Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gigs of the Year 2024

• 10-12-2024 05:04PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭

It's time, right? Give us the 3 that blew the head off you in the last 12 months

1. Fontaines 3 Arena
    2. MJ Lenderman Whelan's
    3. Public Service Broadcasting Olympia

Fabulous year for live music...I could have a different top 3 next week. Honourable mentions for Waxahatchee, Pixies in the Olympia, Øxn in Vicar Street, the Bug Club in the Workmans Cellar, Patti Smith, Les Savy Fav, Suede, Arab Strap, Johnny Marr in Athy, the trio of Big Special, Blonde Redhead and Mary Wallopers at Green Man....so many fantastic gigs this year. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,607 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

I didn't go to any of the ones you mentioned 🙈

For me…

1. Enter Shikari, Academy (the new album is great, they really know how to honour the back catalogue and put on a great show. The mosh pit was nonstop and so friendly, such a great crowd, as always. The communal spirit is unmatched)

2. Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, 3arena (it was almost spiritual, just such a wonderful gig. He's the arch-frontman and the band are tight as hell. Backing gospel singers just added the cherry on top)

3. Last Apollo, Button Factory (possibly recency bias here but it was simply wonderful. 8 piece string orchestra, full band, proper piano, possibly the best sound engineer ever making everything sound crystal clear. Reverential crowd. Close to perfect)

Very very close to taking third place was Fat Dog at the Grand Social. Just an absolute blast, had a massive grin on my face for the entire show.

Honourable mention to Fight Like Apes in the Olympia for the nostalgia hit, great fun

Seeing Sprints upstairs in Whelan's was special too, they were amazing but the crowd was crap so overall the gig falls short

Don't think I've forgotten anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Suede, nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭TenPicnics

1. Nick Cave + the Bad Seeds, November at the Point.
    2. Anohni at the NCH, November.
    3. Róisín Murphy at the Olympia in February.

Honourable mentions - Øxn at Vicar St in February, Bruce + E Street in Kilkenny in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,860 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

20241201_094801.jpg

My top three:

1. David Gilmour, Royal Albert Hall, London

2. Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Nowlan Park, Kilkenny

3. Pearl Jam, Marlay Park, Dublin

I'm going with these, but it's very difficult to choose from an excellent, eclectic year of concerts. Superb shows from Suede, AC/DC, St. Vincent and Public Service Broadcasting deserve mention. 

Bruce Springsteen in Croke Park was magnificent (I've a photo from each show above), but I don't want to give him two places on the podium. Kilkenny had the edge for me, for the unique, pre-show performance and a great setlist.

I was very impressed with Olivia Rodrigo, which was an unexpected surprise highlight. And Depeche Mode and OMD, always fantastic, were both as reliable as ever. A memorable year. 

Post edited by delbertgrady on

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, Stuart Murdoch, Wolf Alice, Camera Obscura, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Iron Maiden, Neil Young/Van Morrison, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Sparks (x2), The Doobie Brothers, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League/Blancmange, Deacon Blue/Turin Brakes, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings (x2), Nerina Pallot, Sleeper, Wolf Alice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

1. Acid Mother's Temple, Workmans, 12 May.

2. Horse Lords, Workmans, 14 April.

The two above were the clear standouts for me this year but honourable mentions to The Bug in the Button Factory, McClusky in Workmans, Meatbodies in Workmans Cellar and Godflesh at the Academy.

For the first time ever i appear to have broken the 50 gigs in a year mark.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Best small show

Laura Jane Grace - Grand social.

Possible recency bias but just a ridiculously good 2 hour punk rock show laid out perfectly with a solid support set from pet needs.

Honourable mentions

Kacey Musgraves - Olympia Theatre

Craig Finn - The Workman's Club.

Best arena show

Postal service/ Death cab for cutie - OVO Hydro

Honestly ridiculous that Ben Gibbard was involved in 2 indy classics in one year but he was, and he played them both here. Jenny Lewis intro in district sleeps alone is musical manna.

Honourable mentions.

Vampire weekend 3arena

Billy Joel MSG.

BEST OUTDOOR/STADIUM SHOW

Taylor Swift - Era's tour N3

Taylor Swift runs the fcking world and she knows it, ambitious, exhausting 3 1/2 hour showcase of the biggest star in music at the peak of her powers.

Honourable mentions.

Paul McCartney - La Defense Arena

Bruce Springsteen and the E street band - Croke park.

Best Frank Turner gig. (He gets his own category)

Lost evenings 7 night 4.

Legitimately in my top 5 Turner gigs, the crowd, the support, the setlist, unbelievable.

This year was so good that my favourite band in the world played 2 nights and blew the roof off, but never even entered the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Two more gigs for Dec but doubt they'll change my selections:

1st. Laura Jane Grace - Grand Social (Nov)

2nd. Jeff Rosenstock - Button Factory (Jan)

Joint 3rd. McLusky - Workmans (May) & Christian Holden ( The Hotelier)- Bello Bar (July)

Very close calls and brilliant gigs were:

Greg Puciato- Whelans

1000Mods - Grand Social

Johnny Marr - Athy

Suede -Trinity

Public Sevice Broadcasting - Cyprus Ave

And one of the few but memorable stadium gigs was of course Nick Cave first night 3 Arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Stillill42

The fact that yourself and myself have such a big overlap in musical taste, EN, and still didn't get to each other's gigs is a fair indicator of the incredible volume of quality shows on offer this year. Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭boomdocker

1: Fontaines DC 3 Arena

2: CMAT @ EP

3: Johnny Marr Athy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Underworld Berlin

Springsteen Kilkenny

Gizzard London

just off the top of my head these stand out. A good if not great year. Saw tonnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭RayCon

Top 5 for me in 2024 :

Judas Priest - 3Arena March
    The Hives - Olympia April
    Riverside - The Academy May
    Ghost - Berlin June
    Opeth - Netherlands Aug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭roll

1. Nick Cave
    2. GS!BE
    3. Public Service Broadcasting

• Subscribers Posts: 43,107 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

1. nick cave, the point (no one captivates an audience like him, and the new album is glorious)

2. idles. olympia (tangible wash of sweaty love)

3. Pearl Jam (for obs reasons)

honorable mentions

mitzki, the point (theatrical magic)

keane, the point (guilty pleasure)

paul weller, king johns castle kilkenny (mod father gets better with age)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

Nick Cave Point Depot

Ham Sandwich in Whelan's

Pixies in the RDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,607 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

6 mentions for Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, think we can safely give them the boards people's prize 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

1. Magdalena Bay - Button Factory

2. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - 3Arena

3. Manic Street Preachers/Suede - Trinity

4. The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer - 3Arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

It hasn't been the busiest year of gigs for me since having a baby in April but my highlights have to be:

Depeche Mode - 3 Arena

Suede/Manics - Trinity

Pixies - Olympia

Confidence Man - Olympia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

The only answer is Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭T.V Eye

Depeche Mode: Pure brilliance, haven't been that enthralled by something in quite some time.

2 - 5 in no order.

In The Meadows: Does a one day festival count? Summer night with a pint, standing in some grass watching Mogwai with the other half was a nice way to spend time.

Mercury Rev: Went on a big kick in advance of and after In The Meadows. The Funny Bird is a top tier show opener.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor: Spaced out, spent the gig watching the busiest projectionist in the world. Felt several emotions and floated home.

Idles: First time seeing them indoors, it was everything I wanted from an Idles gig, maybe it's a little choreographed at times which might start to be an issue for me if I went to future gigs.

Notable mentions

Nick Cave, Magnetic Fields and The Mountain Goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭rednik

John Mayer - 3 Arena

David Gilmour - RAH

Mr. Big - Academy

Duff McKagan - Academy

Myles Kennedy - Academy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Gigs I enjoyed the most..

1. Arcade Fire - Malahide
    2. Liam Gallagher - The Point
    3. Baxter Dury - Button Factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

Haven't been to too many this year but

1. Fontaines DC - The Point
    2. CMAT - Fairview
    3. Kneecap - Vicar St

Young Fathers supporting LCD Soundsystem in Malahide were excellent too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,898 ✭✭✭dasdog

I didn't get abroad this year for anything as my landlady decided her son needed where I was living more than I did - if walls could talk kind of place. #1 was in no doubt as someone said in the gig thread it was a quasi-spiritual experience.

1. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
    2. St Vincent
    3. Fontaines DC

Honourable mentions to Los Bitchos (Button Factory), Baxter Dury (Button Factory), Leftfield (National Stadium), Muireann Bradley (Upstairs in Whelans & Vicar St - I still can't believe an 18 year old from Donegal is playing Blind Gary Davis tunes impeccably) and In The Meadows was just such a lovely evening out. Strangest gig had to be Sun O))) filling the NCH with dry ice. The others I went to were a bit meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Second that !

Fontaines DC, Suede and still have the Pogues to come .

Peter Hook and the Light exceeded expectations . As did Bruce Springsteen and the Street Band ;)

Depeche Mode were excellent as well earlier in the year February .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Enjoying this thread! Wasn't there but Cave seems to have made the much maligned 3Arena his own...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭swededmonkey

1. Idles, Telegraph Building
    2. Fontaines DC, 3 Arena
    3. Pearl Jam, Marlay Park

Close but didnt make the final cut; Interpol, Arcade & Liam Gallagher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,872 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

The Bothy Band at Celtic Connections, now the lads are getting older and the sound a little mellower but still an amazing concert.

Thievery Corporation at Beyond The Pale.

Human League at Forest Fest

Future Islands at ATN

And a tie between Faithless and The Waterboys at EP.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

I had forgotten John Mayer was this year.

A solid no 2 after Nick Cave'.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Great mentions all across the thread, fair play to everyone!!

For me the 3 that really stuck out this year were (in chronological order):

Rhiannon Giddens at Vicar Street, 25th February

Pink at Aviva, 20th June

Patti Smith at Vicar Street, 27th June.

First time that I saw Rhiannon Giddens and Pink, both great shows. And Patti Smith at her age, absolutely phenomenal.

Special note for Olivia Rodrigo at 3Arena (big surprise, very enjoyable gig) and Anohni at NCH (very unique concert).

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,712 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Loved Judas Priest, AC/DC, Flogging Molly and Gåte last night, but my favourite was The Warning at the Academy went in not expecting much and they blew the roof off the place.

Didn't enjoy Tommy Emmanuel or Rammstein but that was down to stupid c*nts all around me having a nice catch up.