Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans lifted - see OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,308 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Many months?

And this;

"While “a very strong and very detailed case around circumstantial evidence” is being built by gardaí, a significant quantity of new material is still being processed. This followed the death of chief suspect Ian Bailey last January."

That sounds like they're still looking at Bailey so. Maybe they found some stuff after he died.

A brief interview with Bridget Chappuis, aka @bjsc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I would guess that a lot of information is also held back. However I don't think there is any real new evidence, there is most likely only a bigger number of indications and further hearsay opening up even more questions than answers. Remember, it's been 28 years since the murder. Memories naturally fade, people pass away.

It's certainly not wrong to investigate Bailey, however also bear in mind that the Gardai also travelled to Paris to interview a man who was either close to Daniel or otherwise known to Daniel. So the Gardai must have investigated into every direction, even into Daniel's circles, somebody in Paris either pulling strings, organizing a hit, or even travelling to Ireland himself. It's likely that the man they've interviewed denied everything as they also had nothing on him, in terms of evidence. The outcome of the trip to Paris is not known to us as well.

Further anectotal evidence from 28 years back, with half or more than half of the individuals in questions under the earth already, and no further DNA evidence clearly and unequivocally linking killer to victim now unobtainable, it's hard to think that there will be anything really new in this case.

The only expectation I would have is that this cold case review would narrow the "most likely" from the "least likely" theory a bit further, but real proof we still wouldn't have.

Those who think that Bailey did it, would only see anything new as a form of confirmation, and those who think that Bailey didn't do it, would naturally have further doubts.

The discussion will most likely go on and on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭drury..

Sunday world but the jist of it is the CCR team is pursuing a twin track approach

As I posted previously they wouldn't be doing their job if they merely followed the original investigation trail

The intent still seems to be to resubmit a case file to dpp

Watch this space it's not done yet

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

As I posted previously they wouldn't be doing their job if they merely followed the original investigation trail

Would that be the extremely flawed trail that included tampering of evidence and witness coercion? The same trail that has the hallmarks of "we've found our culprit, now let's find some evidence"! 🙄

In a small country like Ireland something would have been leaked already if it was something totally new, convincing and beyond reasonable doubt.

I think the cold case investigation was largely brought about by Drew Harris in an attempt to bring the Guards into today's world and today's expectation and because the Garda owes it to Sophie's family. No conviction of Bailey simply means no evidence against Bailey.

Also, they would and should investigate their own as well, Dwyer and everyone who worked at the Garda in SW Cork back then, worked in the investigation or had access to evidence. I don't know if that's really part of it or not. The botched up investigation would spell clear intent and collusion and coersion way more than incompetence. Something was clearly and strategically done back then, to lead the investigation into the wrong direction. An investigation into this direction alone would probably hit somebody's pride, thus it won't happen.

Dont know about all that

For me a CCR is what it says on the tin . A fresh look.

The jist of it is already leaked anyhow

They're shoring up the case on bailey and believe he's the culprit

New file may be submitted to dpp for adjudication

Well know more when the review ends

For know it's all speculation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Baz Richardson

Least path of resistance. There is no need of new evidence, just throw a lot of innuendo around again to keep the average person ignorant.

The family believe Bailey to be guilty, he is dead so what does it matter if he is innocent? Give them what they want to hear and get the whole embarrassing case closed. It will leave the French feeling vindicated, confirming their criminal conviction.

This time the DPP will say that they would have gone to trial. Everybody happy, job done.

Except of course if Bailey didn't do it and Sophie doesn't get justice…

Thats a view

All speculation like most of what gets posted round here

Could be they're actually doing their job

It's possible that it is the way you described things. Bailey has no real surviving family to stand up for him. Jules would hardly do that as the relationship ended.

Sophie's family and Sophie's son are a bit strange because they refuse to accept that there was absolutely no evidence to tie Bailey to the murder. Maybe they are small minded, maybe they are naive, stubborn or plainly dumb, I don't know. Sophie's father was a dentist in his professional life, so he must have been a university educated man, who would know and understand how the legal system worked, or better, the one in Ireland and the UK would have worked.

No conviction without evidence beyond reasonable doubt isn't that hard to understand.

Wouldn't it bother anybody in France if an innocent man would do time for murder?

A lot of it is lazy assumptions that somehow the CCR team are out to pin it on Bailey cos he's a soft target

In the absence of evidence to the contrary I prefer to believe they are doing their job.and the review has likely led them in Bailey's direction

However I do not know that the review has taken this direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I don't like to judge a whole nation…but…the French legal system is not at all like ours or Britain's.

It really is very much a case of "Someone's head must roll but it doesn't much matter whose….if you can't prove your innocence we are content to consider you guilty"

Source: I know someone whose son was brutally murdered in France. Family had to invoke Irish lawyers to wrestle with the system. Awful business.

It's really a very different concept of "justice".

In the Toscan du Plantier case, The French courts must have been delighted to be handed a complete, oven-ready file by An Gárda Síochana; they wouldn't have bothered to wonder whether the evidence was selective or even fabricated.

It was a case file, prosecute the named suspect in absentia, find guilty, done and dusted, case closed. Satisfaction all round. Unless you happen to BE the "named suspect", of course, or even an ordinary Irish citizen who wonders about the complete lack of forensic evidence!

So following that logic French prisons are full of innocents

I'm not hearing much about this anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Not necessarily….even in France, murder is not a very common crime. And in most murder cases, there's a fairly clear line of investigation to be followed; the resentful ex, the gang shooting, the brawl, etc etc; a complete mystery murder is pretty rare.

So probably their system works pretty well in the majority of cases.

They fuked up with Bailey otherwise they're ok same as the gardai

The current CCR review is a conspiracy orchestrated by MM and the garda comissioner allegedly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Lecter8319

It’s not so much of a conspiracy theory when you hear Michael Martin coming out saying Ian Bailey should have been prosecuted & ignoring the previous dpps report after Bailey passed away. The coward was much quieter when Bailey was alive.

The only good news is Frank Buttimer will likely call out any BS new findings that seek to pin the blame on his previous client so many in the establishment & Gards can pat themselves on the back saying job well done.

It’s been clear very early on in this cold case review they were only interested in pinning it on Bailey & improving their own image.

I am aware of all this, and most likely all of us who are following this case.

What still surprises me, is that the European Court of Justice would also have juristiction over France as well. Bailey having a law degree must certainly have known that, and so would most even half educated people as well.

I doubt very much that the European Court of Justice would approve of a murder sentence without any real form of evidence connecting Bailey to the victim and the scene of the crime and could have overturned the ruling of the court in Paris.

The kind of trial Bailey had in Paris sounded very much like a kangaroo court which tried to do Sophie's family some kind of favour. I do understand that Sophie's surviving family is seeking justice, I do understand that Pierre-Louis Baudey probably suffered the most as he was only 15 upon his mother's murder, however convicting a man for murder without any evidence at all is also no form of fair justice.

How can Pierre-Louis Baudey live with the idea that an innocent man would have is life ruined and could do time for a murder where there is no evidence that he did it?

All speculation re the Gardai out to improve image etc. and shows your inherent bias in all this

I prefer to take the view that the ccr team start with fresh eyes and as appears likely the review has led them in a particular direction

Like you said in another context, "In the absence of evidence to the contrary…".

The initial investigation being focussed on one person means any evidence to the contrary is likely long gone. What remains is the usual tittle-tattle and innuendo, the conclusion to the cold case will be obvious, the least path of resistance. Micheál Martin is a clue that the politicians want to warp it up in a neat bow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭lalababa

Amazing the shock and outcry and media attention when this happened 28 years ago. How many murders and manslaughters are there now. (Nobody bats an eyelid) How many this week? It's sad too the way the media feed on 'worthy' murders as opposed to prostitutes or homeless getting killed.

But again you're displaying an anti Garda bias and lack of objectivity as is common here with the pro bailey support

It is at least reasonable to assume that a CCR unit go in with fresh eyes

And I'm no garda defender either

Bias? My thoughts are based on documented Garda conduct in this case and others. It is an objective view formed by the facts.

It would and should have been at least reasonable to assume that the initial investigation would be conducted in a professional unbiased manner, something that we know was not done as with other cases too.

I note that you assert that others are, "pro bailey support" yet you deny that you are a, "garda defender" when you are doing exactly that. Well what defines the two then?

We're discussing the CCR

The issues with the original investigation are well documented

We are aware that you're referring to the CCR but when you deliberately refer to incorrect terms such as "pro bailey support" you immediately discredit your argument with huge chunks of bias!

The majority here are pro bailey

That's a fact

Anything pointing at the chief suspect is shot down by the majority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,332 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Name each and every poster that’s “pro-Bailey”

Speaking for myself, I'm pro-justice for Sophie. Any other label is just an attempt to troll me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

They may be documented, but they are not explained, and in fact the explanations have been obfuscated, and evidence disposed of. A CCR should include detailing how and why the gards screwed up, regardless of who the perpetrator was. This is the measure of true justice. Not just pointing fingers, smoke and mirrors.