Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Ultimately, I think Tubs main weakness is that he has zero introspective qualities nor does he spend any time thinking about the world around him or what's happening in it to formulate a opinion, something he can then bring to the interview situation. He really is an empty vessel, all soundbites, platitudes and blather about Irishness and kindness. He's papering over a massive blackhole in his ability as a media personality.

Agreed.
    I have always thought that he has no real interest in people, or curiosity about them, or indeed about anything outside of his own cosy bubble that he inhabited until going to play senior hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Tork

Without dragging this off-topic, what he's saying here isn't particularly original or unorthodox. Many commentators got it wrong when predicting the results of the US election and have conceded that they stayed within their own silos. While the argument that Trump is a threat to democracy may be hyperbole, his behaviour doesn't point to him being a force for good. Again, it isn't a unique point of view - there are political commentators who think this. We will have plenty of time to judge Trump over the next 4 years. Something tells me you are a Trump fan and that if Tubs had said he looked forward to seeing a 2nd Trump presidency, you wouldn't have posted this.

I hope you're wrong about this. He inadvertently did RTE a huge favour by getting himself sacked back in 2023, and they should be glad that fortune smiled on them. They owe nothing to Tubridy, and trying to bring him back into the fold strikes me as foolhardy. He's managing just fine, even if life in the private sector isn't as cushy as RTE. If RTE was to bring him back to present a once a week book show, his salary would inevitably come under the microscope. Radio 1's daytime schedule is well-established and unless they decide to snip an hour off somebody else's show, Tubs would be broadcasting in the evening time. At that time of the day, the audience figures are significantly lower than what went before. According to the August '24 JNLRs, Arena had an average audience of 49,000 listeners. John Creedon's evening show attracted 56,000 on average. How could anybody justify paying Tubridy well for a glorified arts show, once a week? For this alone, he's better off remaining with the Wireless gorup.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

So it appears he has a piano in his house, surrounded by photos of JFK etc., all for the false portrayals of achievement one must presume.

tubs piano.png

But can he play?

Seemingly not…..

https://www.dailyedge.ie/ryan-tubridy-piano-miming-1818647-Dec2014/

Edit: The photographer, Andres Poveda, appears to be on the RTE payroll, taking loads of photos of Kielty recently, and Tubs back in the day. But not the same photographer that was so urgently required to post advance snaps of Fair City, one must assume.

Going a little off topic, but still on Tubs, I recall all the issues with the money spent on the Fair City photographer as outlined in my last post, but how does this Andres guy spend the last TEN years doing photos of Tubs and various other RTE stuff, like, how do you get kept on for that long?

2013, 2016 and 2022 below. Jésus, could the photographer not have taken a few Fair City pics while he was at it :)

tubsandres1.png tubsandres2.png tubsandres3.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I promise I’m not making this up - I really promise - I have to state this twice because this is so “bonkers” you’ll think I am……but I do recall Ryan once stating that whenever he passed a piano he wanted to “Billy Joel it”, and subsequently admitted he had no ability to play said instrument. I’m not 100% certain if he said this on radio or if I read it in a puff piece, but it’s one of those Tubs-isms that remains with me to this day, as it’s so unintentionally Partridge Messrs. Coogan and Iannucci would look on with envy, jealous they couldn’t have thought of it.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

Fair play on listening to it. Really taking one for the team there!

That said, listening would likely provide material for scrutiny……hmmmm……quite the conundrum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,266 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

RTE sees their presenters as media royalty. They've convinced themselves the 'Talent' are irreplaceable, which explains the sky-high salaries. It’s like paying champagne prices for tap water, all because they’re terrified some other network might come along and poach them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭hawley

I'm convinced that it's all ran through with Noel beforehand. Moriarty asked him if he enjoys going out for dinner and Tubs said that he's mad to get it over so that he can get to O'Donoghue's to neck down pints of Guinness. Trying to portray himself as a hellraiser. Also, that he had to bring guests back to his brother's home to carry on drinking sessions. He included Gerry Ryan as being a guest of his on the Late Late Show. Does anyone remember Gerry being on with him? He died during Tub's first season. Unfortunately, you can't believe a word that he says. Lies mixed in with truths and half-truths.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

It's possible that his daughters were the piano players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Poveda, you say?

This is RTE we are talking about.

Daddy is an RTE lifer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭Field east

whatever the connection with RTE might be even considered there is a constant ELEPHANT in the room - and a big one at that. Ie . Would the staff gave him back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,366 ✭✭✭✭zell12

it’s also possible that being the world’s kindest man he was keeping it there just in case a classically trained pianist turned burglar broke into his house and Ryan wanted to ensure said burglar was able to take a break and do some Billy Joel-ing on the piano mid-burglary.

It’s possible, but highly unlikely.

Operation RehabRyan in full swing.

Let’s say you weren’t always the world’s greatest presenter and simultaneously the world’s kindest man; let’s pretend you were only perfect 99.99999999% of the time. I’ll draft up a puff piece and get the rags to print it under the guise that it’s launching Wogan Jr.’s podcast - but we all know it’s about you Ryan! It’ll give you that “everyman” feel, so humble and modest - the plebs and the mammies love that crap….Dee used to tell me that, remember her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Tork

My aunt and uncle never played piano but my cousins did. They held onto their piano for years before finally moving it on. It's not all that weird, surely?

Noel,

The rehab of the most trusted man in Ireland needs to start with 150k paid back to RTE. It would be good publicity. Ryan, Kevin and your good self with a oversized cheque for the overpayment, shaking hands and everyone with big smiles. Think of the coverage on the RTE News and splashed across the pages of newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭GSF

what’s a pain in the hoop?

Is it

a) neck

b) arse

c) wallet

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

From that puff piece - I mean, article - linked upthread.

The reference to his liking for plain food, not for the first time, being described as having a 'nursery palette' ugh 🙄 - anyway, it's PALATE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

There’s still a piano in my familial home, the difference being that it’s played by the sole occupant despite all the children having long left. Ryan has admitted he can’t play. Maybe it was for the kids, but neither I nor I suspect you can comment confidently on that.

Would it really surprise anyone that he has it purely for show?

That ship has sailed. The time to do that was June 2023.

The funniest part about it is they were too greedy to see the long-term payoff would be a multiple of the €150,000 for 5 hours of waffle and filler radio a week for 9 months or so a year but no, greed, arrogance, and entitlement took over and we are where we are. Gave up what for most people would be enormous money for very little work through an inability to payback less than a year’s earnings and a desire to have the last word. I’m being kind when I say that was a rather foolish move.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭20/20

Does it matter for Tubs. He thinks the word is delicious.

This. Lots of people hold onto their piano in the family home. But this piano is in Tub's Irish home. And he seemingly doesn't play. So he brought it into his house for visits by family? Or as another attempt at looking classy.

It's possible.

But you might recall the subject matter at hand here:

"And I lit the fire, it was myself and Russell and his girlfriend and his security detail and the piano is there – it’s a small house, books, fireplace, bit of a piano – and it was a great night,” Tubridy said."

So, his daughters weren't there. Why the reference to the piano? Did Crowe play it? He'd have said if he did. Did Tubs play it? He'd definitely have said if he did "….so when me old matey Russ asked me to play a tune, I said 'ahhh Jeez Russ old chap, I'm out of practice…..oh well, ok, here's a couple of Beatles numbers…." Nope.

Call me cynical, but I'd put 150k on it being another feeble attempt at creating his false persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭RoTelly

It is surprising that researchers don't research what's popular and not, and I know I am just going by Tubs podcast but clearly a good guest or a political guest will get you an audience.

Taking a look at his guest over the past year you can see the Andrea Corr is the clear winner. Ending the year with 9054 views, coming very close to An Taoiseach who lost his audience after the election TBF, it will be interesting to see if Andrea will continue to bring in views to Tubs over some of the other.

last 2 weeks of Dec

Niall Quinn

Pat Kenny

Andrea Corr

Joanne O'Riordan * New Ep

Piers Morgan

Simon Harris

Brian O'Driscoll

Alastair Campbell

Colm Meaney

Victoria Smurfit

Vougue Williams

Ros Purcell

Kellie Harrington

Brian Cox

Cecelia Ahern

Noel Fitz

Laura Whitmore

Paul giamatti

Marian Keyes

Dawn O'Porter

John Boyne

Paul Howard

David Walliams

Doireann Garrihy

Anthony Horowitz

Irvine Welsh

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I listened to that podcast, he rolled out a story about getting into a limo with the American Ambassador to Ireland, Jerry Adams and Martin McGuiness while going to the official shamrock ceremony on St. Patrick's day. I wonder if RTÉ paid for that trip… I wonder if the story is true.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,063 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

While a third person gushed: "Onwards and upwards. You deserve every success Ryan. Love your good nature and your joie de vivre."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭supereurope

The RyanRehab machine is really in overdrive this week.

The comments are the best bit (as always):

"The cream always rises to the top! Go you!"

Who the heck are these people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭rightmove

I love the was the NK project Ryan Returbrity is going.

they keep moving through the gears irrespective of the noise coming from the engine. I suppose in Ireland the truth is many a bluffer was given more than one shot.

However to the rest of us Ryan is like a lad coming from a piggery who thinks he can cover up the smell with "Eau de Noel"

To the public like us that 150k smell aint going away, its going to follow him everywhere!!!