Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,601 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

There was a South African bloke playing loosehead for Munster tonight, no?

fwiw I think it’s a stupid policy but it is only coming into force next season, it was never going to apply to Slimani.

How Ireland benefit from Kilcoyne, Archer and Ryan lumbering along is unclear to me, I’d much rather get a decent foreigner in for two years and hold things together while (hopefully) some young guys develop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

Medical joker. I can't imagine they'd have signed that crock killer on again unless they had no choice. And he has proven to be a crock. Who is that benefitting?

Just let them sign a hooker and a loosehead. No way would they have signed abrahams as a niq if they could have addressed the ten year old problem in front row.

Policy starts next season but they haven't been allowed sign a front row in years and years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

Munster have had Jager a year ago, assisted by the IRFU and recently signed Blueler who I expect will be extended at least until the end of the season.

But yeah it's the IRFU favouring Leinster by allowing Slimani signing.

Munster have been signings south Africans and new Zealanders to beat the band in the last ~10 years or has that passed you by?

Munster have had numerous Front rowers such as Marshall, Du toit, Bj Botha etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Great atmosphere pre match!! The crowd tried their best. Munster just rudderless and wherever the new coach comes from it MUST NOT BE FROM THE STATUS QUO that's there already

Donnacha touted Declan Kidney, would be my choice also

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Slimani the NIQ prop was up against Bleuler the NIQ prop, both signed this season, I thought.

Is the former Northampton saints coach an option? Or is that only an interim thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

thats right

we are the worst ye are the best.

can you stop repeating this argument every few days.

Well the idea that it's all the IRFUs fault needs to stop being perpetuated endlessly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,725 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Botha left, what, 9 years ago? He's exactly the kind of player Munster have been crying out for in those 9 years since.

But there's been numerous reports of us being blocked from front-row signings in those 9 years. I think that's a mistake, tbh.

It's been an obvious point of weakness in comparison to the top teams for Munster for quite some time now.

You've taken my points where I said Slimani was great this eve and that the irfu policy re niq props is nonsensical (both the new one and nucifora not sanctioning) and replied extremely defensively about how great the irfu are and how they have treated everyone so well and definitely not treated leinster any better.

IIl repeat myself - no issue with niq front rows for any province. Incoming ban is stupid. Leinster (or indeed any province) having the leeway to sign a niq front row by nucifora while munster were being denied by the irfu for front row position is something i do not agree with. I dont think it makes a blind bit of difference to lads development being blocked. No coincidence that roman salanoa was available for the run in when we won the urc. You need ballast and replacement ballast to win trophies generally.

Your points about prior players are irrelevant in the context. You are talking about lads signed in 2016 or earlier. Bj Botha type signing now at loosehead for Munster would be class. Same for hooker.

I won't be saying anymore on it as it's been talked about enough.

Pillar D remains an issue… thought we had shored that up earlier in the season, but it's disappointing that it's surfaced again.

Overall, if you had shown me those teams in the last 2 games and offered me 5 points, I'd have take it so can't be too displeased with the results, but certainly displeased with some of the elements of the performance.

Huge bugbear of mine ho when the defending team is on penalty advantage and it looks like a yellow is coming, but the try is scored, the offending team don't still get the yellow… don't understand what that isn't enforced more often tbh.

Absolutely agree on pillar D. Thought it cost two tries but to be fair, on vdf try in 2nd half, kelleher clearly takes out the pillar.

First try was criminal though

When Munster were signing these lads, one of the reasons given for them was they would assist in the development of other young players in the same position, that hasn't happened. There is a multitude of reasons for this, with poor coaching being a big reason.

Blaming the IRFU now, for Munster management being asleep at the wheel during the good times in the noughties is a cop out. The solution cannot be always signing boks and Kiwis.

My point about these signings is, they were allowed, and in the mean time, munsters player development is still poor when it comes to the national side. Peter OMahony is the last Munster developed forward to play regularly for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭50HX

That the million dollar question. But throwing more money at a rake of Boks etc whilst not addressing the lack of development in basically two generations is not a solution.

Equally the front NIQ ban from nxt year is not viable either

Actually has that been set in stone re NiQ front rows?

But we haven't thrown money at a rake of Boks in that position. We're literally still persisting with Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, John Ryan and Killer in the front row positions for years now, going back to a CC SF versus Saracens in, what, 2016, when they were still all in the 23?

The point is, what value is it having those IQ guys when they aren't remotely close to Ireland inclusion, but preventing us from signing an NIQ in that position? It doesn't really make sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Munster have already changed, reports are the money that was flowing in to sign Snyman and DDA is not been pushed into the acadey instead.

The talent in the academy seems by all reports to be a lot better but it takes time and it won't change overnight.

The concern is the coaching situation, Rowntree seemed like an excellent coach. Was doing a good job and gone overnight. If the future is Predergast etc do they bring in a DOR? if not why haven't they announced Predergast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Have to agree totally with you, it’s getting boring at this stage, the ref and tmo wasn’t wonderful tonight let certain things go.

We already have a DOR in Costello

It looks like Mike P is getting it, if that's the case then just announce it & move on

Rowntree was v old school by my contacts, flogged in training & then made a shambles of the POM contract, that caused a big divide.

Add on the car crash of injuries again this season & you end up with a straw that breaks the camels back situation on the trip to SA.

Munster have had plenty of signings in the last 10-12 years not just front row but in general. The problem is, since 2016 that you mentioned, who has been developed to even HC standard in front row??

Front row development is clearly an issue. Is is the lack of players, poor coaching, both ? And if it's both, where is the bigger flaw in the system? What has been done to address it?

I get the impression the IRFU are trying to change a culture within munsters management structure. I could be wrong but that's just my opinion. They see sanctioning signings in front row as a non solution because maybe nothing has changed since that time you mentioned etc.

Leinster have produced Furlong, Porter, Clarkson, Kelleher, Sheehan, McCarthy (Healy also albeit outside that timeline) to become internationals with 5 of the above regulars in the 23.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭roverjoyce

How can any of this management get the full time job

How stuck for money are Munster?

Never mind the extensions handed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Strand1970

Dublin is the centre of excellence for producing internationals for Ireland and filiing about 30% of the squads for the other provinces. Suck it up, Leinster at the moment is keeping both Ireland the provinces competive. Without Leinster players Irish rugby would be at scotlands level. I am a connacht fan and hate when connacht pundits give out about Leinster. Connacht doesn't produce feck all players and munster and ulster and only slightly better. Lads end of the day Ireland has only one world class province that can stand on it own feet. The other 3 will always be behind until they start producing players locally.

Munster have had plenty of signings in the last 10-12 years not just front row but in general.

They have and no one is disputing that.

But no one can convince me that sanctioning an NIQ signing in Abrahams, say, is more beneficial to either Munster or Ireland than an NIQ front-row would’ve been. That’s exactly the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Madeoface

Great post. Didn't hear Munster fans belly aching c 2000- 2008 when it was the centre of excellence (for defensive up the jumper rugby of the time).

Mod: Warning.

Post edited by aloooof on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,938 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Sorry - did youse not get an SA prop? While Ulster had to get Corrie Barrett?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭exiledawaynothere

15 years of dominance and still a chip on shoulder. Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭exiledawaynothere

reality is that Ireland will remain a quarter final or less RwC team while pursing a Leinster first strategy.