Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How to avoid homelessness?

• 04-01-2025 11:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Two years ago I've been a victim of several crimes within two weeks including a shooting. I've spent a year in a hospital and am still recovering with a permanent physical disability and a PTSD and I have other conditions like cancer. I am receiving disability allowance and I am available for HAP. The house I've been renting for over a decade is being sold. I have to vacate (1) in a few days and I was unable to find anything.
    The homeless number (2) tells me that they would accommodate me in an emergency but with up to 6 people in a room and in Dublin city centre. In my mental state I can't imagine sharing a room with other people. The laptop I spend my days on is worth 3k and my documents, like even my drivers license are foreign (3) and thus irreplaceable. I am on crutches and can't carry much. I usually drive and I don't know where I would park the car (4)with valuables in city centre.

I immigrated to Ireland from Canada around 20 years ago and have Irish citizenship. For several reasons I must stay here. I have a masters and studied several disciplines, was nearly an athlete before the shooting. I did arts and don't know what to do with my artwork and other belongings filling the 3 bed house.

Any idea how I can avoid homelessness? (5)

EDIT: I tried to be concise but accurate since the whole story can fill a few hundred pages by now. Unfortunately, it appears that my accuracy wasn't understood. So I added some footnotes:

(1) I must vacate the house now. That is the agreement we reached at RTB tribunals.
    There are no more appeals. It is a very long story.
    (2) I did submit a HMD-1 form filled by my surgeon (who wrote that I needed walking aids) and my GP (who wrote about my other conditions) to the council with documentation such as a letter from a psychiatrist and I will hopefully submit an OT report next week. And a homeless assessment has been done.
    (3) I did not have to exchange my EU licence for an Irish one and I had no reason to do that.
    (4) My car is a 05 compact with visible body damage, bad electrics, ugly interior (it was rotting for the year I was in the hospital) some sort of an engine issue and expiring NCT. At my age, if I stop the insurance, it will cost me more to restart it than I would save by getting rid of the car. And there are other reasons as for example that I can't really get anywhere without it. The crutches occupy my arms. So I can't carry anything.
    (5) I am asking for constructive advice. I am not in this situation because I am stupid or have done anything wrong. What happened to me, can happen to any of you in this country. I repaid my student lawns to Canada within two years of graduation and I never cried about the (very high) taxation. I paid taxes here too. Now, when I need assistance, the state gives me the cold shoulder. So abstain from patronizing me, repeating trivialities and absurd accusations like me having swindled some poor EU state out of a drivers license!

Post edited by Wollmilchsau on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,699 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Firstly - overhold. You won't be the first nor last tenant to simply not move out when they are supposed to, because they have nowhere to go. You are not refusing to leave, you are just not able to leave yet because you've not found anywhere to go yet. As you say, homeless hostel accommodation is not an option for your situation.

Consider putting your belongings into storage.

Contact any disability or victim support organisations you have had contact with, eg Cancer Society. Ask if they know of any suitable accommodation. (They probably don't - but you need to ask EVERYONE you know.)

Contact any voluntary housing organisations that operate in your area, and ask if they have any elderly-or-disabled housing available. (Technically their vacancies should be filled from the top of the list. But sometimes being in the right place at the right time can help.) Check that the council have updated records about you and your medical / mental-health needs - you will likely be elderly-and-disabled eligible based on them.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭advisemerite

I didn't post in weeks but have decided to reply here. Firstly, if you have accommodation, DO NOT MOVE. Inform your landlord you have no where to go in writing and continue to pay rent. Then, file a case with the RTB asking is the notice to quit valid. Regardless of the result appeal the case to tribunal. This could keep you in the house or apartment for up to another Year. Make sure the landlord has furnished you with a signed affidavit from solicitors stating he his selling the house. They can't just decide you are out.

And above all DO NOT MOVE, over holding is the key to keeping you in the house. I should know I'm a landlord with Property.

When you have all the correct documentation from your landlord bring it to the Homeless Action Team in your area and the Council and they will have to put you in a hotel or at least a suitable property with your own room. Also get medical letters. consultants ones.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭con747

If your'e here 20 years you would have had to get an Irish licence after 1 year.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Help Keep Boards.ie Alive sign up here

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ https://keepboardsalive.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Wollmilchsau

I wanted to make my post as concise as possible. A lot more things have happened. But it would be a book. I added some footnotes.

I must vacate the house now. That is the agreement we reached at RTB tribunals. There are no more appeals. It is a very long story.

I did submit a HMD-1 form filled by my surgeon (who wrote that I needed walking aids and my GP (who wrote about my other conditions) to the council with documentation such as a letter from a psychiatrist and I will hopefully submit an OT report next week.

And a homeless assessment has been done. They say I have to call the homeless number.

And I am looking for storage. But it cost at least €100/month and I will still have to throw most of my things away. A big storage I'd need would be 3 times as much.

I wanted to make my post as concise as possible. A lot more things have happened. But it would be a book. I added some footnotes.

I must vacate the house now. That is the agreement we reached at RTB tribunals. There are no more appeals. It is a very long story.

I did submit a HMD-1 form filled by my surgeon (who wrote that I needed walking aids and my GP (who wrote about my other conditions) to the council with documentation such as a letter from a psychiatrist and I will hopefully submit an OT report next week.

And a homeless assessment has been done. They say I have to call the homeless number.

Not at all. I can drive in Ireland on an EU license for the rest of my life. It's strange that people don't know that.
    I was told that when I arrived here some 20 years ago. Yet even some guards told that I must exchange. But no, I don't. I have heard it from NDLS' mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mikehammer..

I never said he couldn't, I simply stated that his foreign licence would have to be changed to an Irish one after a year here and then that the EU licence is only valid until it expires so 10 years maximum.

In that case, you need to get a city councillor and/or journalist to advocate for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Emblematic

How is the issue of the driving licence relevant here?

If they become homeless and have no other choice they could live in their car as a very very last resort and I was just wondering how they could still have a valid foreign/EU licence after 20 years if that's ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mikehammer..

Presumably the op has a valid eu licence for some reason

That seems to be what he said anyhow and he's ok to drive if so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,515 ✭✭✭✭ted1

till it expires. Then he must get a. Irish one

• Site Banned Posts: 375 ✭✭xyz13

*Beggars can't be choosers*

You don't work, sell the car.

There are many spots available in StayCity.

Post edited by xyz13 on

Can you recommend anyone? I have actually emailed the reporter who had written about the shooting.
    But they never responded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭thereiver

Put your valuables into a storage service. Including laptop .go to a hostel if you are on the housing list you,ll be offered a one bed flat or one bed unit with kitchen bathroom with 2 more months you can click on Dublin city council there's one bed units advertised on Friday click i.m interested in unit ,

Xxx yes you call the homeless no put your documents into storage laptop etc passport driver's licence sell the car

I know 5 people lived in hostels after 2 months then we're offered one bed units you need a key worker ring the no tell them you need a ground floor room

IIts catch 22 you need to be homeless to be offered a flat by Dcc or to use the Dcc website

housing

You are not have homeless only carry phone into hostel you can buy a laptop for 100 euro adverts or hostels have wifi free and tv

Every one in hostels has a key worker to advise them call the homeless no

Are you on the council housing list

Not to be rude anyone who calls the free no will be sent to hostel no documents needed if you are Irish

See Dcc website choice based housing every Friday new units are available look on flats apartments

Click I m interested in unit xx

You get extra points for being disabled

You,ll likely be in hostel with maybe 3 4 guys if you don't like it you can ring no they send you to another hostel

You can pm me if you want more info

I know a vacant unit it's reserved for people who need walking aids are you on disability allowance it's brand new with kitchen bathroom one bed vacant 2 months

It,s safe in hostels there's a fridge in each room

Put all documents valuable items laptop into storage

Every week landlord a are ending leases it's legal to sell the house if a landlord is old

or wants to retire it's easier to sell the house than deal with teanants

you can live on 400k in the bank

you can use free wifi in hostel just buy a laptop 15inch adverts.ie 100 euro ask for a receipt ask for it to be turned on for 2 minutes use mousepad eg check its loading up windows 7 screen is in good condition

Post edited by thereiver on

I am not a beggar. I was attacked several times and shot. I don't understand the kick people get out of adding insults to injury.

My car is a 05 compact with visible body damage, bad electrics, ugly interior (it rotted for the year I was in the hospital) some sort of an engine issue and expiring NCT. How much are you offering?

StayCity is 3k+/month. But thanks for trying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭mondeoman72

This really is a horrific story and I genuinely hope you get sorted properly. However, reading the comments to overhold and go to RTB, even though you say you have been there and everything is in order, you are being advised to ignore the law and feck everyone else.

I am assessing the way forward now as my house will be empty in the next few months, but reading the comments here, there is no way in hell I will rent it to HAP or come under RTB. Why would I want the hassle?

It will be left empty or I will move into the attic and do rentaroom scheme. It is no wonder the market is in a heap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 753 ✭✭✭HazeDoll

"beggars can't be choosers" is an idiom that means that people in dire circumstances aren't in a position to be picky. It's a little harsh but it doesn't mean that anybody interpreted your post as begging for anything.

Realistically you have three options in the short term:

1. Stay with friends. This is probably the most pleasant option. Having lived here for 20 years you must have a circle of friends who will be glad to help. Swallow your pride and ask your friends if you can crash on their couches. You have the advantage of being mobile so you can store stuff in your car and move from friend to friend so you don't wear out your welcome anywhere. They are aware of your circumstance so they will be understanding.
    2. Live in your car. I don't think it will be much fun but it will at least mean that you have your own place.
    3. Take the options offered by homeless services. Other posters have given you an idea of what this entails. It might not be ideal but surely it is better than being on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,515 ✭✭✭✭ted1

how does someone manage to be attacked several times and eventually shot? I’m genuinely interested to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,279 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Live in Ireland over 20yrs, have rented your current address over 10yrs yet has an EU driving license that has never been exchanged? Indeed the license could only still be valid if it was renewed or obtained fraudulently by lying about place of residence. I wonder just how many penalty points that's swerved.

As for your housing situation. The advice offered by many to avail of storage unit and engage with housing support services is great and the advice and offer from @thereiver is particularly good. Hope you get sorted.

I am not here for that and if I were to tell the story here, they wouldn't believe me and I am in no mental state to argue. I've already written that I had no reason to exchange my EU license but people keep telling me that I have to AND providing me links where it says that I don't have to. Now also accusing me of lying.

Already your choice of words again: "manage to"…
    I didn't manage to get shot.
    I managed to survive and don't be sure you would have.

Post edited by Wollmilchsau on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭monseiur

So you're here 20 years, did you ever actually work - as in being in gainful employment ? We have loads of home grown wasters here who spend their time hanging around colleges as ''mature students'', doing worthless courses and masters degrees, some are wannabe artists who spend most of their time in pubs, smoking hash etc……………..and all living off grants, scholarships and other funds financed by us the hard working taxpayers.

While no one wants to overhold, I think in some situations it may be the only option to avoid homelessness.

Can I ask also how, if your house is going to be empty, can you live in the attic?

I worked very hard: for 15 years I ran a very profitable brothel with Irish teenagers where we also brewed some meth. But it was too much work. So organized some attacks and for me to get shot so that I can cash in on that and enjoy myself with your daughters while you work to pay the tax.

I hope it answers your question. Thank you for your help and compassion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭thereiver

i doubt if a single person could rent a house in dublin unless they were working

i,m not sure what to do with belongings google storage services

dublin

maybe give some items way adverts.ie/free

no point in taking furniture

sell some items on adverts.ie

I think comments about brothel meth is a joke i presume

storebox ie

1 meter to 600 sq feet storage

Why are people angrily trying to pick holes in the OPs story? I would say it is probably fairly common in Dublin (and in Ireland generally) that people who are scheduled for eviction, through no fault of their own, find it hard or impossible to find alternative accommodation.

Fair play to the couple of people though who provided actual helpful advice.