Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Broadband Ireland : implementation and progress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

@shmeee … and will be building a wardrobe around the ONT box.

Be sure to leave a means of accessing the ONT in case it needs to be power-cycled or replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,376 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

Oh it will be visable once wardrobe door is open. Will be a cut out around it in back of the wardrobe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 johnnyoirish

Hoping someone would be willing to sense check my thinking around getting a fiber connection to my parents house in a town estate in Co. Cork?

The house is already listed on airwire.ie as having FTTH availability up to 1GB via OpenEir (SIRO is not available), and we're able to place orders FTTH from all the major providers.

Since we've been with Vodafone for phone/VDSL (unusably bad VDSL, at that) for a long time we've been trying to order a 500mb fiber product through them for over 2 years now. After a bunch of failed orders with no feedback or reason provided by Vodafone, a complaint to Vodafone and to Comreg bought us some better communication. Our most recent order attempt still failed, but in this case we were given a reason: "there's no duct between the cabinet and the house, the phone line is just buried in the ground, so there's nothing to pull the fiber through". Ok, at least that's something.

Now, the house is in the NBI plan, and coincidentally around the same time as we finally got the feedback on the duct our "anticipated date for connection" with NBI got pulled forward about a year to July - Sept 2025.

So our options, as I see them, are:

A) Keep pushing on the OpenEir route via Vodafone or some other provider. Perhaps DigiWeb would be a better shout, since I've read that their customer service and communications are pretty good. Perhaps working with them might make it easier to get this over the line? Or is it likely that we would need to get some duct installed ourselves for us to have any chance of getting joy via that route?

B) Forget about the 2 year ordeal with Vodafone entirely, and just bank on getting connected via NBI. We'd be fine waiting until the end of the year if this route would guarantee us getting connected, but as far as I understand it's also Circet who do the work for NBI, so I'm concerned that after waiting they'll just hit similar issues to what we've previously experienced and we'll still be in the same situation.

Right now I'm leaning towards just waiting for NBI, and assuming that they'll figure out a way to get us connected one way or another. Is this the right choice, or is it worth continuing down the OpenEir route via a provider like Digiweb? Is there anything we can do to maximise our chances of getting a fiber connection as soon as possible (at least before the end of the year) through either route?

Thanks in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭ShaunC

Screenshot_20250106_073239_RTE News.jpg

Keep the faith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

Definitely wait on the NBI rollout. They will install the necessary infrastructure if the OpenEir ducting isn't there. The government subsidy covers the cost of doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Raichų

I’d say if you want to chance FTTH again go with another provider. Vodafone are just awful tbh. I had them refuse to process an order yesterday because I didn’t want a tech to come setup tv for me. What a disaster!

National Broadband Ireland has said that 65,000 homes, farms and businesses are being moved to an earlier completion date in 2025 than had been originally scheduled.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0106/1489172-ireland-broadband/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Has anyone seen examples of them installing ducting into someone's garden?

I don't think they do this. They'll run poles to the gables.

No one on here seems to have gotten ducting installed unless by themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Stewball

I'm wondering how its going to be done.

I've got a telephone pole outside my front gate. A cable runs from the pole above my driveway to the gable of my house into the attic for an old landline we don't have connected anymore.

Will they just replace the cable and then whichever provider I sign up with will do the rest?

Exactly that. They'll run the new over the old. I'm not sure they'll even remove the older line btw i think that left in situ as technically nothing to do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Prospectors

I have a similar problem in that my existing phone line seems to be just laid in the soil without being in any duct. Therefore, KN cannot get a fibre cable from the road chamber to my house. I have tried two different BB suppliers but as both of them use KN, it is the same result. I would prefer the underground option instead of overhead, but no progress with either, just a KN report back to BB suppliers saying no access through duct.

I was advised by Vodafone to wait for SIRO but I have been unable to find out if that will be rolled out in my area. I presume if OpenEir is currently outside my entrance, SIRO will not be coming here also.

Therefore, I would be very keen to hear of any evidence of customers getting new ducting installed by a supplier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭banana_bear

I'm living in rural Ireland (supposed to get NBI coverage in the next months, YAY!) and I've been with Digiweb (previously Wifiber, previously Wicklow Broadband) since we moved here in 2012. While the speed they deliver is limited (15mbit/s at the moment with the line of sight connection), they deliver that all the time, 24/7. They're also good with their support. They even temporarily increased my upload speed for a short duration because I needed it to deliver a live stream for my job at the time (releasing my own game on Steam).

Because I highly depend on an internet connection for work, I always had a second line as a backup as well:

• Eir and Sky promised broadband through DSL, which turned out to run at roughly 3mbit/s IF and WHEN it actually worked.
    • Vodaphone gave us a 4g Router, which worked okish during off peak hours but was virtually unusable at peak hours. Also: 80GB/month at the time (like 6 years ago, but still).
    • Imagine was brilliant at first (I was an early adopter in my area), but then it quickly devolved into a shitshow with speeds of <10mbit/s at peak times (I use the term loosely, it was from 5-6pm until midnight).

We're currently with Starlink (and still using Digiweb as the backup) which is actually really good. 200mbit/s down, 20mbit/s up, 30ish ms latency, all that 24/7 with very little interruption and no download limit.

But once we have Fiber, I'll definitely go with Digiweb. They're the only provider that I'd whole heartedly recommend to everyone.

The issue right now is the lack of ducting from the cabinet to the vicinity of the house.

I would wait to see how NBI plan to get the main cable near to his house and then see how NBI will handle the cable to the house issue.

In an urban IA poles may not be allowed so NBI may have to run their own ducting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Spurs

Has anyone gotten around "No Connection Ports Available" hitches? In a small village with few houses. 50 yards east and 50 yards west have connection ports available but not me apparently.

House not covered by NBI, but no fixed line available at all due to No Connection Ports. Been fobbed off by Department saying they've requested OpenEir and it will be at least 10 months.

Previous tenants had Eir fibre but cancelled. Now there's an ugly fibre cable hanging over the garden to just above the front door, but no way of using it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Out of curiosity, how many ports do the black boxes they put up on the poles have and is there a maximum distance a fibre cable can run.

Say for instance if all the ports on the box closest to an infill site are used up at the closest box, could they run to the next box 3 poles down the road.

Logically it's just a matter of an upgrade of the box to one with more ports that fibre can be spliced to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

My father in law in Kerry is in an area covered by OpenEir rural fibre, but only tried to sign up recently and got that same message. I spoke with Sky, Vodafone, Eir and none could connect him because no ports were available. I emailed everyone and anyone I could at OpenEir and eventually their marketing department came back and told me:

"We received an update from our networks team, unfortunately there is no capacity left in the fibre box (DP) that serves your home.This means we will need to add more capacity which requires additional build work to be completed.Your eircode has been added to the DP additional capacity work programme, to set some expectations the work involved to build an additional fibre box can take upto 10 months to complete it may complete sooner."

I asked for some more details on how many customers a DP covers and more details on the 10 months timeline and got this:

"Typically a DP serves 4 customers in some instances it can serve 8.
    In relation to the DP Relief Programme your eicode has been included in the programme.It will be reviewed by the team and then put forward to the planning team early 2025"

A bit of a pain in the arse but at least the 10 month timeline is consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Zith

I had ducting installed by the NBI installer. He didn't want to use the existing as it seemed to be blocked and went directly into our hall. We don't have the small external telecom box on our 2003 build.

The duct he used is not much bigger than the fibre cable. He used a half moon spade type thing to make a slot in the grass from the house path to the pole, about 80 meters. Stuck down the duct and then pressed the ground closed over it again.

Thanks for the insights and discussion, lads. This is exactly my concern too. None of the other houses on the estate are within the NBI intervention area, but all (including ours) have services provided via underground cabling, so of course that would be our preference in this case too.

There are a couple of houses within the NBI intervention area at the bottom of a steeply sloped grove (a good 20m drop) at the side of our property, so I wonder if they're going to sling some poles up to bring overhead cabling up to us from down that way and not bother with any of the existing underground routes in the estate.

NBIs FAQ page (https://nbi.ie/connectionquery/) does have some comforting language around the addition of new ducting where needed, even if on private land, but our experience with Circet via my Vodafone dealings doesn't fill me with hope that that's what's going to happen.

It would be great to be able to find out what their plans are in advance, so we'd have the opportunity to consider paying to get ducting installed ourselves if they weren't going to take it on.

Agreed - and the tracking and communication between the different agents and third parties (e.g. Circet) seems to be particularly bad too. Regardless of what happens I think we'll be looking to switch to a better provider.

Just FYI, some photos of the duct install. First one is before the conduit was put in and covered.

Duct.png Duct_Path.png Fibre_Entry.png

Has your area been surveyed yet?

If it has then NBI has a plan to get fibre to your house and that rollout will be paid for by the state subsidy. That's why I say wait a while longer and see how they'll do it.

Nice! Thanks for sharing. And it was Circet who did that?

I believe so, yes - we're have the "Network Build Underway" status, so I guess they already have a plan that they're working towards. I agree, waiting for NBI is probably my best option right now, so I'll go with that. I'll check in here again later in the year to let ye know what's ended up happening.

Thanks for the help!

They're around my area today cutting hedges, Abington side of Murroe village.

A lot of TLI peoples around lately too, looking at poles etc. Ducting crews around the Cappamore area too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

Lads I'm doing the driveway and garden at the moment. Would a 3/4 inch black pipe (cork plastics) be sufficient for the nbi crew to feed the cable through later on or would half inch be ok? It's about a 50m run to the house from the boreen.

I don't want them running an overhead cable as it will obscure the scenic view at the front of the house and I don't want them digging up the new driveway or garden so putting a duct in now for the sake of €60 is the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,270 ✭✭✭con747

If it was me I'd put in something big enough so no matter what I wanted to do in the future there is room for more cables to be pulled down. Like cctv/electric gates or anything else that might need cable ran.

Post edited by con747 on

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

I ran 50mm ducting the red stuff. It's plenty big. The previous broken ducting that was there was only 3/4inch. And that's what they usually run it through. Mine was damaged by some historical garage extension and shite builders.

it won’t be underground if your eircodes aerial drop OP. If fibre is fitted on a pole it’s an overhead drop it can’t be done underground no matter how scenic your view.

also what’s the general consensus on NBI forecasts? Are they generally accurate or you can expect earlier or later? depends maybe?

My cousin is waiting on NBI in his area as it’s the only viable broadband where he lives— current forecast is Jan 2026 to Dec 2026 so really narrows it down. 😂