Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enoch Burke turns up to school again despite sacking - read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Raichų

https://archive.ph/Dw6rS

Indo article (bypassed paywall you’re welcome)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Raichų

from reading that article anyway it turns out he’s not quite as welcome by the students as he claims to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,935 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Posing with? You mean ambushed and harangued as is their usual style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

I assume you expect/ed replies to your comment on a student's comment. I think it's ok to assume the "student" was capable of reading/using the internet and inquiring of other students and staff at the school about the strange man long before the "comment" was made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,980 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

"Protect the children!!! But only the ones who agree with me.... "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Bitcoin

Hatchet job me hole.

Children are being threatened and intimidated by Burke and his mob of far right religious nutjobs. What's ridiculous is that the government have allowed this circus to go on as long as it has. Now is the time to end this all, the harshest possible measures must be taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,499 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Who are the “nut jobs” do we know? I can’t imagine the Burkes would want a load of “supporters” - they have their own way of doing things and their own philosophy on life- bringing in “outsiders” no mater how much they might agree with this particular issue, would only muddy the waters for them and take some control away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭juno10353

This podcast and the comment section are scary

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Mod note:

Good morning everyone.

I deleted a number of off topic posts.

Back on topic please and thank you

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

When he handed over to EB (lets listen to the man himself) he shortened the need to watch and listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,525 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Mr Burke returned to his protest outside the school he was sacked from last Monday. He took up his usual position at the school gates, which opened on the first day of term after the Christmas holidays. He later went inside the school gate, followed by some of his supporters.

Further proof child protection exists only in a filing cabinet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,845 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

He's not worked at the school for over 2 years. Which means a third of the schools student population were not in the school when he taught there. I'm also willing to bet most first and second year students do not regularly read the Indo.

So yes, for many students he is just that "strange guy who sometimes hangs around the school".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,614 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hold on, this is a secondary school, yeh? 13-18 year olds. I’m no supporter of Burke here, but this sensational angle about terrified children’.. give over..

unless I missed something? Are these teenage children being approached, threatened, harassed as they come and go to school? Because if they were the persons responsibile would surely be challenged..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,727 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Whatever tenuous justification he may have for entering the grounds and being inside the school gates, his supporters have no such justification and the gardai should be called on them if they enter the grounds again.

TBF we don't if the Gardaí were called or not.

Maybe the school have just given up calling the Guards, because lets be honest they might as well be calling Batman for all good it will do.

unless I missed something? Are these teenage children being approached, threatened, harassed as they come and go to school?

Yes, yes they are.

Untitled Image

https://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/2024/12/19/burke-supporters-protest-grave-injustice-outside-wilsons/

When you said "Am I missing something", I assume you are referring to the fact you are not following the story, and so are missing large parts of the story.

but this sensational angle about terrified children’.. give over..

Who said that?

The article contains an articulate opinion from a 15 year old who attends the school. A literal child.

But for some reason you know better?

If you or I “went inside” any school gate, I’d like to think we’d have serious questions to answer to a guard - and very quickly too.

It’s time this “illusion” of a peaceful and lawful protest was well and truly busted - arrest them and lock em up for trespass, causing a nuisance or an obstruction or some other law of convenience guards use in such circumstances - you don’t need the high court to do that.

I appreciate that protesting outside the school restricts Garda’s options - but surely once inside the school gates, all bets are off- a judge could get this group of loons to promise to stay away from the school or else contempt of court - let them sleep on a floor in the “joy” for a few nights and see just how strong their “beliefs” are - they certainly won’t spend long there that’s for sure

grand. There are no terrified children. Like I thought. I misinterpreted it.

Hold on, this is a secondary school, yeh? 13-18 year olds. I’m no supporter of Burke here, but this sensational angle about terrified children’.. give over..”

Those damned pesky kids and their feelings- how dare they!

I saw this before. I asked if the students were being harassed and threatened and intimidated .People standing around is one thing, but actual threats and actual intimidation are other things..if these people outside the school are threatening, harassing or intimidating students I’d expect them to be dealt with by AGS. If these people are also breaking laws I’d expect/hope AGS would act

If you or I “went inside” any school gate, I’d like to think we’d have serious questions to answer to a guard - and very quickly too.

Depends which school gate.

If you did it in the renowned Catholic Hurling school I went to you would be píssing blood for a month.

Protestant school in West Meath is alright though it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Would you feel comfortable passing that every day? Going into work or into your house?

I personally would consider that harassment.

I assume he’s back with his satchel and mammy sangwiches lunch box this morning?

Here’s one of Burkes delightful supporters - I wonder will Enoch share his mammy sangwiches with him come lunchtime as a token of thanks.

An Irish People Party election candidate, given a three-month-jail sentence over a ‘violent attack’ on a 'drag story' event for children in Tralee, was among the protestors who turned up to support Enoch Burke on his return to Wilsons’ Hospital School on Monday.

Ross Lahive, from Shandon, Cork who has appealed the sentence handed down to him in December for assaulting four people at Tralee library, did a livestream from outside the school in Multyfarnham, Co Westmeath in which he praised Burke as ‘a staunch man.’

https://m.sundayworld.com/crime/irish-crime/man-jailed-for-violent-library-attack-supports-enoch-burke-at-school-protest/a1804913998.html

I'm a 6'4 male in my 40s. If I had that circus going on every few days outside my office I would consider it harassment. In the case of some of the individuals, I might find it intimidating too. The article I linked to reported 30 protesters. It didn't mention press or onlookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

His supporters are filming minors, that's pretty messed up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,701 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Mod Edit: Warned for breaching mod instruction in OP

Post edited by Necro on

A question asked above was, what teenager would feel intimidated?

Well if one of the protesters involved in the hypothetical protest outside my office was recently jailed for a violent assault, would I feel intimidated? Damn right I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,769 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Who exactly are the protesters targetting? A group of people with posters outside a premises generally suggests some sort of strike action, protesting to people passing them that they should not be doing so.

Are they expecting that the students will suddenly get interested in their signs and opinions and somehow force the school to back down? Its largely out of the school's hands at this stage, they would be better having their protest outside the court.