Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High School Challenge - Round 7

• 13-01-2025 03:31PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,368 ✭✭✭✭
    Master of the Universe

Another stone cold classic from the 80s - Rastan.

28417001.jpg

Will we stick to running these for two weeks? Seems to give folks a bit more of an opportunity to give them a go. (would take us up to the 26th of Jan)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,221 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Nice, was contemplating picking this one myself. Hopefully I'm not so busy for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Musashi_

I'll try my best to make time for this. Arcade version, yeah?

MiSTer/FPGA, MAME or original hardware - does it matter?

I'll try to rope others into this. 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,368 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Any hardware as long as it's the original arcade roms on the standard difficulty and just 1 credit 🙂

Will be giving it a whirl on MiSTer myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Musashi_

Good to know - thanks for laying out the house rules. 😎

I'll give it a rattle on MiSTer. I was definitely never known for being the local Rastan wizard so manage your expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

God damn yeah , one of my favourite soundtracks ever ...the first level . Think I only got to the second level once . A ruddy classic

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,221 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The ropes on stage 2 on the C64 were my downfall. Hopefully I'm a bit better than 8 years old retr0gamer now.

Only ever played it in the arcade.

Think it was my 3rd game ever played , after space invaders and arkanoid.

I always died trying to get that bloody flaming sword or the axe😂

I gave it a credit last night and realised the attraction screen showed how to get it !!!

I made level 2, with no life's left and got a miserable 89900. Didn't even make the high score screen,🥳 onwards and upwards

Screenshot_2025-01-13-22-51-26-978_com.google.android.apps.photos-edit.jpg

That first level music had been in my head all day ...love it ,and the way it ratchets up the tension

Master of the Universe

It'd be one of the first games I ever played too. Have memories of play that, Operation Wolf and Bomb Jack before I really even knew what arcade games were.

Great to see a score on the score board, will see if I can give it a bash this evening.

I wouldn't call it a score on the score board , since I didn't get good enough to enter my name on it ,😂😂

Master of the Universe

Wow that high score sure feels a million miles away haha.

Managed 91,400 on level 1

Still 20k+ away from the scoreboard!

PXL_20250114_191308731.jpg

We will get there .. faith.

Gave it another bash there but was a failure ,

I noticed enemies seem to constantly spawn in some places if ya stay still or move a little bit , I got some green pick up also , don't know what it was

Ahh ...

Screenshot_2025-01-14-19-20-10-685_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg Screenshot_2025-01-14-19-20-20-846_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

Ive picked up that poison also

Ahhh ok this confirms why ya can't spam killing the enemy's that constantly appear in one place ...

"if the game thinks you’re taking it too slow and carefully it will throw a bat swarm at you from both sides of the screen, which is a bitch"

Master of the Universe

Ah that's gas I actually got to level two with two lives and only managed 78,100.

Looks like theres a lot of scoring to be done in level 1!

Necklace seems like the winner for points ..don't know if pick ups are random or not.

RNG YOU KNOW ME:)

Jayus there are six levels ...

Each level consists of 3 rounds with a boss at end of every third round .

So we haven't even got to end of level one .

Master of the Universe

Right, made the high score table, that's me for now!

PXL_20250114_194009719.jpg

Nice

Master of the Universe

Thanks for this! I was hammering all the buttons trying to figure out what the power ups do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,723 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Not really taking part lads but have enjoyed the threads made up to now, just happened to have the Steam Deck CoinOps in my hand yesterday as I was reading the thread when it was made.

Fired up Rastan Saga as I'd not played it for a while and came out with this. Used to play it back in the day (even had a sofa spot for the awful C64 version) and while rock hard it's still great stuff. Not a bad run on first go but still hit the level 2 wall.

Untitled Image

I would like to have a go of the MiSTer but may not have the time. Chiefly because there could be quite a few differences between the versions out there. Think the emulated one I played is the Japanese version due to the intro and 'Saga' name so there are differences (could also be the EU version due to the name, but don't think the arcade over here had the intro). Different characters I think as well, also I think the US game had more bats around the rope sections.

Definitely understanding the power ups is the key, especially the posion etc but one thing I always remembered from way back when is that the jump and slash does double the damage so those aerial foes and bosses should be getting that treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,723 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Del

Screenshot_2025-01-15-01-14-22-456_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

That'll do me , beat the boss on first go ever crossing swords with him , just rushed in and hammered him...kinda Robocop boss style :)

Then on the 2nd level just did a jump for the first platform and straight into the water :(

Ill put the loin cloth on an eco wash get the whetstone to the broadsword , oil myself up and then off to bed

Some Taito RNG bullshit going on here. I got to the boss but only had 80k ish. Sometimes on the first stage I've 80k but of course always on a bad run.

Also, worst bats than ninja Gaiden.

Yeah seems a bit random . I noticed ( I think ) that sometimes when ya die ya then get a necklace pickup next few enemies , which doubles your score with every hit I think .which makes me wonder is it better to die for the reward . Tis a bit of an haphazard score with every run.

Them bats...your hanging around too long, that's when a bunch of them appear

They aren't as bad as those feckin ropes though ..Grrrrr

In that last run i just steamed through the levels , didn't wait to kill enemies at all for the points, didn't want to see those bats.

I died just at a checkpoint and when i started again I got a necklace ,which I didn't a same enemy on previous life ...so that doubled my points for 10-20 secs or so with every kill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

75700; not gotten past end of level 1 yet. Lots of dying, but seem to have retrieving the flaming sword down well enough; it's just the whole jumping from platform and not landing among a bunch of enemies for instant collision-detetection damage that I need to work on. That and maybe getting past level 1 … or making it onto the bottom of the leaderboard :P

Master of the Universe

Made it to the level 2 boss, literally had zero idea what was going on and died after much fumbling and 'waaaahhhhh wtf??!' being yelled at the screen.

The scoring really is all over the place. Got 75k on that run but then 120k on an earlier one where I only got half way through level 2.

Yeah. I can't get near my last score …it's just random

I found a site that shows below points so now I know why I think . I picked up 2 poisons in a row on level 2, literally within 5 seconds .

Those poisons give ya 10/20 grand a throw !!!!

Screenshot_2025-01-18-17-29-56-861_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

Screenshot_2025-01-21-15-57-14-697_com.google.android.apps.photos-edit.jpg

just gave this another few runs …bettered my score , not by much, which don't make much sense as I got way further , to the second boss. However I was not offered one poison potion on my travels ,!!!

I did get the ring for double points on every kill and got a golden fleece for full health on round two off those weird blue things that I haven't seen attack .

Pickups really seem to be in the lap of the gods with this game

Master of the Universe

Nice score!

It's a great game but I think the scoring is a bit all over the place alright.

If you can make it to the second level boss (which isn't easy!) and can have a much lower score than some runs you did where you didn't even finish level 1, something is definitely up with the game.

My highest scores were all on level 1. I went through a period there where I was getting into level 2 fairly handy and up to the boss a few times, but the scores were nowhere near close.

Still, been great to give it a bash. How did you find that level 2 boss? I hadn't a clue what was going on 😂