Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

Would love to see the reaction to Robert Sanchez in goals for United this season.

Heck, Ederson himself would have been hounded out just based on this season's form.

Seems many would have Fraser Forster in goals though.

Onana is quite like Raya but better shot stopping and short passing. Maybe worse long passing but no slouch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Xander10

That's some first half stat:

All 10 of Newcastle's outfield players have either had a shot or created a chance so far in this match.

Manchester United, meanwhile, are yet to have a shot on target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,931 ✭✭✭✭flazio

A merger of the two clubs is Manchester's only hope to see any trophies in the Greater Manchester region in anytime in the next quarter century.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,170 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

They could have had 2 more as well. This could be a lot worse and we've looked better since the substitution.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭DataDude

The lacks of athleticism has been glaringly obvious for so long even my wife used to say ‘United players just look really slow’

Summer we go and sign De Ligt, Zirkzee and Mazroui. Yet apparently it was good summer business according to some!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Which players on the pitch today aren't good enough? Hate that people just say "these players" have been **** for years. Get rid of all of them. Most are very new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

Not sure what way the finances are to make it happen but this team very badly needs some reinforcements in January. If not, you'd worry about where they could end up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,600 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Amorim - looks like a lad not getting much sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,314 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Don't think I've the stomach to listen to carragher

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭numbnutz

I'm really hoping that this half time team talk needs to be the moment something clicks or maybe I'm watching too many Hollywood style sporting comeback movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,737 ✭✭✭✭JRant

As bad as we've been, we could be 2-2 here. Zirkzee fuming coming off and I can't blame him when neither goal was his fault and the culprits were left on but we've been better since the changes.

We should be only 1-0 down here but somehow the rules are different when comes to goals we concede. As blatant a handball as you'll see just waved on by VAR.

By the way, can we stop the shïtê about changing formation to solve our problems. We have NO left hand side in this team. I'll repeat that for those down the back, we have nothing in defense or attack on the left. What the fook do people expect a manager to do when he's working with dross like this?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

I think that's one thing everyone will agree on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭FrankN1

You would hope not. Needs to fix this absolute shite. Being paid enough to find a temporary solution. He won't be getting his team in one transfer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭thefa

Jesus Newcastle are everything we should be striving to be. Great work rates and stamina up to and including the wingers. Clinical finishers. That midfield is so strong and versatile. Look at the quantity of successful transfers versus ourselves in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,309 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

breaking FFP and getting a points deduction next season needs to be considered by the brains trust.

selling rashford for say 40m, would allow us to spend 200m in jan. lets see if our owner will put in the cash required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I could do with some rohypnol or ketamine right now to make me forget this sh!te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭useless

need a second half like this one now

https://youtu.be/zHzpdJ1SNEg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

Newcastle, like most other premier league teams, look faster, fitter, more aggressive, more tenacious than the Utd lads.

The malaise at the club is astounding.

Mainoo's addition has marginally improved things but my goodness its hard to remember as poor a half of football from a Utd team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I wish Roy was on the panel tonight, god it would make some great tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Penny pinching COULD be separate.

Trying to get general costs down and have a lower baseline run rate, while funding for players is separate.

Like I doubt it, but I have to hope there is some room for recruitment.

Need a wb and a cm desperately.

We need other positions too, before you get angry and say we need a keeper and a striker and a defender etc etc.

But we need those to to even start providing the balance we need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Caustic

Id have onana closer to ederson probably but ya people wouldn't bat an eyelid if he played for city,

Raya is the best cross stopper in the league something onana is mid at.

But the hate he gets is crazy and people saying he is as bad as they do just don't watch any other league football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Pace is the main issue. Bar maybe 2 players, we are slower across the pitch.

Have a go second half. Whip Erikson and put Amad to full back. That back 3 is too slow. Wouldn't change it now but Yoro should start more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Dave0301

For the record, I am talking about Vicario at Spurs and not Forster. I don't like Pickford, but he is a proven PL keeper. If you actually think other PL clubs would be happy with Onana having paid 50 million for him, that is mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,941 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Imo a lot there should be decent squad players but everyone is terrified so they look a lot worse, but then a lot shouldn't be playing together...

Ideally you'd have new players in nearly every position tbh.

I'd be prioritising lwb and cm first, then am and lcb to be honest, then gk and striker. Then rwb, cm, am etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

He's not looking up to the job right now.

Changing to play his system next season sounds great, but there's the business of what's left of this season to deal with first.

Players can't play your system? Play a system they can play until you have the players you need.

We're in serious danger right now, he needs to cop the fvck on to that ASAP.

Mazraoui on the first goal watching the ball go over his head doesn't close the distance to Hall at all and lets him pick his spot. It's really really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

To be fair, it is pretty ridiculous the 2nd Newcastle goal wasn't ruled out for offside by VAR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,309 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

LWB is a must. like we haven't had a functioning left back for a year. thats crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

They need to support the manager in January other wise they're giving Amorim no chance to succeed.