Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Score Challenge - Round 5

• 16-12-2024 04:55PM
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,303 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Thought this week we could try some Eugene Jarvis nonsense.

Robotron 2084

co3z5z.jpg

What I like about this one is how short a game will be 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,430 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Funny you picked this, I was actually almost going to go with Smash TV last week 😁

Should be a bit of fun getting the two sticks set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

I was gonna pick smash TV also on one of my picks.

Iz never played this . Done know how I'm gonna play it on either of me cabs with twin sticks . Presume there is some setup wizardry I can use both sticks on one of them

Master of the Universe

Do you've a mame setup? Should just be able to configure the right stick to work with the fire buttons.

It actually works surprisingly well, I was playing Xeno Crisis like that and it was great fun.

Master of the Universe

This is absolutely mental, I love it.

Didn't even have to configure the controls with mister, was all ready to go with dual sticks.

Just to get some number up and a starting point;

PXL_20241216_230540820.jpg

Tried it quickly , but I'm running bacotera on top of mame and retroarch so messing with controls completely fecks up all controls ..it's a disaster...and I shed blood getting them correct for all cores .

I'll get some Dutch courage and attempt it tomorrow or I'll just run mame on a laptop with a dual stick controller , but don't want to do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭Inviere

Can you access the mame menu, and just config the controls for this one game? Tab on a keyboard usually brings up that menu

Master of the Universe

I don't want to sound over the top but this is one of the greatest arcade games I've ever played. I actually feel like a bit of a numpty for not really giving it any attention until now (should have listened to Ciderman!)

Always quite liked Smash TV but this is a much better game. The pace of it and playability it something else, it's actually quite amazing how early twin stick shooters apparently got the formula right.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,303 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Yeah it's pretty much an all time classic. For such an old game it looks absolutely incredible thanks to the particle effects and visuals. I played a good bit of it on the xbox360 port so looking forward to getting back into it.

Master of the Universe

The comedy type visuals with the aliens, quirky sounds and lots of colours were giving me weird Earthbound vibes, hard to put my finger on it.

Apparently a 'master' level score is 1,000,000+. Can it be done in a week? 😁

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,303 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I remember I reached a plateau on Xbox. The brain guys get very difficult.

There's one thing I learned that is important in high level play, enemy projectiles are faster the further you are away from the enemy.

Ywah. Trust me. Dont work on my egret mini.

Running some crazy ass custom bacotera especially for the egret mini .

Change it for the game alone and it changes for all cores , all systems :(

Ill just lash mame on the laptop later and hook it up to a pad

Huge praises for this game ...dying to play it !!!

Ok I have her humming on mame on a laptop now ..solid blue label, that's correct rom is it ?

Screenshot_2024-12-17-21-25-20-605_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Master of the Universe

I think yellow and orange are the standard difficulty one (difficulty is set to 5) and the blue is the easy one (difficulty at 3)

Ahhh righto , lucky I asked .:)

Well if blue is easy , feck me to hell.

Its impossible , doesn't bode well for me .

Ill download yellow or orange rom so

So I've blue version but playing on red level.

Ive 3 lives( including one I start with)and me lads helmet is red.

According to below that is :

From the title screen, move the joystick left or right to select the skill level.  Note that your player's helmet will match the color of the skill level:

• Novice (green): 5 lives to start.  1/2 of the enemies from the Advanced level.  Less enforcers and tanks are spawned.  Grunts move slower.  
    • Standard (blue): 4 lives to start.  3/4 of the enemies from the Advanced level.  
    • Advanced (red): 3 lives to start.  # of enemies on each level match the arcade.  More enforcers and tanks are spawned than Standard.  Grunts move faster.

Bonus lives are awarded every 25,000 points.

@o1s1n please have a green helmet to make me feel better :)

Its a game where it's hard not to lose lives but you pick them up rather quickly. Aim for the civilians, if you manage to get them all on a level you get a big bonus.

Master of the Universe

Three lives and a red helmet I'm afraid!

You do get extra lives easily enough though and games are meant to be super quick. It's the king of 'just one more go!'

PXL_20241217_215617414.jpg

Ahhh damn you...I'm officially crap at this so :(

Master of the Universe

You using a two stick setup or one stick and buttons? Two sticks is far easier id imagine.

Using a joypad with twin sticks .

Hard to play it when the dogs around ...the quality sound effects freak the bejaysus out of her .

Thats my excuse anyway

Really is a great game for its time , I'm blown away. graphics , sound effects , gameplay , twin sticks mechanics .

Twin sticks shooters were kind of forgotten after it , except for smash TV .

I played geometry wars alot in the Xbox and didn't even realise it's great great grandad is this m same addictiveness , same rush

Master of the Universe

Isnt it just? I can't get over how much it just feels like a modern game.

Other classics play well but they feel of their time. This literally feels contemporary.

Ill get at it tomorrow, spent ages installing and fiddling with mame to get an Xbox controller working with it . But it is now thank god. Turns out me Xbox cloud app is was fecking with it

Back to relax with a drawing before bed.

Attempting medusa , from me head

Screenshot_2024-12-17-22-12-18-342_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Need to enlarge the bust ...to go with proportions obviously

Master of the Universe

Haha deadly!

With a head that size your proportions should be off the page :D

Screenshot_20241217-222457.png

Master of the Universe

I've a feeling I may need some new arcade sticks after this game, bashing the absolute shite out of them! 😂

Ahhh I'm officially crap at this game .

Can not get over the 50 grand mark.

Rushing around like an idiot, think I need to just slow down but I can't :(

First attempt

robotron-241218-190407.png

Master of the Universe

Little bit higher this evening, 148,825

I find it really helps to just pretend it's a bullet hell shmup!

PXL_20241220_183819975.jpg