Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭John arse

A comedy of errors at times but f@#k me - what a game,fair play to Munster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

Brilliant

Chalk it down. Another great European night.

Another colossal Beirne performance.

Where does he get the energy????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Can we keep Bleuler please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭budhabob

His up and unders in the second half were brilliant also, really gave a chance to contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭exiledawaynothere

good win. Too many errors and a lot to work on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,994 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Jackman mentioned on commentary that Bleuler is heading back to South Africa in two weeks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

I bow to your superior rugby knowledge 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Intriguing if not particularly high quality game. Great defence and a big European night will hopefully generate a bit of positive momentum for the new coaching ticket.

Hopefully ye are let keep Bleuler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,979 ✭✭✭fitz

He nearly gave me a heart attack at the end there, though...don't pass it to 4 seconds left, and he passed it to another forward to take contact?! Throw it long to one of the backs and let them run away from contact and kick it out! More good defense in the end though to force a knock on. That's a win that will do them the world of good I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭leakyboots

An English team with stars on the jersey being sent packing home under lights on a Saturday in January, same as it ever was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,823 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

We'll take that

Not a perfect performance and a lot to work on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭blackcard

A performance full of dog and fight. Loads of handling errors. Good set piece but little penetration in attack. A lot of good and some bad from Crowley. Murray vital, Haley poor, Coombes some monumental plays, Beirne inspirational in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,917 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

A classic win for Munster, says Lenihan.

But it wasn't really. It was a very good win, and a case of taking a couple of excellent opportunities, but there is still a sinful number of erroneous decisions and game management calls and handling, and it behoves everyone involved with Munster and its support to call this for what it is, a good day out that needs building on.

It would be a huge mistake to celebrate this hard, rather than file it away and get working again on Tuesday ahead of a very beatable Saints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

A win against Northampton and Munster are guaranteed a top 2 place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Would you trust a Munster player to catch a long pass tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭The Macho Man

Leinster fan here, thoroughly enjoyed that match from start to finish. For me both Farrell and Wycherley were two outstanding performances this evening. They both came up with massive moments throughout the match and just kept their team ticking over.

However, did anyone ever explain to Murray or whoever else decides to play the ball from the ruck that your supposed to fire it to the breadbasket? Not at the head, above the head, too far in front etc. etc. Ruck after ruck it was painful to see those passes, it only takes the advantage way from the attacker and gives it to the defender. At this level they really need to fix that.

Otherwise that was a pure grit and determination win. Great to watch.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Top 2 in the pool?

They should qualify for the R16 now anyway, but I think a win away to NH is beyond them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,979 ✭✭✭fitz

Yes in the pool, theoretically they could go out still but its very unlikely.

I wouldnt say its beyond them, will be a tougher game than tonight but its not like playing Leinster or Toulouse etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭leakyboots

22 handling errors by us, 11 by them. It was scrappy no doubt but I'm sure that ball was like a bar of soap and so many contestables put up.

I've felt in recent seasons that we're a warm weather team with our attacking play, I'd back for a good percentage of those passes sticking come April/May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭exiledawaynothere

I am wondering should be get Daly to full back and bring in McCarthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

BOOKMARKED

Saracens were efficient enough but extremely limited.

Once Munster reduced the error count in the second half, they looked pretty comfortable and well worth the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,467 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Great win. Very happy with that. Fineen Wycherley was outstanding. Crowley was brilliant for the most part, Murray, rock solid. Beirne started slow but got very good at the end, should be warned up for Saints next week

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Haley had another poor game unfortunately. 2 seasons ago he was a different player. I think injuries have caught up with him

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

What's the craic with the group now what's the permatations?

Sarries losing bonus point is very valuble?

Sarries more or less nailed on for top 2 as they'll smash Castres at home, it'll be a straight shootout between Munster and Northampton for who joins Sarries.

We beat Saints with a bigger PD and same or more BPs than Saracens we'll top the group

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Yeah. I was surprised by how average they were. Munster barely had to defend. Kept coughing up easy possession to them though. It was probably a more comfortable win than the scoreline suggests.

There was a lot of physicality in that game. Munster played bigger than we really are