Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,016 ✭✭✭✭briany

Trump cannot seek a third term unless there is an amendment to the US Constitution, as we all know, and that requires two thirds of both houses, so unless the Democratic party get utterly decimated in the 2026 midterms, it won't happen by procedural means, no matter how many bent judges Trump manages to install. More likely some kind of 'national emergency - elections suspended' jiggerypokery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Seattle

Whether he personally runs for a third time or not is a red herring imo. It'll be the MAGA movement running v an opponent either way. You have to assume he'll be highly motivated to win and retain power in any case.

He would definitely need to be out on the campaign trail in some way because the one big weakness of MAGA is that Trump is the lynchpin. It can't really exist independently from him, and this is the way that the narcissistic Trump likes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

People who try to claim that Trump must be smart because he managed to get to the top are wrong. He's not smart, hes just a liar and a cheat who happens to be completely above the law.

Like when he blatantly cheats at golf. Its not smart, doesn't make him a good golfer because he cheats, but he gets away with it because he only plays golf on courses he owns or knows they'll let him cheat.

Anyone else who does what he does, would be disqualified and banned from the course.

Similarly with winning elections. He didn't win because he's clever, he won because he cheated and everyone else stood aside and let him do it. It would be like him winning a chess tournament by starting every game by just picking up and removing the all of the opponents most powerful pieces, and despite the opponent objecting, the tournament organizers let him do it anyway.

He wins because the game is rigged massively in favour of the super rich, they are never held accountable for their own crimes and anyone outside of that circle who tried tp do the same thing would spend their lives in jail.

Trump is on top not because hes the smartest, hes just the most arrogant and has absolutely no shame

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,541 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He can pick a successor and campaign for them, but I'll be shocked if the movement doesn't completely fragment.

https://www.reddit.com/r/worldnews/s/PUc1C6fjPh

Huge ramifications here for the undocumented Irish in America.

How many undocumented Irish are there in the States, and how many of those are lads chancing their arm by overstaying the J1, as opposed to people who've built some sort of life there by working under the table? The first group are essentially there for the craic. Not the end of the world if they get deported. Obviously the second group would try to avoid such a fate, but then there are already noises from Republican politicians of Irish background to set up a framework that would allow undocumented Irish a pathway to staying.

https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2024/1113/1480614-state-of-mind-irish-immigrants/

Something tells me that some immigrant groups will be treated harsher than others in this whole episode…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,924 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Why?

It would appear Trump is attempting to offload non-Mexicans to Mexico which is why the flight was refused

No, he tried to malignly influence the election obviously but he was not able to rig it by successfully interfering in the actual counting of votes or assinating/imprisoning political enemies etc. If he actually rigged the 2020 election he'd have won. He didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Think you might be getting a little carried away there with your analysis. The X passports have only existed since 2022, (so its back to male & female), which although boring, probably reflects more accurately our primary differences as a binary species.

I also think DEI had gone too far & needed to be reeled in. Glad the President spoke of the Merit based approach 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭Rawr

There was a systematic effort to hobble the functioning of the US Postal Service as well as a intensive pre-amble to pretend that postal voting was rife with voter fraud (which it wasn’t).

The first was an expansion of GOP policy to make voting difficult for non-GOP voters, which is election interference and amounts to rigging. The second was essentially Donnie’s excuse for a Plan B where he’d use a fiction to cry foul and somehow stay put. Luckily he was feckless on both counts and it didn’t work.

Make no mistake, Donnie only respects a vote he wins, and has no respect for any law or regulation that goes against what he wants. He even tried to get a state to “find” the votes he needed to win FFS. He tried to rig it and failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭techdiver

Don't fool yourself, there is no meritorcacy in America. Just look at Trumps appointments. Whilst I generally don't agree with quotas, whether gender or race based, what MAGA want far exceeds that. Many of the MAGA gang don't believe in equality of opportunity. That's what they want. Women churning out babies and being subservient to their husbands and minorities to "know their place". Here is one such example:

Meritorcacy. Don't make me laugh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,626 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

There are no undocumented Irish, there are just illegal immigrants. Hope Trump gives them both barrels.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

And I have a strong feeling that you'll happily support any steps that Trump takes to target trans people.

If you review my posts, you'll see I'm not making the argument you think I am.

I acknowledge he attempted to rig it, but ultimately, he failed - he did not rig the 2020 election. My point is this: how will the Democrats ensure he fails to actually rig the 2028 election, when the conditions for him to actually succeed will likely be far more favorable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,808 ✭✭✭✭banie01

"Undocumented Irish" is a phrase that riles me even more than "British ExPat". There is a tacit acceptance amongst far too many that it's an ok means of entering and working in a foreign state. That somehow a bit of Irish rogueishness, charm and a bit of blarney means that we can swerve the rules we'd apply to others.

The numbers are nowhere like they were in the 80s & 90s, 9/11 and the patriot act put paid to much of the easy in/out that many my age and older enjoyed. I don't have definite numbers to hand but however many they are? Be it overstaying a J1 or being undocumented since the 90s? Choices were made and eventually? Consequences will catch up, regularisation & legalisation for Irish in particular was made relatively easy, albeit still expensive in terms of immigration lawyer requirement.

This is why people are so polarised. I mention the new passports & Trump's merit announcement, and suddenly I'm "targeting" trans people.

I have said what I said and I didn't target anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭tarvis

So it’s down to the the battle of the fundamentalists -The Evangeliban, with no room for live and let live V The Transiban, with no room for existing and hard earned female rights.

Post edited by tarvis on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭Rawr

That is an important question. The Dems have 2 years to hopefully learn from 2024 and retake the House. In the meantime they need to work hard to prevent MAGA from trying to ensure that Donnie can rig stuff.

One silver lining to current makeup of the US is that voting management & regulations are still handled at the state level. So states that aren’t completely forgone down the MAGA rabbithole can maintain election integrity. This will become especially important when Donnie learns how far down his approval rating can go after all this nouveax-Nazi BS he and his collection of gouls have been up to this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

It's more based on your postings including the view that the priest should have kept her views to herself. 🤔

I guess you are refering to post #6773 (which wasn't posted by me), although I subsequently posted that "I agreed on both counts".

I presume that's what you're on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭maik3n

The clown show continues

Kristi Noem, Secretary of Homeland Security
    Pete Hegseth, Secretary of Defense
    now confirmed. 🤦‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,637 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Actually, originally all you said was 'new' passports, which piqued my interest, and it turns out they're not new - the new passports with the high tech embedded stuff came earlier, but the removal of the ability to put X for your gender wasn't mentioned by you at all.

Now, if you'd been more open and said something like "the Trump administration's ongoing scapegoating of trans people through its gender recognition announcement, has had a trickle-on effect of disallowing X in gender selection in a passport <link>, and I'm cool with that," that'd be polarising. But you didn't.

However, you did in fact cause people to be aware of the problem and then went on to slag DEI, I'd say, yeah, you're targeting plenty of people and you're trolling.

Hope that clarifies.

And that wonderful woman - I can't remember her name, nor am I going to google it and give her the acknowledgement - who confirmed recently that she agreed with the view that Israel had a 'biblical right' to the West Bank.

America voted for Trump a second time, and now will they get him, but there'll be a much more unified, purposeful and extreme team behind him.

I believe that Trump is probably the least worrying figure in the whole setup, in a way, because he's just a charismatic blowhard who loves attention and adoration. The people actually drafting these executive orders and putting them across his desk are the real danger and they're wasting no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The illegal Irish will probably be fine because they're lily-white. Meanwhile, Navajos are being held up in ICE raids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

noem in. There won’t be a stray dog or goat safe in America from now on.

You finish by saying

"However, you did in fact cause people to be aware of the problem and then went on to slag DEI, I'd say, yeah, you're targeting plenty of people and you're trolling. Hope that clarifies."

What can I say? it's a consistent accusation used against me and my posts, (which don't look like trolling to me) but I obviously upset quite a few of you. I'm just back from a months ban for trolling, so at this point I think I'll remove myself from this thread, before I'm banned Again.

Regarding the passports, the new Trump passports have male & female only, without the X option, seems clear to me, but has obviously irked a few of you, same with my stance on the demise of DEI which I agree with, as I like Trumps merit based approach!

I'll look in the odd time, but I won't post here anymore as the bans usually take me out of the whole current affairs forum for weeks at a time.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭scotchy

My new on line thing is checking to see if Google Maps have re named the Gulf of Mexico. Anyway, at the time of writing, it's still the Gulf of Mexico. 🌮

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,686 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Well as the President of Mexico said, he can call it what he likes, the rest of us don't have to go along with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"