Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I don’t know if he’s “had enough chances”, he’s been very good for us plenty of times.

That said, I wouldn’t be surprised if either Beirne or Conan comes into the starting back row on Sunday, can’t see anyone else though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭phog

Shayne Bolton and Tom Aherne called up to Irish camp

The Ireland squad has stepped up its preparations ahead of the Round 2 Guinness Men’s Six Nations clash against Scotland in Murrayfield next Sunday (Kick-off 3pm).

Munster’s Thomas Ahern and Connacht’s Shayne Bolton have been added to the squad this week.

Finlay Bealham and Mack Hansen will be monitored over the coming days after receiving treatment for leg injuries during Saturday’s win over England and it is hoped that both players will be available.

Tadhg Furlong (calf) and Joe McCarthy (concussion) have both stepped up their rehabilitation programmes and a decision on their availability will be made later this week.

The Ireland team will be named on Friday morning.

Meanwhile, Sean O’Brien and Mark Sexton have joined the Coaching Team this week and will form part of Mike Prendergast’s management for the Ireland ‘A’ international England in Bristol on Sunday, 23 February (Kick-off 1pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

Doubt Furlong or Joe Mc will be available. Bealham out would be a blow but Nash over Hansen wouldn't be a bad thing really.

Other then that I doubt we will see much change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,117 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I'd like to see one of izuchukwu or Prendergast start at 6, with Osborne at 12 and Nash at 14. Keep the team fresh and give some quality players a game. Then decide the best line up for France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,811 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Conan and Deegan are the two best options in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

While injury enforced changes are unavoidable, it seems likely that much the same 23 will line out in Murrayfield.

What do we need to do against Scotland in the first 20 mins, then the next 20 mins etc ?.

Would be interested in seeing Izuchukwu play, but I'd still have Cian Prendergast ahead of him.

Interesting that Ringrose has 15 tries in 62 appearances and Huw Jones has 22 tries in 54 appearances.

Squeeze Russell in to mistakes,

Target VdM who is awful defensively.

solid scrum and a lineout platform and take our chances in the 22, something we were quite poor at on Saturday.

Scotland only gave away 8 penalties v Italy but I think we won't play the way Italy tried to and we will put a lot more pressure on them and force more penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,117 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Italy shut Scotland down for large parts of the match on Sat, they couldn't live with the intensity that the Italians were bringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,768 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Funny, I recall a time on here not too long ago when I went through Rob Kearney's contributions in a game in detail to explain my point of view… like some have done here and I got absolutely slaughtered by many on here for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Personally wouldn’t be against a 6-2 split this weekend, particularly if McCarthy is back.

Forwards replacements of Kelleher Healy ( Would prefer Boyle) Clarkson McCarthy Baird / Izzy and Conan could do some real damage.

not too long ago

It’s five and a half years since Kearney played his last game for Ireland

I'd say you've focused on the most irrelevant words from the point I was making there chief!

I posted some questions/concerns before the game, I can't search this stupid new site so working off memory from what I think I posted:

Lineout - superb performance from coaches and players. Yes, it was simpler but that's what was needed. More teams should do that when the lineout is malfunctioning.

Wings - I said Lowe and Hansen owed us a big performance. Hansen, we didn't get that and he seems off the boil. Right wingers have to work harder for the ball outside of Ringrose I find than the 11. I'd love to see Nash get a run but I don't think they'll make that change. Lowe - absolutely superb performance. He's not subtle and he basically bludgeoned his way through the English but that's what was needed as we were hardly Bordeaux out there in terms of back-play. Bar the two poor kicks I thought he was imperious and comfortably man of the match, fair play.

Baird - like others on here have said, I don't think he took his chance. Fabulous athlete but I don't know has he the capability to nail down the jersey at this level. He looked like a fella who needed more game-time (which he's barely had this season). Similar to Hansen, I reckon they'll go again with him but I'd love to see Izzy, Conan, POM or even Ahern (won't happen) get a chance.

Outhalf - plenty has been said on here. I don't think Sam played well, that's not to say he didn't have nice moments throughout the game. Maybe he'll go on to have a stormer over the tournament but I'm not seeing what others are seeing yet. He looks like a guy to me who should be spending a season learning his trade towards this level with Leinster, not on the job at this level yet. Had some lovely passing, had some wayward ones and a bit of aimless shovelling on. Kicking was poor. It's pretty obvious they're hiding him in defence when you compare his tackles made/missed versus everyone else in the backline on both teams, it's very stark. Himself and Baird left a big hole at one stage and Kearney alluded at half-time that maybe he could have swept across better for their try (I didn't see a behind the goal angle on that as I was just coming back into the room… to be honest it struck me as a bit harsh by Kearney). I'd wager he'll play well with a better platform like he gets for Leinster, he did his best work when they were down to 14, which says a bit in its own right. Wouldn't be my call but I think the coaches will stick with him similar to Hansen, Baird and probably Healy.

I don't see the point in Healy still involved, surely having literally ANY young prop there, even if it means getting their arse handed to them a bit is better in the long run? I don't care who it is. Fantastic servant but his time has been up for a while. now.

I posted at half-time that the coaches have some figuring out to do as England were well worth their lead, fair play, the subs turned things around. Sheehan is just an animal, Kelleher was playing well but then he comes on and grabs the game by the scruff of the neck. That's the difference between the two. JGP was superb also.

Always a good day when you beat the English, we have plenty to work on.

Post edited by leakyboots on

Nash at 14 over Hansen would be better given current form.

If we make a change at 6, swap Conan and baird, or else give Izuchukwu the 20 shirt and put Conan at 6. But we absolutely cannot be going back to POM.

I think Boyle needs to be getting into the 23 now.

It's such a pity Casey is injured.

The big test for our lineout is yet to come. England didn't really challenge us on our own ball. I doubt that went unnoticed with the Scottish coaches.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

POM, Beirne, Ahern, Conan, Deegan, Soroka, Izuchukwu, Sheridan, McCann, Prendergast, Jensen, Connors, Coombes, Gleeson, probably a few more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭letsbefair

Only change in team will be big Joe in and Tadgh to 6. Stick with winning team. This is our toughest away game and the Scots have targeted us.

• Administrators Posts: 56,319 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I would definitely not make this change. That McCarthy / Ryan / Beirne trio is consistently underwhelming.

Sheehan will surely come in to start.

I would drop Henderson out of the 23 and bench McCarthy instead.

I would bring Conan in to start at 6, with Izuchukwu on the bench, but he might stick with Baird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Yeah, no thanks. Leave Beirne in the second row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭ersatz

It will be fascinating to see whether Easterby et al stick with the stacked bench. Sheehan and Conan was like a couple of cartoon superheroes coming on, and yeah, England had faded at that point while Ireland had settled but it's still an extremely powerful and psychologically impactful tactic. Not sure why they would change it considering I'd expect Scotland to stay in the game better than England. Wasn't overly impressed with Mack and he looked very uncomfortable going off with whatever that leg injury was, I know he came back on and did ok but the Scottish backline will be a more difficult challenge. England blew it there on selection afaik, one reason Borthwick is not the man for the job.

Overall the line out throwing was much improved, England didn't challenge in the air but at least the throwing was more accurate and comms seemed to click. Handling was much improved over Nov, except for a couple of spells in th first half that was more to do with SP getting rattled by England's line speed and not quite figuring out quickly enough how to handle it. Good experience for him and he came through it. Our kicking game was mixed, both 10s need to dial in their range on box kicks. Defense was solid except for the last ten minutes which I'd say the coaches were furious about. Absolutely fell asleep and let England back into the game, damaged our points difference and gave England a BP. For me that was a disastrous end to an otherwise good performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

I cant see either Joe Mc or Furlong playing.

Predicted Teams:

Ireland: 

Keenan; Hansen, Ringrose, Aki, Lowe; Prendergast, Park; Porter, Kelleher, Bealham; Ryan, Beirne; Conan, van der Flier, Doris. 

Replacements: Sheehan, Healy, Clarkson, Baird, Izuchukwu, Murray, Crowley, Henshaw.

Scotland: 

Kinghorn; Graham, Jones, McDowall, Van der Merwe; Russell, White; Schoeman, Cherry, Z Fagerson, J Gray, Gilchrist, Ritchie, Darge, M Fagerson.

Replacements: Ashman, Sutherland, Hurd, Brown, Dempsey, G Horne, Jordan, Rowe.

If Ireland win it will equal the most successive wins (11) between any of the 'home nations' teams.

18th Feb 1882 - 20th Feb 1892 - 11 successive wins for Scotland over Ireland.

That Ireland win in 2000 was a momentous day in Irish rugby history on many levels.

Ireland hadn't beaten Scotland since the 1985! - 12 attempts (6-6 '94)

The Famous 5 - Horgan, ROG, Stringer, Hayes and Easterby

Ireland should win this game comfortably.

I'll go with a similar score line to the 2000, 2005 & 2015 games. 20-30 point win.

Post edited by ionadnapóca on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭visatorro

rugby pod thought hansen was very good

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I saw this, but David Humphreys was talking about the summer tour and only mentioned Portugal and Georgia so it all seems a bit unclear.

A game in Portugal would be a great time. Do they play in Lisbon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

I never heard of the 'rugby pod' but I think they are stretching it.

However, I think Hansen is an important player for Ireland and should start.

I like Nash he's a real 100%'er (not damning him with faint praise) would have no issue with him starting if needed.

Not sure what the the thinking is with Bolton.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,965 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

He's been on the coaches radar for a while as he was originally included in the emerging Ireland squad only get injured beforehand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,828 ✭✭✭50HX

Jaysus, did you sit & write that on a re watch of the match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

I doubt it was on memory recall!

Love the dedication and passion from @AbusesToilets

3rd min lineout ball in our 22, SP dinks a kick over the defense, regathered by Ringrose

Whatever people want to say about Prendergast. No one can deny he has some balls.