Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forming the next Irish Government - policies and personalities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

I appreciate what you're saying, and in general I'd agree with most of it. However, politics is a different ballgame……..running for office is, by its very definition, a meritocracy.

You are either deemed good enough by the public or you're not. Having a gender quota (in the numbers that are successfully elected) just ignores the will of the people and installs politicians that literally do not merit being there.

Telling the people of X constituency "I know you voted for candidate 1, but it turns out there aren't enough women in the new government so we're giving their seat to candidate 2, even though none of you voted for her" also sh1ts all over our democratic processes.

gender quotas can force the issue and result in better candidates (overall) ending up getting the job.

They can, but there's no guarantee they will. It is not up to anyone to decide that, though, bar the electorate. I mean, why stop at women? Why isn't everyone clamouring to have X% of disabled TDs? Or giving out about the lack of travellers in government? Or muslims, or gay people or married folks or Polish etc………..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,935 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Just like Super Junior Ministers, the requirement for PQs is not set out in the Constitution. If it was, you can point me to the relevant section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,616 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

We have been carbon taxed to the point of unafordability

No we haven't. Not even close.

and I thought that tax was supposed to to be used to get us ready infrastructuraly

No, it's for insulation grants and the like. Where did you get that idea? ESB Networks is not funded by taxes. OpenEir is not funded by taxes. They're funded by their customers.

I'd love to know how the worst storm for many decades is supposed to hit a country, any country, and cause no infrastructural damage.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,946 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I'd love to know how the worst storm for many decades is supposed to hit a country, any country, and cause no infrastructural damage.

Can you point to anyone who has said the bolded bit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,074 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Did Troy ever manage to find those speeding fines that were sent to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,074 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I'm not dodging anything. I'm not engaging in your bad faith arguements. You can knock yourself out if you want to dance around and ignore decades of evidence around female representations in parliaments.

What kind of 'proof' did you have in mind? As you already knew, it's a little bit tricky to provide any conclusive proof of any social change like this. What level of 'proof' would convince you that the growth in female representatives in general elections AND indeed in local elections in the decade after the new legislation landed would actually convince you of what everyone else can see, that these measures work?

In the 2016 local elections, women held about 20.1% of the seats. By the 2019 local elections, this figure had increased to 23.9%1. In the most recent 2024 local elections, women now hold 26% of the seats. What's your explanation for the improvements in female representation in local and general elections since the legislation was introduced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,328 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

slightest bit of rough weather.

Yea, the worst storm to hit the country in over 100 years, is just a 'bit' of rough weather.

Honestly lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

You spent the last two days refusing to acknowledge or answer simple, straightforward questions. Repeatedly. That is what's known in the business as dodging them. You are now attempting to paint that dodging of the questions as some sort of noble, artful, refusal to engage in bad faith arguments, when the truth is it undermines your entire argument when you run from the uncomfortable truths those questions would expose.

You are also demonstrating that you've no idea what a bad faith argument is in the first place.

decades of evidence around female representations in parliament.

Decades of evidence that you have refused to supply, naturally. You've also just changed the goalposts. We were talking about Irish women in politics and the legislation introduced in the med 2010s. How can something that's been around for less than 9 years count as "decades"?

What kind of 'proof' did you have in mind? 

I don't have any kind of proof in my mind, because it's not my argument. You might as well ask me what kind of proof I'd need that JFK is behind 9/11. I've no fcuking idea because I don't think for a second that it's true.

You made the claim, either back it up with evidence or it will be dismissed without evidence. It's fairly simple. Simply saying "hurrr durr, more women in Government = quotas are a good thing, ipso facto" is, quite frankly, a load of shite. No direct causal link other than your own imagination. Do you know why those women were elected? No, of course you don't. But you're standing there claiming it's because of a sexist policy because it suits your argument. Truth is you made a claim, have nothing to back it up and were called out on it. Instead of accepting that, you're digging the heels in trying to say you've won.

It's not up to me to set the bar, it is up to you as the person making the argument to back it up and for everyone else to judge that argument based on the proof provided (or lack thereof). This sentence of yours, believe it or not, is an actual bad faith argument. You are pretending to be open to negotiation when, I think, the truth is you are nothing of the sort.

What's your explanation for the improvements in female representation in local and general elections since the legislation was introduced?

What's good for the goose, eh……..?

I am refusing to answer a single question of yours until you have answered mine (and there's more than one outstanding, btw). At least I have the balls to say it your face, though, instead of trying to weasel my way out of answering them.

You've made a claim, were queried on it, ignored the query, claimed you had backed the claim up, ignored the query again, then claimed victory. Now you're looking for detractors to provide proof of your claim? Absolute clownshow stuff.

As you already knew, it's a little bit tricky to provide any conclusive proof of any social change like this.

I completely reject this assertion out of hand. I have also asked you before to stop putting words in my mouth, I already knew nothing of the sort. Please don't do so again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,661 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

If you identify as a woman you are a woman. Simple. Something like 25% of the TDs are people who identify as women. 20% of the government are women, 26% of the junior ministers are women. 23.6% of the combined senior and junior ministers are women.

Slightly over half of the population of Ireland is female, they could do with better representation at the top table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,549 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

an informal technical group? increasing time for questions still means opposition get relatively less time then they had.

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Nice to see so many replies to my comment. But none of them have answered the problem of what happens when the power goes and those dependent on electric power for everything in their household to operate should survive when a storm happens. As for the worst storm in a hundred years, I'd accept that fact, but it's only a short time since the last one that knocked our grid and water off for 14 days for me, and 17 for a few of my fellow County men and just across the borders of cavan and leitrim. Imagine if we had been dependent on All electric for cooking and heating. You lot are on a fanciful and unrealistic expectation of our winters here. I live it every year and never go through a year without at least a couple of days at a time of powercuts. I'm prepared and ready for it every time, and it isn't a fanciful greenway of powering it, it's the tried and trusted fossils, as is the way our green electricity is produced for your green homes.

As I said lads, hogwash, and not only do yous spout it, but seem to accept it in your electricity supply, are you Marko, or any of the others self sufficient in green only power? If your not, then you accept that fossils are still providing our energy, and all in all, the small amount of green energy supplied has been long since diminished, as our power needs have increased so much that demand means we're burning more fossils than ever before.

Which bit of 'there will be no reduction of allocation of time to any party/group' did you not get?
    No idea if this will be acceptable but there certainly is no suggestion they are proposing Opposition getting less time than they had.

It was always about relative speaking time, opposition speaking time will be less relative to what it was before.

'there will be no reduction of allocation of time to any party/group'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,011 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Unless they make the actual sessions longer, that isn't possible though.

increase overall time, still means the ratio can change, as they see RIG as gov not opposition.

I don't know why you are cheerleading this non-solution.

I am not 'cheerleading' a single thing.
    Why are you ignoring what it plainly says.

1.Allocate ADDITIONAL time for Leader's questions
    2. The will be NO reduction in allocated time for any party/group

the time for groups was always parcelled out relative to the number of groups, and thus should be viewed in a relative/ratio manner, not as absolute time.

They propose 'there will be NO reduction'

You say there will be.

You were setting it up as a loss for the Opposition. Transparent.

Paul Murphy and MLMD already saying it isn't acceptable as the more important issue is the designation of these folks as 'opposition'. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Drivetime just had a segment on only 33,000 properties getting built in 2024 and discussing today's paper report that the experts say that figure will be lower in 2025

No Government rep available to speak on the show

Seems like FFFG plan is to just ignore their claims of 40,000 houses built in 2024 until everyone forgets about it

The dreadful start just gets worse. The perception they are on the run from accountability just deepens.

Paul Murphy and MLMD moving the goalposts, quelle surprise.

It was about speaking time, we were told. No, it wasn't.

For Paul Murphy and MLMD, it was always about silencing voices that disagreed with them.

Labour, SDs and Independent Ireland are out saying the exact same thing as SF and PBP

And have been since this kicked off…but SF are controlling them apparently/allegedly.

Sone people just have an obsession with the Shinners

You see it on Social media a lot, any critisim of Govt and your a Shinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,661 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

This proposal of a solution isn't a solution. It still gives a government grouping all the rights of an opposition group.

They should be treated the exact same way back benchers of FF or FG are treated. Anything else and they straddle the line of government and opposition and it's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,415 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Yes Cork got very little new Gardai instead closed stations or less opening hours for stations, terrible roads and infrastructure, delays for flood relief, an events centre never gets going, etc., MM, a Cork man, does f#ck all for Cork, I think he got a bit of a doing on air when a guest with Neil on RedFM about it too

When Dublin has issues, heaven and earth is moved, quick fast, but anywhere else in Ireland, snail's pace

There are no rights of an opposition group.

The court case being taken by Sinn Fein is on the basis that the Constitution provides that only 15 people are the government.

The Constitution provides that the Government is responsible to the Dail.

If the Sinn Fein case succeeds, the logic of that case is that all of the other TDs are responsible for holding the government to account and should have the equal right to question the government, as the Constitution makes no provision for the Leader of the Opposition. That would include what are known as government backbenchers as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Woodie40

Instead of wasting money on bike sheds and brown envelopes. Perhaps they should have some foresight and invest in this country’s infrastructure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,328 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

If you spent half as much energy actually trying to solve the issue you have rather than ranting and raving, you might get somewhere.

As to solutions, well there are obvious ones.

The first is to kit your house with Solar PV, and some batteries. 15kWh should suffice providing you dont use a A2W system. You can get these inverters now with a gateway that allows you to run home off the Solar and Batteries in the event of an outage.

If you want more power, then go get an EV that has the capability to do V2L.

Run an extension cord from your EV, into your house and you can use any device you want, for days on end, given the E batteries these days are so large.

The future is looking bright where EV cars will offer V2G and V2X, along with supported chargers. No need for an extension cord, just plug it into the wall charger and away you go, thats the theory anyway.

So yea, there are a lot of solutions, but you would rather have a moan than help yourself.

https://www.sigenergy.com/en/products/gateway