Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

If you’re new to the party, Mr. Tubridy uses delicious it seems for everything - except food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,266 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I think the matter of 150,000 needs to be resolved before he has any chance of returning to rte. Imagine the backlash from the license payers (what's left of them) if he just returned to his hourly slot @ 150,000 an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭nonetheless

RAJAR data is going to be very interesting for VRUK going forward. By mid February they will then have 4 books containing Ryan Tubridy's performance since commencing his slot on their flagship radio station. 

The picture is still quite out of focus and will only become clearer when they receive data for Q4 2024. Internally they will be comparing 2024 Q1 with 2024 Q4 to get an accurate representation as to how the radio station has performed over the year. For VRUK it's pretty much a case of going up and down but not really going anywhere. Their first quarter figures for 2024 showed a decrease in their overall listenership figures compared to the first quarter for the year 2023. Although this is clearly a decrease in performance year on year, their internal charts illustrated an increase in reach from the previous quarter which would give the impression that things were looking up with Tubridy onboard. Q2 looked even better with figures up 8.3% from the previous quarter and 13.2% from the previous year, then it turned out that Q2's RAJAR for all radio stations were generally showing to be more positive due to an addition in sampling data that was unique for that quarter. Q3 was more realistic and showed a decrease in reach of -4.73% from the previous quarter pointing to the possibility that their results for Q2 were a false positive. 

Firstly, NewsUK's ideology of replacing experienced DJ presenters with personalities does not appear to be having any real positive effect on growth. 

Secondly, their reasoning behind acquiring Tubridy and specifically biasing his slot to an Irish impression seems to be in the hope that they would attract an Irish audience in the UK along with an existing audience in Dublin via the Q102 simulcast. None of this has worked for them or not in the way they thought it would as the personality is just not held in high esteem by most in his home territory and mostly an unknown in the UK. Their realisation of this is apparent with their approach to Q102, a radio station that has been performing badly in the Dublin market and even with the addition of Tubridy - having zero effect. In fact it could be viewed that his presence may have sent Q102's listenership figures further south. Although in the light of this managers in the upper echelons of NewsUK will never concede to making a bad call but will instead brute force their decision to make their music radio stations networked and personality led, relegating their real talent to redundancy packages or digital sister platforms. 

Regarding Tubridy, for VRUK and Q102 his show in it's present format is a non runner, they either go with full on waffle and attempt to attract his 'fans' and risk alienating their core audience or abandon that project altogether but I s**t you not in the long term it is not going to work having a content presenter mixed with formatted music output. They may just as well relaunch Q102 and rename it Radio Disjointed.

Post edited by nonetheless on

On your last point, how about Radio Toytown with DJ Toyman behind the wheels of steel serving up delicious tunes?

Is it really any worse than the current iteration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭rightmove

image.png

fair plate ta him

I was unable to tune into the show this morning. Did Ryan mention Colin Farrell’s win? Id be shocked if he didn’t of course, along with a casual mention of having met him on many an occasion and no doubt mentioning his appearances on The Late Late Show as well to a confused UK audience.

Next weekend’s diary will predictably be a celebration of Irish acting talent as Tubridy name drops the usual suspects and remind us all how he discovered them on The Late Late Show and how wonderful they all are and how he predicted Farrell’s win (even though he probably hasn’t seen The Penguin) and how he predicts great things in the future for Andrew, Paul, Saoirse (because he’s on a first name basis with them all) et al, and how Irish cinema is the most delicious thing ever etc etc and don’t forget Cillian and every thing is just ruddy brilliant!

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Expunge

The way Tubridy/Noel is talking up Lyric FM in that extra.ie piece, some poor c**t in Lyric who's "only" playing classical music is about to be shafted to make way for the great one.

My money is on the fella at 10am on weekdays. He should start looking over his shoulder. A Lyric deal could be in the offing before Tubridy's Virgin Radio humiliation is complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭yagan

They run the TV license ads on lyric too. Lyric listeners tune in for music, not waffle.

Yes but it's well known Lyric is a dustbin for "talent" unwanted elsewhere - Marty Whelan, John Kelly, Gay Byrne to stop him from going elsewhere and to somewhat justify his large retirement contract.

This is an ideal way for Noel/Tubs and RTE to begin the healing process.

Lyric is not taken seriously by anyone with influence in RTE. Never was.

I don't disagree. But if the view from the head honchos is that this might be a solution, they will make it happen.

Do you think there was a great desire amongst Lyric listeners to have Simon Delaney rambling on to auld wans while playing old Brendan Grace comedy cuts and rat pack music?

It replaced a perfectly fine 'classical' programme in the same slot.

Lyric is perfect for dealing with awkward 'talent' issues regardless of what listeners may want.

So is RTE Gold, in my view. They don't blow up the music format as much is the only difference.

If the head honchos were so belligerent and desirous of more lost revenue then they'd have Wonderboy back in Montrose now.

Besides, I don't think he would fancy getting public feedback in limerick.

Look, I hope it doesn't happen but it's only Lyric.

It runs 95 per cent plus on licence fee money. Ads and sponsorship income is tiny. The audiences for individual programmes are little better than local radio numbers.

It's low stakes, low profile, the perfect decontamination zone for this radioactive person.

Like all the other "Marquee" names on Lyric, he need never set foot in Limerick.

Only the "B list" presenters (the ones I rate, by the way) work from Limerick.

Tubs can go back to being Mr Monkstown and waffle on to not too many people but do it on an RTE station.

If he's respectful and sensitive about it (a big IF) he probably can eventually come back in from the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,618 ✭✭✭Tork

Most of those presenters you mention are people RTE can't easily get rid of. Tubridy is already gone and they're under no obligation to take him back. I don't see this recent uptick in activity as a way of softening the public up for a planned return to RTE. It's an attempt to build bridges but I think it's still closer to a Hail Mary. It's a PR campaign aimed at RTE just as much as at the general public Tubridy is surrounded by skilled people who are continuing to do a good job of keeping him in the public eye.

As for Simon Delaney on Lyric FM, don't get me started 🤮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭_Quilombero_

Saw some interview with him the other day. As vacuous as ever with absolutely nothing of note to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭RoTelly

So Tubs is so interest in how Daniel Radcliff, is doing, he had good people invest for him.

And then he tells an unlikely story about meeting him in NYC. I imagine Tubs going you know "There is a bar on Broome St in NYC and imagine if I asked Harry Potter where it was, MAD"

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

He’d have to commute if it was Limerick as remember he wouldn’t even stay the night in Drogheda (approx. 40 minutes from Dublin) for his Renault mini-Late Late Show* thing and had a chauffeur waiting to bring him home after the show - I can’t imagine him walking the streets of Luimneach after a show without a Helen McEntee-like Garda escort.

I do suspect that decision was driven by pure snobbery on Mr. Tubridy’s part and the thought of staying in a less than 5 star hotel in what to him would be a “redneck” town would I’m quite confident have made his skin crawl, so just get a nice chauffeur driven car to drive you from door to door instead. It’s also of course a convenient excuse to not to have to mingle with your host and their guests immediately after the show (oh I can’t leave my driver waiting and I have to be up early for my 9am radio show) - and talk about their Renaults.

*just by coincidence of course the guests who Mr. Tubridy interviewed on these Renault gigs were all clients of a certain agency. I think it’s safe to assume they all got fees too for these gigs, though I don’t recall it being mentioned at the Oireachtas Committee Meeting. I’d imagine there’s still as lot more information about RTÉ’s finances from that time that we’ll never know the full truth about.

Tubs could do his Lyric schtick from Montrose. None of the "names" on Lyric ever have to experience a minute of real life in such a place.

They use Studios in Donnybrook, Belfast or Cork.

He can resume normal life in his South Dublin enclave.

Uncle Noel will make sure Tubs will never have to place his brogues on the mean streets of Stab.

Helen McEntee can stand down the Guards and any overtime which may accrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,831 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Guaranteed he'd have to do day 1 in Limerick for a photo op. Probably even another photo op whenever it was announced beforehand too.

The other thing to remember is that Siun Ni Rathallaigh is gone. She didn't want him back.

Who knows if the current Chairman gives a toss.

Also, Kevin Backhurst is into year 2 of a five year term. He's not going to be around forever and memories of the Tubridy affair are dimming already.

Except for on this thread, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,618 ✭✭✭Tork

Memories of Tubridy will fade too. The vast majority of people in this country haven't heard him on the radio since he left RTE and haven't given him much thought. We now know that RTE hasn't suffered by losing him. It also begs the question - how popular was he anyway? Did he get the attention and the ratings just because of the great timeslots RTE gave him and the PR machine backing him? There are a lot of people out there who are creatures of habit. They don't change their viewing or listening habits and are happy to tune into Radio 1 or the Late Late no matter who's presenting. Even if RTE's decision-makers continue to be in thrall to him, taking him back won't be frictionless. We also don't know what lies ahead for RTE. Talk of its finances and its future have gone quiet for now but neither has gone away. He is the poster boy for RTE's excesses and offering him any sort of lifeline will bring the glare of attention back onto them.

I’d suggest i’m one of his biggest critics but even I have a feeling it’s possible he will be back within the RTÉ fold at some stage. Look at our government - about to be held together by Michael Lowry, a man expelled from FG and the current Tánaiste called for him to be expelled from politics yet here he is as kingmaker. We're an embarrassment at times. Tubridy returning to RTÉ is not an impossibility with #OperationRehabRyan ongoing.

Don’t forget Backhurst was happy to have him back at the time until Tubridy put his foot in it again - this after the summer long controversy he caused and the irreparable damage to RTÉ. That would suggest he would be favourable to having him back in the ranks after penance is served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I think the conversation went something like this -

Ray: Listen Noel, at some stage I want you to say 'Ryan is the most trusted man in Ireland'

Noel: Ah FFS Ray that's mental - they'll never buy that sh!te!

Ray: No, not at all - it'll be fine, trust me

Noel (under huge pressure) thinks - I'm paying this **** €20k for this session so I'd better listen to him and do what he says (although my gut says don't do it) and we all know just how well it went down

Ray Gordon was a strange choice in the first place - TCC with Prone are the goto agency for this crisis management stuff but the relationship between NKM and TCC was not good around that time. There was some sort of a turf war going on

It was like the little town of San Miguel with the Baxters (C&A) at one end and the Rojos (NKM) at the other - The clinic with no name was in a hotel watching the two rivals knock the heads of each other, playing one off the other and picking up some work from each family - Things have changed now as an uneasy truce has broken out and they've decided that the San Miguel entertainment industry is big enough for them all to carve up and make lots of dollars, but as usual, the poor residents of the town are left picking up the tab

Amusing take, but I honestly believe “the most trusted man in Ireland” line didn’t come from a PR person. I’d imagine that was a solo run from Kelly, against advice.

Over 3 days without a post in the thread, we’ll be reduced to the diary for Tubridy discussion points from now on if this continues……🤷‍♂️

On a separate note I was driving between meetings yesterday morning and moving the dial between stations to see what I could listen to on my short journey. I was flicking through every station manually from the steering wheel controls hoping for a song I might like (a rare event these days) or even tolerate when Coldplay came through the speakers to my horror. Despite it clearly being Coldplay, the RDS on my dash and in the much larger central console said it was Edwyn Collins’ “A Girl Like You” - it caught my eye as it was so clearly wrong. The central console even had the artwork with Mr. Collins staring back at me. The song ended and himself came on air so I hardly changed station, but how can they get that so badly wrong? It was either the song prior to Coldplay, or the next song….but either way it was a few minutes out. Now obviously this is not Tubridy’s fault in any way but it does kinda point to sloppy standards on the show all around as any time I’ve seen this utilised either here, in the North. or in the UK it does seem to be in real time.

Or maybe I’m being harsh? Are these kind of mistakes regular occurrences, or was this likely a once off? I mostly listen to podcasts in the car there days so I’m not fully up to speed on how in sync these should be in real time as it were. Does anyone have any info. on this they’d care to share? I am open to enlightenment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I generally hate listen via the Q102 website, their set list is always either a head of what's played or is behind.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,716 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I notice this a lot too, and always wondered if it was automated or someone in the producers box had to type it in.

Only reason why assumed it could be either one, is that on a lot of British DAB stations, it is updated within a second of the song starting. But I noticed on Irish stations, the title of a song can still be up 2 songs later.

Thanks for clarifying both, and as I said I’m not blaming Tubridy for this. Just seems odd it’s so delayed on Q102 when everywhere else I’ve seen this deployed it’s almost always instant. 🤷‍♂️