Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tracing registered owner of vehicle

• 18-12-2024 10:07PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭

My query may not exactly be a legal one but here goes :

An elderly uncle of mine lives on his own in a fairly isolated area. Last weekend a car crashed into a stone wall near his front gate causing considerable damage. This happened late at night and by the time he noticed the damage the following morning the car was removed from the scene. Judging by the amount of debris left behind I would guess that the car was not drive-able. House is set roughly 60 yards back from gate/main road so he didn't hear a thing. The road is a haunt for joyriders so chances are it was one of them that crashed.

So to cut a long story short - after a good look around he found the reg plate of the car in the pile of stones & rubble. My query is - as he has the reg no. etc. how could he go about finding out who is the registered owner of the car without contacting the Garda ? He would prefer to contact the owner directly hoping that they could come to some arrangement about repairing the damaged wall - which is made of cut stone so not exactly cheap to repair. As he's living alone he's basically worried that if he involves the Garda that those involved in the joyriding (assuming it's one of them) will make his life hell.

Thanks for reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Deregos.

If you knew a Garda, they could put it in Pulse. If you yourself put the reg he found into the micksgarage website, it'll at least give you the model make and colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭A350-900

Contact a solicitor, they can make the necessary inquiries.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

He would prefer to contact the owner directly hoping that they could come to some arrangement about repairing the damaged wall

If the car was stolen (as you suspect) then to my knowledge, the owner isn't liable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,146 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There is no legal way to find out the name and address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Deregos.

I can't imagine joyriders driving the car away if it was crashed and by the sounds badly damaged. Would they have not just left it there and done a runner?

Whereas, if it belonged to someone who didn't want to be liable for the damage to the wall (even though it was the middle of the night) they'd of indeed rang someone to help get it towed-away asap.

I bet they were fūcking fuming the next day when they realised the reg plate was missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Lenar3556

A solicitor will have no more access to registered owner details than joe public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭monseiur

Thanks for reply. I suspect (but may be wrong) that these young lads drive their own souped up cars and get some kick of going around late at night driving at high speed, doing wheelies/doughnuts or whatever thy're called. Whether they're the registered owner, have insurance etc is another question.

I assumed that he would report it immediately to the Garda as they could easily trace the owner, but he's worried of a backlash later - others in the area who complained to the Garda & passed on car details etc. in the past relating to these joyriders had property damaged, car tyres slashed etc. As he's elderly and living alone I can in a way understand his predicament.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

And that is all the more reason to report it, if there are little scrotes terrorising the area with robbed cars then they need to be dealt with. If you are worried about repercussions then get a door bell camera or cctv installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,582 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Contacting guards is best option OP- the fact your uncle is scared of doing that will likely go in his favour as Gardai should be able to reassure him. Likely the car passed some form of CCTV on its journey that night - also, your uncle won’t be able to achieve anything even if he had the owners details so I’d be dumping that idea for start - it might actually bring a whole other heap of trouble on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

It used to be many years ago ,80s, you could send 5 pounds to the relevant local authority and they would tell you the owner. It was legitimate thing you could apply for . Probably GDPR'd to death now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

How would he prove the reg plate found is the one from the car that hit the wall. The reg plate may have been there at the side of the road for ages. I've often seen reg plates on the grass beside the road. Presumably fell off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

In all likelihood the reg plate is from the damaged car, rather than a random car plate that fell off. Op said they found it in the heap of stones, which I assume were stones from damaged stone wall.

It should be reported to the Garda. It was a road traffic incident so it is the Garda remit to request the drivers details. No way anybody in this day and age should be afraid to report anything the the Garda. T9 not report it just adds to the feeling of invincibility and lawlessness of those going around joyriding.

There's a load of other evidence left at the scene like most of the front wing, broken headlight, indicator, mirror, smashed bumper , bits of rad grill etc. But the uncles idea was not try to prove anything but to have a chat with the owner hoping to appeal to his better nature and get some cash off him to pay for at least some of the rebuild. Personally I think he has a better chance of winning the lotto two weeks in a row.

Anyhow as the weather after XMas is promised fine I'll spend a few day tidying up the place, removing rubble, gathering & stacking stones etc to get the site ready for stonemason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,334 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

If the Gardai make a visit, they won't find a pristine front end of car if it is the one involved.

While the damage to the wall is in and of itself a civil matter, failing to stay at the scene of an accident can make it into something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭rock22

failing to stay at the scene of an accident can make it into something else.

What exactly does it make it? Is there a requirement to stay at the scene of an accident?

It makes it an offence. Up to 6 months imprisonment and/or a file of up to 2k.

You are obligated to stay there for a reasonable period afterwards.

Section 106 of the RTA 1961

Note the use of the word can rather than will in my previous post before anyone goes off on a tangent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭geographica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭csirl

Report it to the guards and claim against his insurance.

Appealling to their good nature rarely succeeds in these scenarios. Keep everything official and he'll find an insurance company a lot less hastle than dealing ditectly with a boy racer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭delboythedub

I had same problem many years go AND went to garda station and it was sorted within hours. Think you have 7 days to inform insurance company or your loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

100% report it and don't bother trying to contact them directly. You should not be doing them a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,415 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

This one happen last night, Garda got on it once reported

image.png

a mile up the road, pole from the first place

image.png

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

That number plate maker needs to be fired.

Imagine not being able to tell that you were printing the numbers and letters upside down and right-to-left

He had one job……..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭GavPJ

Interested in the result of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

reg plate is not valid per NCTS site.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Too late now but he should have reported it straight to Gardai, let them handle it, he isn't getting money from those scrotes. If he had reported it straight away there might have been a chance he could get some recompense from MIBI. Worth reporting it now anyway and trying the MIBI route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Yes Cartell says it's a VW Crafter van so would be CVRT instead.