Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forming the next Irish Government - policies and personalities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,943 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

i said you don’t have a leg to stand on claiming the electorate are happy with or knew tge government would be dealing with or supporting to the hilt Lowry’s demands.

It’s just a fantasy that validates something you support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭pureza

I didn’t say that tho….

You know what I said

They were well aware that independents would be negotiating for government and will judge the outcome in 5 years time,I wrote here long ago the government voting independents shouldn’t have opposition rights

You often give out here about others misrepresenting your posts and here you are misunderstanding mine

Getting that SF narrative out there being more important than what’s in posts.its ok,your nemesi do the same from time to time here aswell

I’m not to be included in that treatment thanks,I want to retain my Opposition speaking rights here 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

That's a fair point I reckon. I'm in much the same frame of mind here. Whether we like them or not, all elected have a mandate and forming a stable govt is the legitimate right of them all. The last govt were in the same boat for me by including the Greens.

Lowry is being held in too much importance in the grand scheme of things, and certainly shouldn't (and I'd include all the other independents who came together to form the govt) have opposition speaking rights.

The govt formation was legitimate, and probably the only one that could provide stability and continuance. But you and me, and any voter really, whether we think the govt could be good or not, is entitled to express our opinion on their performance and the way they go about their business and the people involved in it.

I didn’t say that tho….

As I said before it is impossible to debate with somebody so incorrigible. Here you are saying it:

you can be sure most everyone voting for FF and FG were well aware what the numbers were likely to be and who the movers and shakers would be

My narrative is the same as everyone who is opposed to this. Once again you attempt to make it about SF, don't worry you are not alone, FF FG are trying to do that too.

Hang on

That’s not me saying the electorate were happy before they voted for government supporting independents to request opposition speaker rights

Would you ever cop on please

That's you saying:

you can be sure most everyone voting for FF and FG were well aware what the numbers were likely to be and who the movers and shakers would be

as a way of saying all is good with this grubby deal.
    You cannot know that.

No

Thats you trying to back down from what you accused me of by accusing me of something else without foundation in either case

Here's what you said:

Here's what I said:

i said you don’t have a leg to stand on claiming the electorate are happy with or knew the government would be dealing with or supporting to the hilt Lowry’s demands.

It’s just a fantasy that validates something you support.

*Bolding mine.

I further suspect that you are doing something FF and FG are trying to do - make this all about SF because that validates you resisting or not supporting the opposition to this deal.

To move this on, what do you think should happen now?

You’re doing a fine job of making it all about SF yourself by continuing to dig the above hole for yourself in denying that FF and FG voters knew independents would be needed and continuing to propagate a lie that I was saying they also voted for government independents to have opposition rights or would be happy with that

your pattern of waiting a few pages and then repeating something already debunked as if what was said earlier doesn’t exist or in the hope people have forgotten continues a pace as usual

Did you know it doesn’t work?

Living proof it doesn’t if you continue with this crap strategy as brazenly as you do

Not to worry,it’s rumbled every time,

Your sincerely

Caller outer in chief

Pureza

p.S I’m quite happy as I said multiple pages ago for the indo’s to have extra time made for them to ask questions

I mean in Westminster,one of the worlds oldest parliaments,government mp’s ask even critical questions at pmq’s

that FF and FG voters knew independents would be needed 

They DID NOT know the government would negotiate with Lowry, a convicted criminal and the man at the centre of a tribunal that found him to be 'breathtakingly corrupt' and what follows from that, independents who support the government through thick and thin getting opposition rights as well.

Now have you a solution here that you would support? What should happen next in your view?

I already gave my solution to this

Why did nearly twice as many people vote for Lowry than Mary Lou,why shouldn’t they use their sway as much as any other voter is what I’d ask you? Isn’t this a vaguery of democracy

Like it or lump it your beef is with Tipp voters and democracy and you and the establishment must put up with this I’m afraid

If this was Cuba,you could maybe have a coup and lock up all of FG….

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: the two of you either stop the bickering now or both face a holiday

I already gave my solution to this

If you could repost it, that would be helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭tarvis

❗️Red warning to Dáil Éireann - storm approaching from the west - out of anyone’s control - was orange but gaining force due to lack of any opposition.
    ❗️This is a red warning situation - stop the politicking and in the name of sanity start preparing.
    Time is up for forming the next government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Can you imagine Michael Lowry's leaders questions if he gets to act as both government and opposition?

"Taoiseach, is this the best government ever?"

"Taoiseach, is the current government a great bunch of lads?"

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

When is he going to be asked about the new stories emerging about his dealings never mind the ones we know about via the tribunals/courts?
    Has he been given permission to rebut what Pearse Doherty said, do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Im hearing Sinn Fein are happy for him to have time to try and rebut what Pearse said, as in hearing that Pearse has more on Lowry too

I wonder what Lowry has on Martin, because at this stage I've a feeling we might find out soon enough

Somebody should propose a Dáil debate on Doherty's allegations and the new info emerging about him before we go one step further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,011 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Martin having to deny that Mattie McGrath may rejoin FF isn't a good look - it shouldn't even be in question that he could go back. Would be the biggest lurch to the right of any single party in my lifetime to do so.

And on social issues he has a lot in common with Aontú

Ireland is a complicated country isn’t it

Why not Doherty himself? Talk is cheap and free under dail privilege. I'd like to see Doherty explain his innuendo too. Nothing would surprise me about Lowry anyway at this stage, but a lad putting out a half story isn't much is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,935 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Sinn Fein have a history of abusing Dail privilege to make false allegations. Someday they may make a true one.

Not sure Doherty left anything unclear.
    The Ditch has also been making detailed revelations about his dealings and there are or should be questions about them.

And I'm sure he won't let it go at that either if he can. He could call for a debate on it, but is there mileage in it for him?

We all know what Lowry is don't we, its not likely to bring down a gov no matter what revelations he produces. The allegations are a useful tool in regards the speaking time issue, but further than that it serves no purpose I feel. Other than it does keep the spotlight on the main party's insofar as they dealt with him of course, the **** from the fan sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Verona has betrayed the regional group it appears tonight. She won't be recognising them as a speaking group after legal advice, advice which has magically changed in 2 weeks.

Amateur hour in the Dail.

The farce deepens. Opposition parties had right and the law on their side.

Ball now in Lowry etc’s court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,660 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

This is the decision she should have taken before the sitting that fell apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Any legal advice Verona Murphy receives in the future has to be taken with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Betrayed?

The minute she put on that robe and sat in that chair, she stopped being anything but the Ceann Comhairle. Its not her fault if Lowry and Co were attempting to pull what was in fact what everyone was describing it as; a stroke.

Jesus, they have me defending Verruca Murphy now 🙄