Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you look your age ?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Im 45 and I haven't had anyone under or over estimate my age unfortunately. However it happens all the time to my wife, people regularly think she's in her late 20s or early 30s even though she's 3 years younger than me. It's a great boost for her confidence 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,822 ✭✭✭✭blade1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

some people age gracefully and embrace it. I won’t be using any grey away as it encroaches on me.

I’m stiff as a board waking up these days. Find I’m heavier on my feet than I used to be. After Christmas will be about targeting some of the health metrics to be healthier and age appropriate

But first a fry for breakfast 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm 40 but don't look a day over 39.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭felonious_Gru

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Thank you. 😁 I think we all develop mental images of other boardsies from their posts but when we get to meet in person, we can be very surprised at how wrong those preconceptions are. I've had facial hair for most of my adult life. Goatee in my 20s and early 30s, then clean shaven and later a beard, now a 'tache.

I do wear glasses and also contacts but usually take my specs off or have the contacts in for photos. Still have a good, full head of hair as did my late Dad right up until he died at 75 in 2015. My partner who is 10 years older than me started going bald in his late 20s but he has a youthful face with very few lines for 59.

Obviously we are a gay couple and gay men do tend to look after themselves better than straight lads in terms of exercise, skincare and dress - but there are many exceptions to this cliché.

I turn 50 next March - where the feck did the past 20 years go? 😳😭 Life is indeed very short - so make the most of it!

I'd agree that having kids ages a person - the constant stress and worry must be ageing - most of my mates who became fathers in their 30s seemed to age a lot within a decade with the exception of one lad who always looked good and he still looks after himself well.

Our parents' generation dressed older and also smoked heavily - and many drank heavily, which aged them and sadly put many into an early grave. Middle-aged people in the West today don't look anywhere near as old as their parents did at their age, with some exceptions.

I well remember as a kid in the miserable 1980s how quite attractive women in their 30s dressed very frumpily. Old photos of Ireland from the 1970s and 80s will show women off all ages wearing frumpy headscarves and coats. I'd reckon the Catholic Taliban of the time instilled a deep sense of shame in looking one's best for women (and men) in those dark days. Endless children and very large families for Irish women was also very ageing. Looking good was probably considered "sinful" and "vain" and "having notions." 🙄

Genes also play a major part - some people are just blessed with good genes in terms of staying young looking for longer and can get away with vices whereas others just can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Jonathan1886

I don’t think so, but as we age, it’s natural to wonder how we look. Things like diet, exercise, and skin care all play a role. Moisturizing and sunscreen can go a long way.

Supplements also support skin health and overall well-being. Canadian Pharmacy (https://www.canadapharmacy.com/) has vitamins and products that can help you stay young.

Post edited by Jonathan1886 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭JohnySwan

I was always addressed as "young man", until my hair line started to recede. Had to pick up a couple of bits in Soundstore yesterday and the little bollix of a salesboy referred to me as "sir".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Danny healy ray

would you be tempted in hair restoration know a few lads that got it done this year

Nah, collecting the bits that fall out in a jar. They'll be able to shtick them back on soon enough, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭XLR 8

I find the annoying thing about age is that there is an assumption that great knowledge has been learned along the way. Which is in part true unfortunately the knowledge is of a world and a society that no longer exists 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

Even though I've spent the best part of 45 years, drinking, smoking and generally abusing myself, people often remark how I look several days younger than my actual age.

It's a great breakthrough. My friend sustained a serious head injury when he was in his 30s - thankfully he made a recovery, but then male pattern baldness loomed, which can be sh-t in and of itself (although I think plenty of bald guys look great) but was an extra hard knock to his self esteem, because of course, the scar. A very long scar too - now I didn't think it looks too severe, but that's easy for me to say. It was still eating away at his confidence so he opted for hair restoration. Not cheap, but worth every penny. A game changer for him - he's delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Same age as yourself and much the same really. Told I look younger but the greying hair and thinning if left to grow is a giveaway. My eyesight is OK (did have to get a cataract removed a few years ago though as I couldn't see anything in that eye) and hearing is still excellent.

I definitely feel the knees though. Even bending down to clean can be tough (seriously considering an SUV as the next car vs my low sports saloon), and the weight is really hard to shift despite my best efforts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Funny you mention Andrea Corr. This was in the news yesterday.

https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-photos/90s-pop-legend-rocks-string-bikini-at-50/news-story/75464b4c8408e80497ace2faa36fc77f

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

A group of people thought I looked 37 the other day. Said I'd look younger if I shaved. I grow the hair and beard out in the winter because I like to go out for walks in the snow. (Canada)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

This "scrolly scrollingx thing on Boards is ageing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

My misses is the same, she looks much younger when she shaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Someone said that I'd a face like a wizened testicle. They didn't state whose testicle, so I'm hoping it was a compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭appledrop

Andrew never ask a women if she is pregnant or guess her age🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭ollaetta

I hate looking in mirrors as I'm sick of my auld fella looking back at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭appledrop

I've always been told I look younger than my age. It was crap when I was in college, needed to bring the ID everywhere and still sometimes they didn't believe me! I never smoked so I'd say that helps.

Now I had my 2nd child late(40) and I do think he has aged me as he is still not a good sleeper and I can see the difference in my face when I've had little sleep!

I'm lucky that I'm naturally slim,that's a bit more work now I'm in my 40s but still achievable.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Luna84
    Mentally Insane User

I'm 40 but always looked young for my age. Getting id'd always when younger. I'm not sure I look young now due to the beard. Full head of hair with a patch of grey on the front for what ever reason. I also noticed four years ago my once multi coloured beard(blonde/brown/dark brown) started turning darker as in losing the blonde part. Now I notice some of the beard hair is going grey. Not in patches just individual hairs. I was always clean shaved until in and around my 30's when I decided to grow it and would never go back.

I once congratulated my sister in law on becoming pregnant, after my Mrs had told me that her and her husband were "trying".

Not sure why she says I never listen🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭mulbot

I look 10 years older than I am, my wife looks 10 years younger than she is, I'm actually 9 years older than her, we get strange looks at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,204 ✭✭✭furiousox

I'm 58, I've told everyone at work I'm 52 and nobody passed any remarks.

Can't wait for retirement day 😆

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,038 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I’ve been told I don’t look my age , mostly because I still have hair .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,216 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You look about 5 years older than me and I'll be 52 next birthday. Nah only joking, you look youthfully dashing, shave off the fluff under your nose, knock a couple of years off. 😀