Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Running Questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭Enduro

Pace it much more easily. Once you're not injured there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to trot around. (I could give plenty of examples of ultrarunners doing much more over a shorter timeframe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

I'd say Pfitzinger 18/55 (buy the book it's good and cheap), and to run at least one marathon before targeting a sub-3 even though your historical numbers show that it's possible for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭chabsey

I'm doing the exact same combo. I did it last year as well, same two marathons but with a two week gap between them. My aim is to keep doing them with an ever decreasing gap between them, eventually I'll run both at the same time on the same day. There might be a flaw in my plan but if so I'm unaware of it.

On a serious note, I am actually doing the same two marathons and my expectation is that I'll race Amsterdam and run Dublin. Dublin is a better supported marathon in any case and a nicer one to soak up the atmosphere on. Amsterdam has good support as well but, perhaps I'm biased but it is not on the same level as Dublin.

In terms of timings, I've done back to back marathons a few times with Dublin being the second one every time and every time I run it slightly slower. Last year I crossed the line two minutes slower than Amsterdam which I'm pretty happy with given that I thought I was taking it easy and the Dublin course has hills whereas Amsterdam doesn't really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭chabsey

I'd recommend either the Hanson beginner or the advanced plans. You'll feel wrecked near the end of the cycle but I know a few others on here who've done the same plan and there tends to be an agreement that it delivers if you follow it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MY BAD

I had a foot injury late 2020 that was never fully diagnosed but wasn't plantar fasciitis. Then 2021 a hip injury again never fully diagnosed with covid and all that. I never stopped running but consistency wasn't great with flare ups. When I finally got consistency built up and doing sessions again I was in a car crash in Decmember 2022. Finally this summer I've built back up to around 25 miles per week and doing sessions again. Previous to late 2020 I was running 40 to 50 miles per week. So I understand that a marathon next year might still be a push, and have to wait until 2026 until I've enough miles in the legs again. But it's good to have a plan to stay focused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭SuspectZero

Have you looked at the boards graduate intermediate plan? If you were going for a spring marathon from where you are right now, I think it would be a good fit in a risk reward sense, it might not peak you as well as say a Hansons, pfitz or Daniels so you would probably be giving up a few minutes in that sense but the risk would be also be much lower. I feel like you'd need to have a much higher Base to take on a Hanson plan as it can get very intense while your also over doubling your mileage at the same time and that double whammy can be risky.

The boards graduate plan should top you out about 50ish miles at around 8 min pace, it would be less marathon specific than the others I.e the intensity is a little lower but it's still a big enough step from where you are right now and would probably get you 95% of the results of the others if you pulled both off perfectly imo.

It would also set you up perfectly to take on a more marathon specific plan like hansons or pfitz or whoever if you decided to do an autumn marathon after or even a spring 2016 one as you'd have that base built to handle the more specific workouts.

I'm coming back from a similar but way more inconsistent spot at the minute too and that's pretty much what my thinking has been myself so that would be my 2c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭mp3ireland2

Just a follow up here, I completed my own marathon today. Delighted with myself. I was definetly undertrained and aware of that. I had a busy august with gigs and fesitvals so a lof of drink was had. I only went out once in the last 9 weeks though.

I didn't follow a training schedule (bad idea i know) but I did run over 200km in September with runs of 25, 27 and 32km. I didn't do many medium runs, or run slow enough. I typically did 8km 4 days a week and a longer runs on a Friday.

I didn't go with 42.2 laps of the park, I had an out and back route of about 11km total which i did 4 times (the last time i shortened it). This meant I'd water and lucazade sport every 11km or so and i carred some water pouches and small bottle of lucazade at times.

I knew the last 10km would be tough and they were, I had been under 6 min km before that and then started to drift to 7 or even 7:30. Little twinge in my calf coming up to 39km I used as an exuse to walk for a little bit, then ran about a km and did a bit of walk run. I actually enjoyed that as I took time to realise I was going to finsih.

4hours 27mins or so, which i was happy with given my lackluster approach to training I wasn't very good at training slower than race pace! I probably drank too much lucazade sport and didn't have enough water, i had 4 gels and i'd only ever tried one once before so was a tiny bit bloated.

I was going to do it yesterday but weather was horrible, so waited till today - perfect conditions. That was an advantage of doing my own one. My half marathon time earlier in the year about 1:49 so with proper training I know I could have done better but I knew i did'nt have that sort of commitmet in me. Maybe no I'll be inspired, but at the moment just happy i finished wihout injury.

It was lovely finishing at home and doing a few stretches and then having a shower. Obviously I had little in the way of atmosphere or anything along the journey though!

I'm not advising anybody to do it without a proper training program and I'm sure I'd have enjoyed it more if i did! Maybe someday I'll be able to compare doing it with proper training and an atmosphere vs what I've done. I'm defintly very dehdrated finished it at 14:30 and still not gone to the toilet! Better drink more water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭buffalo

Proper random post, not sure where else to put it. I left a plastic bag of (wet) running kit on the train at the end of November. Two pairs of shorts, two long sleeve marathon finisher tops, two marathon volunteer jackets. I'm bereft! I rang both terminus stations on the night, logged a call with TFI, and have since sent follow-up emails and called to stations but absolutely no sign.

Just wondering if anyone would've seen a social media post about it… long shot I know!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,745 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

what do people do with a forecast like this weekend, give the long run a miss or move it to a park or trail so can run on crispy grass? Or find a route the sun hits and don’t start until frost has burnt off? Any other ideas?

I’ve no concerns re the cold itself, it’s slipping that I’m concerned with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭marathon2022

I have some thermal gear, long tights, snood and warm gloves for winter training and for running I suppose it depends on where your at.

The last time I had to consciously find training routes (Boston marathon block in Dec 2022) during a sustained sub zero cold spell I used a local park (Newbridge house) grass and muck outer walking route, easy to get grip and wore some decent running trail shoes(Speedgoats I think).

image.png

I also went to Donabate beach which is about 2 miles long and straight.

image.png

The memories, bitter an ice everywhere- but great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭Lazare

Yeah, the ice is a real pain isn't it.

Got a couple of stitches in my chin last year because of it.

Now I run slower, with my hands braced for a fall and if dark the head torch pointing directly at the ground in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Billy_the_Kid
    Master

I run on the grass/beach once I see frost on the ground, you can do some serious damage slipping on the ice while running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭FinnC

See some people out at the moment and I'm not sure how they run with all the layers on them. It's never really that cold here compared to other places.

Shorts ,T shirt, long sleeve if you feel the cold that much,and a pair of runners with some good grip and run on as normal, slow down a bit if you have to.

People are gone a bit soft imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,341 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

If people feel like they need to layer up to get out, I say all power to them.

Also true, I'm all for people getting out running.

Though it doesn't change my opinion that people can overdress for runs in weather that isn't particularly cold. Dress for the second mile not the first is my motto.

Each to their own though and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,228 ✭✭✭✭event

IMO it's rarely cold enough to need leggings in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Although my running days are behind me, I always wore running tights in the winter, they were the lighter version and I found them extremely comfortable, and they also looked so good on, 😉🤣. And never with shorts over them, that's just wrong 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭cmac2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,243 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

There's no debate: real runners don't wear shorts over tights. 🤣

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,352 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

From reading above anyone wearing long sleeves is soft apparently. For me its base layer and gloves weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Ceepo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,341 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

A few things I found work for me when it's colder. Trying to get the balance between being happy enough for the first 2k and not overheating for the rest! I especially find it useful if I'm trying to make sure I run easier that I don't set the pace too fast at the start trying to warm up!

Arm sleeves - I find these really handy if the weather is sort of on the line between a T-shirt and a long sleeves top, as you can just roll them down to your wrists if your feeling too warm. I bought a 5 pair pack from Amazon for £10 last, and they are holding up perfectly.

Neck buffs - possibly is me being a bit soft 😅, but I do like it on colder windy mornings. Again if your too warm with it later you can just twist it once or twice and put in on your wrist. I got a couple free at a run in the dark event last year, but picked up some cheap ones on Amazon as well and they are fine too.

This one probably isn't helpful as it's probably not available anymore but my kids picked me up a couple of running jacketsfrom lidl for Christmas and I've worn them a few times this week. The front torso is the sort of material you might expect on a non waterproof run jacket with a tiny bit of padding, the back and the arms is more just like a regular running top. I did 13k with it yesterday and it was probably a bit warm after around 6k, but I was able to control the temp a bit by just zipping it down half way so it wasn't bad. Found it better when the weather was a little colder and the distance was shorter.

Gloves - jury still out on my approach to this. I don't wear them much but when I do I probably prefer the super cheap ones, but some of the running gloves that are padded tend to have clips on them which usually make it easier to clip onto your belt or to put them either side of your shorts or something, but they are definitely too warm for me on any distance of a run.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

For gloves I just get a slim pair and if I need to I can roll them up in a ball and stick them in my pocket without them annoying me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭brick tamland

The cheapo strechy Pennys/Dunnes gloves are my go to. About euro a pop. No hassle if you lose then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

While it's freezing or lower, I'm wearing:

• 2 layers of long sleeve running top
    • Jocks, leggings, and shorts
    • Crew socks and regular running shoes
    • Merino wool buff to cover the ears
    • Cap if it's raining
    • Lights when it's dark

I can run a 3:22 marathon, so I'm faster than 90% of other marathoners, but maybe I'm still just soft and not a real runner, who knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭Lazare

I multi layer on top, base layer, long sleeve and gilet, hat, snood and gloves. The last three usually end up in pockets.

Shorts always though. Leggings are for softies 😀

Ah you're a real runner alright don't worry about that,anyone who runs is a runner regardless of times, you do sound a tad soft though 😂

Speaking of Marathon times, and it was you who brought it up not me..I've run a 2:45 Marathon and only ever wear shorts and t-shirt, make of that what you will 😜

BTW wear whatever you want I really don't care that much!

I've worn leggings, 3 layers on top, including a mountaineering-level rain jacket, very thick gloves, mountaineering socks inside waterproof trail running shoes, all in a race with the word "marathons" in the title (but nobody knows how long the race actually is). Soft as feck, that's me!

Aye but you lads are walking half the time of course you're gonna be a tad colder 😄

Walking, crawling, sliding, tumbling… whatever 😁