Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,663 ✭✭✭✭zell12

"in my really popular podcast path to power" 😀😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,310 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Colm McCarthy: Nimbyism was born in south county Dublin and spread throughout the country

Awkward silence from Pat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭p15574

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Also Colm: things Colm doesn't like are VERY EXPENSIVE.

Can't be giving people rail or tram services, it's expensive.

Is it really worth Newstalk sending out reporters like Henry McKean to Limerick to ask children if they like having a day off school, if they like the snow and random fellas if they have seen the likes of before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,953 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Henry McKean is absolutely stealing a living at this stage!

A small minority of his interviews are interesting and topical - but even those ones go on and on and on, and I wind up turning over - I don't think I've ever listened to an entire segment by him, they must last about 20 minutes. 5 would be plenty!

The rest are complete tripe - I didn't hear today's one, but I can well imagine how it went, and it's a waste of airtime.

It was woeful.

Interviewed some random kids along the lines of:

Do you like having a day off school? Ya

Do you miss not doing English and Maths? No

What do you like about the snow? Throwing snowballs.

If it was broadcast on some college radio station you would be embarrassed. If that's they best content he could get, he should have stayed at home.

Well, at least we are not paying for Newstalk 👍️

"carve or starve" says a chainsaw sculptor. Never heard of a chainsaw sculptor before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Cole

No. The Irish meeja has lost the plot with the weather. RTE doing similar stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

He must be top of the class at weightwatchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

You really never heard of chainsaw sculpting??

Caller, this is Ireland. I've heard of ice sculpting and arboreal sculpting.

The blanket term for both of which is chainsaw sculpting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,037 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

another bumbling idiot councilor on with Pat trying to justify his position on the objection to increasing the cap on Dublin Airport

The reason for the original cap was because it was felt there was insufficient public transport links to the airport. Way back when it was Dublin Bus and taxi's and that was about it. Whatever whatabboutery is said now, that was it's original raison d'etre. That is no longer the case.

These councillors come on this and other programmes talking about carbon caps, and noise pollution, but neither were in scope for the original cap. There's a guy I know. Admittedly he's a bit of a prick any way, but he bought a house underneath a flight path, and he bought a yoke for measuring sound levels and was blogging about the noise levels his house experiences. Why did he buy that house? Because it was cheap maybe?

If you are sensitive to the sound of aircraft, don't buy a house near the airport.

mini-rant over.

jeez, what a terrible phone line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭Field east

listening to the PK show this mornand PK interviewing the chair/spokesman for the DAA. I understand that the org representing airlines has applied to the DAA re increasing passenger numbers from 25 to 27 m per annum and the DAA has rejected it.

I do’nt know if the gov appointed the DAA , but if it did I would sack to DAA board on the basis of the above interview . The following came to mind as the interview progressed

(1) who do they think they are

(2) the arrogance of them

(3 we will show them who is boss

(4) we will show them who is in control

(5) it tried to use its importance to force a positive decision on us

(6) the airline group could not be bothered to poles pre- decision meeting with us

So, in summary , sometimes reading between the lines and at times what the spokesman ACTUALLY said the decision to reject was based on personalities and other situations that had nothing to do with the issue at hand.

If the issue was not so important to the Irish economy the interview was a right laugh. From my experience This attitude is quiet prevalent in Ireland from the smallest voluntary group right up to the very top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Chun the Unavoidable

well, simple statutory requirements like site notices and newpaper notices were not followed. The lad building a shed would get his planning application rejected for that why not the DAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭Field east

my apologies , I got my parties mixed up . It was the DAA that applied to Fingal County Council re increasing passenger numbers and it refused the application - saying it was invalid. Did FCC not consider asking. The DAA for ‘more information/ clarification’ etc so as to keep the application ‘ alive’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's a statutory process and FCC are precluded from dealing with an invalid application.

While planners frequently do look for further information they can only do so in regard to valid applications.

It's the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the application is valid in line with the legislation.

It is a ridiculous situation where an administrative county council has so much power over a resource as big and important as Dublin Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,037 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

We had a significant delay for planning recently due to the incompetence of the company preparing the application. Firstly they left out an area on the map that should have been marked. The second go at it they 'forgot' to put the application in the newspaper. It does happen, but it's gross incompetence to happen with something like Dublin Airport.

It's also correct for FCC to not get involved, else it will creep into all aspects of the application process.

The garda spy truck - looking down into your car on the N4 driving with a phone "you wouldn't do it during your driving test"

Did Pat really say phone drivers are "trying to get a date on tinder or something like that" 😄

The posh "misinformation" guy is the most annoying regular contributor on the PK show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,953 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Pat constantly pronouncing it "Awldi" made my teeth itch!

Germans at home say  "AHL-dee". So Pat is right. And also "LEE-dl"

"Sean Spicer lies lies lies.. i don't know how Sean Spicer lives with himself"

😃

I know, I lived in Germany and shopped in Aldi long before we'd ever heard of Aldi over here! AHL-dee is not the same as AWL-dee, so he's not right. The podcaster lady he was interviewing had it bang on.