Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

I hadn’t realised the Monaghan game was a Saturday evening game, that is excellent. My favourite time for a match.

The U20s apparently took a good beating off Meath in Knockbride on Sunday gone.

Minors had their final cut of players at the weekend and are now down to their final panel for the year I understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

I love this time of year. Before the ball is thrown-in, anything is possible (good or bad, and I tend towards optimism). And starting at home agains the old enemy under floodlights on a Saturday, what more could you ask for?

How are people feeling about this year? Last year was an unusual division two. Two teams way ahead of the pack,and one team that was completely hopeless. I predict this year will be cut-throat, and don't see anyone pulling away, and teams will take points of each other. Could be as nasty as 2020 when any number of teams could have gone up or gone down right at the end. Hopefully we get some luck this year.

Almost always a team that is relegated from division one goes back up, and given the Rossies experience, I think they will be the ones. Louth are the next team to watch, and they will be close to impossible to beat at home. Cork could as easily blitz teams as not show up and get tanked the next week. Monaghan usually start the league well but it's a different story getting fired up to play the Dubs in Croker. We've all being saying their panel is aging and has to decline, surely now is the time?

Meath are no great shakes and even with a new manager bounce, Westmeath are down bodies. I can't stand this Down team so I refuse to be objective and hope they are in a relegation fight.

I think we are good enough to be top half, and given that there are no stand out teams like last year with a bit of luck we could be one of the two going up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭mylestheslasher

The teams that can innovate the best to these new rules will get a head start. The rules I fear will wreck the game. I know change is needed but this amount of change in one go seems daft, especially when they have not been tried in a pre-season competition.

Sounds like Cavan have made a good start with the rules so hopefully we get a good start. Beat Monaghan and Meath puts us in a good position to push for promotion. Lose them and we are in big trouble. I think we can win them.

The problem with Cavan is one thing which last season showed in spades - the one consistent thing about Cavan is our inconsistency.

Excellent wins against Kildare, Cork & Louth last year, plus a close loss to what championship showed to be a very good Donegal side, were mixed with a hammering by Armagh, a loss to an eventually relegated Fermanagh and, worse of all, a tepid draw in a terrible match against a useless Meath team.

It’s hard to know what the season will bring because it’s so difficult to predict what Cavan we’ll get on any given day. I think Roscommon will be promoted and then the rest of us are vying for second place. We’ll know a lot after the Monaghan game. Anything but a win against Meath the following week if week 1 doesn’t go well and we’re looking at relegation.

There’s not going to be anything easy about that second promotion slot. Louth & Cork showed very good form in championship last year. Louth played Armagh in a behind closed doors game at the weekend.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭mogue77

Any news from the game between Donegal and Cavan last night?

Very hard to get any info on it. McGuinness demanded it be behind closed doors and very few allowed in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭piplip87

Ill tell ya for all the soakings and freezing cold nights I have endured at the McKenna cup games, it was sorely missed this year.

From reading bits here and there it seems we are adapting to the new rules. We will know a lot more this time next week.

Monaghan and Meath to start so two local derbys and should get decent crowds out. I think we will be in the hunt to go up and should definitely be looking at the top table come championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭tazman06

Game week. Finally. Cannot wait for Saturday evening. Monaghan will be tough, as always in the derby. McManus has retired (what a career by the way, we saw more than most what he can do on his day) but he likely wouldn't have had an impact this early league anyway. Challenges have seemingly gone well, I hope we've a grasp on the new rules and we get a great start here

Hed want to get over himself that fella! FFS its January. I suppose the 150k has to be justified with this sort of mystique.

Well between no McKenna Cup, the first chance to see the new rules in action, and it being a local derby, if we can’t get a crowd to Breffni this weekend, I don’t know when we will!

Pod yesterday was interesting on who is available, and who is going well for this weekend. GMac is injured. That's a pity, he went injury free last year so hoped that'd run on, but ah well. Cian Madden injured too. Cormac O'Reilly has left the panel which I find very frustrating. Just as he was showing to be one of the top forwards in the county last summer. Think he'd have pushed on again, so that one is annoying

Post edited by tazman06 on

In fairness to Cormac he has been in and around there a few years and never become a mainstay. There has to be a reason for that.

I’m not saying it’s applicable to Cormac but I can think of at least one other forward who had bundles of talent but just didn’t seem to have the drive and determination needed to be an intercounty player.

That’s fair enough. Even club football is a big commitment at this stage.

Looking forward to the podcast with Kevin Egan as he had a fairly good reading on things last year and offers an unbiased opinion.

Wasn't he on the panel in 2022 and started a lot of games in division four but was dropped for some reason. I don't think he featured much in 2023 and may not have been on the panel but when he was back in 2024 I thought he showed well and always had an impact coming off the bench. I felt he could have as easily been a starter in some games so maybe like Hoffman he got frustrated.

My understanding is that he was asked in but didn't go back for some reason. It's a shame as I saw him play for Mullahorn before he got injured and he looked like he could nail down a county spot.

I know we don't know for certain who is fit but based on the WAC pod, anyone want to guess the starting 15? Not sure where Sigerson Cup has an impact or not or whether the Arva players are getting a rest.

Anways, here's my guess:

O Rourke, O'Connell, Gunner, Carolan, Faulkner, McVeety, Holla, Clarke, Molloy, Oisin Kiernan, Gerry Smith, Oisin Brady, Mc Evoy, James Smith, Lovett.

I agree with Cavan King that James Smith is not a full forward by any means but that's where he lines out mostly these days for Cavan. If we are going for space in the forward line Mc Evoy and Lovett seem like obvious runners with pace for one on ones.

I still think we are light in midfield but not sure what options there are. Wonder will the likes of Crowe start or come off the bench?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭celt262

I agree, but he hasn't played much there at a county level. Is it a fitness thing?

very disappointed to hear Oisin Brady is gone off the panel. I really thought that he would have been one of our top forwards this year.

FFS why are players leaving before the league even starts.

The issue unfortunately is a lot of lads get rushed back from injuries and are never right. James I’m told has been carrying an injury since December and again doesn’t get the time to allow it to settle.

Team announced:

O'Rourke, Caolan, O'Connell, Jason, Faulkner, McVeety, Kiernan, Clarke, Crowe, Holla, Gerry Smith, Molloy, O'Neill, Hames Smith, McEvoy

Subs: O'Donnell, Cian Reilly, Fortune, Peter Smith, McGeogh, Ryan Donohoe, TED, Curran, Tiarnan Madden, Lovett, Conor Madden,

That's a real shame. He's one of the lads you would want to see playing. Was really coming into his own in 2023 before he picked up a bad injury against Longford i think. He was very inconsistent in 2024, brilliant agains the Dubs for example but often not doing much in others. That's to be expected for younger forwards.

We have way more cover in the backs so that's disappointing, but hopefully the likes of Lovett, McEvoy, TED can see this as an opportunity. Conor Madden always does well coming off the bench for Cavan and if his radar is on, he can kick 2 pointers for fun.

I’m disappointed with the forward line to be honest. I actually hope there are changes to it before throw in. If they had any sense, James Smith wouldn’t start.

Gerry Smith & Ciaran Brady are natural half backs. James Smith is not a full forward. Luke Molloy is more a middle area player. McEvoy hasn’t played a competitive game in months (and even a club championship one in years) and Ryan O’Neill works hard but is not prolific.

Conor Madden is good off the bench but it mightn’t be harm to see him starting. There could also be place for Lovett. Paddy Lynch is a huge loss going on that line up.

Game confirmed as going ahead tonight.

Paddy Lynch named No. 27 on the program

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭benjy1000

They got a bad bating.

Relegation beckons unless they shape up

Apparently Oisin Brady was taken off after 15 minutes in a 20 point plus defeat to Donegal last Friday night. He left as soon as he was taken off.

Tonight was poor. You won’t win many games if you can’t score frees and are that poor on your own kick out.

We look toothless up front but then the line up pointed to that. James Smith far more effective out the field when he can drive at people.

The play was far too slow. We don’t seem to counter quickly. Too much slowing it down. We won’t score goals unless we move the ball quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭ipitydafool

Poor result that tonight. Felt we had enough possession to win the game but didn't convert or create near enough chances out of it and took the wrong option a number of times. The poster above is right, our whole half forward line is more suited to being wing backs and we had no real forward threat outside of McEvoy who played very well bar two missed frees.

Didn't think Luke Molloy did a whole pile and Tiernan Madden would have been a better option there from the start. Ryan O'Neill not at the races at all and rightly took off at half time, Ted did better when he came in but Paddy Lynch, Darragh Lovett and Oisín Brady badly missed from the forward line, shame to see that Oisín has stepped away, we especially could have done with his free taking tonight.

Also it is clear that goalkeepers are going to have a big impact on games under new rules if utilized the way Monaghan did with Beggan, whenever he came forward they had overlaps and creates a big advantage for the attacking team- think the first 6 scores they got came with him up forward. The same didn't happen with us and Gary O'Rourke but tbf he didn't do that before the rule changes either. His kickouts were not great either at times and would be worth giving O'Donnell a try in the next few games to see how we fare with him in nets

Who decided that it was in the interest of football to make the goalkeeper the most important attacking player on the pitch? For me that rule will destroy the game of football.

As for the match, I am now very worried about us. Few of our top men off their game and we look hopeless. Mcevoy good but now power to break tackles. Clarke stupidly mouthing gets ball brought forward 3 times. Rest of the new players making little impact. Huge issue with free taking, need to sort outbthe issue with Oisin Brady. Lose to meath and we will be in big trouble.