Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Social Democrat TD apologises for misleading the public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,515 ✭✭✭✭ted1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,736 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Ciaran Cuffe also had embarrassing shares he didn't buy (inherited a rake of oil exploration shares), in a centre-left party and absolutely is a US citizen so it wouldn't be that unusual if he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,620 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I have no issue with Hayes owning shares, fair play to him. However, he is another shining example of the entitled generation.

Things got tough in Ireland in 2008, so instead of hanging around and using his vaunted entrepreneurial skills (the ones he is now hawking to others) to help create employment, he abandoned the country, made plenty of money abroad, got shares that are worth several hundred thousand euros, arrived back in 2018 ten years later (if it was so good abroad, why come home?) and has spent the time since complaining that the government won't give him a house in Dublin 4 paid for by the taxpayers who stayed and rebuilt the country, all the while sitting on a cash pile of shares.

The poster boy of his generation.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

he didn’t abandon anything he’d been living in the states since he was a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,620 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

From the Journal article:

"Many, including me, ‘took the boat’ and only some (including me) ever returned."

He probably has several fairytales about his youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,897 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Isn't Lowry the lead spokesman of the regional independent group that is on course to be the mudguard junior coalition partner of the next govt with FFG?

Agreed, and I think that's the issue the SD's have with him, and the issue any proper party should have with a member. I'd say if he still had the shares today I don't think there would be an issue as long as he had them declared before seeking the council nomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭pureza

I don’t think Lowry will be a mud guard,he’ll top the poll as long as he continues to run

He’s always done better than any government he’s supported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭jay1988

Would you consider the thousands of tradesmen who went off to Australia and Canada at the time because there was literally nothing here for them to have "abandoned their country"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,897 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

He probably will, not sure about the other indies but yeah he'll be a shoe in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,172 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

It depends on whether they were mean to Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

This incident also shows why this idea of a grand left alliance will never happen. Who are the parties most strongly coming out against him, saying he should resign. It's SF, PBP, the same parties they are supposed to be building this alternative left wing government with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,217 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

This played a big part in the election result and had a lot of hold your nose and vote fg or ff because of the lack of cohesive alternative.

While the problem by Hayes is his denial and obfuscation on it. For much of the left it is more about the company and its links to a regional conflict 2000 miles away.

A company he worked for 10 fu78ing years ago, not now or this year.

Govts do well to survive the day to day nevermind who worrying about whose IT system you worked on a decade ago. That's a dead end world view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

They are too stuck on ideology. Not nearly pragmatic enough, they could agree on 90% of things but fall out over the 10% they disagree on. It's more about staying ideologically pure than actually trying to govern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

As someone who was forced to leave the country twice during the aftermath of the crash in search of employment this post is unbelievably patronising. I didn't want to fester on the dole because FF had ruined the economy and you have the audacity to say that people like me "abandoned the country". You haven't a clue do you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭Get Real

Finally, a perfect example of this cringe portrayal of going abroad to work.

And I say that as someone who's younger than Mr. Hayes. And do not get me wrong, I remember around the same time too, many friends and family members did go abroad and it was a grim enough time unemployment wise.

But you'd swear with some of these articles, they were on coffin ships to America during famine times. It evokes a romanticised image of a person staring off into the distance, the sea in the background and the wind sweeping their hair.

He talks about returning then (as many did because the jobs are plenty again) and it's still a struggle somehow for him. Almost like he's done some sort of duty and has been let down. Meanwhile, he's sitting on 300k. Fair enough, capital gains etc. but absolutely no reason he couldn't have bought.

Its always the ones with the connections to be able to write these articles too. Those fairly comfortable and privileged anyway, adds a bit to the achievements and the CV. It's never a person legitimately struggling. Of which there are many and none of the above is to be taken as treating the housing situation as a trivial issue.

I'm simply saying, it's people generally like himself who are the loudest. Who have the social media engagement and connections. Those who are actually doing quite well, but get some strange kick off boost off being a victim or coming through "adversity". Proudly representing "their" generation. Recieving praise off people they have absolutely nothing in common with and are way ahead of economically. Come off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭StormForce13

The full statement that you have taken offence at reads as follows:-

"instead of hanging around and using his vaunted entrepreneurial skills (the ones he is now hawking to others) to help create employment, he abandoned the country,"

It follows that if you too had entrepreneurial skills but headed abroad instead of using them to create employment, then you too abandoned your country - twice. On the other hand, if you didn't, then you didn't!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/social-democrats-offices-evacuated-after-suspect-package-arrived/a1108614198.html

The Social Democrats offices have been evacuated after a “suspect package” arrived this morning after a week of controversy.

The party offices on Frederick Street in Dublin were evacuated after a “suspect package” addressed to Eoin Hayes arrived.

It is understood gardaí are attending the scene and the offices were evacuated.

A bomb disposal unit have arrived at the building, a senior party source said.

Gardai have separately said that it was non-credible: https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2024/1213/1486361-soc-dems/

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

lads let’s get one thing clear

Anyone who emigrated during the crash didn’t abandon their country. In fact, it would be the country who abandoned its citizens.

we were left to clean up a government and banking mess that wasn’t the fault of most of us who suffered the worst and continue to.

Anyone who emigrated and is back now doing well for themselves did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,850 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Not to mention that the middle class supporters of Labour, SD and the Greens would be horrified by a government that included the Shinners and the Trots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

I abandoned the country in the late 80s after getting a free third level education at the behest of the government who offered to pay our travel costs to the UK.

I then came home after a few years and worked hard. I now own my home without a mortgage.

As for hayes. It's a storm in a tea cup. Everyone beat their breasts over the likes of coveney, Troy, Lowry and then got on with their lives and voted them back in. He made a mistake and doubled down on it just like the afore mentioned bastions of politics.

Wallace screwed his employees and the state and was then elected to the Dail and Europe.

The only ones who really care about hayes are the papers and Cairns .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,217 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Jack Horgan-Jones on the Inside Politics Podcast at 29 minutes says there was a previous 'doorstep' where they Socdems (leaders) were asked lots of questions about Hayes and Palantir and they "weren't forthcoming", so again why werent they prepared for press conference? (Im not sure if was the one all the way back on the 5th in front of the Seanad election notice board you can see an image from here https://www.irishtimes.com/podcasts/inside-politics/government-formation-simon-harris-warns-dont-take-us-for-granted-while-soc-dems-go-it-alone/ that was day the DM story was published).

I love to see a full unedited recording of both these questionings, even the short clips are cringe inducing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I wonder did the SocDems follow due process before ejecting Eoin Hayes from their number?

It all appeared to be undue haste rather than due process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,863 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

It sounds like some of the journos knew exactly what had happened and when it happened, but probably weren't in a position to publish it until yer man fessed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,280 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

He's been suspended, not removed. They now have an investigation ongoing. Sounds pretty standard all things considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

dont think so, I think lying about the date was a surprise to everyone, I think both the reporter and the socdems thought the issue was all about Israel/Gaza. The socdems thought they would just bare out the accusations of hypocrisy now that the shares were sold, nobody thought he would lie about the date, until he refused to say it 20 times

Craigh Hughes follow up story, describes how he wanted the date so he could show the contradiction between Hayes and his leaders statements on divestment.

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/world/dear-gary-this-is-senior-hurlin-so-don-t-play-the-man-an-open-letter-to-social-democrats-after-a-week-to-forget/ar-AA1vJ7lN

The Social Democrats have been to the fore of criticising the Government on their actions over Gaza. Most notably, party leader Holly Cairns said in November 2023 that ‘words alone are not enough to convey our horror and outrage’ as she sought for Ireland to divest all economic ties with Israeli companies. Ms Cairns likened inaction to complicity in genocide.

The timeline of when exactly Mr Hayes disposed of these shares was important, for the reason that any time after the November 2023 comments would be politically hypocritical for him, and for his party.

He explains it better then he did in his first article https://extra.ie/2024/12/05/news/soc-dems-td-eoin-hayes

He also says this on Newstalk

“The reason why this date (July) is crucial, is if you go back to November 2023 Holly Cairns, the Social Democrats leader, stood up in the Dáil and said that inaction in relation to Gaza is complicit with genocide, as she called on the Government to divest themselves completely from Israeli companies,” he said.

The presenter Johnathan healy of Healy Communications seems very sympathic to the politician? wonder has he any politician clients?

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭JVince

This must be hurting bad today.

He had 10,000 shares. Sold them for an average of $21 each due to becoming a councilor.

If he decided not to bother with politics, those 10,000 shares would be worth over $1m today as Palintir released blowout results

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,280 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Is he married? Transferring them would have been cynical anyway.