2025 Golfing Goals

• 27-01-2025 09:30AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭

Well after having one of my best Golfing years to date after winning the Golfer of the Year/Order of Merit at my home club. I start this year with some real Confidence and high expectations 😀

1. Handicap - Get to at least 12, Currently 15.5, but due a 1 shot cut from end of year review.
    2. Win a medal! Although I won GOTY I never won a medal after finishing 2nd in two and 3rd in three 🙄
    3. Make the Jug team with Boards
    4. Give GOTY a run with Boards
    5. Win a Boards outing
    6. More distance with clubs - I have been working on this & a recent unplanned lessen has greatly improved this. 7i gone from 150yds to 170yds on the range with just a better set up. Just need to transfer it onto the course now.
    7. Good showing in all Majors, Club & Boards

But my biggest focus this year is definitely My handicap.

Regards

B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭swededmonkey

My biggest objective will be to simply play more. With that I’m hoping to:

1. Win a club comp
    2. Get selected for interclub (Targeting Jimmy Bruen & Metro)
    3. Reduce handicap by at least 1 shot
    4. Practice/driving range at least once per fortnight. I’m struggling to find time to get around to this with family commitments.
    5. Scratch free rounds becoming the norm rather than the exceptions
    6. Improve short game. I find this is costing me most from scoring better. More often that not, its taking me a shot more than I would like to get down. If this clicks, the rest will fall in place.
    Post edited by swededmonkey on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,131 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Need to give this one a think. 2 of my goals for the year would have been:

• Win a club comp
    • Make an eagle

And I knocked both of those out last weekend (humble brag)

So will need a change for 2025 goals:

• Make a Hole-In-One in a competitive round (got to have high aspirations!)
    • Make an eagle on a par 5
    • Win a boards outing and be part of the winning jug team
    • Handicap Index down into the 5s
    • Enjoy golf with mates and not get too bogged down in just focusing on scoring.
    • 5-10 sub 80 rounds for the year
    • At least 5 new courses played for the year.

Think that should be enough to keep me going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭VW 1

Had some pretty vague goals last year due to not being a member, so now that that is sorted I can have more fixed aims to achieve.

Have been working on my game since scoring conditions stopped, and although not reflected in my scoring I feel I'm making progress. Have also bought a package of lessons the first of which I had at the weekend, so hopefully continued progress and working on things in the next 8-10 weeks ready for seasons start.

Play 20+ counting rounds this year

Shoot 80 or lower. This is somewhat a stretch goal, as my current low on the home course is an 86 but there's a lot of low hanging fruit in terms of improving that

Move handicap down from 16.9 to 12 or less. Possibly aggressive, but this will be my first full year of competitive club golf and hopefully the repetition will drive quick improvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭token56

I had a pretty decent previous year but lost my swing towards the end of it. Reseting this year with a few lessons and some incremental improvements hopefully.

My main goals this year are

• Handicap down to single figures. Lowest last year was 10.2, currently 10.6. This should be doable with a small equipment change I've made and the lessons hopefully.
    • 3+ rounds in the 70s. This would be a requirement for the above but I only had one last year along with two 80s. I would love to be breaking the 80 barrier with a bit of consistency this year.
    • Represent my club in matchplay. I played in a few last year although no longer eligible for a couple. Would like to play Barton Cup again if I'm selected and we've entered some mixed matchplay comps which sound like fun.
    • Win a boards outing. I've come close the last 2 years but would like to win one.
    • Make the Jug team. I managed this last year and it was a fantastic day so would love to repeat.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,050 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

My goal for the year is very simple,

(1) get back on track and get my handicap back to 16 or lower.

I know that’s high for a lot of ye but I’d been hovering around 18 for years and due to not being able to get the ball off the tee for longer than I care to remember, add in a dose of the dreaded “s” word, it’s shot up last year. I went from shooting 80’s to embarrassing 110+ rounds.

Lot of work, lesson, practice and my last 5 winter league rounds have been in the 80’s with an 81 last time out so getting the handicap down when counting comes in should be achievable.

Anything extra is a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Perks

Just read Mcllroy sets elusive Masters crown as his “main focus” for 2025 whilst setting only 3 goals for rest of career.

“I've realised that all I can control is myself." LOL that's the one thing Rory cannot control.

Constantly mouthing off about the next big win, putting undue pressure on himself.

If Goals help you improve your performace, great, but never at the cost of playing enjoyment

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Play as much as possible whilst balancing physical constraints/home/work life.

Concentrating on new courses with a target of 26 new courses mainly up North and low South as I've most others covered so lots of travelling, early rises and late getting home.

Performance not a main consideration, combination of unfamiliarity of courses and physical demands means over emphasis on scoring not important or statistically relevant right now. Enjoyment, a day out, hitting a few good shots and seeing more of the country and my aim of playing every 18h course in Ireland is the goal

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,650 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Just to get a bit more distance with all my clubs. I'm very straight but even un the good weather with firm fairways my ball seems to land and stop within 20 years, not much run at all and i don't have a high flight.

I intend to take a few lessons before the season starts in earnest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

just to enjoy golf again. Haven’t been enjoying it at my club with a while now. The new handicap system has amplified that. At my club 44+ is needed to win in summer time. Category 1 prizes from plus figures to 14 index. Every week singles stableford. Hard to justify the expense of membership when it’s not enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭shefellover93

For me it's just play again.

Started back in October 23 which was a washout, ended up travelling all the way through 24, and only back now, so this is my first full year back at it since a teen.

Have joined the soc, got the GolfPass, and also signed up for a season ticket at my local (waiting list for memberships) and an iGolf membership, so hoping to absolutely make the most of it this year.

"Handicap" (according to my Garmin watch) is 21, so would like to lower that. Shot an 88 last summer on one of my few outings, so would like to regularly break 90, get out to a Boards soc event and not embarrass myself, and then hopefully play a few open comps once I get the handicap together. Not really interested in the prizes, just want to challenge myself competitively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭bobster453

For me its all about frame of mind.

Trust the process no matter what as I know it works.

Winning 2 boards events and Captains Prize last year and not automatically qualifying for Jug team showed it is all about frame of mind as game is there, I just need to tap into it consistently.

Make @FixdePitchmark review his so true comment last year that I am an anomaly..should be on all teams or none is motivation aplenty.

Bring it on GOY😁😁😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

I had some other name for you in mind…😎

See ya in a fortnight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭bobster453

Must remind you to tell me what it is😆

See ya on 15th pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭blue note

I've forgotten to write down goals the past 2 years, so I better put them in writing this year.

What has held me back more than anything in the last few years is a lack of golf played. And what held me back in terms of playing more than anything is having children. We've another on the way in June. So the golfing number 1;

1. have a vascetomy. Every child resets the clock in terms of getting back onto the golf course, so this will be a major step in the right direction.

Even with the kid on the way, I'll try to play a bit to not slide too far back. Goal number 2;

2. Play at least 15 rounds in the year. I think it's achievable. And concentrate on those rounds so that I'm putting in somewhat decent scores. Goal number 3;

3. Don't balloon the handicap. I'm 12.something at present, I'd love to finish the year there. It'll be tricky not to duff chips and slice drives when I'm not playing much, but if I keep the concentration I'll hopefully be able to put in a few decent cards. Most if not all of my counting rounds are in the last 10 anyway, so I've a little slack here to work with.

4. Cut back on penalty strokes. These are virtually all from the tee and typically massive pulls. I used to battle a massive slice and that's not completely gone, but in an effort to combat it I've introduced a ridiculous pull as a miss. Again, concentration can keep this in check to a large degree. But I've had good scores where I've had to reload 3 times on the tee. And one respectable score with 8 reloads on the tee. If I could cut these back to an average of 1 a round I'd find decent scores far easier to return.

5. Get out in at least 3 Sunday club comps. I need to get a babysitter for these due to kids activities, but for me while all rounds are now real because you can submit the cards, these ones are really real. I suppose I value these scores more than the casual ones or even open comps. And I only got out in 1 last year.

6. Get an eagle (ideally on a par 3). That's not so much a goal as a hope, because there's nothing different I intend to do to achieve this. They're just nice to get, or so I've heard about them on a par 3.

7. Get to 4 boards outings. There are 5 that are possibilities for me, so if I can make 4 of these I'll be very happy. Boards outings are a lot of fun.

8. Learn more control on my wedges. They've always been a part of my game that has not been strong. I get far too much height to hit full wedges 90% of the time, but when I try to take off speed I'm massively likely to duff / blade them or just hit it practically full power anyway. The duff is the best mishit here, I'll generally just have a shorter wedge shot next. A blade or a full power shot will be through the green where terrible things await.

9. Play well in my college outing. It's been going about 10 years, I think I'm yet to return a score of 30 points or more. Those college lads must think I'm putting in dodgy scores to get my handicap because every year I look like a mid 20s handicapper. I'd absolutely love a score of less than +10, but I'd be very happy with a 33/34 pointer.

That'll do for this year. I look forward to rereading this post in December and crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

1. Above all else. Continue to swing healthy, happy and carefree and enjoy the few times I get to play.
    2. Scare level par gross 18 hole round a few times during 2025. If I don't cross the level par line at the end I'm okay with that, but I want to live closer to that boundary where it's actually in reach. I enjoy that fight and leaning into that goal. The walks between shots are heightened. The thoughts of both excitement and doubt going through your head. There is a buzz.
    3. Stretch goal - level par gross. Feels like a completely different goal to 2. But actually crossing that line. Probably not possible given my abilities, I need luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭AyeGer

My goals for 2025:

1. Improve my chipping around the green to a level where I can get more up and downs.
    2. Improve my putting from 8 to 15 feet, I don’t get enough of these down in 1.
    3. To get a round under par, my best round was 1 over, next best was 2 over. Level par would be great too.
    4. Achieve a hole in one, not something I can really work on but hopefully keeping giving myself chances and maybe one will fall in eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Snackbox20

Bit of an up and down year in 2024, pardon the golfing pun, but I have 4 main goals for 2025.

1. Win back GOY in Dunmore or try to least win one of the club "majors"
    2. Focus on the mental side of my game, enjoy it more, relax on the course.
    3. Knock at least 2 shots of my handicap.
    4. And all I want for Christmas, is to make the Jug team 🤞🤞🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭patsat

Measurable Goals

Index to single figures:

Failed on this last year. Which is criminal considering over the year I shot a 79, 78 and a level par 72 on St.Stephens day. 

I feel that my mindset for counting scores is holding me back. During matchplay, every shot counts, I'm constantly focused on winning the hole. Whereas in stableford/stroke play I just don't be as switched on. If I can fix this, my index will come down I'm sure. 

Break 80 on Golf Ireland counting score:

As above, my counting scores don't reflect what I am capable of shooting. 

Eagle a par 5: 

I have eagled a par 4 but would like a par 5 eagle. I have managed to not 3 putt every eagle putt so there is progress here! 🤣

Practice Based Goals: 

Tempo: 

My tempo has improved massively over the winter, but at the moment that is only true for wedges and short irons. Need to keep working on this for longer irons and woods. 

Driving: 

Whilst I can hit the ball a long way, it's capable of going anywhere. My driver swing is so unstable and inconsistent. I'd like to get to the stage this year where I'm considered a good driver of the ball. Happy to give up a little distance for a more stable, controlled swing. 

Short game: 

Picked up a launch monitor so need to dial in sub 100 distances. 

Courses: 

I have booked the 3 courses in Rosapenna and Narin & Portnoo for June. Would like to maybe add Ballyliffin to that trip. 

And then pick up a few random nice courses throughout the year. Maybe Old Course St. Andrews if I get the chance to go over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Copy and paste from 2024 goals. Still valid for 2025.

1. Maintain and improve consistency of my iron striking. This was the biggest factor in improving and stabilising my scores in 2023/4.
    2. Get more distance from my drives. I hit a lot of fairways but struggling to reach greens of low index holes in regulation.
    3. Improve my fairway woods consistency and distance. Can't reach greens of longer holes and often top them or hit into trouble.
    4. Get on the green and close to the pin from inside 100 regularly. Problems with alignment as much as ball striking. Nearly always miss left.
    5. Make bogey consistently on our index 1-4 holes. Too often it's been doubles or worse on these that cost me a win.

I've gotten bad at short putts so need to get a lesson and set a putting goal.

Dropped from 14.2 to 11.2 last year. Goal is to get to 9.0 this year.

I loved the consistency I had last year and hope I'll have it when counting season arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,910 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Try and play 20 counting rounds of golf and keep myself at a 5ish handicap.

After being at 4 for much of the year, I slipped out to 5.5 in the last couple of rounds when a couple of really good rounds dropped off my record. So if I could keep myself there or even take off 0.5, that would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭paulos53

• Achieve my lowest ever handicap. My lowest is 7.3 which was way back in 2008 or 2009. Started the year at 8.7 and I am currently at 8.1.
    • Average 1 birdie per round. For the last few years I have kept a record of this and generally average a birdie every 22 or 23 holes. The aim is to get this to 1 every 18 holes over the calendar year (covering both winter and summer rules).
    • Beat my lowest ever round. My lowest stroke score in a counting competition is 74 with a score differential of 2.2. The aim is to beat 1 of them.
    • 20 consecutive sub 90 rounds. I recently spotted that the 20 counting scores of my handicap record contained 2 scores in the 90s. It would be nice to have all 20 under 90 at some point. Something to fight for on the bad days.
    • 5 consecutive sub 80 rounds. I am not sure if I have ever had more than 3 consecutive rounds in the 70s so this could be the toughest of my goals to achieve.
    • Play 10 new courses. I usually get around 5 new ones in each year so will aim a bit higher for this one. 3 new courses on the society schedule will help.
    • Hole an eagle putt in a singles comp. The majority of my meagre haul of eagles have come from chip-ins or holing out from distance. The only 1 finished with the putter was in a scramble (using my ball on each shot) but that isn't the same. I have had this goal for a while and it usually leads to 3-putts as I knock it way past the hole in an effort not to leave it short.
    • Win a boards society prize. I failed to finish in the prizes last year so looking for an improvement here. I won't be so greedy to look for a first place and I would even count a share of the 2s as a success here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,957 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Was injured for 2nd half of 2025 and start of this year - so goals this year are limited.

1. Improve fitness more - get more comfortable playing golf.
    2. Hold single figures - will be a challenge with how little I practice
    3. Practice short game and putting more
    4. Shoot 5 rounds in 70s.

Very low ambition - but you got to have goals that suit you and are achievable.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Play 20 new courses

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,741 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Very late to this as wasn't expecting to play much.

1. Get a handicap (joining a club in coming weeks)

2. Beat said handicap at least once by end of summer.

Will keep it modest for now, could be tough when have only played 2/3 rounds per year for last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,070 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Very late to this especially as I'm only getting going in golf. I've played a par 3 twice.

My first score was awful at 69, shot a 65 on my second attempt. This was using rental clubs, I bought my own clubs and looking forward to trying them out.

I think I've got the bug. All I can think about is getting out to play golf or the range.

I'll probably be playing par 3 for a while, hopefully get that score down to as close to 30 as possible and then try some 18 hole courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Wasn't in my goals for this or any other year but..... I finally got a hole in one. On the 5th in St Margaret's!!!!!!! 😁

8 iron off blue tees, landed 10 feet away and rolled in.
    Witnessed by my playing partner and some of the group ahead.

Unfortunately I wasn't in the competition so not officially recognised and no payout. Still, a great box to have ticked 😀

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Nice one, congratulations.

Did you jump in the water to celebrate? If so, did you find the two balls I hit there on Saturday afternoon? :-)

No, but my previous 2 balls had also gone in the water. Last thing I said before I swung was "God, I'm useless on this hole recently!" 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,699 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Used hate links golf when young lad. Only club near me is links now so I joined it.

Best decision ever. Even on blustery morning just hit shots overlooking the sea is something I should never have taken for granted.

My goal is simply to enjoy game now with few friends. A hole in one at some stage be nice bonus.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭coillcam

Didn't realise I forgot to do my goals for this year. Unfortunately I broke my ankle a few weeks back so it's put me out of action for the counting season at least. So it's pretty much season over.

A pity as I was just beginning to make some progress in my game.

If I had remembered to record my goals would have been something like.

1. Finish the year with a lower index than Jan 1st. (Dropped just shy of 1 shot and trending down).

2. Break 80. (Had a big 4ball score that game me an "80" differential. Otherwise 83 was my best proper singles score).

3. Play abroad. (Played in Brazil back April, really great experience).

4. Give comps and matchplay a good run. (Picked up a category voucher in an open for my first prize in almost 3 years. Won my 1st round matchplay on 18. Was top 10 on the OOM when I got injured. Lost 2nd round on 17 despite being nett 3 shots under my handicap. That was a brilliant match with birdies on 15 and 16 only matching my opponent for halves).

5. Make multiple eagles (had 1 away from home for the 1st time).

6. Get rid of short game yips and put in the practice hours. (Didn't get lessons but I did practice a huge amount in the previous couple of months. Had a few chip ins this year and was making loads more bogey/par saves compared to the last 2x seasons. Probably the biggest improvement in my scoring was down to short game work. No headworms over chips and pitches now which is huge progress).

7. Enjoy the game and social side irrespective of scores. (Separating scoring from enjoyment has made the game less frustrating. Always making sure I use up the bar credit post round adds to that).