disagree about. Did he hit the heights that were expected of him or propel the team to winning major trophies? No. Was he quite often our best midfield player between 2016-22 when fit? I would say unquestionably yes. Players like Antony, Sanchez etc. are actual flops and not to be conflated with players like Pogba who actually made some good contributions over his time.

He was playing very well under Ole for a decent period but the team became totally unbalanced when we signed Ronaldo for the purpose of stopping him going to City and everything soon collapsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,309 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

was looking at free agents yesterday.

genuine here, and forget about any perceived embarrassment. would you take ben yedder? 34, only 5-7 though. got 16 league goals in 32 for monaco last season.

i just dont think he could be any worse than what we already have.

Jaysus had a look too, Brandon Williams still without a club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,168 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Blackett and Borthwick-Jackson both available too if we wanted to get the old gang back together.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

With the charges and convictions/sentence he has?

No.

He was a key cog in the lowering of standards and degradation of culture within the playing squad.

Honestly, I disagree with basically everything in your post regarding Pogba. But thats ok, thankfully he is long gone and we won't ever have to deal with that circus again.

If INEOS were to actually sign him in March then all excuses about rebuilds and long term planning can immediately be thrown in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,309 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

had no idea about that! makes sense now why he doesn't have a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Seattle

How do people think Ratcliffe/Berrada/Wilcox are viewing Amorim's position right now?

A. He was given a poisoned chalice and we couldn't have expected much more. There was inevitably going to be major pain when transitioning from counter attack 4-3-3 to possession/control oriented 3-4-3. He's impressive in press conferences, knows what he's talking about and has a clear idea of what he wants to do. Even though results haven't been good, we've seen enough to trust that this guy can coach a PL title challenging side withing the next 3 years. No questions about his future.

B. He's doing an ok job in very challenging circumstances. Results could be better but it's a big ask to completely change the playing style mid season with a squad lacking in key areas. Safe for now, there would have to be a further deterioration in performances and results to consider changing him this Summer.

C. Feel they underestimated how much work was required to mould the squad to fit Amorim's 3-4-3 system and also how his system would translate in the Premier League. Regret appointing him and in hindsight would've hired a more conventional manager. Very disappointed that he hasn't gotten more out of the existing squad. Hesitant to trust him enough to rebuild the squad around his 3-4-3 and active discussions on their next move if things don't pick up between now and the end of the season.

-

Again this isn't about what you or I think, it's about what INEOS are thinking.

B, Amorim himself said this year would be painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Irwin was on the overlap and looked fit, even said he's playing paddle. That has to count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

combo?

I think they will be surprised things haven't improved.
    I reckon they would have expected he would get more out of Mainoo at CM beside Ugarte, more (anything at all!) out of Rashford at L10, anything at all out of Hojlund at 9. I think if they had improved or performed as everyone would have hoped in a formation that would be felt to suit them, we'd be WAAAAY better off.

Mainoo could still come good at CM, but struggles right now.
    Hojlund, who is to blame? Is he just rubbish, playing bad, Amorim playing him wrong?
    Rashford - that just completely blew up in a way no one likely expected.

But while i think they will be surprised I don;t think they will be blaming Amorim.

I don't think there is any chance, at all, tha they sack him in the summer. They will buy him a bunch of new players in key positions (RWB, CM, ST and probably a 10, imo - will need a LCB too, imo) and then they will start to judge him once he can start playing with the right profiles in the right places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Quags

IMG_1179.jpeg

and that’s that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,302 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

So much of that would depend on what the expectations were when he took over. And we know that Amorim set expectations with the press / fans fairly well from the onset, so I assume he also did the same with Ineos.

I would assume Ineos' main gripe would be that you can't really point to any one player who has shown significant signs of improvement, bar Amad. Amorim had a record of developing players, it's still extremely early days in that sense, but it's probably the biggest area of disappointment that Ineos could point to.

I would be more interested in Amorim's views of Ineos tbh. I'm sure he would have looked for them to strengthen the squad more than they did in January.

All in all, I would imagine that both sides viewed the season as (almost) a write off, and that things may need to get worse before they get better (as in, the squad needs to be stripped back before any there are any significant incomings). A EL win was probably set as the best case scenario of salvaging something from the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,168 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

we're not going to get relegated, he'll get the summer and the start of the next season to show some signs that we're going in the right direction. But he's hasn't exactly earned himself much credit so far. Also if we finish in the bottom half of the table and out of Europe (unless we win the EL or FA Cup), that's less money to spend, harder to attract players, sponsors etc.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Screenshot_2025-02-06-14-54-54-535.jpg

Love it!

It is what it is.

They have to trust the manager. His tactics are a winning tactics and his mothods are winning methods so allow him time and space to change them. He shouldn't be under any pressure whatsoever. Yes in summer there needs to be players brought in and we should not be in bottom half of table next season but I also wouldn't be surprised if we are not in top four next season.

This is the first manager that has been brought in and allowed to build the team his way. Ten hag tried it and gave up after two games, ole didn't bother he just ran with the fergie times and tried to feed off it as much as he could. Jose was not backed with his type of player nor was lvg.

Amad is doing well under amorim, we may find kobe might develop further as a number 10, Collyer can get more valuable experience and see how he fits into the team. There's so much that can be built in between now and end of season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I wish the press officer would just tell them at the start, NO RASHFORD QUESTIONS.

It's been a fecking joke for weeks.

I hope he does his usual Rashford form and has a great few months and we get rid of him. He can turn it on no prob when he wants too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

No player's agent would agree to that. They are there to protect the players interest and in fairness a player could end up legitimately injured with a broken leg etc..

Mount was either becoming an Injury prone player or the Utd medical staff is totally useless but as soon as he came through the door he was broken

He played plenty for Chelsea in the seasons before so either something was in the background and we missed it (or ignored) during his medical or our medical team actually can't keep players fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I wonder if we have put a sell on or any similar clauses in the Rashford deal.

you could have a situation where he does brilliant for Villa and his market value rockets - and Villa could buy from us for 40 and sell immediately to Barca for 60 for example. Have we done something to account for that - even within just the first year to prevent the buy and flip (or profit from it rather than prevent it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭larchielads

shaw injury set back again i believe

So Amorim says it was his decision not to make new signings in the window. Not sure about the headline but I assume that this is the key part:

I look at the team, my decision changing everything in the middle of the season without new signings is a danger for a coach, but I have a clear idea of what I want to do and I take these risks because in the end it's going to pay off.

I take from that, that he intends to work with and change the players he has, no?

Because a lot of people give him a pass until he can replace the players, but if he himself says he knows what he wants to do and that it didn't include new signings just yet, then is that not on him going forward?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c8r58jljy84o

Manchester United manager Ruben Amorim says it was his decision to take the "risk" of not signing more players in the January transfer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

My reading of that is there wasn't the possibility of getting in players he wanted in January so, while risky, the better decision is to wait until the summer when more is possible with finances and the profile of player available etc.